Neurodiversity in the Workplace: Myths, Advantages, & Surprising Truths. Presented by Taylor Heaton from Mom on the Spectrum Youtube channel.
Neurodivergent individuals face unique challenges when it comes to navigating the workplace. This video is a recording of a live presentation given at RS in Fort Worth, TX over Neurodiversity in the Workplace. The presentation covers: Taylor's background and late diagnosis story; What is neurodiversity?; Medical vs. social model of disability; Ableism; Common neurodivergent traits; How neurodiversity may present in the workplace; Neurodivergent strengths; and Workplace accommodations.
What is a reasonable accommodation?
"Under Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), a reasonable accommodation is a modification or adjustment to a job, the work environment, or the way things are usually done during the hiring process. These modifications enable an individual with a disability to have an equal opportunity not only to get a job, but successfully perform their job tasks to the same extent as people without disabilities. The ADA requires reasonable accommodations as they relate to three aspects of employment: 1) ensuring equal opportunity in the application process; 2) enabling a qualified individual with a disability to perform the essential functions of a job; and 3) making it possible for an employee with a disability to enjoy equal benefits and privileges of employment."
Definition provided from the U.S. Department of Labor.
The Art of Self-Accommodation | Jason Anderson | TEDxUWMilwaukee - As a Disability Services Counselor at the University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee, Jason has made the act of building bridges in the disability world his life's work. He believes that the solutions to many disability related problems lie within each person in the form of self-accommodations. Much like art, those solutions require ingenuity, cultivation, and repetition to flourish, and are entirely possible to achieve.
The Autism and Neurodiversity Self Advocacy Handbook by
Being autistic, you might come across more challenges than others around you, such as dealing with ableism, discrimination in employment or difficulties in your relationships. Written by two autistic activists, this book will give you the tools and strategies to advocate for yourself in any situation. It covers specific scenarios including work, school, and family and relationships, as well as looking at advocacy for the wider community, whether that's through social media, presentations or writing. Additionally, the book provides advice on building independence, developing your skills, standing up for others and resolving conflict. The authors explore the overall impact of self-advocacy in all areas of your life, building a sense of confidence, resilience and control. Drawing on the authors' extensive experience, this book will help you to successfully prioritize your needs and rights, challenge what is unfair or unjust and make your voice heard.
Neurodiversity at Work by
An organization's employees are its biggest competitive advantage. Performance gains can be achieved through cost saving, process improvement or technology adoption, but the biggest difference is made by people. This means that recruiting, engaging and retaining the very best talent has never been more important. Crucially, these employees should be a diverse group of people with different approaches, skills and strengths in problem solving and driving innovation. As well as focusing on gender, race, age and class, it is critical that businesses also develop a neurodiverse workforce if they are committed to outperforming the competition and achieving sustainable business growth. Neurodiversity at Work is a practical guide that explains what neurodiversity is, why it's important and what the benefits are. It covers how to attract, recruit and engage neurodiverse talent and provides guidance on how to adapt HR policies, processes and workplaces to ensure that all employees, including the 2 in 10 employees in the UK who are neurodiverse, can reach their full potential. Neurodiversity at Work is packed full of case studies from leading organizations who are already seeing the productivity, performance and financial benefits of neurodiversity in the workplace including Microsoft, Ford and EY. Also featured are interviews with people who have successfully adapted their HR processes for neurodiversity, including the Head of Talent Acquisition at IBM and the Head of People and Culture at Autotrader. Including tips, advice, examples and 'how to' actions in every chapter, this is essential reading for every HR professional.
Neurodiversity in the Workplace by
Neurodiversity in the Workplace presents a timely and needed perspective on the role and responsibility of employers and those working to increase the effectiveness of workplace practices to examine the many ways we preclude large segments of the population from employment; minimizing opportunities for building a truly inclusive work environment. This collection provides an opportunity to look at how discrimination can occur across the employment process and what can be done to minimize the exclusionary practices that prevent neurodiverse individuals from getting into the workplace, advancing, thriving, and contributing as each of us desires to do. With expertise from leading professionals, this book provides a holistic look at the application of leadership theories in a neurodiverse context and how the workplace can be adapted to accommodate for neurodiverse employees. This book also explores effective recruitment strategies by looking into applicant screening as well as interviewing and selection, adapting internal organizational resources to a neurodiverse workforce, and legal and regulatory environment considerations for autism hiring programs. Each chapter provides an overview of existing knowledge on effective workplace inclusion practices across the employment process, specific implications of research to date for a more neurodiversity-inclusive workplace, and what future research is needed to further inform these practices. This volume is intended to increase awareness about the challenges and opportunities in making the workplace more neurodiversity-inclusive, making it instrumental for I/O and other psychologists. This book is also crucial for management and business consultants; employers; diversity, equity, and inclusion specialists; human resource professionals; and others interested in neurodiversity inclusion more broadly.