LibGuides: Surface Warfare: Essentials

Journals

America's Navy Media Sharing stories and news from Sailors across the U.S. Navy's Surface Forces
Defence Studies ISSN: 1470-9698 Publishes theoretical and empirical research on contemporary defense and emergent warfare and examines how armed forces seek to engage with various challenges.
Journal of Intelligence, Conflict, and Warfare ISSN: 2561-8229 The JICW is a practitioner-focused research resource and a researcher-focused opportunity to impact policy and real-world security and defence decision-making, presenting a canvas for both researchers and practitioners to explore new and emerging security problems.
Joint Force Quarterly Discusses joint and integrated operations, whole-of-government contributions to national security policy and strategy, homeland security, and developments in training and joint military education
Marine Corps Gazette Marine Corps Gazette is a professional journal for U.S. Marines founded in 1916 at Marine Corps Base Quantico for members of the United States Marine Corps. Begun by then Col John A. Lejeune as the vehicle to launch the Marine Corps Association, the journal is known as "The Professional Journal of U.S. Marines".
Naval War College Review The Naval War College Review is a scholarly journal, published quarterly since 1948 under the auspices of the U.S. Naval War College and the Department of the Navy. The thoughts and opinions expressed in the publication are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the department or the U.S. Naval War College.
Sea Power Seapower magazine is the official publications of the Navy League of the United States, an international organization founded in 1902 to support the U.S. sea services. Seapower articles cover a wide range of topics, including national defense; foreign policy; naval affairs; maritime issues; homeland security; and defense research, development and procurement.
Journal of Strategic Studies ISSN: 0140-2390 The defining feature of The Journal of Strategic Studies is its commitment to multi-disciplinary approaches to the study of war. The editors welcome articles that challenge our historical understanding of humanity’s efforts to achieve political ends through the application of military and diplomatic means; articles on contemporary security and theoretical controversies of enduring value; and of course articles that explicitly combine the historical and theoretical approaches to the study of modern warfare, defence policy and modern strategy.
Surface Warfare Magazine Surface Warfare Magazine is the professional magazine of the surface warfare community. Its purpose is to educate its readers on surface warfare missions and programs, with a particular focus on U.S. surface ships and commands. This journal will also draw upon the Surface Force’s rich historical legacy to instill a sense of pride and professionalism among community members and to enhance reader awareness of the increasing relevance of surface warfare for our nation’s defense.
Seapower Seapower magazine is the official publication of the Navy League of the United States, an international organization founded in 1902 to support the U.S. sea services. Seapower articles cover a wide range of topics, including national defense; foreign policy; naval affairs; maritime issues; homeland security; and defense research, development and procurement. Seapower coverage focuses on such areas as defense strategies, emerging technologies, and ways to improve the operational concepts and managerial processes of the U.S. sea services. The principal mission of Seapower is to educate Congress and the American people about the activities, requirements, and accomplishments of the sea services and U.S.-flag Merchant Marine.

Databases

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Gale OneFile Military and Intelligence Search Topics, Subject Guides, and Publications.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; and the IEEE Standards Dictionary.
Jane's Resource Portal *Requires TDNet/OpenAthens Account to access
Research Gate Access over 160 million publication pages and stay up to date with what's happening in your field.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format.
Worldwide Science A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals, WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

Websites

Applied Research Laboratory at Pennsylvania State University Our team of intellectually curious, creative, and innovative researchers, engineers, and industry professionals leverages decades of experience in a wide variety of disciplines. We celebrate individual viewpoints, find strength in our diversity, and remain relentlessly focused on our mission.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
Navy Times Navy Times is a part of the Sightline Media Group, formerly known as the Army Times Publishing Company, which first published Army Times in 1940. Throughout its history, the company has a strong heritage and tradition of meeting the highest standards of independent journalism and has expanded with publications serving all branches of the U.S. military, the global defense community, the U.S. federal government, and several special interest, defense-oriented industry sectors.
NOAA Ocean Explorer NOAA Ocean Exploration is dedicated to exploring the unknown ocean, unlocking its potential through scientific discovery, technological advancements, and data delivery. By working closely with partners across public, private, and academic sectors, we are filling gaps in our basic understanding of the marine environment. This allows us, collectively, to protect ocean health, sustainably manage our marine resources, accelerate our national economy, better understand our changing environment, and enhance appreciation of the importance of the ocean in our everyday lives.
Office of Naval Research (ONR) The Office of Naval Research is the catalyst of future naval power, ensuring technological dominance for our fleet and force. With a workforce that includes some of the top PhDs and engineers in the world in their fields, ONR finds the best minds from across the nation and around the globe, sponsoring new research and creating new capabilities for America’s Sailors and Marines.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI's home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.
Science.gov Science.gov provides access to millions of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies.
Science and Technology Resources on the Internet: Select Internet Resources on Acoustics
Surface Navy Association Conferences Surface Navy Association (SNA) was incorporated in 1985 to promote greater coordination and communication among those in the military, business, and academic communities who share a common interest in Surface Warfare while supporting the activities of Surface Forces.
United States naval Academy Surface Warfare Officers (SWOs) serve in every type of surface ship in the Navy. When you are selected for surface warfare, you have the opportunity to choose the type of ship and home port of your first duty assignment. Then, after graduation from the Academy, you report to your ship. Your first tour of duty lasts about 24 months.

Books

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Seaforth World Naval Review 2024 by Conrad Waters (Editor) For more than a decade this annual volume has provided an authoritative summary of all the developments in the world's navies and their ships in the previous twelve months. It combines regional surveys with major articles on important new warships and looks at wider issues of significance to navies such as aviation and weaponry. The contributors come from around the globe and as well as providing a balanced picture of naval developments, they interpret their significance and explain their context.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781682474846
Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Warship 2023 by John Jordan The latest edition of Warship, the celebrated annual publication featuring the latest research on the history, development, and service of the world's warships. For over 45 years, Warship has been the leading annual resource on the design, development, and deployment of the world's combat ships. Featuring a broad range of articles from a select panel of distinguished international contributors, this latest volume combines original research, new book reviews, warship notes, an image gallery, and much more, maintaining the impressive standards of scholarship and research with which Warship has become synonymous. Detailed and accurate information is the keynote of all the articles, which are fully supported by plans, data tables, and stunning photographs. This year's Warship includes features on the secret battleship design that Mussolini's Fascist Italy sold to Stalin's USSR, the little-known German flak ships of World War II, the French aircraft carriers Clemenceau and Foch, and the development of electronic warfare in the Royal Navy.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available from MWR Overdrive
ISBN: 9781472857125
Publication Date: 2023-05-25

Professional Associations

Air Land Sea Application Center LSA is a multi-Service organization established by the doctrine centers to develop tactical-level solutions of multi-Service interoperability issues consistent with Joint and Service doctrine.
American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists, and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate, and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession. Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine; and U.S. Army.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society The Society’s mission is to be the professional home of people passionate about ocean science, engineering, and technology. The Field of Interest of the Society includes all aspects of science, engineering, and technology that address research, development, and operations pertaining to all bodies of water.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers SNAME is an internationally recognized non-profit, professional society of individual members serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers. The mission of the Society is to advance the art, science, and practice of naval architecture, marine engineering, ocean engineering, and other marine-related professions through the global exchange of knowledge and ideas, being a provider of and catalyst for professional education across the maritime industry, and encouraging and sponsoring research and development.
Surface Navy Association Surface Navy Association (SNA) was incorporated in 1985 to promote greater coordination and communication among those in the military, business, and academic communities who share a common interest in Surface Warfare while supporting the activities of Surface Forces.
U.S. Naval Institute The U.S. Naval Institute is a non-profit membership association serving a community of individuals who participate in an open forum to debate key issues in the Sea Services.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.