Algorithms of Armageddon by
t is unclear if U.S. policy makers and military leaders fully realize that we have already been thrust into an artificial intelligence (AI) race with authoritarian powers. Today, the United States' peer adversaries—China and Russia—have made clear their intentions to make major investments in AI and insert this technology into their military systems, sensors and weapons. Their goal is to gain an asymmetric advantage over the U.S. military. The implications for our national security are many and complex. Algorithms of Armageddon examines this most pressing security issue in a clear, insightful delivery by two experts. Authors George Galdorisi and Sam J. Tangredi are national security professionals who deal with AI on a day-to-day basis in their work in both the technical and policy arenas.
Automatic Control and Routing of Marine Vessels by
A special issue of Journal of Marine Science and Engineering (ISSN 2077-1312). This special issue belongs to the section "Ocean Engineering".
This Special Issue is intended to focus on various problems related to the analysis, design, modelling, and operation of the aforementioned systems. It is proposed to place optimization approaches in the spotlight, considering that, for the most part, optimality is not the end in itself in practice. It is assumed that the optimization approach should be treated as an effective and convenient instrument to achieve desirable features of the system to be considered. This can be explained by the universality, flexibility, and convenience of modern optimization methods with respect to relevant practical implementations of control theory for marine applications.
Autonomous Robots: From Biological Inspiration to Implementation and Control by
In this book, George Bekey offers an introduction to the science and practice of autonomous robots that can be used both in the classroom and as a reference for industry professionals. He surveys the hardware implementations of more than 300 current systems, reviews some of their application areas, and examines the underlying technology, including control, architectures, learning, manipulation, grasping, navigation, and mapping.
Autonomous Vessels in Maritime Affairs by
This book examines law and governance implications in relation to maritime autonomous surface ships (MASS). Adopting a multi-disciplinary approach, it focuses on a wide array of timely, topical and thorny issues, including naval warfare and security, seaworthiness and techno-regulatory assessments, global environmental change, autonomous passenger transportation, as well as liability and insurance. It also considers selected national and regional developments. The book provides an insight into the role of innovation-diplomacy as the driving force that could expedite the transition from automation to autonomy. After navigating through the complex law and governance landscape, it concludes by assessing critical findings for further consideration. The book will appeal to scholars and students of maritime technology, law and governance.
Autonomy and Unmanned Vehicles by
This book addresses higher-lower level decision autonomy for autonomous vehicles, and discusses the addition of a novel architecture to cover both levels. the use of diverse algorithms (subjected to the real-time performance of the algorithm) does not negatively affect the system's real-time performance.
The Drone Age by
This book explores how the unique features of drone technology alter the strategic choices of governments and non-state actors alike by transforming their risk calculations and expanding their goals on and off the battlefield. By changing what these actors are willing and capable of doing, drones are quietly altering the dynamics of wars, humanitarian crises and peacekeeping missions while generating new risks to security and to privacy. An essential guide to a potentially disruptive force in modern world politics, The Drone Age argues that the mastery of drone technology will become central to the ways that governments and non-state actors seek power and influence in the coming decades
Fault-Tolerant Cooperative Control of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles by
This book focuses on the fault-tolerant cooperative control (FTCC) of multiple unmanned aerial vehicles (multi-UAVs). It provides systematic and comprehensive descriptions of FTCC issues in multi-UAVs concerning faults, external disturbances, strongly unknown nonlinearities, and input saturation. Further, it addresses FTCC design from longitudinal motions to attitude motions, and outer-loop position motions of multi-UAVs. The book’s detailed control schemes can be used to enhance the flight safety of multi-UAVs.
As such, the book offers readers an in-depth understanding of UAV safety in cooperative/formation flight and corresponding design methods. The FTCC methods presented here can also provide guidelines for engineers to improve the safety of aerospace engineering systems. The book offers a valuable asset for scientists and researchers, aerospace engineers, control engineers, lecturers and teachers, and graduates and undergraduates in the system and control community, especially those working in the field of UAV cooperation and multi-agent systems.
Intelligent Autonomy for Unmanned Marine Vehicles: Robotic Control Architecture Based on Service-Oriented Agents by
This book presents an Intelligent Control Architecture (ICA) to enable multiple collaborating marine vehicles to autonomously carry out underwater intervention missions. The presented ICA is generic in nature but aimed at a case study where a marine surface craft and an underwater vehicle are required to work cooperatively.
Jane's Unmanned Maritime Vehicles by
Leverage data on unmanned underwater vehicles and systems—surface, sub-surface, tethered and autonomous—in development, in production and in service worldwide. Technical and program information supports military and security organizations, and maritime-defense market intelligence supports A&D firm business development.
Maritime Unmanned by
Maritime Unmanned recounts the promising beginning, demoralizing setbacks, and ultimate success of the visionaries who championed unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) technology for the U.S. Navy. Ernest Snowden and Robert F. Wood Jr. dive deep inside the machinations of aerospace and defense industry leadership, strategy development, and execution to describe the process by which the Air Force's Global Hawk was adapted to become the Navy's Triton. This was the first time in the history of naval aviation that an unmanned aerial vehicle was adopted into frontline squadron inventories to become an enabling component of the maritime patrol and reconnaissance mission, a process that took more than twenty years as industry representatives and Navy counterparts developed and socialized an unfamiliar and unconventional concept of operations and senior government acquisition officials either advocated or purposely road-blocked its advancement.
Military Unmanned Systems: The Concise Global Industry Guide by
An international guide to the military UV industry and provides detailed information on air, ground and sea (surface & sub-sea) vehicles as well as test ranges and subsystems.
Mobile Intelligent Autonomous Systems by
Written for systems, mechanical, aero, electrical, civil, industrial, and robotics engineers, this book covers robotics from a theoretical and systems point of view, with an emphasis on the sensor modeling and data analysis aspects.
Navigation and Control of Autonomous Marine Vehicles by
This book covers the current state of research in navigation, modelling and control of marine autonomous vehicles, and deals with various related topics, including collision avoidance, communication, and a range of applications
Network-Based Control of Unmanned Marine Vehicles by
This book presents a comprehensive analysis of stability, stabilization, and fault detection in networked control systems, with a focus on unmanned marine vehicles. It investigates the challenges of network-based control in areas like heading control, fault detection filter and controller design, dynamic positioning, and cooperative target tracking. Communication networks in control systems can induce delays and dropouts, so the book presents the importance of stability analysis, stabilize, and fault detection. To help readers gain a deeper understanding of these concepts, the book provides fundamental concepts and real-world examples. This book is a valuable resource for researchers and practitioners working in the field of network-based control for unmanned marine vehicles.
Nonlinear Control of Robots and Unmanned Aerial Vehicles by
This book presents an Intelligent Control Architecture (ICA) to enable multiple collaborating marine vehicles to autonomously carry out underwater intervention missions. The presented ICA is generic in nature but aimed at a case study where a marine surface craft and an underwater vehicle are required to work cooperatively.
Nonlinear Kalman Filter for Multi-Sensor Navigation of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles by
Nonlinear Kalman Filter for Multi-Sensor Navigation of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles covers state estimation development approaches for Mini-UAV. The book focuses on Kalman filtering technics for UAV design, proposing a new design methodology and case study related to inertial navigation systems for drones. Both simulation and real experiment results are presented, thus showing new and promising perspectives.
One Nation, under Drones by
One Nation Under Drones is an interesting and informative review of how robotic and unmanned systems are impacting every aspect of American life, from how we fight our wars to how we play to how we grow our food. Edited by John Jackson, this highly readable book features chapters from a dozen experts, researchers, and operators of the sophisticated systems that have become ubiquitous across the nation and around the world. Press reports have focused primarily on unmanned aerial vehicles, officially designated as UAVs, but more often referred to as "drones." This work takes you behind the scenes and describes how Predators, Reapers, Scan Eagles, and dozens of other pilotless aircraft have been used to fight the Global War on Terrorism.
Research Handbook on Remote Warfare by
With eminent contributors from legal, government and military backgrounds, this Research Handbook addresses the legal implications of remote warfare and its significance for combatants, civilians, policymakers and international lawyers. Primarily focused on the legality of all forms of remote warfare, including targeted killings by drone, cyber-attacks, and autonomous weapons, each chapter gives a compelling insight beyond the standard and reactionary criticisms of these technologies.
Sensing and Control for Autonomous Vehicles by
This edited volume includes thoroughly collected on sensing and control for autonomous vehicles. There is a growing interest for cooperative and coordinated multi-vehicle systems, real-time re-planning, robust autonomous navigation systems and robust autonomous control of vehicles.
U. S. Navy Employment Options for Unmanned Surface Vehicles (USVs) by
This report assesses in what ways and to what degree unmanned surface vehicles (USVs) are suitable for supporting U.S. Navy missions and functions. It briefly characterizes the current and emerging USV marketplaces to provide a baseline for near-term capabilities, describes USV concepts of employment to support diverse U.S. Navy missions and functions, and evaluates these concepts of employment to identify specific missions and functions for which they are highly suitable. USVs offer several particular strengths relative to other platforms, including the ability to interact both above and below the waterline, enabling them to serve as critical nodes for cross-domain networks.
Unmanned and Autonomous Ships by
Unmanned ships and autonomous ships are quickly becoming a reality making shipping safer and more efficient. However, traditional tasks and functions are becoming blurred as new technology changes how the unique needs of different sectors are met. In addition to large vessels dedicated to the transport of goods and cargo across the oceans, major efforts are underway towards the automation of small coastal shipping that includes ferries, tugboats, supply and service vessels, and barges. Automated vehicles are also replacing conventional ships for inspecting and servicing pipelines, drilling platforms, wind farms and other offshore installations. Automated shipping is explored in terms of economics, technology, safety and the environment under the broad themes of ship design and engineering, command and control, navigation, communications, security, regulatory issues, and training. This includes initiatives for autonomous shipping as well as civilian implications of military ship automation programs. This book is primarily for maritime professionals, regulatory authorities, insurers, and environmental groups. It also suits undergraduate students involved in deck officer training, and graduate students and academics involved in research in ship design, operations and management.
Unmanned Systems Technology XIX by
PROCEEDINGS VOLUME 10195
SPIE DEFENSE + SECURITY | 9-13 APRIL 2017
11 Sessions, 41 Papers, 23 Presentations
Front Matter: Volume 10195 (1)
Robotics CTA (4)
Mobility and Navigation (5)
Perception (2)
ONR 30 Ground Vehicle Autonomy I (5)
ONR 30 Ground Vehicle Autonomy II (5)
Self-organizing, Collaborative Unmanned Robotic Team: Joint session with conferences 10195 and 10205 (1)
Communication Systems for Small Unmanned Vehicles (3)
HRI (4)
Special Topics (6)
Poster Session (6)
Unmanned Vehicle Systems & Operations on Air, Sea, Land by
Unmanned Vehicle Systems & Operations On Air, Sea, Land is our fourth textbook in a series covering the world of Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) and Counter Unmanned Aircraft Systems (CUAS). (Nichols R. K., 2018) (Nichols R. K., et al., 2019) (Nichols R. , et al., 2020) The authors have expanded their purview beyond UAS / CUAS systems.
Unmanned Vehicle Systems for Geomatics by
This is a systematic and comprehensive approach for the use of small mobile unmanned systems for robotic geomatics research and applications. It presents the state-of-the-art use of low cost unmanned vehicle systems (UVS) with emphasis on the unmanned aerial systems (UAS) for geomatics technologies and practices and contains the most recent developments in methods, systems and innovative applications
Visual guidance of unmanned aerial manipulators by
This monograph covers theoretical and practical aspects of the problem of autonomous guiding of unmanned aerial manipulators using visual information. All methods discussed in this monograph are demonstrated in simulation and through real robot experimentation. The text is appropriate for readers interested in state estimation and control of aerial manipulators, and is a reference book for people who work in mobile robotics research in general