AI at War: How Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Machine Learning are Changing Naval Warfare
by
AI at War is intended to provide a balanced and practical understanding for both national security professionals and the interested public of the application of AI to war fighting. Although the themes and findings of the chapters are generally applicable across the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD), to include all Services, Joint Staff and defense agencies, as well as allied and partner ministries of defense/defense, it is a "case study" of war fighting functions in the Naval Services-the United States Navy and United States Marine Corps.
Autonomous Vessels in Maritime Affairs: Law and Governance Implications
by
This book examines law and governance implications in relation to maritime autonomous surface ships (MASS). Adopting a multi-disciplinary approach, it focuses on naval warfare and security, seaworthiness and techno-regulatory assessments, global environmental change, autonomous passenger transportation, as well as liability and insurance. It also considers selected national and regional developments.
Blue Legalities: The Life and Laws of the Sea
by
Blue Legalities contends that the world's oceans have created space for multiple complex and overlapping regimes of governance--particularly as climate change and technological development are transforming the oceans and our relationship to them. States and corporations frequently imagine oceans simultaneously as a global commons and as a repository of profitable commodities. The editors and contributors to this collection consider multiple realms of ocean law and governance, extending beyond legislation to consider regulatory and administrative systems, scientific practices, governmental frameworks, and methods of geographical reasoning that shape legalities in the ocean.
Deep Learning for Unmanned Systems
by
The book is primarily meant for researchers from academia and industry, who are working on in the research areas such as engineering, control engineering, robotics, mechatronics, biomedical engineering, mechanical engineering and computer science. The book chapters deal with the recent research problems in the areas of reinforcement learning-based control of UAVs and deep learning for unmanned aerial systems (UAS). It presents various techniques of deep learning for robotic applications.
Disruptive Technology and the Law of Naval Warfare
by
Disruptive technologies have transformed conflict at sea, creating a dynamic and distributed operational environment that extends from the oceans to encompass warfare on land, in the air, outer space, and cyberspace. Naval warfare throughout this integrated multi-domain, networked seascape raises choice of law decisions that include the law of naval warfare and the law of armed conflict, neutrality law, and the peacetime regimes that apply to the oceans, airspace, outer space, and cyberspace. The international law in networked naval warfare must contend with autonomous vessels and aircraft, artificial intelligence, and long-range precision strike missiles that can close the "kill chain" at sea and beyond.
The Evolution of Undersea Warfare
by
The book takes readers through the various strategies and technologies that have shaped underwater combat across the world. This comprehensive title looks into the evolution of submarine warfare, from the early 20th century to the cutting-edge innovations of today, exploring how different regions have uniquely approached the challenges of the deep sea. This book is an essential read for military enthusiasts, historians, and anyone fascinated by the mysterious and often perilous world beneath the ocean's surface.
Intelligent Marine and Aerial Vehicles: Theory and Applications
by
Unmanned marine vehicles (UMVs) is a collective term commonly used to describe autonomous underwater vehicles, remotely operated vehicles, semi-submersibles, and unmanned surface craft. UMVs are heavily used in the military, civilian, and scientific communities for undertaking designated missions whilst either operating autonomously and/or in co-operation with other types of vehicles. Advanced marine vehicles are increasing their capabilities and the degree of autonomy more and more in order to perform more sophisticated maritime missions. The main objective of this edited book is to address various challenges and issues pertinent to the intelligent control of UMVs and UAVs.
Maritime Security Law in Hybrid Warfare
by
The recrudescence of great power competition at sea raises several legal problems. Maritime Security Law in Hybrid Warfare brings together authors from various fields of international law to address such challenges in the legal intersection between naval war, military activities, maritime law enforcement, and hybrid warfare. This book explores the means for increasing legal resilience against the emerging trend of weaponization of commercial ships, underwater cables and pipelines, lawfare, and migration by hybrid adversaries.
Network-Based Control of Unmanned Marine Vehicles
by
This book presents a comprehensive analysis of stability, stabilization, and fault detection in networked control systems, with a focus on unmanned marine vehicles. It investigates the challenges of network-based control in areas like heading control, fault detection filter and controller design, dynamic positioning, and cooperative target tracking. Communication networks in control systems can induce delays and dropouts, so the book presents the importance of stability analysis, stabilize, and fault detection. To help readers gain a deeper understanding of these concepts, the book provides fundamental concepts and real-world examples. This book is a valuable resource for researchers and practitioners working in the field of network-based control for unmanned marine vehicles
Sea Power: The History and Geopolitics of the World's Oceans
by
Sea Power steps back to take a holistic view of the plagues to our oceans that are best seen that way, from piracy to pollution. When most of us look at a globe, we focus on the shape of the of the seven continents. Admiral Stavridis sees the shapes of the seven seas. After reading Sea Power, you will too.
Sing Like Fish: How Sound Rules Life Under Water
by
Our seas echo with human-made sound, but we are just learning of the repercussions of anthropogenic noise on the marine world's delicate acoustic ecosystems--masking mating calls, chasing animals from their food, and even wounding creatures, from plankton to lobsters. With intimate and artful prose, Sing Like Fish tells a uniquely complete story of ocean animals' submerged sounds, envisions a quieter future, and offers a profound new understanding of the world below the surface
Uncrewed Vessels and International Law
by
This policy-oriented jurisprudence presents the latest research findings on legal challenges faced by the international regulatory framework, as posed by the increasing deployment of uncrewed vessels at sea. It is the first publication that offers discussions and opinions reflecting a combined international and comparative (especially, Eastern) perspective. The contributors from multiple jurisdictions elaborate on legal implications of the use of uncrewed vessels for the military, commercial, scientific-research, and law-enforcement purposes from such diverse angles as the law of the sea, international humanitarian law, the law of war, global shipping regulation, marine environment protection, cybersecurity, and artificial intelligence and law.
Underwater Acoustic Signal Processing Modeling, Detection, and Estimation
by
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the detection and processing of signals in underwater acoustics. Background material on active and passive sonar systems, underwater acoustics, and statistical signal processing makes the book a self-contained and valuable resource for graduate students, researchers, and active practitioners alike. Signal detection topics span a range of common signal types including signals of known form such as active sonar or communications signals; signals of unknown form, including passive sonar and narrowband signals; and transient signals such as marine mammal vocalizations.
Underwater Vehicle Control and Communication Systems Based on Machine Learning Techniques
by
The development of intelligent transportation systems has become significant in marine engineering especially Autonomous Underwater Vehicles with an aim to enhance energy efficiency management and communication systems. This book covers different aspects of optimization autonomous underwater vehicles and their propulsion systems via machine learning techniques. It further analyses hydrodynamic characteristics including study of experimental investigation combined with hydrodynamic characteristics backed my MATLAB codes and simulation study results.
Unmanned and Autonomous Ships: An Overview of MASS
by
Automated shipping is explored in terms of economics, technology, safety and the environment under the broad themes of ship design and engineering, command and control, navigation, communications, security, regulatory issues, and training. This includes initiatives for autonomous shipping as well as civilian implications of military ship automation programs. This book is primarily for maritime professionals, regulatory authorities, insurers, and environmental groups.
These books contain popular tutorials published in the Journal of Electronic Defense. Full PDF copies are available on IEEE Xplore for Research Commons users.
EW 101: A First Course in Electronic Warfare
by
This popular series of tutorials, featured over a period of years in the Journal of Electronic Defense, is now available in a single volume. Organized into chapters with new introductory and supplementary material from the author, you get clear, concise and well-illustrated examinations of critical topics such as antenna parameters, receiver sensitivity, processing tasks, and search strategies, LPI signals, jamming, communication links, and simulation. The chapters define key terms and explain how and why particular technologies are relevant to electronic defense. Detailed charts, diagrams and formulas give you the practical knowledge you need to apply specific techniques in the field.
EW 102: A Second Course in Electronic Warfare
by
Serving as a continuation of the bestselling book EW 101: A First Course in Electronic Warfare, this new volume is a second book based on the popular tutorials featured in the Journal of Electronic Defense. Without delving into complex mathematics, this book lets you understand important concepts central to EW, so you gain a basic working knowledge of the technologies and techniques deployed in today's EW systems.Organized into chapters with new introductory and supplementary material from the author, this unique book includes tutorials on radar characteristics, infrared and electro-optical systems, signal jamming, spectrum spreading, satellite communications, and emitter location systems. A thorough and challenging problem set for each class of EW technology explained in the book, complete with solutions, teaches you how to evaluate systems and their applications.
EW 103: Tactical Battlefield Communications Electronic Warfare
by
Like its predecessors, EW 103 presents a series of highly informative and easy-to-comprehend tutorials, along with insightful introductory and connective material that helps you understand how each aspect fits together. From communications math (mainly simple dB formulas), receiving systems, and signals, to communications emitter location, intercept, and jamming, this comprehensive volume covers all the key topics in the field. Moreover, this hands-on reference includes a CD-ROM with critical formulas that will save you countless hours working on your projects. The book also comes packaged with a unique antenna and propagation slide rule for quick communication link calculations.
EW 104: Electronic Warfare Against a New Generation of Threats
by
The fourth book in the bestselling Artech House EW 100 series is dedicated to reviewing legacy threats and discussing new threats which have arisen since Y2K in communications, radar, and IR threats. Like its predecessors, EW 104 presents a series of highly informative and easy-to-comprehend tutorials, along with insightful introductory and connective material that helps you understand how each aspect fits together. This reference starts with a review of the generalities of legacy threats, from the technical point of view, with a focus on what makes the new threats more challenging. Readers are provided with details of threats in three major areas - Communications, Radars, and IR Threats.
EW 105: Space Electronic Warfare
by
The fifth book in the bestselling Artech House EW 100 series explores electronic warfare (EW) in space. Practical problems – including intercept and jamming of hostile signals transmitted from the Earth’s surface and the vulnerability of satellite links to attack from the Earth’s surface are discussed. Spherical trigonometry is covered to provide the background necessary to understand the scope of satellite problems. Orbit mechanics, specifically the way the Earth and its satellites revolve around one another, is also explained. The basics of radio propagation and how it applies to communications Electronic Warfare are demonstrated, as well as the special considerations that apply to radio transmission to and from an Earth satellite. Satellite links and link vulnerability are discussed.