LibGuides: NUWC Newport Semiquincentennial: Online Resources

Articles and Reports

Blogs

American Revolution Institute A blog published by the American Revolution Institute of the Society of the Cincinnati dedicated to promoting understanding and appreciation of the American Revolution and its legacy.
The Beehive Read blog posts about the American Revolution from the Massachusetts Historical Society.
Boston 1775 This blog is a miscellany of information about New England just before, during, and after the Revolutionary War, and about how that history has been studied, taught, preserved, politicized, mythologized, lost, recovered, discussed, described, distorted, and now digitized.
An Interview With Historian Jane Kamensky Harvard professor, Jane Kamensky, discusses her work as a historian and her essay, Two Cheers for the Nation: An American Revolution for the Revolting United States,
Varnum Continentals A blog published by the Varnum Continentals, an organization committed to the preservation of the historic heritage of our community, our state, and our nation.

Maps

American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750 to 1789 The maps and charts in this online collection number well over two thousand different items. Almost six hundred maps are original manuscript drawings.

Digital Collections and Archives

Americana - The John Carter Brown Library
DAR Americana Collection: Signers of the Declaration of Independence Among the wide variety of holdings in the DAR Americana Collection is a collection of all of the signatures of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. This exhibit includes a biography, signature, and portrait for each of the 56 signers.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: American Revolution Digital collections from the Library of Congress including papers from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and more.
The Online Review of Rhode Island History Articles Archive An online collection of Rhode Island history articles.
Rhode Island State Digital Archives: HMS Gaspee The Rhode Island Digital Archives provides access to digitized and born digital records of the HMS Gaspee in the State Archives’ holdings.

Journals and Databases

The American Historical Review AHR has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study.
American Quarterly American Quarterly is an academic journal and the official publication of the American Studies Association. The journal covers topics of both domestic and international concern in the United States and is considered a leading resource in the field of American studies.
Journal of African American History Founded in 1916 as The Journal of Negro History by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, The Journal of African American History (JAAH) is the leading scholarly publication in the field of African American history.
Journal of American History Published four times a year by the Organization of American Historians (OAH), the JAH is the leading scholarly publication and the journal of record in American history. The JAH publishes articles, interchanges, states-of-the-field, and the OAH's yearly presidential address as well as reviews of books, digital history projects, exhibits, and movies.
Journal of American Studies The Journal of American Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States. It includes a book review section.
Journal of Economic History Devoted to the study of economic phenomena in historical contexts. It is of interest not only to economic historians but also to economists, social scientists, and historians in general.
Journal of the Early Republic The Journal of the Early Republic is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal which focuses on the early culture and history of the United States from 1776–1861. The journal is published by the University of Pennsylvania Press on behalf of the Society for Historians of the Early American Republic.
Perspectives in American History "Perspectives in American History " was published by the Charles Warren Center for Studies in American History at Harvard University from 1967-1979, and from 1984-1986.
Reviews in American History Reviews in American History is a journal of ideas that offers anyone interested in American history a way to stay current with the discipline. Each issue presents in-depth review essays about the latest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works written by leading historians are also regularly featured.
Rhode Island History Journal Rhode Island History, a peer-reviewed journal that brings its audience the latest scholarship on Rhode Island’s rich and varied history, is published semi-annually by the Rhode Island Historical Society.
William and Mary Quarterly The William and Mary Quarterly is the leading journal of early American history and culture. Founded in 1892 and published by the Omohundro Institute in Williamsburg, Virginia, it is one of the oldest academic journals in the United States and was one of the first ten archived on JSTOR.

Websites

American Revolution Food & Lifestyle From the Journal of the American Revolution, well written narratives about food and lifestyle in 18th century America.
The Declaration Read the original text of the Declaration of Independence, as well as consult three annotated versions explaining the Declaration's basic principles, its historical context, and a glossary of terms.
Digital History This is a project created by a group that includes the National Endowment of the Humanities, the National Park Service, The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, and others. History is presented by historical era including pre-Colonial and Colonial time periods. Each section has an overview as well as a "textbook," documents, events, people, images etc.
Journal of the American Revolution Journal of the American Revolution publishes passionate, creative, and fresh content intended to make history more accessible.
Museum of the American Revolution
Religion and the American Revolution Religion played a major role in the American Revolution by offering a moral sanction for opposition to the British--an assurance to the average American that revolution was justified in the sight of God.

Online American Political History and Government Documents

American Founding Era Digital versions of the published papers of several major figures of the Early American Republic.
Colonial State Papers Thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Founding.com This is a project of the Claremont Institute and leans heavily on material related to the founding of the United States. Included in American Federal Government Documents is Jefferson's "Rough Draft" of the Declaration of Independence.
Founders.org