Hydroacoustics: Books & eBooks

The Bloomsbury Handbook of Sonic Methodologies by Michael Bull, Marcel Cobussen The field of Sound Studies has changed and developed dramatically over the last two decades involving a vast and dizzying array of work produced by those working in the arts, social sciences and sciences. The study of sound is inherently interdisciplinary and is undertaken both by those who specialize in sound and by others who wish to include sound as an intrinsic and indispensable element in their research. This is the first resource to provide a wide ranging, cross-cultural and interdisciplinary investigation and analysis of the ways in which researchers use a broad range of methodologies in order to pursue their sonic investigations.

Fluid Mechanics, Hydraulics, Hydrology, and Water Resources for Civil Engineers by Amithirigala Widhanelage Jayawardena One of the core areas of study in civil engineering concerns water that encompasses fluid mechanics, hydraulics and hydrology. Fluid mechanics provide the mathematical and scientific basis for hydraulics and hydrology that also have added empirical and practical contents. The objective of Fluid Mechanics, Hydraulics, Hydrology and Water Resources for Civil Engineers is to assimilate these core study areas into a single source of knowledge.

Fundamentals of Underwater Acoustics by Orlando Camargo Rodriguez This textbook on Underwater Acoustics has a structure that is more organic than logical. It thereby unifies diverse areas of research, including topics of signal processing, the sonar equation, sources and receivers, scattering and reverberation, wave propagation, propagation models, and inverse problems. It also provides code fragments written in Python which complement the discussion.

Handbook of Hydrology by Allison Sergeant (Editor) Hydrology is the field of science concerned with the study of the movement, management, and distribution of Earth's water. This book contains some path-breaking studies in the field of hydrology. It outlines the processes, applications, and recent advances in hydrology in detail. This book will serve as a reference to a broad spectrum of readers.

Hydrology: An Introduction by Wilfried Brutsaert Wilfried Brutsaert has revised and updated his classic textbook to take into account recent developments, while retaining the rigor and structure of the previous edition to introduce the fundamental principles of hydrology. New topics include the response of the global water cycle to climate change, the land surface energy budget closure, snow melt, groundwater trends and statistical surface variability with disturbed atmospheric boundary layers. Hydrologic phenomena are dealt with at the spatial and temporal scales at which they occur in nature.

Hydrology and its Discontents: Contemplations on the Innate Paradoxes of Water Research by John T. Van Stan II, Jack Simmons This book examines the intricate web linking water science and society using diverse philosophical lenses. Highlighting the tensions within the threads of this web, we spotlight major conceptual tightropes that water researchers tread daily. Drawing inspiration from Freud's examination of tensions in 'Society and Its Discontents', we illuminate the tension-filled paradoxes inherent to water science, emphasizing the challenges in keeping these paradoxical threads taut enough to ensure a navigable and sustainable bond with society.

Modern Problems of Acoustics and Hydroacoustics by Alexander Kleschev This collection brings together studies of isotropic and anisotropic scatterers and waveguides, hydroacoustic antennas for echo sounders, frequency, pulse and transitional characteristics of loudspeakers, and oil residues in railway tanks. It also investigates numerical solutions of sound scattering problems by bodies of non-analytical forms using the boundary element method.

Movement of Acoustic Energy in the Ocean by Vladimir A. Shchurov This book highlights the advantages of the vector-phase method in underwater acoustic measurements and presents results of theoretical and experimental studies of the deep open ocean and shallow sea based on vector-phase representations. Based on the physical phenomena discovered and compensation of counter streams of energy and vortices of the acoustic intensity vector, processes of transmitting acoustic energy of a tonal signal in the real ocean are described.

Ocean Acoustics by Anatoly Kistovich, K. V. Pokazeev, Tatiana Chaplina This book presents a comprehensive overview of hydroacoustics and describes the physical basis of acoustic processes observed in the sea. In addition, it discusses the basic concepts and provides simplified models of sound propagation and acoustic phenomena at the boundary between environments. Lastly, the book examines in detail a number of applications of ocean acoustics and methods.

Principles of Hydroacoustics by A. A. Kleschev This textbook is devoted to the study of the equations of liquid and solid elastic (isotropic and anisotropic). It provides the main characteristics of the reflectivity of ideal and elastic bodies as the simple forms (sphere, infinite cylinder, prolate and oblate spheroids) and bodies of non-analytical shape (finite cylinder with hemispheres at the ends). Moreover, in the textbook, along with classical methods of diffraction theory, such numerical methods as the finite element method and the boundary element method are used.

Satellite Remote Sensing of Terrestrial Hydrology by Christopher Ndehedehe This book highlights several opportunities that exist in satellite remote sensing of large-scale terrestrial hydrology. It lays bare the novel concept of remote sensing hydrology and demonstrates key applications of advance satellite technology and new methods in advancing our fundamental understanding of environmental systems.

Sing Like Fish: How Sound Rules Life Under Water by Amorina Kingdon For centuries, humans ignored sound in the "silent world" of the ocean, assuming that what we couldn't perceive, didn't exist. But we couldn't have been more wrong. Marine scientists now have the technology to record and study the complex interplay of the myriad sounds in the sea. In Sing Like Fish, award-winning science journalist Amorina Kingdon synthesizes historical discoveries with the latest scientific research in a clear and compelling portrait of this sonic undersea world.

Understanding Ocean Acoustics by Jens M. Hoven, Hefeng Dong Underwater acoustics is important in all underwater sonar systems for object detection, classification, surveillance and for communications links for military and civilian purposes. Sound is also a major tool for studying the ocean environment and the interaction of sound and marine life in general. Understanding Ocean Acoustics emphasises such applications and issues relevant to studies of the ocean environment and aquatic life.

Underwater Acoustic Channel by Junying Hui; Xueli Sheng Based on the basic theory of underwater acoustic channels and the various characteristics of the marine acoustic environment factor, this textbook aims to help students understand the impact of the marine acoustic channel on the sonar system. It helps students to grasp underwater acoustic signal processing principles and obtain the ability to solve practical problems in underwater acoustic channel engineering. Finally, it aims at laying a foundation for the further sonar system design.

Underwater Communications and Networks by Yi Lou, Niaz Ahmed This textbook covers all related communication technologies of underwater wireless communication, such as acoustic communication, optical communication, and magneto-inductive communication. After describing each technology, the authors relay their pros and cons, as it is essential to learn the underlying mechanism, advancements, and limitations of these techniques. The authors also introduce research trends, pointing readers in the direction of research in the field of underwater wireless communication.