LibGuides: Maritime and Sea Power History: Essentials

Journals

American Historical Review ISSN: 0002-8762 | eISSN: 1937-5239 The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and chartered by Congress in 1889 to serve the interests of the entire discipline of history. Aligning with the AHA's mission, the AHR has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study.
International Journal of Maritime History The International Journal of Maritime History (IJMH) is the journal of the International Maritime History Association. The IJMH is a fully-refereed, quarterly publication which addresses the maritime dimensions of economic, social, cultural, and environmental history. Truly international in scope, the IJMH publishes studies of a multidisciplinary nature on a broad range of maritime historical themes, including shipping, shipbuilding, seafaring, ports, resorts and other coastal communities, sea-borne trade, fishing, environment and the culture of the sea.
International Journal of Maritime History The International Journal of Maritime History (IJMH) is the journal of the International Maritime Economic History Association. The IJMH is a fully-refereed, quarterly publication which addresses the maritime dimensions of economic, social, cultural, and environmental history. Truly international in scope, the IJMH publishes studies of a multidisciplinary nature on a broad range of maritime historical themes, including shipping, shipbuilding, seafaring, ports, resorts and other coastal communities, sea-borne trade, fishing, environment and the culture of the sea. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
International Journal of Naval History ISSN: 1932-6556 The objective of the International Journal of Naval History is to provide a pre-eminent forum for works of naval history researched and written to demonstrable academic standards. Our hope is to stimulate and promote research into naval history and foster communication among naval historians at an international level. The journal is an independent voice for serious research into all manner of naval history and maritime studies. This includes work touching the naval traditions of all nations and regions in all time periods. The International Journal of Naval History appears on the worldwide web as a free service to scholars and interested individuals courtesy of both its all-volunteer staff and the U.S. Naval Historical Foundation.
Journal for Maritime Research ISSN: 2153-3369 | eISSN: 1469-1957 The Journal for Maritime Research ( JMR ), established by the National Maritime Museum in 1999, focuses on historical enquiry at the intersections of maritime, British and global history. It champions a wide spectrum of innovative research on the maritime past. While the Journal has a particular focus on the British experience, it positions this within broad oceanic and international contexts, encouraging comparative perspectives and interdisciplinary approaches.
Journal of Global History ISSN: 1740-0228 | eISSN: 1740-0236 The Journal of Global History aims to be the leading scholarly outlet for comparative and connective accounts of world historical significance. JGH publishes articles that examine structures, processes and theories of global change, inequality and stability, as well as articles focusing on smaller scales that are in keeping with, or transcend, the boundaries of historical polities or environments.
Journal of Maritime Archaeology ISSN: 1557-2285 | eISSN: 1557-2293 The Journal of Maritime Archaeology is the first international journal to address all aspects of maritime archaeology, both terrestrial and under water. It encompasses theory, practice and analysis relating to sites, technology, landscape, structure, and issues of heritage management.
Journal of Maritime Research The objective of JMR is to contribute to the progress, development and diffusion of research on the maritime sector. The aim is to provide a multidisciplinary forum for studies of the sector from the perspective of all four of the following broad areas of scientific knowledge: experimental sciences, nautical sciences, engineering and social sciences.
The Journal of Pacific History ISSN: 0022-3344 | eISSN: 1469-9605 The Journal of Pacific History is a leading refereed journal dedicated to research concerning the Pacific Islands, their peoples and their pasts. Its remit is broad: from prehistory to the present. It publishes articles in political, economic, religious and cultural history, analysis of contemporary developments, critical surveys and comment.
The Mariner's Mirror ISSN: 0025-3359 | eISSN: 2049-680X The Mariner’s Mirror is the international journal of the Society for Nautical Research. It has been published since 1911 and is recognized as the world’s leading journal of naval and maritime history.
Maritime The Journal of Commerce is the most trusted source for maritime news and analysis about ocean container shipping, logistics, supply chains, global shipping ports, shipping technology solutions and end-to-end connectivity. Coverage tracks the movement of containerized cargo — from origin to destination — handled by marine terminals in the US and abroad, depots, container ports, container lines, drayage, consignees and shippers, forwarders, non-vessel operating common carriers (NVOCCs) and off-dock warehousing providers, as well as pricing, capacity, volume and reliability on the trans-Pacific, Asia-Europe, North America-Caribbean, Central and South America and intra-Asia trades.
Maritime Studies ISSN: 1872-7859 | eISSN: 2212-9790 Maritime Studies (or MAST) is an interdisciplinary, international journal devoted to maritime issues and is a sequel to Maritime Anthropological Studies, which appeared between 1988 and 1993. MAST has a social science focus, but functions as a platform for scholars from a broad range of disciplines who are engaged in research on maritime and coastal matters, from an academic or applied point of view.
Naval History Magazine
The Northern Mariner ISSN: 1183-112X | eISSN: 2561-5467 The Northern Mariner is a fully refereed, quarterly journal published by the The Canadian Nautical Research Society and the North American Society for Oceanic History. It is devoted to the study of maritime affairs and the inland waterways of the nations that touch the seas of the northern hemisphere. The journal’s content spans the fields of naval, political, diplomatic, social, cultural, gender, Indigenous, economic, and environmental history.
WMU Journal of Maritime Affairs The WMU Journal of Maritime Affairs (JOMA) is an internationally peer-reviewed journal that covers such subject areas as maritime safety, maritime energy, maritime administration, management and operations, and marine environment protection and gives special attention to human factors, impacts of technology, and policy-making in this context.

Databases

Academic OneFile
GALE ONEFILE
Mystic Seaport Museum, Collections Research Center: Databases A list of online databases pertaining to whaling, ships, and other maritime topics.
National Archives Maritime Records
Library of Congress Ships and Ship Registers: Sources of Information This section includes sources for ship-specific information like specifications as well as images. There are a number of free sources with images and information but it is impossible to include them all. Also included are other archival collections around the United States that cover ships. While all archival collections could not be included, sources like Archive Grid External could be helpful in finding other local and alternative sources and collections.

Websites

The Mother of All Maritime Links
Mystic Seaport Museum, Collections Research Center (Mystic, CT) The Collections Research Center (CRC) is the nation’s leading maritime research facility. Located across the street from Mystic Seaport, the former J. Rossie Velvet Company houses the Museum’s collections and offers safe and easy access to maritime researchers and scholars. Artifacts at the CRC include more than two million examples of maritime art, artifacts, tools, buildings, imprints and other documents, photographs, 1,000 ships registers, 600 audiotaped oral history interviews, 200 videotaped interviews, and 1.5 million feet of historic and contemporary maritime-related footage.
National Maritime Digital Library The Digital Library’s mission is to collect, preserve and make accessible maritime resources in electronic format, thereby promoting maritime cultural heritage scholarship.
National Vessel Register The Naval Vessel Register contains information on ships and service craft that comprise the official inventory of the US Navy from the time of vessel authorization through its life cycle and disposal. It also includes ships that have been stricken but not disposed. Ships and service craft disposed of prior to 1987 are currently not included, however the data is gradually being added along with other updates
Naval History and Heritage Command
U.S. Naval Historical Foundation Founded in 1926, the Naval Historical Foundation is a registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our members, sponsors, and contributors help us preserve and honor the legacy of those who came before us, so we can educate and inspire the generations to follow.
U.S. Naval Institute: Studies in Naval History and Sea Power Series Studies in Naval History and Sea Power advances our understanding of sea power and its role in global security by publishing significant new scholarship on navies and naval affairs.
U.S. Naval Institute: The American Sea Power Project The end of the Cold War brought an end to the urgent need for in-depth thinking about maritime strategy. During the past three decades, naval planning and force structure were guided more by budgets, technology, and land operations than by any meaningful maritime strategy. With the return of great power competition, however, there is a need to get back to strategic thinking about what it means for the United States to be a maritime nation and how naval power underpins national power. The American Sea Power Project embodies Naval Institute thought leadership on these vital topics.
U.S. Naval Institute Archives The Naval Institute is home to a special library, housing multiple resources in the areas of interest for naval enthusiasts, naval historians, authors and students. Two high popular resources are their oral history and photograph collections.

Books

The Ocean Reader by Eric Paul Roorda (Editor) While much of the telling of human history focuses on events that occurred on land, THE OCEAN READER takes the centrality of water as its starting point, bringing together material that has shaped humans' relationship to the water and treating the ocean as a dynamic site of history, culture, and politics. In its twelve parts, THE OCEAN READER gathers a variety of primary texts, including myth, scholarly writing, poetry, scientific research, song lyrics, memoir, journalism, blog posts, and more
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781478007456
Publication Date: 2020-01-17
The Sea and Civilization: A Maritime History of the World by Lincoln Paine A monumental retelling of world history through the lens of maritime enterprise, revealing in breathtaking depth how people first came into contact with one another by ocean and river, lake and stream, and how goods, languages, religions, and entire cultures spread across and along the world’s waterways, bringing together civilizations and defining what makes us most human.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781400044092
Publication Date: 2013-10-29

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations & Conferences

Canadian Nautical Research Society The CNRS encourages an awareness of Canadian and world maritime heritage by promoting nautical research and presenting the results of such research by conferences, presentations and publications.
International Maritime History Association
National Maritime Historical Society
North American Society for Oceanic History
Society for Nautical Research (UK)

Listservs

H-Maritime Overall aim is to be an open, yet quality medium for furthering substantive inquiry within the rich field of maritime affairs among a growing number of scholars.
MARHST-L INTERNATIONAL electronic discussion group sponsored and administered by the Marine Museum of the Great Lakes at Kingston with the assistance of Queen's University at Kingston.
Underwater Archeology Discussion Lists

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>