Biological and Environmental Hazards, Risks, and Disasters by
Biological and Environmental Hazards, Risks, and Disasters, Second Edition provides an integrated look at major impacts to the Earth’s biosphere caused by diseases, algal blooms, insects, animals, species extinction, deforestation, land degradation, and comet and asteroid strikes, with important implications for humans.
This second edition from Elsevier’s Hazards and Disasters Series incorporates perspectives from the natural and social sciences to offer in-depth coverage of threats from microscopic organisms to celestial objects and their potential impacts. Contributions from expert biological, health, ecological, environmental, wildlife, physical, and health scientists, readers will gain valuable insights on damages, causality, economic impacts, preparedness, and mitigation.
Provides inter- and multi-disciplinary research accessible to both specialists and non-specialists Includes newly added chapters on emerging hazards and risks to earth’s ecosystems (land conversion and habitat loss) and human health (spread of diseases) Contains full-color tables, maps, diagrams, illustrations, and photographs of hazardous processes
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine by
While medical specialists in disaster mitigation, preparedness, and response are needed worldwide, the initial phase of disaster response is almost entirely dependent upon local resources -- making it essential that all healthcare personnel have a working knowledge of the field and stand ready to integrate into the response system. Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3rd Edition, is the most comprehensive reference available to help accomplish these goals in every community. It thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including lessons learned by the responders to contemporary disasters such as the COVID-19 pandemic, Australian and western U.S. wildfires, European heatwaves, the Beirut explosion, recent hurricanes and typhoons, and the global refugee crisis.
Diagnostic Strategies for Coronavirus (COVID-19) and Other Coronaviruses Infections by
This book provides fundamental information on various techniques for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 including reverse transcriptase (RT) PCR, loop-mediated isothermal amplification, immunodiagnostic tests, and CRISPR-Cas. It reviews various testing kits and detection methodologies that are currently being used for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 and examines strategies for the post-treatment detection and monitoring of SARS-CoV-2. Further, it assesses the diagnostic potential of several SARS-CoV-2 proteins; and analyzes their structural determinants and immunogenicity.
Environmental Health and Occupational Safety by
The scope of Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) has evolved gradually and consistently in response to socio-political, scientific, and profitable deviances. In recent years, globalization of the world's economies and its impacts have been recognized as the greatest force for change in the domain of workplace, and accordingly in the scope of occupational safety and health, both in positive and negative ways. OSH is a key element in achieving suitable working conditions and safety cultures. Environmental Health and Occupational Safety is a quick, easy-to-consult comprehensive overview of the issues pertaining to environmental health, OSH. This book equips readers with occupational health risks and hazardous environments encountered in various industrial and workplace settings besides providing basic information on issues related to technology, management, regulatory compliance, and important topics like air, water, and vector-borne diseases.
Essentials of Health Policy and Law by
Essentials of Health Policy and Law, Fifth Edition provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with an introduction to a broad range of seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, analytic frameworks for studying these complex issues, and an understanding of the ways in which health policies and laws are formulated, implemented, and applied. Thoroughly revised, the Fifth Edition explores the key health policy and legal changes brought about by the Biden Administration and the presently Democrat-controlled Congress. It also addresses the Covid-19 pandemic, and its many devastating and intertwined health, economic, and social consequences.KEY FEATURES:- New chapters provide an overview of Public Health and explain emergency preparedness.- Updated figures, tables, statistics, and discussion questions- New textbox icons identify discussion questions, special topics and, technical spotlights to help faculty pick and choose the appropriate content- New concluding chapter on Health Advocacy teaches readers the art and skill of advocacy.- Interactive timeline fully updated and incorporated into the eBook
Health Promotion Programs by
This book combines theory and practice to deliver a comprehensive introduction to the planning, implementation, and evaluation of health promotion programs. Presenting an overview of best practices from schools, health care organizations, workplaces, and communities, this book offers clear, practical guidance with an emphasis on hands-on learning. This new second edition has been updated to include discussion on today's important issues, including health equity, the Affordable Care Act, big data, E-health, funding, legislation, financing, and more.
The Molecularisation of Security by
This book investigates the way that the molecular sciences are shaping contemporary security practices in relation to the governance of biological threats. In response to biological threats, such as pandemics and bioterrorism, governments around the world have developed a range of new security technologies, called medical countermeasures, to protect their populations.
Nuclear, Chemical, and Biological Terrorism: Emergency Response and Public Protection by
Focusing on nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons, this book provides guidance on measures that should be taken to protect human lives from terrorist activities. It contains a historical summary of the development and use of these weapons and a discussion of the types of radiation and warfare agents that are available.
The Official U.S. Army Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Operations by
The Official U.S. Army Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Operations Field Manual is the newest edition of this critical U.S. Army field manual about the nuclear, chemical, and biological threats to our military members and civilians and covering a soldier's--or anyone's--use of protective gear and equipment to make himself and herself and their families safe.
Public Health Risk Assessment for Human Exposure to Chemicals by
This book provides a concise, yet comprehensive overview of the many facets relating to human health risk assessments in relation to chemical exposure problems. It presents some very important tools and methodologies that can be used to address chemical exposure and public health risk management problems in a consistent, efficient, and cost-effective manner.