Synthetic Biology: Books & eBooks

Actinobacteria: microbiology to synthetic biology by Loganathan Karthik (Editor) The book comprises 14 chapters with different aspects of application and utilization of actinomycetes from the microbiology; systems biology, pharmacology of natural products, bioinformatics, actinomycete and its diversity, CRISPR, artificial Intelligence, synthetic biology, metabolic engineering, expressional studies, and biosynthetic gene clusters. The book delivers useful information on actinomyces to researchers, novices in genome designing, specialists, clinicians, policymakers, and professionals.

Biosecurity in the Age of Synthetic Biology by Leyma Pérez De Haro Biosecurity in the Age of Synthetic Biology is a comprehensive review of the biosecurity issues faced by the innovative and rapidly evolving field of synthetic biology. This is a meticulous review of the groundbreaking biotechnological advancements and the critical need for robust biosecurity measures. The book provides an in-depth examination of the ethical, legal, and societal dimensions shaping the future of synthetic biology research, in addition to a practical protocol for biosecurity risk assessment. This is the first book to offer a structured guideline for biosecurity risk assessment in synthetic biology. The author's balanced view of the opportunities of synthetic biology and the inherent security risks reveal foundational concepts, cutting-edge applications, and international perspectives on biosecurity. This essential guide illuminates scientific and technological frontiers and advocates for a proactive approach ensuring the responsible development and use of synthetic biology. It is an indispensable resource for scientists, policymakers, and anyone interested in the intersection of biotechnology and biosecurity

Biosynthesis of Natural Products in Plants by Nitish Kumar (Editor) This book discusses the importance of plants in terms of their natural bioactive products and medicinal, nutraceutical and health benefits. Plants are natural sources of many pharmaceutical compounds used in traditional and modern medicine, and their mass production and efficient use is imperative in view of the new emerging diseases. This book covers breakthroughs in the research of plant natural products by focusing on how different state-of-the-art biotechnologies facilitate their discovery, the molecular basis of their biosynthesis, as well as synthetic biology. Research on plant's natural products in the pre-genomic era was focused on discovering bioactive molecules with pharmaceutical activities, and identifying individual genes responsible for biosynthesis. In the post-genomics era, however, integration of inter-disciplinary approaches and detailed analysis of all accessible data from multi-informatics is necessary. This would accelerate the full characterization of biosyntheticand regulatory circuit for producing plant natural products. This book is an important reference book for the researchers working in the field of plant natural products and pharmaceutical industries at global level.

Computational Biology and Machine Learning for Metabolic Engineering and Synthetic Biology by Kumar Selvarajoo (Editor) This volume provides protocols for computational, statistical, and machine learning methods that are mainly applied to the study of metabolic engineering, synthetic biology, and disease applications. These techniques support the latest progress in cross-disciplinary research that integrates the different scales of biological complexity. The topics covered in this book are geared toward researchers with a background in engineering, computational analytical, and modeling experience and cover a broad range of topics in computational and machine learning approaches. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Comprehensive and practical, Computational Biology and Machine Learning for Metabolic Engineering and Synthetic Biology is a valuable resource for any researcher or scientist who wants to learn more about the latest computational methods and how they are applied toward the understanding and prediction of complex biology.

Emerging threats of synthetic biology and biotechnology by Benjamin D. Trump (Editor), Marie-Valentine Florin (Editor), Edward Perkins (Editor), Igor Linkov (Editor) Synthetic biology is a field of biotechnology that is rapidly growing in various applications, such as in medicine, environmental sustainability, and energy production. However these technologies also have unforeseen risks and applications to humans and the environment. This open access book presents discussions on risks and mitigation strategies for these technologies including biosecurity, or the potential of synthetic biology technologies and processes to be deliberately misused for nefarious purposes. The book presents strategies to prevent, mitigate, and recover from 'dual-use concern' biosecurity challenges that may be raised by individuals, rogue states, or non-state actors. Several key topics are explored including opportunities to develop more coherent and scalable approaches to govern biosecurity from a laboratory perspective up to the international scale and strategies to prevent potential health and environmental hazards posed by deliberate misuse of synthetic biology without stifling innovation. The book brings together the expertise of top scholars in synthetic biology and biotechnology risk assessment, management, and communication to discuss potential biosecurity governing strategies and offer perspectives for collaboration in oversight and future regulatory guidance.

A First Course in Systems Biology by Eberhard Voit; Melissa L. Kemp A First Course in Systems Biology is an introduction to the growing field of systems biology for advanced undergraduates and grad students. Its focus is the design and analysis of computational models and their applications to diverse biomedical phenomena, from simple networks to complex pathway systems, signal transduction, and interacting populations. This third edition has been thoroughly updated. It provides an introduction to agent-based and multiscale modeling, a deeper account of biological design principles and the optimization of metabolic flux distributions. It also discusses novel topics of synthetic biology, personalized medicine and virtual clinical trials.

The Genesis Machine by Amy Webb; Andrew Hessel By examining both the science and the ethical, moral, and religious issues surrounding synthetic biology, Webb and Hessel provide the background for preventing its misuse by some to re-engineer their bodies and that of their children, further increasing the disturbing division and polarization of societies into the haves (the enhanced) and the have nots. They provide the background for making wise decisions about issues such as: whether to program novel viruses to fight diseases, what genetic privacy will look like, who will "own" living organisms, how companies should earn revenue from engineered cells, and how to contain a synthetic organism in a lab. Whether we approve or disapprove of synthetic biology, it is coming. Now, we need to understand its promise and peril. Webb and Hessel help us understand the science as well as the political and societal issues involved.

The Genesis Machine by Amy Webb; Andrew Hessel By examining both the science and the ethical, moral, and religious issues surrounding synthetic biology, Webb and Hessel provide the background for preventing its misuse by some to re-engineer their bodies and that of their children, further increasing the disturbing division and polarization of societies into the haves (the enhanced) and the have nots. They provide the background for making wise decisions about issues such as: whether to program novel viruses to fight diseases, what genetic privacy will look like, who will "own" living organisms, how companies should earn revenue from engineered cells, and how to contain a synthetic organism in a lab. Whether we approve or disapprove of synthetic biology, it is coming. Now, we need to understand its promise and peril. Webb and Hessel help us understand the science as well as the political and societal issues involved.

The Geoengineered Transhuman by Elana Freeland An exposure of the ongoing global shift to digital biology and transhumanism. Explores how chemicals and nanotechnology are being continuously delivered via chemtrail aerosols by jets, drones, and rockets in the guise of "climate change." Examines the public-private partnerships behind transhumanism, including Big Pharma, GMO agribusiness, DARPA/IARPA, corporations, and foundations. Reveals the reality of the secret space program (SSP) and the planetary "smart grid" of 5G/6G, the Internet of Things (IoT), and artificial intelligence (AI).

Grain and Noise - Artists in Synthetic Biology Labs by Markus Schmidt (Editor) The collaboration between scientists and artists in the form of Artist-in-Lab residencies may not only cause a productive disturbance for a day's work in the laboratory, but also reveal new ways of understanding. Research and science communication company has brought together artists and synthetic biologists throughout Europe in a residence program that spans four truly cross-disciplinary collaborations. The contributors to this volume share their reflections of the dynamic frictions that occurred when their artistic and scientific worlds met.These stories, where chemistry labs, tobacco plants, genetically edited bacteria, and new-to-nature enzymes collide with music, photography, film, and visual arts, infuses the ongoing dialogue between art and sciences with grain, noise, and synergies.

Microalgae for Sustainable Products by Ajam Shekh (Editor); Santanu Dasgupta (Editor) Highlighting the potential of microalgae as a sustainable source of biochemicals this book covers the applications of synthetic biology to improve microalgae as a biotechnological resource

Nature's Genius by David Farrier In Nature's Genius, David Farrier takes us on a profound journey into this ever-changing natural world. What we discover could transform us. The ways animals adjust to the urban landscape can help us design sustainable cities. Examining other intelligences can help us remake our economies. Learning from bacterial evolution may help solve our waste problem. Synthetic biology could rescue animals from the brink of extinction. Thinking in timescales of the natural world could help us choose a better future. Life on Earth is changing; the question is, can we change with it? Can we remake the world to be fit for all life to thrive once more?

Plant synthetic biology by Matias D. Zurbriggen (Editor) This volume provides methods on different aspects and applications on plants, algae, photosynthetic bacteria, synthetic construct design, and multiplex cloning. Chapters cover multiple aspects of synthetic metabolic, photosynthetic systems, metabolic and signaling pathways, advanced engineering of metabolic networks, isolation of organelles and co-culture of microorganisms, and methods for the on command manipulation of the relative stability of proteins. Written in the format of the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, lists necessary materials and reagents, includes tips on troubleshooting and known pitfalls, and step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols. Authoritative and cutting-edge, Plant Synthetic Biology: Methods and Protocols aims to be a useful resource for both researchers starting to explore novel experimental avenues as well as for experts willing to expand their portfolio of tools and strategies.

Programmable planet by Ted Anton Programmable Planet is a grand tour through the world of synthetic biology, telling the stories of the colorful visionaries whose ideas are shaping discoveries. Ted Anton explores the field from its beginning in fighting malaria in Africa to the COVID vaccines and beyond

Strange natures: conservation in the era of synthetic biology by Kent H. Redford and W. M. Adams A groundbreaking examination of the implications of synthetic biology for biodiversity conservation. Nature almost everywhere survives on human terms. The distinction between what is natural and what is human-made, which has informed conservation for centuries, has become blurred. When scientists can reshape genes more or less at will, what does it mean to conserve nature? The tools of synthetic biology are changing the way we answer that question. Gene editing technology is already transforming the agriculture and biotechnology industries. What happens if synthetic biology is also used in conservation to control invasive species, fight wildlife disease, or even bring extinct species back from the dead? Conservation scientist Kent Redford and geographer Bill Adams turn to synthetic biology, ecological restoration, political ecology, and de-extinction studies and propose a thoroughly innovative vision for protecting nature.

Synthetic biology: a lab manual by Josefine Liljeruhm (Author), Letian Bao (Author), Anthony C. Forster (Author) The first edition of this book was the first manual for laboratory work in the rapidly expanding field of synthetic biology. Based upon a highly successful university course by one of the pioneers in synthetic biology, the manual became particularly popular with students of the enormous annual international Genetically Engineered Machine (iGEM) competition. Questions at the time included the scalability of BioBrick cloning, how to stabilize chromoprotein expression and change the colors, and how to adapt methods for high schools and biohackers. A decade later, this second edition answers these questions with huge BioBrick constructs (front cover), next-generation less-toxic chromoproteins in a kit, and ultraviolet-light-free quantitation by smartphones. Further updates include a computational modeling lab and new avenues in SynBio.

Synthetic biology: methods and protocols by Jeffrey Carl Braman (Editor) This second edition provides new and updated techniques and applications associated with synthetic biology. Chapters guide readers through the creation and regulation of gene circuits, manipulation of biochemical pathways, genome editing and modification, creating genome language and computing, as well as molecular assembly.Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and key tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and cutting-edge, Synthetic Biology: Methods and Protocols, Second Edition aims to ensure successful results in the further study of this vital field.

Synthetic Biology and the Question of Public Participation by Matthias Braun; Stephanie Siewert; Katharina Kieslich; Peter Dabrock The book considers the relationship between governance and participation, and the ways participation has been understood, framed and applied in the context of synthetic biology (SB) governance approaches.

Synthetic Biology for Therapeutics by Urartu Ozgur Safak Seker (Editor) Synthetic biology is enabling scientists to use engineered genetic circuits in the cells as the basis for the development of new living therapeutics and as a powerful new weapon in the fight against diseases, especially cancer. Bacteria-mediated therapy is a promising alternative cancer treatment. The book covers the recent developments of cellular therapies from a synthetic biology perspective including engineered microbial therapies, CAR-T therapies etc. and is an indispensable guide to scientists in both biotechnology and medicine.

Synthetic Biology Handbook by Sandra Cutts; Sebastian Ubal The book begins with an in-depth exploration of the role of genetic engineering technology in the manipulation of organisms' genetics. It provides a foundational understanding of the principles and applications of genetic engineering in the context of Synthetic Biology. It also delves into the present and future applications of molecular cloning, ranging from aquaculture to plant heterosis and anticancer activities. The book covers advanced topics related to Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), including its principles, applications in infectious diseases, and specifics such as annealing temperature and primer binding. The book serves as a valuable resource for students and academics in biology, genetics, and related disciplines, offering a comprehensive guide to Synthetic Biology and its interdisciplinary intersections. This book caters to professionals and researchers seeking in-depth understanding of the principles and applications of genetic engineering and Synthetic Biology.