Becoming a Marine Biologist by
A fascinating guide to a career in marine biology written by bestselling journalist Virginia Morell and based on the real-life experiences of an expert in the field--essential reading for someone considering a path to this profession.
Climate Change and Ocean Renewable Energy by
Renewable-energy is energy that is collected from renewable resources that are naturally replenished on a human timescale. Renewable-energy includes sources such as sunlight, tides, waves, wind, rain, and geothermal heat. Transitioning to renewable energy, and reducing reliance on fossil fuels, is one way to help slow down the effects of climate change. While renewables used to be a more expensive option, new clean energy technologies are lowering costs and helping to move economies away from fossil fuels.
Conservation of Marine Birds by
Conservation of Marine Birds is the first book to outline and synthesize the myriad of threats faced by one of the most imperiled groups of birds on earth. With more than half of all 346 seabird species worldwide experiencing population declines and 29% of species recognized as globally threatened by the International Union for Conservation of Nature, the timing to determine solutions to threats could not be more urgent. Written by a diverse team of international experts on marine birds, this book explores the environmental and biogeographical factors that influence seabird conservation and provides concrete recommendations for mounting climate change issues.
Current Trends in Marine Biology by
The oceans and the marine environment, covering about 70% of the earth, are critically important to humans. Marine biology provides an understanding of the various organisms that inhabit this essential ecosystem. Recently, biologists encompassing a broad interdisciplinary community of researchers and industrialists have gained enormous interest in understanding the enigmas of survival, the food web, primary production, natural products, interactions and competition, communication, reproduction, evolution, diversity, fouling and many other aspects pertaining to the marine ecosystem.
Impacts of Oil Spil Disasters on Marine Habitats and Fisheries in North America by
This book contains scientific findings and reviews from experts researching impacts of the Exxon Valdez, Ixtoc I, and Deepwater Horizon oil spills on coastal fishery resources. It describes physiological effects of oil-derived compounds on fishes, presenting results from field and laboratory investigations.
Marine Biology by
With its clear and conversational writing style, comprehensive coverage, and sophisticated presentation, 'Marine Biology: Function, Biodiversity, Ecology', Sixth Edition, is regarded by many as the most authoritative marine biology text. Over the course of six editions, Jeffrey Levinton has balanced his organismal and ecological focus by including the latest developments on molecular biology, global climate change, and ocean processes.
Marine Biology by
The textbook is designed to introduce the fundamentals of marine organisms and their ecological roles in the world's oceans, and is organized by functional groups, emphasizing marine biodiversity rather than systematics or habitats. Each chapter has been written and peer-reviewed by renowned international experts in their respective fields, and includes updated information on relevant topics, from the microbial loop and primary production in the oceans, to marine megafauna and the impacts of projected climate change on marine life and ecosystems.
Marine Biology: a Very Short Introduction by
"In this Very Short Introduction, marine biologist Philip Mladenov provides an accessible and up-to-date overview of marine biology, offering a tour of marine life and marine processes that ranges from the unimaginably abundant microscopic organisms that drive the oceans' food web to the apex
predators that we exploit for food; from polar ocean ecosystems to tropical coral reefs; and from the luxurious kelp beds of the coastal ocean to deep-ocean hydrothermal vents where life exists without the energy of the sun. Throughout the book he considers the human impacts on marine life including
overfishing, plastic and nutrient pollution, the spread of exotic species, and ocean warming and acidification. He discusses the threats these pose to our welfare, and the actions required to put us on a path to a more sustainable relationship with our oceans so that they can be restored and
protected for future generations. "
Marine Environments: Diversity, Threats and Conservation by
Marine Environments: Diversity, Threats and Conservation presents important challenges and advances in the field of marine bioindicators in recent years, which could be relevant for integrative monitoring purposes and the development of new approaches and technologies in marine pollution monitoring.
Marine Mammals: A Deep Dive into the World of Science by
This highly-readable Open Access textbook provides basic background information about marine mammals and anthropogenic impacts on them. The book includes inspiring exercises for education school programs in natural sciences. The book also provides advice on career paths using case studies of marine scientists and veterinarians describing their journeys from student to profession.
Marine Policy by
This book provides readers with a foundation in policy development and analysis, describing how policy, including legal mechanisms, are applied to the marine environment. It presents a systematic treatment of all aspects of marine policy, including climate change, energy, environmental protection, fisheries, mining and transportation. Marine Policy summarizes the importance of the ocean governance nexus, discussing current and anticipated challenges facing marine ecosystems, human activities, and efforts to address these threats.
Noisy Oceans by
Monitoring Seismic and Acoustic Waves at Sea describes the non-tectonic related seismic signals, show examples of their waveforms, discuss the methodologies allowing to detect and study them, outline their impact and the remaining questions and establish a nomenclature for scientists working on these events, to ease future communications. Studies show examples where NSE's are used for gaining new knowledge in multiple domains of sciences.
Oceaning: Governing Marine Life with Drones by
Drones are revolutionizing ocean conservation. By flying closer and seeing more, drones enhance intimate contact between ocean scientists and activists and marine life. In the process, new dependencies between nature, technology, and humans emerge, and a paradox becomes apparent. Can we have a wild ocean whose survival is reliant upon technology?
The Ocean of Tomorrow: The Transition to Sustainability by
As a response to the climate crisis and its effect on marine ecosystems and coastal populations, this book proposes concrete science driven solutions at establishing transformation pathways towards Sustainable Blue Growth, that are supported by technically and socially innovative innovations. This book proposes investment options and management solutions that have the potential of making our seas and oceans resilient to crises -- climate, financial, health -- by laying the foundations for a green/blue, circular economy that is anchored in science driven solutions and geared toward public well-being.
Perspectives on the Marine Animal Forests of the World by
In a previous book (Marine Animal Forests, the ecology of benthic biodiversity hotspots), several aspects of the MAFs were described and discussed, building the basis for a holistic approach with the aim of putting these shallow and deep sea ecosystems under a common umbrella. The main target of the present book is to identify and address important topics which were not covered in the previous three volumes. Bryozoans or Polychaeta, for example, are treated in this volume, as well as hydrothermal vents ecosystems and submarine caves, the chemical ecology in MAFs or the nursery effect on these ecosystems.
The Physiology of Fishes by
The fifth edition of The Physiology of Fishes represents a compendium of knowledge across fish physiology, collecting up-to-date research into an easy-to-access single textbook. Written by the leaders in the field, it provides a comprehensive, accessible review of the core topics, integrating physiology with environmental science, ecology, evolution, and molecular cell biology. New chapters address epigenetics, biomechanics and locomotion, and behaviour and learning.
Plastic Pollution and Marine Conservation by
Plastic Pollution and Marine Conservation: Approaches to Protect Biodiversity and Marine Life provides comprehensive knowledge on the consequences of plastic waste in marine environments at different levels, ranging from ecological and biological, to social, economic and political. The book synthesizes historical information, gaps in current knowledge, and recent discoveries by illustrating the main stages that made plastics a global issue for ocean ecosystems and their wildlife.
The Underworld by
For all of human history, the deep ocean has been a source of wonder and terror, an unknown realm that evoked a singular, compelling question: What’s down there? Unable to answer this for centuries, people believed the deep was a sinister realm of fiendish creatures and deadly peril. But now, cutting-edge technologies allow scientists and explorers to dive miles beneath the surface, and we are beginning to understand this strange and exotic underworld: A place of soaring mountains, smoldering volcanoes, and valleys 7,000 feet deeper than Everest is high, where tectonic plates collide and separate, and extraordinary life forms operate under different rules. Far from a dark void, the deep is a vibrant realm that’s home to pink gelatinous predators and shimmering creatures a hundred feet long and ancient animals with glass skeletons and sharks that live for half a millennium—among countless other marvels.