Aerodynamics: Books & eBooks

Aerodynamics for Engineers by John J. Bertin; Russell M. Cummings Now reissued by Cambridge University Press, this sixth edition covers the fundamentals of aerodynamics using clear explanations and real-world examples. Aerodynamics concept boxes throughout showcase real-world applications, chapter objectives provide readers with a better understanding of the goal of each chapter and highlight the key 'take-home' concepts, and example problems aid understanding of how to apply core concepts. Coverage also includes the importance of aerodynamics to aircraft performance, applications of potential flow theory to aerodynamics, high-lift military airfoils, subsonic compressible transformations, and the distinguishing characteristics of hypersonic flow. Supported online by a solutions manual for instructors, MATLAB℗ʼ files for example problems, and lecture slides for most chapters, this is an ideal textbook for undergraduates taking introductory courses in aerodynamics, and for graduates taking preparatory courses in aerodynamics before progressing to more advanced study.

Aerodynamics for Naval Aviators by U. S. Navy Systems Command; H. H. Hurt This textbook presents the elements of applied aerodynamics and aeronautical engineering which relate directly to the problems of flying operations. All Naval Aviators possess a natural interest in the basic aerodynamic factors which affect the performance of all aircraft. Due to the increasing complexity of modern aircraft, this natural interest must be applied to develop a sound understanding of basic engineering principles and an appreciation of some of the more advanced problems of aerodynamics and engineering. The safety and effectiveness of flying operations will depend greatly on the understanding and appreciation of how and why an airplane flies. The principles of aerodynamics will provide the foundations for developing exacting and precise flying techniques and operational procedures. The content of this textbook has been arranged to provide as complete as possible a reference for all phases of flying in Naval Aviation.

Aerodynamics for Naval Aviators (2023) by Hugh Harrison Hunt; Naval Air Systems Command U.S. Navy A long-established U.S. Navy publication also used by the U.S. Air Force as well as by the FAA as a source reference for their own publications, for more than 50 years this textbook has been a definitive source that communicates the complexities of applied aerodynamics and aeronautical engineering for both the beginner and the experienced pilot. Flight safety and effectiveness depends greatly on the understanding and appreciation of how and why an airplane flies, and this resource teaches aerodynamic principles, providing the foundation for developing precise flying techniques and operational procedures.

Aircraft Systems Classifications by Allan Seabridge; Mohammad Radaei; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by) Aircraft Systems Classifications: A Handbook of Characteristics and Design Guidelines provides comprehensive information on aircraft systems delivered in a concise, direct, and standardized way, allowing readers to easily find the information they need. The book presents a full set of characteristics and requirements for all types of aircraft systems, including avionic, mission, and supporting ground systems, in a single volume. Readers can delve further into specific topics by referencing the detailed glossary and bibliography.

Computational Aerodynamics by Antony Jameson Computational aerodynamics is a relatively new field in engineering that investigates aircraft flow fields via the simulation of fluid motion and sophisticated numerical algorithms. This book provides an excellent reference to the subject for a wide audience, from graduate students to experienced researchers and professionals in the aerospace engineering field. Opening with the essential elements of computational aerodynamics, the relevant mathematical methods of fluid flow and numerical methods for partial differential equations are presented. Stability theory and shock capturing schemes, and vicious flow and time integration methods are then comprehensively outlined. The final chapters treat more advanced material, including energy stability for nonlinear problems, and higher order methods for unstructured and structured meshes. Presenting over 150 illustrations, including representative calculations on unstructured meshes in color. This book is a rich source of information that will be of interest and importance in this pioneering field.

Conceptual Aircraft Design by Ajoy Kumar Kundu; Mark A. Price; David Riordan; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by); Allan Seabridge (Series edited by) This book introduces readers to aircraft design, placing great emphasis on industrial practice. It includes worked out design examples for several different classes of aircraft, including Learjet 45, Tucano Turboprop Trainer, BAe Hawk and Airbus A320. It considers performance substantiation and compliance to certification requirements and market specifications of take-off/landing field lengths, initial climb/high speed cruise, turning capability and payload/range. Military requirements are discussed, covering some aspects of combat, as is operating cost estimation methodology, safety considerations, environmental issues, flight deck layout, avionics and more general aircraft systems. The book also includes a chapter on electric aircraft design along with a full range of industry standard aircraft sizing analyses.

Design and Development of Aircraft Systems by Allan Seabridge; Ian Moir; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by) Design and Development of Aircraft Systems, 3rd Edition begins with an introduction to the subject. It then introduces readers to the aircraft systems (airframe, vehicle, avionic, mission, and ground systems). Following that comes a chapter on the design and development process. Other chapters look at design drivers, systems architectures, systems integration, verification of system requirements, practical considerations, and configuration control. The book finishes with sections that discuss the potential impact of complexity on flight safety, key characteristics of aircraft systems, and more.

Dynamics of Aircraft Flight by Gilles Louis Performance calculations can be classified into three main types: lift, thrust and slope. Firstly, since the lift profile is known and unmodifiable from the time an aircraft is designed, the mass at a given speed or the speed at a given mass must be determined. Then, once the thrust of the engines and the mass are known, the slope must be calculated. Finally, once the slope is known (for example, level flight) as well as the mass, it is necessary to deduce the thrust; this is the position of the throttle control lever that ensures balance.

Elements of Aerodynamics by Oscar Biblarz In Elements of Aerodynamics, Professor Oscar Biblarz delivers a concise and fundamentals-oriented approach to aerodynamics suitable for both undergraduate and graduate-level students. The text offers numerous problems, examples, and check tests, allowing readers to gain and cement their knowledge through hands-on practice.

Essentials of Supersonic Commercial Aircraft Conceptual Design by Egbert Torenbeek; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by); Allan Seabridge (Series edited by) Essentials of Supersonic Commercial Aircraft Conceptual Design is intended for members of a team producing an initial design concept of an airliner with the capability of making supersonic cruising flights. It begins with a synopsis of the history of supersonic transport aircraft development and continues with a chapter on the challenges of high-speed flight, which discusses everything from top level requirements and cruise speed requirements to fuel efficiency and cruise altitude. It then covers weight sensitivity; aerodynamic phenomena in supersonic flow; thin wings in two-dimensional flow; flat wings in inviscid supersonic flow; aerodynamic drag in cruising flight, and aerodynamic efficiency of SCV configurations. The book finishes with a chapter that examines oblique wing aircraft.

Flight Dynamics, Simulation, and Control by Ranjan Vepa Flight, Dynamics, Simulation, and Control of Aircraft: Rigid and Flexible, Second Edition explains the basics of nonlinear aircraft dynamics and the principles of control configured aircraft design, as applied to rigid and flexible aircraft, drones, and UAVs.

Flight Paths to Success: Career Insights from Women Leaders in Aerospace by Rhonda Walthall; Brenda Christiansen Flight Paths to Success profiles the personal journeys of 33 women who have been, and continue to be, successful in aviation, space, and academia. Each woman was asked to select one question of several questions in five categories: personal career insight, work-life balance, mentorship/sponsorship, avoiding a career stall, and powering through challenging situations. Each woman shared her unique experiences about work-life integration, resilience, career changes, relocation, continuing education, and career advancement. While reading their stories, we saw that there were many flight paths to success and each woman navigated her own way by charting her own course and committing to it. Their stories were published as they wrote them in their own words.

Flight Theory and Aerodynamics by Joseph R. Badick; Brian A. Johnson The newly revised Fourth Edition of Flight Theory and Aerodynamics delivers a pilot-oriented approach to flight aerodynamics without assuming an engineering background. The book connects the principles of aerodynamics and physics to their practical applications in a flight environment. With content that complies with FAA rules and regulations, readers will learn about atmosphere, altitude, airspeed, lift, drag, applications for jet and propeller aircraft, stability controls, takeoff, landing, and other maneuvers.

Future Propulsion Systems and Energy Sources in Sustainable Aviation by Saeed Farokhi; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by); Allan Seabridge (Series edited by) Future Propulsion Systems and Energy Sources in Sustainable Aviation is a comprehensive reference that offers a review of the science and engineering principles that underpin the concepts of propulsion systems and energy sources in sustainable air transportation. The author – a noted expert in the field – examines the impact of air transportation on the environment and reviews alternative jet fuels, hybrid-electric and nuclear propulsion and power. He also explores modern propulsion for transonic and supersonic-hypersonic aircraft and the impact of propulsion on aircraft design.

High-Lift Aerodynamics by Jochen Wild The book presents a detailed look at high-lift aerodynamics, which deals with the aerodynamic behavior of lift augmentation means, from various approaches. After an introductory chapter, the book discusses the physical limits of lift generation giving the lift generation potential. It then explains what is needed for an aircraft to fly safely by analyzing the high-lift-related requirements for certifying an aircraft. The needs of an aircraft are also analyzed to improve its performance during take-off, approach, and landing. Describing methods that are used to evaluate and design high-lift systems in an aerodynamic sense, the book also briefly covers numerical, as well as experimental, simulation methods. It also includes a special chapter that is dedicated to the aerodynamic design of high-lift systems. The book is intended for graduate students in aerospace programs studying advanced aerodynamics and aircraft design. It also serves as a professional reference for practicing aerospace and mechanical engineers who are working on aircraft design issues related to take-off and landing

Incompressible Fluid Dynamics by P. A. Davidson Incompressible Fluid Dynamics is a textbook for graduate and advanced undergraduate students of engineering, applied mathematics, and geophysics. The text comprises topics that establish the broad conceptual framework of the subject, expose key phenomena, and play an important role in themyriad of applications that exist in both nature and technology.

Introduction to Aerospace Engineering by Ethirajan Rathakrishnan Aerodynamics is the study of forces and the resulting motion of objects through the air. This word is coined with the two Greek words; aerios, concerning the air, and dynamis, meaning force. Judging from the story of Daedalus and Icarus, humans have been interested in aerodynamics and flying for thousands of years, although flying in a heavier-than-air machine has been possible only in the last century. Aerodynamics affects the motion of high-speed flying machines, such as aircraft and rockets, and low-speed machines, like cars, trains and so on. Therefore, aerodynamics may be described as a branch of dynamics concerned with studying the motion of air, particularly when it interacts with a solid object. Aerodynamics is a subfield of fluid dynamics and gas dynamics. Aerodynamics is often used synonymously with gas dynamics, with the difference being that gas dynamics applies to all gases.

Introduction to flight by John D. Anderson; Mary L. Bowden In continuing the tradition, 'Introduction to Flight' seeks to not only educate, but motivate, the reader to pursue the subject of aerospace engineering. It uses an easy to understand, conversational approach to introduce first- and second- year engineering students to the basic areas of aerodynamics, flight dynamics, propulsion, and space flight. In the ninth edition, several new sections of historical content have been added discussing, in particular, early efforts to understand aerodynamic drag more fully, and the development of human space flight. Significant focus has also been given to providing analytical tools for preliminary space mission design. Additionally, a number of new examples have been added top Chapters 8 and 9, and end of chapter problems have been revised and updated.

Introduction to UAV Systems by Paul G. Fahlstrom; Thomas J. Gleason; Mohammad H. Sadraey Now in an updated Fifth Edition, Introduction to UAV Systems, provides a broad foundation on all aspects of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) and Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS). This thoroughly revised edition introduces the history, classes, and missions of UAVs, then introduces readers to key UAV topics such as aerodynamics, stability and control, propulsion, loads and structures, mission planning, payloads, and communication systems. New material is introduced to cover topics like quadcopters, navigation systems, and ground control stations and new examples highlight the latest industry technologies. The book is an ideal introduction to the world of UAV Systems for both professionals and students, with new end-of-chapter review questions to help enhance reader comprehension and support university courses such as Unmanned Aircraft Systems Design, Introduction to Unmanned Aerial Systems, and Unmanned Aircraft System Operations.

Modern Aerodynamic Methods for Direct and Inverse Applications by Wilson Chin This new book, by a prolific fluid-dynamicist and mathematician who has published more than twenty research monographs, represents not just another contribution to aerodynamics, but a book that raises serious questions about traditionally accepted approaches and formulations – and provides new methods that solve longstanding problems of importance to the industry. While both conventional and newer ideas are discussed, the presentations are readable and geared to advanced undergraduates with exposure to elementary differential equations and introductory aerodynamics principles. Readers are introduced to fundamental algorithms (with Fortran source code) for basic applications, such as subsonic lifting airfoils, transonic supercritical flows utilizing mixed differencing, models for inviscid shear flow aerodynamics, and so on – models they can extend to include newer effects developed in the second half of the book. Many of the newer methods have appeared over the years in various journals and are now presented with deeper perspective and integration.

Unsteady Aerodynamics by Grigorios Dimitriadis; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by); Allan Seabridge (Series edited by) Unsteady Aerodynamics: Inviscid and Viscous, Incompressible and Compressible comprehensively and systematically covers unsteady aerodynamics, including applications, MATLAB examples and exercises. It begins with an introduction which details the historical context and outlines the areas of application. The development of unsteady aerodynamics is presented, from the 1920's up to the present day. This book expertly explains the sources of unsteadiness in flow which are supported by sample problems, inspired by aeroelasticity, rotor blades and flapping flight