Buckling and Ultimate Strength of Ship and Ship-like Floating Structures by
Buckling and Ultimate Strength of Ship and Ship-like Floating Structures provides an integrated state-of-the-art evaluation of ship structure mechanics including buckling, plastic failure, ultimate strength, and ultimate bending moments. For the design of any industrial product, it is necessary to understand the fundamentals in the failure behavior of structures under extreme loads. Significant developments have been made in understanding the analysis method of plastic collapse and behavior and strength of structures accompanied by buckling.
Computational Ship Design by
This book offers an introduction to the fundamental principles and systematic methodologies employed in computational approaches to ship design. It takes a detailed approach to the description of the problem definition, related theories, mathematical formulation, algorithm selection, and other core design information.
Concepts in Submarine Design by
This book explores the many engineering and architectural aspects of submarine design and how they relate to each other and the operational performance required of the vessel. It will serve as a text for students and as a reference manual for practising engineers and designers.
Contemporary Ideas on Ship Stability: From Dynamics to Criteria by
The book is the fourth of a line of books started 20 years ago and having the main title Contemporary Ideas on Ship Stability. It focuses on the state-of-the-art ship stability criteria and covers topics such as ship dynamics in waves, roll damping, stability of damaged ships, model experiments, and effect of stability requirements on ship design and operation. This book helps the readers to understand the current state of the art in the field of ship stability and see how this comes into the development of modern criteria of ship design and operation.
Design in Maritime Engineering by
This book covers several research outcomes of various fields and schools related to maritime operation, applications and materials science. Thirty-four research papers have been compiled from the 2nd International Conference on Marine and Advanced Technologies 2021 (ICMAT 2021) which was organized by the Research and Innovation Section of the Universiti Kuala Lumpur-MIMET. The chapters were written by experienced lecturers from various universities in Malaysia discussing various topics and sub-topics related to maritime engineering and materials science. These chapters portray the actual knowledge on the latest developments and trends of technologies in maritime industries.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Engineering by
This encyclopedia adopts a wider definition for the concept of ocean engineering. It summarizes the A-Z of the background and application knowledge of ocean engineering for use by ocean scientists and ocean engineers as well as nonspecialists such as engineers and scientists from all disciplines, economists, students, and politicians.
FE Computation on Accuracy Fabrication of Ship and Offshore Structure Based on Processing Mechanics by
This book provides insight on processing mechanics during ship and offshore structure, and researchers, scientists, and engineers in the field of manufacturing process mechanics can benefit from the book. This book is written by subject experts based on the recent research results in FE computation on accuracy fabrication of ship and offshore structures based on processing mechanics.
Handbook of Marine Craft Hydrodynamics and Motion Control by
Handbook of Marine Craft Hydrodynamics and Motion Control is an extensive study of the latest research in hydrodynamics, guidance, navigation, and control systems for marine craft. The text establishes how the implementation of mathematical models and modern control theory can be used for simulation and verification of control systems, decision-support systems, and situational awareness systems. Coverage includes hydrodynamic models for marine craft, models for wind, waves and ocean currents, dynamics and stability of marine craft, advanced guidance principles, sensor fusion, and inertial navigation.
A Holistic Approach to Ship Design, Volume 1: Optimisation of Ship Design and Operation for Life Cycle by
This book introduces a holistic approach to ship design and its optimisation for life-cycle operation. It deals with the scientific background of the adopted approach and the associated synthesis model, which follows modern computer aided engineering (CAE) procedures. It integrates techno-economic databases, calculation and multi-objective optimisation modules and s/w tools with a well-established Computer-Aided Design (CAD) platform, along with a Virtual Vessel Framework (VVF), which will allow virtual testing before the building phase of a new vessel.
A Holistic Approach to Ship Design, Volume 2: Application Case Studies by
This book deals with modern Computer-Aided Design (CAD) software tools and platforms implemented in ship design, the integration of techno-economic databases, the use of optimisation and simulation software tools, which are integrated in these platforms, and the virtual modelling of ships and their operation by using a Virtual Vessel Framework (VVF). It contains a series of application case studies related to the developed holistic approach to ship design and operation.
Human Factors for Naval Marine Vehicle Design and Operation by
Designers understand the marine vehicle; human factors professionals understand how a particular environment affects people. Yet neither has a practical understanding of the other's field. This book intends to bridge the communications gap, and helps enhance the design and operation of naval marine vehicles.
Hydrodynamics of High-Performance Marine Vessels: Volume 1 by
This is a comprehensive two-volume set of books devoted to the hydrodynamics of high-performance marine vessels. These vessels may also be generally referred to as high-speed or advanced marine craft. Types of craft addressed include monohulls, catamarans, trimarans and other multihull vessels, air-cushion vehicles, surface-effect ships and planing craft. The hydrodynamic aspects dealt with are the steady-state resistance, wave generation, sinkage and trim, unsteady effects and motions in waves. Separate chapters are devoted to viscous resistance, transom sterns and the behavior of skirts for air-cushion vehicles and seals for surface-effect ships
Introduction to Marine Dynamics by
Master the fundamentals of complex marine systems with this introduction to marine dynamics, vibrations, hydrodynamics, and stochastic processes. It connects key theoretical concepts, including as the velocity potential, impulsive force and L'Hospital's rule, to real-world marine engineering applications such as such as marine platform dynamics, extreme motions and exceedance probabilities, and includes over 60 multi-part end-of-chapter problems, building from simplified questions to advanced exercises, enabling students to grow in confidence towards solving complex questions.
Introduction to Naval Architecture by
Written by an award-winning naval architecture author and former vice-president of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA), this fifth edition provides a broad appreciation of the science and art of naval architecture, explaining the subject in physical rather than in mathematical terms.
Local Strength of Ship Structures by
Ship structures can be extremely large, and their structural arrangements are often complex and of a considerable variety. Local Strength of Ship Structures examines the basic aspects of ship structural analysis and design using mathematical tools, with an emphasis on an understanding of the physics of the behavior of these structures.
The Maritime Engineering Reference Book by
The Maritime Engineer's Reference Book is a one-stop reference for engineers involved in marine engineering and naval architectureis by leading international contributors from one of the most respected stable of marine titles on the market. Material ranges from the basics to more advanced topics on the key areas of ship design, construction and operation. It covers classic topics including ship stability and manoeuvering as well as new technologies such as computer aided ship design and automated underwater vehicles.
Mechanics of Wave-Seabed-Structure Interactions by
Opening with recent advances in both the theoretical and physical models for wave-seabed-structure interactions, this book provides an updated look at the mathematics behind the interactions between sea, soil and man-made structures. The main models are broken down to key equations, and their strengths and challenges are discussed. These models are then placed in context with industry-relevant examples, in both two and three dimensions. From seabed instability around offshore wind turbines, to soil conditions in response to the laying of submarine pipelines, this book takes a comprehensive look at a variety of wave-seabed-structure interactions.
Modern Ship Engineering, Design and Operations by
Some marine propulsion systems are based on thermal machines that operate under the diesel cycle. Over the last decade, the International Maritime Organization (IMO) has adopted a series of regulations to reduce these emissions based on the introduction of several energy efficiency designs and operational indicators. In this context, this book focuses on the design and operation efficiency of ships through an analysis of the main propulsion systems. It discusses the use of alternative fuels as well as the integration of hybrid and fully electric propulsion systems.
Naval Submarine Maintenance: An Examination of Areas of Potential Availability Execution Risk by
In the growing 'Great Power Competition' of the 21st century, the US Navy has faced near-peer competition that it has not experienced in several decades. This competition has ultimately resulted in increased operational strains on the submarine fleet which have in turn trickled down to affect the nuclear submarine maintenance enterprise. Despite the recognition of that strain, problems continue to persist that are yielding significant ramifications on overall submarine fleet readiness. The urgency to consistently complete maintenance availabilities on time in order to provide combatant commanders with the submarine assets they need, when they need them, has become a primary concern of the fleet. The goal of this thesis is to explore potential areas of execution risk within the submarine maintenance enterprise.
Numerical Methods for Seakeeping Problems by
The book describes currently applied and newly developed advanced numerical methods for wave-induced ship motions and loads. Besides well-established computational methods based on strip theory, panel methods and finite volume methods for unsteady Reynolds-averaged Navier-Stokes equations (URANS), recent advances like a fully nonlinear Rankine panel method, URANS calculations including elastic hull deformations, and an improved method to predict added resistance in waves are explained in detail. Furthermore, statistical methods to assess extreme motions and loads are described both for linear and nonlinear responses in a stationary seaway as well as during long-term ship operations.
Numerical Modeling, Prediction of Ship Maneuvering and Hydrodynamics During Inland Waterway Transport by
In this work, ship hydrodynamics during inland waterway transport and ship maneuvering are investigated using CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) based on OpenFoam. Validation and verification studies are carried out for the mesh convergence, time step convergence, sensitivity to turbulence models and dynamic mesh techniques. These studies reproduce real ship tests and thus prove the validity of our numerical models. As a result, the numerical solver is promising in ship hydrodynamics and marine engineering simulations.
Ocean Waves and Oscillating Systems by
The text is designed to convey a thorough understanding of wave interactions with oscillating systems. Topics include the background mathematics of oscillations, gravity waves on water, the dynamics of wave-body interactions, and the absorption and conversion of wave energy by means of oscillating bodies, as well as oscillating water columns. Linear algebra, complex numbers, differential equations, and Fourier transformation are utilised as basis for the analysis, and most chapters end with exercise problems. Although the book's focus is on linear theory, the application of waves' energy storage and power transport and conversion is interwoven throughout.
PE Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Reference Handbook by
The Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering exam is computer-based, and the PE Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Reference Handbook is the only resource material you may use during the exam. Reviewing this handbook before exam day will help you become familiar with the charts, formulas, tables, and other reference information provided.
The Practical Design of Advanced Marine Vehicles by
This text provides an introductory familiarity with the naval architecture of Advanced Marine Vehicles, with particular emphasis on Catamaran, SES and SWATH types.
Practical Design of Ships and Other Floating Structures by
This book gathers the peer-reviewed proceedings of the 14th International Symposium, PRADS 2019, held in Yokohama, Japan, in September 2019. It brings together naval architects, engineers, academic researchers and professionals who are involved in ships and other floating structures to share the latest research advances in the field. The contents cover a broad range of topics, including design synthesis for ships and floating systems, production, hydrodynamics, and structures and materials.
Proceeding of the VI International Ship Design and Naval Engineering Congress (CIDIN) and XXVI Pan-American Congress of Naval Engineering, Maritime Transportation and Port Engineering (COPINAVAL) by
This book presents the proceedings of CIDIN and COPINAVAL. The papers present the development of the navy, maritime and riverine industry, contributing to the scientific and technological progress and development in the sector. Topics include offshore engineering, marine & freshwater sciences, manufacturing, machines, tools, and processes.
Recent Trends in Naval Engineering Research by
Each chapter places special emphasis on important methods, research directions, and applications of analysis within the field. Fundamental scientific and mathematical concepts are applied to topics such as microlattice materials in structural dynamics, acoustic transmission in low Mach number liquid flow, differential cavity ventilation on a symmetric airfoil, Kalman smoother, metallic foam metamaterials for vibration damping and isolation, seal whiskers as a bio-inspired model for the reduction of vortex-induced vibrations, multidimensional integral for multivariate weighted generalized Gaussian distributions, minimum uniform search track placement for rectangular regions, antennas in the maritime environment, the destabilizing impact of non-performers in multi-agent groups, inertial navigation accuracy with bias modeling.
Reeds Vol. 4: Naval Architecture for Magine Engineers by
This textbook covers the theoretical, fundamental aspects of naval architecture for students preparing for the Class 2 and Class 1 Marine Engineer Officer exams. It introduces the basic foundation themes within naval architecture, (hydrostatics, stability, resistance and powering), using worked examples to show how solutions should be presented for an exam. The topics are ordered in a manner of a typical taught module, to aid the use of the book by lecturers as a compliment to a course.
Reeds Vol. 5: Ship Construction for Marine Engineers by
This authoritative textbook covers ship construction techniques and methods for all classes of the Merchant Navy marine deck and engineering Certificates of Competency (CoC) as well as students studying for degrees and diplomas in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering. This fully revised edition prioritises the need of these students, recognising recent syllabus changes and current pathways to a sea-going engineering career, with the increased emphasis on academic content to be delivered by colleges and universities.
Reeds Vol. 10: Instrumentation and Control Systems by
This is a fully revised, new edition on the topic of instrumentation and control systems and their application to marine engineering for professional trainees studying Merchant Navy Marine Engineering Certificates of Competency (CoC) as well as Electrical/Marine Engineering undergraduate students. Providing generic technical and practical descriptions of the operation of instrumentation and control devices and systems, this book also contains mathematic analysis where appropriate.
Reeds Vol. 12: Motor Engineering Knowledge for Marine Engineers by
An authoritative guide to modern equipment found in merchant ships focusing on 'motor' propulsion for marine engineers.
Reeds Vol. 13: Ship Stability, Powering and Resistance by
This indispensable guide to ship stability covers essential topics such as flotation and buoyancy, small angle, large angle and longitudinal stability, water density effects, bilging, ship resistance, and advanced hydrostatics. Each chapter has a comprehensive list of aims and objectives at the start of the topic, followed by a checklist at the end of the topic for students to ensure that they have developed all the relevant skills before moving onto the next topic area.
Ship-Shaped Offshore Installations by
Extensively updated for the second edition, this handy guide covers the safe engineering of shipshaped offshore installations at every stage of design, construction, operation, lifetime care and decommissioning. New sections cover additional types of offshore structures, including offshore power plants, as well as cutting-edge technologies and all the latest advances in the field. The text focuses on minimising accidents and the effects of extreme conditions, with new chapters covering earthquakes, hurricanes and terrorist attacks, as well as traditional types of accidental events such as collisions, fires and explosions.
Ship Dynamics and Hydrodynamics by
The book presents a collection of contributions to various aspects of ship hydrodynamics and dynamics, a part of which was presented at the MARTECH2020 Conference, and all of which were published in a Special Issue of the journal, Marine Science and Engineering . The scope of the collection covers nearly all branches of ship hydrodynamics and dynamics, and so it may be of interest to all specialists in the field as well as for naval architects and applied mechanicians of various levels.
Ship Dynamics for Performance Based Design and Risk Averse Operations by
More than a century and half ago, William Froude and his son Robert [1,2] conducted the first scientifically designed towing tank experiments using scaled ship models traveling in calm water or waves. Since then, advances in mathematics and technology have led to the development of various methods for the assessment of the dynamic behavior of ships. To instigate renewed interest in the well-rehearsed subject of ship dynamics this Special Issue presents a collection of 12 high-quality research contributions with a focus on the prediction and analysis of the dynamic behavior of ships in a stochastic environment.
Ship Hydrostatics and Stability by
Ship Hydrostatics and Stability is a complete guide to understanding ship hydrostatics in ship design and ship performance, taking you from first principles through basic and applied theory to contemporary mathematical techniques for hydrostatic modeling and analysis. Real life examples of the practical application of hydrostatics are used to explain the theory and calculations using MATLAB and Excel.
Ship Repairing: Analyses and Estimates by
This book highlights the relationship between independent and dependent ship repairing variables of various combinations under linear and nonlinear form using actual data collected from shipyards. The book also emphasizes the importance of managing the labor force, reliable data collection and an effective management information system to manage this as well as keeping control of on-going repair contracts.
Structural Analysis by
Structural Analysis by Felix Udeyo is intended to teach students the methods and techniques for the analysis of structures. A sound knowledge of structures is a prerequisite for their proper design and ensures the structural integrity of civil engineering infrastructural systems. This textbook is comprised of three parts. The first part consists of an overview of structural analysis and introduces several structural loadings that may be considered during the analysis and subsequent design of structures. The second part covers classic methods of the analysis of determinate structures. The final section discusses classic methods for the analysis of indeterminate structures as well as methods for the analysis and construction of influence lines for indeterminate structures.
Submarine Hydrodynamics by
This book covers specific aspects of submarine hydrodynamics in a very practical manner. The author reviews basic concepts of ship hydrodynamics and goes on to show how they are applied to submarines, including a look at the use of physical model experiments. This revised edition includes updated information on empirical methods for predicting the hydrodynamic manoeuvring coefficients, and for predicting the resistance of a submarine. It also includes new material on how to assess propulsors, and includes measures of wake distortion, which has a detrimental influence on propulsor performance.
Technology and Science for the Ships of the Future by
This book presents the proceedings of the NAV 2022 conference, held in Genoa and La Spezia, Italy, from 15 to 17 June 2022. NAV 2022 was the 20th edition of the conference, and covered a full spectrum of maritime technology themes, all related to the exploitation of sea resources. The book contains 87 scientific papers, covering subjects ranging from comfort on board; to conceptual and practical ship design; deep sea mining and marine robotics; protection of the environment; renewable marine energy; design and engineering of offshore vessels; digitalization and cyber security; unmanned vehicles; yacht and pleasure craft design, and inland-waterway vessels.
U. S. Submarines Since 1945 by
In the tradition of his acclaimed warship design histories, Norman Friedman describes the forces - technical, political, and operational - that shaped a vital element of US sea power. This illustrated design history contains more than 100 photographs and more than 100 line drawings.