Annual Threat Assessment of the U.S. Intelligence Community by
This assessment focuses on the most direct, serious threats to the United States primarily during the next year. The order of the topics presented in this assessment does not necessarily indicate their relative importance or the magnitude of the threats in the view of the IC. All require a robust intelligence response, including those where a near-term focus may help head off greater threats in the future.
Artificial Intelligence for Business Analytics: Algorithms, Platforms and Application Scenarios by
While methods of artificial intelligence (AI) were until a few years ago exclusively a topic of scientific discussions, today they are increasingly finding their way into products of everyday life. In the future, the use of business intelligence (BI) and a look into the past will no longer be sufficient for most companies. Instead, business analytics, i.e., predictive and predictive analyses and automated decisions, will be needed to stay competitive in the future. The use of growing amounts of data is a significant challenge and one of the most important areas of data analysis is represented by artificial intelligence methods.
The Art of Reconnaissance by
The Art of Reconnaissance is a comprehensive guide to the principles and practices of reconnaissance, written by Brigadier General David Henderson. The book covers a wide range of topics related to reconnaissance, including the history and evolution of the practice, the various types of reconnaissance and their applications, and the key skills and techniques required for effective reconnaissance operations. The author draws on his extensive military experience to provide practical advice and insights on topics such as surveillance, intelligence gathering, and target acquisition. Throughout the book, Brigadier General Henderson emphasizes the importance of flexibility, adaptability, and innovation in reconnaissance operations.
Business Analysis for Practitioners, 2nd Edition by
Business Analysis for Practitioners: A Practice Guide provides practical resources to tackle the project-related issues associated with requirements and business analysis—and addresses a critical need in the industry for more guidance in this area. The practice guide begins by describing the work of business analysis. It identifies the tasks that are performed, in addition to the essential knowledge and skills needed to effectively perform business analysis on programs and projects.
Business Intelligence: A Comprehensive Approach to Information Needs, Technologies, and Culture by
This book examines the managerial dimensions of business intelligence (BI) systems. It develops a set of guidelines for value creation by implementing business intelligence systems and technologies. In particular the book looks at BI as a process - driven by a mix of human and technological capabilities - to serve complex information needs in building insights and providing aid in decision making.
Business Intelligence and Analytics in Small and Medium Enterprises by
Technological developments in recent years have been tremendous. This evolution is visible in companies through technological equipment, computerized procedures, and management practices associated with technologies. His book aims to promote research related to these new trends that open up a new field of research in the small and medium enterprises (SMEs) area.
Competitive Intelligence 2.0 Competing in a Digital World by
Competitive Intelligence (CI) has emerged as a "must-have" for companies across industries. Equally valuable to the competitive intelligence professional, student, and general business reader, this book reveals the latest information and insights on major disruptors on the horizon or already present for businesses worldwide.
Competitive Intelligence Rescue by
A powerful "how-to-do-it-better" book, this is the first guidebook on competitive intelligence that uses case studies to provide behind-the-scenes insights into how professionals improve competitive intelligence processes. This groundbreaking book uses real-world case studies to expose common CI challenges and present a simple methodology for spotting problems, understanding how to rectify each problem, educating others in order to bring about improvements in a process, and testing and validating that the changes are working.
Data Analytics and Business Intelligence by
Business Analytics, one of the most popular research areas today, is driven by expanding requisites from the real world. This book reveals advances in data analytics and business intelligence that can assist industries in problem-solving exercises, with a view to driving competitive advantage. The book contains a wide range of knowledge, insights, and directions that can help master the analytics skills needed to improve, innovate, and formulate new or existing processes, products, and services.
The Ethics of Special Ops by
This book addresses one largely overlooked trend in the field of military ethics, the emergence of special operations as a prominent instrument of statecraft. The authors' analysis calls attention to qualities inherent in special operations that challenge the moral framework which informs conventional military operations.
Gardens of Intelligence by
Market and Competitive Intelligence (MCI) is the process of enhancing marketplace competitiveness through a greater understanding of a firm's competitive environment as well as leveraging the capabilities of preparedness for the future. This book digs deep into the challenges and opportunities of how to succeed with technology platforms for market and competitive intelligence.
Global Business Intelligence by
This book Global Business Intelligence assembles a cast of international experts and thought leaders and explores the implications of business intelligence on contemporary management. Global Business Intelligence will be a key resource for researchers, academics, students and policy makers alike in the fields of International Business & Management, Business Strategy, and Geopolitics as well as related disciplines like Political Science, Economics, and Geography.
Information and communication technology for competitive strategies (ICTCS 2022) : ICT: Applications and Social Interfaces by
This book contains best selected research papers presented at ICTCS 2022: Seventh International Conference on Information and Communication Technology for Competitive Strategies. This book contains papers mainly focused on ICT for computation, algorithms and data analytics and IT security.
Information Technology and Military Power by
Militaries with state-of-the-art information technology sometimes bog down in confusing conflicts. To understand why, it is important to understand the micro-foundations of military power in the information age, and this is exactly what Jon R. Lindsay's Information Technology and Military Power gives us. As Lindsay shows, digital systems now mediate almost every effort to gather, store, display, analyze, and communicate information in military organizations. He highlights how personnel now struggle with their own information systems as much as with the enemy.
Information Warfare in the Age of Cyber Conflict by
Cyber warfare and information warfare are different beasts. Both concern information, but where the former does so exclusively in its digitized and operationalized form, the latter does so in a much broader sense: with IW, information itself is the weapon. This book examines the shape, sources and dangers of information warfare (IW) as it pertains to military, diplomatic and civilian stakeholders.
Inside the Competitor's Mindset by
In Inside the Competitor’s Mindset, John Horn shares proven techniques to help businesses think like the competition and understand why they act the way they do. The keys to unlocking this mindset are cognitive empathy and a strategic approach to competitive insight that focuses on the “why” of a competitor’s move, and not just on “what happened.”
Methods and Tools for Creative Competitive Intelligence by
"Creative competitive intelligence" is an information-seeking and monitoring activity of an information environment for the purpose of creativity and innovation. It involves the process leading up to the development of an informational supply adapted to the inspiration of creative or innovative personnel. This dynamic aims for the recognition of novelties (ideas, products, technologies, etc.), the identification of new players in the world of creation and innovation, and the identification of forgotten or neglected developmental paths.
The Origins of Victory by
This book by military strategist Andrew F. Krepinevich, Jr., is the definitive take on the race for military dominance in the twenty-first century. It shows how militaries that successfully pursue disruptive innovation can gain a major advantage over their rivals, while those that fail to do so risk exposing their countries to great danger. Through exploring their experiences, Krepinevich shows how the U.S. military can win the race to identify and exploit the 'next big thing' in warfare.
A Practical Guide to Competitive Intelligence by
Written by practicing competitive intelligence professionals, A Practical Guide to Competitive Intelligence discusses the real-life problems that CI professionals encounter. The authors cover how to speak the language of your company and examine the skills you need to get noticed, make an impact, keep your job, and get recognized.
Strategic Intelligence by
'Strategic Intelligence' aims to help organisations understand the processes, technologies & applications that users need to meet the various analytical needs of the discipline. It shows how to provide communication across lines of business to prevent the creation of new strategic intelligence application silos.
Strategic Intelligence and Civil Affairs to Understand Legitimacy and Insurgency: Avoiding the Stabilization Trap by
This book describes the common pitfalls of U.S. military interventions in efforts at stabilization, which supports post-conflict societies by establishing stable governance, rule of law, a safe and secure environment, economic development and social well-being for all members of the population. These efforts are often unsuccessful and can even cause harm when mission teams do not understand both the populations with whom they are engaging and policymakers. The book recommends prioritizing a relational approach to stabilization with a professional and well-resourced Civil Affairs and strategic intelligence approach to engagements over the current preference for transactional, often lethal operations
Strategic Marketing: Making Decisions for Strategic Advantage by
Provides an in-depth analysis of the multidimensional aspects of strategic marketing. Comprising a harmonious blend of theoretical aspects and real-world applications, the book presents the framework that governs a firm's strategic decisions in the area of marketing.
Strategic Market Research by
For a company to embrace market research as a facilitator of change, it must be willing to take the approach that makes the most impact on its organization. In this guide, author Anne Beall shares her unique approach for conducting strategic market research. With more than 25 years of experience, Beall details the strategic principles she has developed that impact the way in which market research can inspire and change an organization.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information is a resource for finding and understanding business information. It contains explanation and instruction on the key facets of business information and provides detailed descriptions of key resources within both broad and specific categories. It can be used as a guide to further understanding the what, how, and why of business information research.
We Never Expected That: A Comparitive Study of Failures in National and Business Intelligence by
We Never Expected That: A Comparative Study of Failures in National and Business Intelligence focuses on a comparison between how states, through their intelligence organizations, cope with strategic surprises and how business organizations deal with unexpected movement in their field. Based on this comparison, the author proposes a new model which can better address the challenge of avoiding strategic surprises.
Major General George H. Sharpe and the Creation of American Military Intelligence in the Civil War by
In this biography of George H. Sharpe, acclaimed historian Peter Tsouras recounts the significance of Sharpe’s grand contribution to the Union war effort: the creation of an all-source intelligence operation known as the Bureau of Military Information. Tsouras contends that, under Sharpe’s leadership, the BMI was the combat multiplier that ultimately brought the Union to victory.
Need to Know by
The entire vast, modern American intelligence system--the amalgam of three-letter spy services of many stripes--can be traced back to the dire straits the world faced at the dawn of World War II. Prior to 1940, the United States had no organization to recruit spies and steal secrets or launch covert campaigns against enemies overseas and just a few codebreakers, isolated in windowless vaults. In Need to Know, Nicholas Reynolds explores the birth, infancy, and adolescence of modern American intelligence.
Playing to the Edge: American Intelligence in the Age of Terror by
For General Michael Hayden, playing to the edge means playing so close to the line that you get chalk dust on your cleats. Otherwise, by playing back, you may protect yourself, but you will be less successful in protecting America. "Play to the edge" was Hayden's guiding principle when he ran the National Security Agency, and it remained so when he ran CIA. In his view, many shortsighted and uninformed people are quick to criticize, and this book will give them much to chew on but little easy comfort; it is an unapologetic insider's look told from the perspective of the people who faced awesome responsibilities head on, in the moment.
Secret Wars by
Secret Wars is the first book to systematically analyze the ways powerful states covertly participate in foreign wars, showing a recurring pattern of such behavior stretching from World War I to U.S.-occupied Iraq. Investigating what governments keep secret during wars and why, Austin Carson argues that leaders maintain the secrecy of state involvement as a response to the persistent concern of limiting war.
Spies: The Epic Intelligence War Between East and West by
Spies is the history of the secret war that Russia and the West have been waging for a century. Espionage, sabotage, and subversion were the Kremlin's means to equalize the imbalance of resources between the East and West before, during, and after the Cold War. This fresh reading of history, combined with practical takeaways for our current great power struggles, make Spies a unique and essential addition to the history of the Cold War and the unrolling conflict between the United States and China that will dominate the 21st century.
Spy Ships by
Almost from the first days of seafaring, men have used ships for "spying" and intelligence collection. Since early in the twentieth century, with the technological advancements of radio and radar, the U.S. Navy and other government agencies and many other navies have used increasingly specialized ships and submarines to ferret out the secrets of other nations. Through extensive, meticulous research and through the lens of such notorious spy ship events as the Israeli attack on the USS Liberty, the North Korean capture of the USS Pueblo, and the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency's success in clandestinely salvaging part of a Soviet submarine with the Hughes Glomar Explorer, Spy Ships is a fascinating and valuable resource for understanding maritime intelligence collection and what we have learned from it.
World War I and the Origins of U. S. Military Intelligence by
In World War I and the Origins of U.S. Military Intelligence, military historian James L. Gilbert provides an authoritative overview of the birth of modern Army intelligence. Following the natural division of the intelligence war, which was fought on both the home front and overseas, Gilbert traces the development and use of intelligence and counterintelligence through the eyes of their principal architects: General Dennis E. Nolan and Colonel Ralph Van Deman.