LibGuides: Vulnerability and Survivability: Essentials

Journals

Aircraft Survivability For more than 50 years, the Joint Aircraft Survivability Program (JASP) and its predecessors have worked to enhance combat effectiveness, improve coordination of R&D endeavors, and facilitate technology development and fielding for U.S. air systems. An important part of these efforts is the Aircraft Survivability journal (ASJ), published three times a year and distributed at no charge to practitioners across the industry.
Defence Technology ISSN: 2096-3459 | eISSN: 2214-9147 Defence Technology, a peer reviewed journal, is published bimonthly and aims to become the best international academic exchange platform for the research related to defence technology. It publishes original research papers having direct bearing on defence, with a balanced coverage on analytical, experimental, numerical simulation and applied investigations. It covers various disciplines of science, technology and engineering.
IEEE Transactions on Device and Materials Reliability ISSN: 1530-4388 | eISSN: 1558-2574 IEEE Transactions on Device and Materials Reliability is published quarterly. It provides leading edge information that is critical to the creation of reliable electronic devices and materials, and a focus for interdisciplinary communication in the state of the art of reliability of electronic devices, and the materials used in their manufacture. It focuses on the reliability of electronic, optical, and magnetic devices, and microsystems; the materials and processes used in the manufacture of these devices; and the interfaces and surfaces of these materials.
IEEE Transactions on Reliability ISSN: 0018-9529 IEEE Transactions on Reliability is a refereed journal for the reliability and allied disciplines including, but not limited to, maintainability, physics of failure, life testing, prognostics, design and manufacture for reliability, reliability for systems of systems, network availability, mission success, warranty, safety, and various measures of effectiveness.
IET Science, Measurement & Technology ISSN: 1751-8822 | eISSN: 1751-8830 IET Science, Measurement & Technology publishes papers in science, engineering and technology underpinning electronic and electrical engineering, nanotechnology and medical instrumentation. The emphasis of the journal is on theory, simulation methodologies and measurement techniques.
Journal of Alloys and Compounds ISSN: 0925-8388 The Journal of Alloys and Compounds is an international peer-reviewed medium for the publication of work on materials comprising compounds as well as alloys. Its great strength lies in the diversity of disciplines which it encompasses, drawing together results from materials science, physical metallurgy, solid-state chemistry and physics.
Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance ISSN: 1059-9495 The Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance (JMEP) publishes research on all aspects of materials selection, design, processing, characterization, and evaluation. Peer-reviewed original research papers present research and development results of potential archival value and assist in solving current engineering challenges.
Journal of Testing and Evaluation ISSN: 0090-3973 | eISSN: 1945-7553 This flagship ASTM journal is a multi-disciplinary forum for the applied sciences and engineering. Published bimonthly, the Journal of Testing and Evaluation presents new technical information, derived from field and laboratory testing, on the performance, quantitative characterization, and evaluation of materials.
Measurement Science and Technology ISSN: 0957-0233 | eISSN: 1361-6501 The journal publishes original research articles, technical design notes, topical reviews and editorial perspectives. It covers all aspects of the theory, practice and application of measurement, instrumentation and sensing across science and engineering.
Microelectronics Reliability ISSN: 0026-2714 | eISSN: 1872-941X Microelectronics Reliability is dedicated to disseminating the latest research results and related information on the reliability of microelectronic devices, circuits and systems, from materials, process and manufacturing, to design, testing and operation.
Reliability Engineering and System Safety ISSN: 0951-8320 | eISSN: 1879-0836 Reliability Engineering and System Safety is an international journal devoted to the development and application of methods for the enhancement of the safety and reliability of complex technological systems, like nuclear power plants, chemical plants, hazardous waste facilities, space systems, offshore and maritime systems, transportation systems, constructed infrastructure and manufacturing plants. The journal normally publishes only articles that involve the analysis of substantive problems related to the reliability of complex systems or present techniques and/or theoretical results that have a discernable relationship to the solution of such problems.

Databases

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The ASME Digital Collection provides unparalleled depth, breadth, and quality of peer-reviewed content, including ASME's journals from 1933-present, ASME's conference proceedings from 2000-present, and ASME eBooks from 1993-present.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources. Access to Controlled Site requires CAC.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site Defense Technical Information Center serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference.
National Technical Information Service The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) helps federal agencies make better decisions about data, with data. We provide the support and structure that helps our partners securely store, analyze, sort, and aggregate data in new ways. We use our private-sector partners’ knowledge to create new ways of using data to solve problems. Our Joint Venture program works side-by-side with universities, nonprofits and industry professionals — together, they can experiment with data science technologies before they’re available in the marketplace.
Proquest Materials Science and Engineering Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.

Websites

Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency CISA is the operational lead for federal cybersecurity and the national coordinator for critical infrastructure security and resilience. We are designed for collaboration and partnership. We lead the national effort to understand, manage, and reduce risk to our cyber and physical infrastructure.
Defense Systems Information Analysis Center The Defense Systems Information Analysis Center (DSIAC) is a component of the U.S. Department of Defense’s (DoD's) Information Analysis Center (IAC) enterprise, serving the defense enterprise of DoD and federal government users and their supporting academia and industry partners. DSIAC generates, collects, researches, analyzes, synthesizes, and disseminates scientific and technical information to DoD and federal government users.
DoD Critical Infrastructure Categories Through the DoD CUI program, information on various aspects of critical infrastructure, including emergency management, physical security, information systems vulnerability, and more.
FEMA Emergency Management Guide for Business and Industry This guide provides step-by-step advice on how to create and maintain a comprehensive emergency management program. It can be used by manufacturers, corporate offices, retailers, utilities or any organization where a sizable number of people work or gather.
Office of National Preparedness Our goal is to achieve a culture of preparedness, where all 327 million people living in the United States know their relevant hazards, have taken actions to prepare themselves. Our mission is to deliver integrated preparedness solutions to help people before, during and after disasters.
System Survivability Key Performance Parameter The System Survivability KPP is intended to promote the development of critical warfighter capability that can survive kinetic (i.e., traditional, non-traditional, and chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN)) and non-kinetic (cyber and electromagnetic spectrum (EMS)) threats across domains and applicable environment including space. The System Survivability KPP supports three system oriented objectives: prevention, mitigation in tactically relevant time, and recovery from threats and fires.

Books

Advances in Reliability Analysis and its Applications by Mangey Ram, Hoang Pham This book presents the latest research in the fields of reliability theory and its applications, providing a comprehensive overview of reliability engineering and discussing various tools, techniques, strategies and methods within these areas. Reliability analysis is one of the most multidimensional topics in the field of systems reliability engineering, and while its rapid development creates opportunities for industrialists and academics, it is also means that it is hard to keep up to date with the research taking place. By gathering findings from institutions around the globe, the book offers insights into the international developments in the field.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9783030313753
Publication Date: 2020
Climate and Readiness: Understanding Climate Vulnerability of U.S. Joint Force Readiness by Katharina Ley Best; Inez Khan; Vanessa Wolf; Scott R. Stephenson; Susan A. Resetar; Paul W. Mayberry; Emmi Yonekura; Rahim Ali; Joshua Klimas; Stephanie Stewart; Jessica Arana The physical environment in which the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) must operate is being affected by climate hazards, which adversely affect the performance of the joint force and the systems that support it. Generating, maintaining, and even increasing force readiness in light of changing climate threats is a key component of meeting high-level U.S. strategic goals, from defending the homeland to deterring aggression and strategic attacks.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781977410450
Publication Date: 2023-06-30
Critical Infrastructure Protection by L. Kruszka (Editor); M. Klósak (Editor); P. Muzolf (Editor) Recent decades have seen an increase in the number of terrorist attacks, necessitating the development of more efficient global security policies. One of the most important elements of this enhanced security is the protection of critical infrastructure. This book presents edited contributions from the NATO Advanced Training Course (ATC) on Critical Infrastructure Protection - Best Practices and Innovative Methods of Protection, held in Agadir, Morocco, from 6 to 12 May 2018. The main objective of the course was to bring together specialists working in the area of protecting critical infrastructure in NATO Member and Partner countries to share their knowledge and expertise.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781614999645
Publication Date: 2019-05-10

Click the Books & EBooks Tab above to see more books.

Professional Associations

Defense Systems Information Analysis Center: Survivability and Vulnerability Community The science and technology for remaining mission capable after a military engagement to avoid or survive a hostile threat (survivability of platforms and ability against specific threats). This subcategory comprises four elements: susceptibility, vulnerability, recoverability, and lethality.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society The Society’s mission is to be the professional home of people passionate about ocean science, engineering, and technology. The Field of Interest of the Society includes all aspects of science, engineering, and technology that address research, development, and operations pertaining to all bodies of water. This includes the creation of new capabilities and technologies from concept design through prototypes, testing, and operational systems to sense, explore, understand, develop, use, and responsibly manage natural resources.
IEEE Reliability Society IEEE is the world's largest technical association, with publications, conferences, and technical communities on a world-wide scale. The Reliability Society consists of anyone that has an interest in making “things” reliable. These are members of industry, government, and academia that perform research, development, and implementation of cutting-edge techniques to improve the life of systems and products.
Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) The world’s largest professional association for electrical and electronics engineers. IEEE has more than 430,000 members in more than 160 countries; publishes a third of the world’s technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics; and is a leading developer of international standards related to telecommunications, information technology and power generation products and services.
Institute of Marine Engineering, Science & Technology IMarEST is The Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology; the international professional body and learned society for all marine professionals. IMarEST is the first Institute to bring together marine engineers, scientists and technologists into one international multi-disciplinary professional body. IMarEST is the largest marine organisation of its kind with a worldwide membership based in over 120 countries, it is a registered charity and provides grades of membership for everyone, from those seeking to become Chartered or gain other Professional Recognition, to those just starting out in their careers or studying in education.
International Test and Evaluation Association For over 40 years the International Test and Evaluation Association (ITEA), a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit education organization, has been advancing the exchange of technical, programmatic, and acquisition information among the test and evaluation community. ITEA members come together to learn and share with others from industry, government, and academia, who are involved with the development and application of the policies and techniques used to assess effectiveness, reliability, inter-operability, and safety of existing, legacy, and future technology-based weapon and non-weapon systems and products throughout their life-cycle.
MIT Tactical Defense Systems Lab We research emerging systems and sensors, such as radar, jammers, or infrared detectors, which other countries might use to jeopardize the ability of U.S. Air Force aircraft to be survivable and effective during operations. Through experimentation and data analysis, we gauge the potential impact the emerging systems might have on aircraft.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers The mission of the Society is to advance the art, science and practice of naval architecture, marine engineering, ocean engineering and other marine-related professions through: the global exchange of knowledge and ideas, being a provider of and catalyst for professional education across the maritime industry, and encouraging and sponsoring research and development.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me