LibGuides: Mine Warfare Systems: Essentials

Journals

Armada International One of the worlds leading, and most respected defence publications, Armada International provides unrivalled reporting and analysis regarding defence technology, procurement trends and ongoing operations. Together with its exclusive Compendium supplements, the magazine gives the global defence community the information it needs to make the right decisions.
Defense Technology ISSN: 2096-3459 | eISSN: 2214-9147 Defence Technology, a peer reviewed journal, is published bimonthly and aims to become the best international academic exchange platform for the research related to defence technology. It publishes original research papers having direct bearing on defence, with a balanced coverage on analytical, experimental, numerical simulation and applied investigations. It covers various disciplines of science, technology and engineering.
IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering The IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering (ISSN 0364-9059) is the online-only quarterly publication of the IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society (IEEE OES). The scope of the Journal is the field of interest of the IEEE OES, which encompasses all aspects of science, engineering, and technology that address research, development, and operations pertaining to all bodies of water. This includes the creation of new capabilities and technologies from concept design through prototypes, testing, and operational systems to sense, explore, understand, develop, use, and responsibly manage natural resources.
IEEE transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing IEEE Transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing (TGRS) s a monthly publication that focuses on the theory, concepts, and techniques of science and engineering as applied to sensing the land, oceans, atmosphere, and space; and the processing, interpretation, and dissemination of this information. This journal publishes technical papers disclosing new and significant research. The technical content of papers must be both new and significant. Experimental data must be complete and include sufficient description of experimental apparatus, methods, and relevant experimental conditions.
Infrared Physics and Technology ISSN: 1350-4495 | eISSN: 1879-0275 The Journal covers the entire field of infrared physics and technology: theory, experiment, application, devices and instrumentation.
Journal of Maritime Engineering & Technology ISSN: 2046-4177 | eISSN: 2056-8487 The Journal of Marine Engineering and Technology publishes papers concerned with scientific and theoretical research applied to all aspects of marine engineering and technology in addition to issues associated with the application of technology in the marine environment.
Military and Aerospace Electronics Since the beginning, Military & Aerospace Electronics has been on top of COTS issues and continues to be the clear leader when it comes to coverage of COTS success stories, COTS failures, and COTS trends. Articles focus on how and when designers should use mil-spec, non-developmental-item, or commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) equipment and components. Feature articles cover timely issues of design trends, emerging standards, programs, budgets, contracts, and application success stories.
Naval Engineers Journal The Naval Engineers Journal is published quarterly by the American Society of Naval Engineers. It is a journal for technical papers in the field of naval engineering.
Naval War College Review The Naval War College Review is an academic journal published by the US Navy's War College and covers public policy matters of interest to the maritime services.
Ocean Engineering ISSN: 0029-8018 | eISSN: 1873-5258 Ocean Engineering provides a medium for the publication of original research and development work in the field of ocean engineering. Topics covered include fixed and floating offshore platforms, pipelines and risers, cables and mooring, buoy technology, foundationg engineering, ocean mining, marine and offshore renewable energy, aquaculture engineering, and subsea engineering.

Databases

ASME Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
IHS Engineering Workbench Engineering Workbench provides access, tracking and management of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Jane's For open-source defence intelligence, no one anywhere in the world is as trusted or as recommended as Janes. With the most complete foundational military data sets, compiled by 500,000+ analyst hours every year, we provide accurate, current data for any environment or system.
National Technical Reports An archive of the largest collection of US government-sponsored technical reports.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 470,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.

Websites

Breaking Defense Breaking Defense is the digital news leader on the strategy, politics and technology of global defense. We offer breaking news coverage, analysis and insight on news developments that military, political and industry decision-makers rely upon. It’s a new era in defense, where new technologies, new warfare domains and a rapidly shifting military and political landscape have profound implications for national security. Breaking Defense is your guide to these crucial developments, providing unparalleled expertise, depth and context.
Naval History and Heritage Command: Mine Warfare The Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC), headed by the Director of Naval History, is an Echelon II command headquartered on the Washington Navy Yard, D.C.
Naval Mine Warfare The Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC), headed by the Director of Naval History, is an Echelon II command headquartered on the Washington Navy Yard, D.C.
Naval Mine Warfare: Back to the Future - 2024 Written for Rand this research & commentary blog post covers Naval Mine Warfare.
Naval Research Laboratory The U.S. Naval Research Laboratory provides the advanced scientific capabilities required to bolster our country’s position of global naval leadership. Here, in an environment where the nation’s best scientists and engineers are inspired to pursue their passion, everyone is focused on research that yields immediate and long-range applications in the defense of the United States.
Naval Today Naval Today delivers expert coverage of the industry sectors that matter most to you and your business. This includes news and updates on operations, vessels, equipment, research, companies and the authorities dominating the naval industry.
Office of Naval Research Through global partnerships and scientific research with industry, academia and government, ONR delivers critical, cutting-edge capabilities to the Sailors and Marines we have the privilege to serve.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. OSTI provides access to DOE STI through a suite of web-based, searchable discovery tools and through other commonly used search engines, offering ever-expanding sources of R&D information to DOE, the research community, and the science-attentive public.

Books

Maritime Security Law in Hybrid Warfare by Alexander Lott (Editor) The recrudescence of great power competition at sea raises several legal problems. Maritime Security Law in Hybrid Warfare brings together authors from various fields of international law to address such challenges in the legal intersection between naval war, military activities, maritime law enforcement, and hybrid warfare. This book explores the means for increasing legal resilience against the emerging trend of weaponization of commercial ships, underwater cables and pipelines, lawfare, and migration by hybrid adversaries.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9789004707986
Publication Date: 2024-08-29
Naval Mine Warfare by National Research Council Sea mines have been important in naval warfare throughout history and continue to be so today. They have caused major damage to naval forces, slowed or stopped naval actions and commercial shipping, and forced the alteration of strategic and tactical plans. The threat posed by sea mines continues, and is increasing, in today's world of inexpensive advanced electronics, nanotechnology, and multiple potential enemies, some of which are difficult to identify. This report assesses the Department of the Navy's capabilities for conducting naval mining and countermining sea operations.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9780309075787
Publication Date: 2001-10-19
Naval Minewarfare by Chris O'Flaherty Naval Minewarfare: Politics to Practicalities is a comprehensive guide to modern naval minewarfare. From explaining the basic tenets of both naval mining and naval mine countermeasures, then examining the modern history of naval mining, through to the legal, political and statecraft factors that should underpin any decisions to employ naval mines, this detailed analysis provides a contemporary view of how this weapon is used as part of a military or insurgent campaign. Focussing on both the psychological warhead in every mine as well as naval mining's lethal effects, it contains a wealth of invaluable information and explanation all carefully scripted to enlighten military historians and inform international strategists.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781789630862
Publication Date: 2019-10-31

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society Focuses on all aspects of science, engineering and technology that address research, development and operations pertaining to all bodies of water.
Marine Technology Society MTS is the leading international community of ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers, and educators. We promote awareness, understanding, advancement and application of marine technology. Let us show you how an MTS membership can support your work and connect you with other leaders in the field.
Mine Warfare Association The Mine Warfare Association was formed in 1995 to create an awareness of mine warfare and to assist government, industry, and academia in optimizing their combined contributions to solving the challenges associated with military sea and land mine warfare. MINWARA’s founders believed solutions would be found in emerging technologies and sharing information. MINWARA established a program of conducting symposia to expose people and organizations to these emerging technologies and their application to mines, mining and mine countermeasures.
National Defense Industrial Association The National Defense Industrial Association drives strategic dialogue in national security by identifying key issues and leveraging the knowledge and experience of its military, government, industry, and academic members to address them.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>