ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication by
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
Analytical Chemistry by
A comprehensive study of analytical chemistry as it pertains to the laboratory analyst and chemist, Analytical Chemistry begins with an introduction to the laboratory environment, including safety, glassware, common apparatuses, and lab basics, and continues on to guide readers through the fundamentals of analytical techniques, such as spectroscopy and chromatography, and introduce examples of laboratory programs, such as Laboratory Information Management Systems (LIMS). This newly updated and revised Second Edition of Analytical Chemistry offers expanded chapters with new figures and the latest developments in the field.
Basic Principles and Calculations in Chemical Engineering by
Basic Principles and Calculations in Chemical Engineering, Ninth Edition, has been thoroughly revised, streamlined, and updated to reflect sweeping changes in the chemical engineering field. This introductory guide addresses the full scope of contemporary chemical, petroleum, and environmental engineering applications and contains extensive new coverage and examples related to biotech, nanotech, green/environmental engineering, and process safety, with many new MATLAB and Python problems throughout.
Biosensors in Food Safety and Quality by
Biosensors in Food Safety and Quality: Fundamentals and Applications have become indispensable in today's world due to the requirement of food safety and security for human health and nutrition point of view. This book covers various types of sensors and biosensors that can be used for food safety and food quality monitoring but not limited to conventional sensors including temperature sensors, optical sensors, electrochemical sensors, calorimetric and pH sensors.
Chemical Oceanography by
Because of the imprint each process leaves on the chemistry of the sea, chemical oceanography in many ways unites the various disciples of oceanography. As anthropogenic influences on element fluxes grow stronger so must oceanographers' understanding of processes that control them, so that humanity's impact can be predicted and informed decisions can be made about managing the ocean environment to maintain a livable planet.
Chemical Technicians by
This book for chemical technicians contains a variety of skills that chemical technicians and technicians who work in chemical plants should develop as part of their successful experience. It provides a brief overview of the tasks that various chemical laboratory technicians must perform as part of their employment. It also includes a thorough explanation of the sampling techniques, chemical analysis, and a description of the various tools and methods used in chemical labs. Additionally, the book covers information management systems and good practices in laboratories, as well as how these have allowed and facilitated best practices in laboratories and the gathering of data that improves technicians' experience and knowledge.
The Chemistry of Explosives by
This concise, easy-to-read book outlines the basic principles needed to understand the chemical mechanisms of explosion. Written for students with no previous knowledge of explosives but some understanding of chemical reactions in mind, it takes the reader through the history of explosives and introduces the concepts of high explosives, propellants, and pyrotechnics.
Chemistry of High-Energy Materials by
Chemistry of High-Energy Materials continues in this new and revised 6th edition to provide fundamental scientific insights into primary and secondary explosives, propellants, rocket fuels and pyrotechnics. It expands with new research developments, including new melt casts, reactive structure materials, a computational study on the detonation velocity of mixtures of solid explosives with non-explosive liquids, calculation of craters after explosions. This work is of interest to advanced students in chemistry, materials science and engineering, as well as to all those working in military and defense technology
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by
This new edition offers expanded coverage of calibration and uncertainty, and continues to include the critical information scientists rely on to perform accurate analysis.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics,104th Edition by
Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. The 104th Edition of the Handbook has been completely reorganized to meet the needs of today’s scientists. The first section has property data on the elements, organic and inorganic compounds, water, bio-medical compounds, and polymers. Other sections focus on applications of chemical and physical data, data of importance in laboratory work, and information of units and nomenclature.
Electrochemical Methods by
This defining textbook on electrochemistry takes the reader from the most basic chemical and physical principles, through fundamentals of thermodynamics, kinetics, and mass transfer, to a thorough treatment of all important experimental methods. It offers comprehensive coverage of all important topics in the field, and is renowned for its accuracy and clear presentation. The 3rd edition of this bestselling textbook has been extensively revised to reflect developments in the field over the past two decades.
Elements of Molecular and Biomolecular Electrochemistry by
This book comprehensively addresses workhorse electrochemical reactions that serve as the basis of modern research for alternative energy solutions. It updates the previous edition and adds substantial new information throughout―most of which concerns proton-coupled electron transfer reactions and molecular catalysis of electrochemical reactions. This book offers chapters covering such topics as: single electron transfer at an electrode; coupling of electrode electron transfers with homogeneous chemical reactions; coupling between electron transfer and heavy atom-bond breaking and formation; proton-coupled electron transfers; molecular catalysis of electrochemical reactions; and enzymatic catalysis of electrochemical reactions.
Green Organic Chemistry and Its Interdisciplinary Applications by
This book covers key developments in green chemistry and demonstrates to students that the developments were most often the result of innovative thinking. Using a set of selected experiments, all of which have been performed in the laboratory with undergraduate students, it demonstrates how to optimize and develop green experiments.
Marine Analytical Chemistry by
This textbook offers a comprehensive and authoritative introduction to the latest analytical methods, tools and techniques used in the marine environment, bringing together the two fields of chemical oceanography and analytical chemistry. Divided into 11 chapters, the book starts with an overview of the main parameters of the marine carbon system, and it covers different sampling strategies used by the marine scientific community, and the different chemical analyses to measure trace metals, radionuclides and organic matter in the marine environment. Particular attention is given to the identification and quantification of marine persistent organic pollutants, emerging organic contaminants and microplastics. Readers will also find accessible explanations and real life examples of the application of remote sensing and in-situ sensing technologies to monitor the marine environment.
Mathematical physical chemistry : practical and intuitive methodology by
The second edition of this book has been extensively revised so that readers can gain ready access to advanced topics of mathematical physics including the theory of analytic functions and continuous groups. This easy accessibility helps to create a deeper and clearer insight into mathematical physics, with emphasis on quantum mechanics and electromagnetism along with the theory of linear vector spaces and group theory. The basic nature of the book remains unchanged. The contents are targeted at graduate and undergraduate students majoring in chemistry to supply them with the practical and intuitive methodology of mathematical physics.
Nuclear and Radiochemistry by
Nuclear and Radiochemistry, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and thorough reference that features the latest developments in the field, especially in radionuclide production, nuclear medicine, and the application of natural radiotracers. Drawing on 40 years of experience in teaching and research, this revised edition explains the basic principles and applications of the primary areas of nuclear and radiochemistry.
Physical Electrochemistry by
This bestselling textbook on physical electrochemistry caters to the needs of advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students of chemistry, materials engineering, mechanical engineering, and chemical engineering. It is unique in covering both the more fundamental, physical aspects as well as the application-oriented practical aspects in a balanced manner. In addition, it serves as a self-study text for scientists in industry and research institutions working in related fields. The book can be divided into three parts: (i) the fundamentals of electrochemistry; (ii) the most important electrochemical measurement techniques; and (iii) applications of electrochemistry in materials science and engineering, nanoscience and nanotechnology, and industry.
Practical Geochemistry by
This book is a marked departure from typical introductory geochemistry books available: It provides a simple, straightforward, and applied introduction to geochemistry. This book, written from the point of view of a practicing geologist, introduces the fundamental and most relevant principles of geochemistry, explaining them whenever possible in plain terms. Includes practical and useful topics that other introductory geochemistry books ignore, such as sampling and sample treatment, analytical geochemistry, data treatment and geostatistics, classification and discrimination diagrams, geochemical exploration, and environmental geochemistry.
Sonochemistry by
This volume traces the evolution of sonochemistry from a century ago when the effects of acoustic cavitation were first reported almost as a scientific curiosity, through the 1980's to the present. It describes the ways in which scientific interest grew rapidly during the 1990's with the formation of the European Society of Sonochemistry in 1990 and the launch of a new journal Ultrasonics Sonochemistry in 1994. It also includes two chapters relating to the evolution of the subject as seen through the particular experiences of the authors Tim Mason and Mircea Vinatoru, both pioneers of sonochemistry.