LibGuides: Aerodynamics: Essentials

Journals

Advances in Aerodynamics eISSN: 2524-6992 Advances in Aerodynamics (AIA) is aimed to report the scientific and technological advances in aerodynamics from the aspects of academic research, industrial development and engineering applications, and to provide a platform for ideas exchange and discussion in this fast-changing field. The journal welcomes reviews and regular papers of novel studies on aerodynamic science and engineering.
Air & Space Operations Review ISSN: 2771-7704 Air & Space Operations Review is the operations-focused professional journal of the United States Air Force. It is designed to serve as an open forum for the presentation and stimulation of innovative thinking on military, Air Force, and Space Force doctrine, force structure, readiness, innovation, and other matters of national defense related to air and space operations
Applied Sciences eISSN 2076-3417 Applied Sciences (ISSN 2076-3417) provides an advanced forum on all aspects of applied natural sciences, including aerospace science and technology. It publishes reviews, research papers and communications. Our aim is to encourage scientists to publish their experimental and theoretical results in as much detail as possible.
Frontiers in Aerospace Engineering: Aerodynamics and Flight Mechanics Section eISSN: 2813-2831 Part of a journal that sheds light on new insights in aerospace engineering, this section aims to promote a better understanding of aerodynamics and flight mechanics.
International Journal of Aerodynamics ISSN: 1743-5447 | eISSN: 1743-5455 IJAD provides an international forum and refereed authoritative source of information on the development of science and technologies in the field of aerodynamics. It covers all aspects of aerodynamics.
Journal of Applied Mechanics ISSN: 0021-8936 | eISSN: 1528-9036 The Journal of Applied Mechanics serves as a vehicle for the communication of original research results of permanent interest in all branches of mechanics. All areas of theoretical and applied mechanics including, but not limited to: Aerodynamics; Aeroelasticity; Composite materials; Flow and fracture; Heat transport in fluid flows; Hydraulics; Impact; Stress analysis; Structures; Turbulence; Vibration; Wave propagation
Journal of Fluid Mechanics ISSN: 0022-1120 | eISSN: 1469-7645 Journal of Fluid Mechanics is the leading international journal in the field and is essential reading for all those concerned with developments in fluid mechanics. It publishes authoritative articles covering theoretical, computational and experimental investigations of all aspects of the mechanics of fluids.
Journal of Wind Engineering & Industrial Aerodynamics ISSN: 0167-6105 The objective of the journal is to provide a means for the publication and interchange of information, on an international basis, on all those aspects of wind engineering that are included in the activities of the International Association for Wind Engineering http://www.iawe.org/. These are: social and economic impact of wind effects; wind characteristics and structure, local wind environments, wind loads and structural response, diffusion, pollutant dispersion and matter transport, wind effects on building heat loss and ventilation, wind effects on transport systems, aerodynamic aspects of wind energy generation, and codification of wind effects.
Progress in Aerospace Sciences ISSN: 0376-0421 Progress in Aerospace Sciences is an invitation only international review journal designed to be of broad interest and use to all those concerned with research in aerospace sciences and their applications in research establishments, industry and universities.
SAE International Journal of Aerospace ISSN: 1946-3855 | eISSN: 1946-3901 The SAE International Journal of Aerospace is the preeminent source for peer-reviewed, cutting-edge engineering research within the aerospace industry. The Journal is an essential resource for anyone in academia, industry, or government seeking the latest studies and technology in aerospace engineering. In addition to being identified as some of the best published technical articles on current technology, the Journal archives historic findings and illuminates the future of aerospace engineering and how we plan to get there. The Journal covers a range of subject areas, including propulsion, safety and reliability, software, systems, rotorcraft, maintenance, and general aviation.

Databases

AIAA Aerospace Research Central An online search of all technical papers & articles from AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) journals, selected eBooks, and other related publications.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals, IET conference proceedings, IEEE published standards, and the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference.
NASA STI Repository - NASA Technical Reports Server The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
NIST Aerodynamic Database To facilitate research, practice, and education in the area of wind-resistant structural design, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has assembled this public repository of aerodynamic data from boundary layer wind tunnel tests on scale building models. The initial posting of this database contains 95 data sets contributed by The Boundary Layer Wind Tunnel Laboratory at The University of Western Ontario (UWO) for gable-roofed building models with various dimensions and terrain conditions. Data sets obtained at various laboratories are expected to be added to the NIST database in the future.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 470,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.

Websites

AERADE Reports Archive The Aerade Reports Archive incorporates more than ten thousand, historically significant, digitized reports from The Aeronautical Research Council (ARC) - the principal agency in Great Britain with a major output of reports on matters aeronautical, which existed from 1909-1979, and published reports until 1980 and the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) - chartered in 1915 and operational from 1917-1958.
Air Force Air University
NASA The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is America’s civil space program and the global leader in space exploration. NASA studies Earth, including its climate, our Sun, and our solar system and beyond. They conduct research, testing, and development to advance aeronautics, including electric propulsion and supersonic flight.
NIST Aerospace The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. From the smart electric power grid and electronic health records to atomic clocks, advanced nanomaterials and computer chips, innumerable products and services rely in some way on technology, measurement and standards provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. They aim to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
Aerodynamics Office of Naval Research provides a brief insight to some of the Aerodynamics Research they conduct.
NAVAIR Naval Air Systems Command provides an overview of their work. Build a Future Protecting the Nation. The Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR) works in leading-edge defense systems, engineering, computer science, electronics, finance, logistics and contracts management provides our Sailors and Marines with the capabilities they need to accomplish their mission and return home safely.

Books

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Flight Dynamics, Simulation, and Control by Ranjan Vepa Flight, Dynamics, Simulation, and Control of Aircraft: Rigid and Flexible, Second Edition explains the basics of nonlinear aircraft dynamics and the principles of control configured aircraft design, as applied to rigid and flexible aircraft, drones, and UAVs.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available from O'Reilly Learning
ISBN: 9781032210032
Publication Date: 2023-04-11
Flight Theory and Aerodynamics by Joseph R. Badick; Brian A. Johnson The newly revised Fourth Edition of Flight Theory and Aerodynamics delivers a pilot-oriented approach to flight aerodynamics without assuming an engineering background. The book connects the principles of aerodynamics and physics to their practical applications in a flight environment. With content that complies with FAA rules and regulations, readers will learn about atmosphere, altitude, airspeed, lift, drag, applications for jet and propeller aircraft, stability controls, takeoff, landing, and other maneuvers.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781119772392
Publication Date: 2021-11-09
Unsteady Aerodynamics by Grigorios Dimitriadis; Peter Belobaba (Series edited by); Jonathan Cooper (Series edited by); Allan Seabridge (Series edited by) Unsteady Aerodynamics: Inviscid and Viscous, Incompressible and Compressible comprehensively and systematically covers unsteady aerodynamics, including applications, MATLAB examples and exercises. It begins with an introduction which details the historical context and outlines the areas of application. The development of unsteady aerodynamics is presented, from the 1920's up to the present day. This book expertly explains the sources of unsteadiness in flow which are supported by sample problems, inspired by aeroelasticity, rotor blades and flapping flight
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781119762539
Publication Date: 2023-11-17

Professional Associations & Conferences

Aerospace Industries Association (AIA) he Aerospace Industries Association (AIA) and our members blaze The Way to What’s Next. Our mission is to advocate for policies and investments that keep our country strong, bolster our capacity to innovate, and spur economic growth.
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. AIAA offers a number of regular professional events for both their members and the public.
American Society of Metals (ASM) International As the world's largest and most established materials information society, ASM connects you to a global network of peers and provides access to trusted materials information through reference content, data and research, education courses and international events; helping you to solve problems and improve materials related outcomes.
IEEE Conference on Aerospace Proceedings The annual international IEEE Aerospace Conference is organized to promote interdisciplinary understanding of aerospace systems, their underlying science and technology, and their applications to government and commercial endeavors.
IEEE International Conference on Aerospace Science & Engineering Proceedings International Conference on Aerospace Science & Engineering (ICASE) is a regular biennial event to provide an International forum in which scientists, researchers, engineers, academicians, industry professionals, entrepreneurs, and students from all over the world, get a chance to interact and discuss the latest themes and trends related to Aerospace Science & Engineering. It provides a platform to share experiences, foster collaborations across industry and academia, and to evaluate emerging technologies and developments across the globe in the fields of space science, technology and application.
Royal Aeronautical Society As the only professional body dedicated to aerospace, aviation and space communities, we exist to further the advancement of aeronautical art, science and engineering around the world. Established in 1866, the Society has been at the forefront of developments in aerospace, seeking to promote the highest professional standards and provide a central forum for sharing knowledge.
SAE International SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Their core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development, with a focus on advancing mobility knowledge and solutions for the benefit of humanity.

Related Guides

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me