LibGuides: Corrosion: Essentials

Journals

Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials ISSN: 0003-5599 Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials publishes a broad coverage of the materials and techniques employed in corrosion prevention. Coverage is essentially of a practical nature and designed to be of material benefit to those working in the field. Proven applications are covered together with company news and new product information. Anti-Corrosion Methods and Materials now also includes research articles that reflect the most interesting and strategically important research and development activities from around the world.
Applied Materials Today ISSN: 2352-9407 | eISSN: 2352-9415 Applied Materials Today is a multi-disciplinary, rapid-publication journal focused on cutting edge applications of novel materials. New materials discoveries have led to exciting fundamental breakthroughs. Materials research is now moving towards the translation of these scientific properties and principles to applied technologies. Applied Materials Today covers all aspects of materials application, spanning chemistry, physics, engineering, and biology: publishing high impact articles on novel electronic, optical, mechanical, and energy devices, as well as medicine, the environment and the impact on society.
Corrosion, the Journal of Science and Engineering ISSN: 0010-9312 | eISSN: 1938-159X CORROSION, The Journal of Science and Engineering publishes the latest developments in areas of corrosion metallurgy, mechanisms, predictors, material properties and design, and experimental techniques affecting a wide range of industries and alloys. CORROSION provides a permanent record of progress in the science and technology of corrosion prevention and control, featuring peer-reviewed technical articles from the world’s top researchers. CORROSION welcomes submissions of original research articles, critical reviews, technical notes, corrosion communications, and scientific investigations of field corrosion processes.
Corrosion and Materials Degradation ISSN: 2624-5558 Corrosion and Materials Degradation is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal on corrosion, environment-assisted degradation, corrosion mitigation, corrosion mechanism and corrosion monitoring, published quarterly online by MDPI.
Corrosion Communications eISSn: 2667-2669 Corrosion Communications, is a new journal in the field of corrosion and protection in collaboration with Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences. It publishes innovative original academic research articles and high-level reviews in the field of corrosion and protection. The journal focuses on advanced corrosion monitoring and detection technology, corrosion mechanism and protection technology in interactive environment, light alloy protection, long-term anti-corrosion coatings, corrosion and protection in extreme environment, development of advanced anti-corrosion materials and multi-scale corrosion simulation calculation.
Corrosion Science ISSN: 0010-938X | eISSN: 1879-0496 Occurrence of corrosion and its practical control is an area of study covering a wide range of scientific knowledge. Corrosion Science aims to be the medium for the communication of ideas, developments and research in all aspects of this field and includes both metallic and non-metallic corrosion. The scope of this international journal is very extensive. Published papers range from the highly theoretical to the essentially practical and cover such areas as high temperature oxidation, passivity, anodic oxidation, biochemical corrosion, stress corrosion cracking, and mechanisms and methods of corrosion control. This journal publishes original papers and critical reviews in the fields of pure and applied corrosion, the degradation of materials, and both surface science and engineering. It forms an important link between metallurgists, materials scientists and all investigators of corrosion and degradation phenomena.
Electrochimica Acta ISSN: 0013-4686 | eISSN: 1873-3859 Electrochimica Acta is an international journal. It is intended for the publication of both original work and reviews in the field of electrochemistry.
Journal of Alloys and Compounds ISSN: 0925-8388 The Journal of Alloys and Compounds is an international peer-reviewed medium for the publication of work on materials comprising compounds as well as alloys. Its great strength lies in the diversity of disciplines which it encompasses, drawing together results from materials science, physical metallurgy, solid-state chemistry and physics.
Materials eISSN: 1996-1944 Materials provides a forum for publishing papers which advance the in-depth understanding of the relationship between structure, properties, and functions of all kinds of materials. It covers all aspects of materials science and engineering including synthesis, structure, mechanical, chemical, electronic, magnetic, and optical properties, as well as their various applications. In addition to regular issues, Materials publishes several Special Issues per year on specific topics.
Materials Today ISSN: 1369-7021 Publishes comprehensive articles and short communications reporting breakthrough discoveries and major technical achievements as well as review articles from established leaders in engaging and rapidly developing fields within materials science and related disciplines.
MRS Communications eISSN: 2159-6867 MRS Communications is an archival journal that focuses on the latest advancements across the spectrum of materials research. MRS Communications is intended to widely disseminate transformative ideas and cutting-edge discoveries in our highly interdisciplinary field and to complement the current MRS portfolio of technical publications, including but not limited to the scope of topics included at MRS meetings.

Databases

ASME Digital Library ASME Journals provide essential resources for engineers looking to keep abreast of the latest research, current theory, practice, and application.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Defense Technical Information Center serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available. Access Controlled site requires registering your CAC
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore contains more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.
Jane's For open-source defence intelligence, no one anywhere in the world is as trusted or as recommended as Janes. With the most complete foundational military data sets, compiled by 500,000+ analyst hours every year, we provide accurate, current data for any environment or system.
Proquest ProQuest is a key partner for content holders of all types, preserving and enabling access to their rich and varied information. Those partnerships have built a growing content collection that now encompasses 90,000 authoritative sources, 6 billion digital pages and spans six centuries. It includes the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; 20 million pages and three centuries of global, national, regional and specialty newspapers; more than 450,000 ebooks; rich aggregated collections of the world’s most important scholarly journals and periodicals; and unique vaults of digitized historical collections from great libraries and museums.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Websites

AMPP Podcasts The AMPP Podcasts series is a collection of free audio podcasts by the Association for Materials Protection and Performance.
AMPP Webcasts AMPP Webcasts offer educational presentations related to corrosion as a way to connect people within the corrosion community in an engaging and interactive way.
Corrosion Journal Interview Series
Corrosion Materials Blog and Lastest News Corrosion Materials is a global distributor and manufacturer of corrosion resistant alloy products. We have been supplying corrosion resistant alloys for 60 years and have developed the resources, skills and inventory to satisfy the demanding needs of a multitude of markets. Corrosion Materials’ commitment to quality is reflected in our ISO 9001:2015 Certification, our knowledgeable quality control staff, and our employees who understand our customer’s requirements and are dedicated to handling customer orders quickly, efficiently and accurately.
Corrosionpedia Corrosionpedia was founded by Cory Janssen and Terry Freeman in 2013. Their expertise represented a convergence of leadership in business, modern digital technology and industry experience. Over the years, Corrosionpedia has positioned itself as the most trafficked corrosion industry publication on the internet, with a dictionary of more than 3000 corrosion terms, a comprehensive directory of corrosion companies and a thriving space for webinars around corrosion-related topics.
Institute of Corrosion Training & Qualifications The Institute of Corrosion offers training courses in two formats, classroom-based and online based courses with its partners, IMechE Argyll Ruane and Corrodere Academy as well as running the Cathodic Protection training scheme inhouse.
NewEngineer Blog: Corrosion Engineering: a Fascinating, Little-Known Career Option - 2021 Check out this article about Corrosion Engineering, published in the New Engineer, January 20, 2021.
What is Corrosion? “What is Corrosion?” is an overview from AMPP, the Association for Materials Protection and Performance, formally, NACE International and SSPC: The Society for Protective Coatings. It contains information to help you expand your basic corrosion knowledge and connect you to additional information for deeper discovery and learning.

Books

Handbook of Corrosion Engineering, Third Edition by Pierre R. Roberge This fully updated guide offers complete coverage of the latest corrosion-resistant materials, methods, and technologies. Written by a recognized expert on the subject, the book covers all aspects of corrosion damage, including detection, monitoring, prevention, and control. You will learn how to select materials and resolve design issues where corrosion is a factor. Handbook of Corrosion Engineering, Third Edition shows, step by step, how to understand, predict, evaluate, mitigate, and correct corrosion problems. This edition provides a new focus on the management of corrosion problems and draws on methodologies and examples from the 2016 IMPACT report. A new chapter discusses corrosion management across governments and industries.
Call Number: *Available by Request

ISBN: 9781260116977

Publication Date: 2019-07-08
Sustainable corrosion inhibitors I : fundamentals, methodologies, and industrial applications by Chandrabhan Verma, Chaudhery Mustansar Hussain
Call Number: *Available by Request

ISBN: 9780841297890

Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Corrosion Engineering by Chandrabhan Verma; Jeenat Aslam; Ruby Aslam; Saman Zehra; Chaudhery Mustansar Hussain Handbook of Corrosion Engineering: Modern Theory, Fundamentals and Practical Applications explores recent progress in metals corrosion and associated protection processes, spanning all corrosion-related characteristics utilized in natural and industrial environments, including monitoring and testing. The book combines the science and engineering of corrosion to assist readers in conducting exact corrosion evaluations in the design and plant management phases, including optimal protection methods. The book examines the basics of corrosion science, including the electrochemical mechanism, thermodynamic and kinetic aspects, different corrosion forms-such as uniform, localized, and stress corrosion phenomena-and protection systems adopted to combat corrosion, including inhibitors, coatings, and cathodic protection.
Call Number: *Available by Request

ISBN: 9780323951869

Publication Date: 2023-08-14

Professional Associations & Conferences

Association for Materials Protection and Performance (AMPP) AMPP is a global community of professionals dedicated to materials protection through the advancement of corrosion control and protective coatings. Formerly the National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE)
The Electrochemical Society The mission of The Electrochemical Society is to advance theory and practice at the forefront of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and allied subjects.
Institute of Corrosion The Institue of Corrosion has celebrated over 50 years. Featuring webinars, conferences, articles, and more. The Wherever you are in your career we can help you develop the latest skills and gain industry relevant qualifications. As a member of the Institute of Corrosion you will be part of the UK’s biggest community of corrosion professionals, with an increasing global presence.
Materials Technology Institute MTI maximizes member asset performance by providing global leadership in materials technology for industrial processing companies to improve safety, sustainability, reliability and profitability.
World Corrosion Organization The WCO is a non-profit charitable organization based in New York and is a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations (UN). The WCO has members from around the world and fall into two categories: General Members (national not-for-profit organizations) and Affiliate Members (governmental organizations, industrial enterprises, or other profit-oriented organizations). WCO members commit to a code of honor to secure the highest level of corrosion control and prevention in order to avoid harming humankind, ecology, and economy by the effects of corrosion.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>