LibGuides: Toxicology: Essentials

Journals

Chemico-Biological Interactions ISSN: 0009-2797 Chemico-Biological Interactions publishes research reports and review articles that examine the molecular, cellular, and/or biochemical basis of toxicologically relevant outcomes. Special emphasis is placed on toxicological mechanisms associated with interactions between chemicals and biological systems. Outcomes may include all traditional endpoints caused by synthetic or naturally occurring chemicals, both in vivo and in vitro. Endpoints of interest include, but are not limited to carcinogenesis, mutagenesis, respiratory toxicology, neurotoxicology, reproductive and developmental toxicology, and immunotoxicology.
Food and Chemical Toxicology ISSN: 0278-6915 Food and Chemical Toxicology (FCT), an internationally renowned journal, that publishes original research articles and reviews on toxic effects, in animals and humans, of natural or synthetic chemicals occurring in the human environment with particular emphasis on food, drugs, and chemicals, including agricultural and industrial safety, and consumer product safety.
Frontiers in Toxicology eISSN: 2673-3080 Frontiers in Toxicology is an interdisciplinary, open-access journal presenting the latest research on the adverse effects of substances, particles and mixtures on living organisms, from molecular mechanisms to population level effects. The journal aims to disseminate research from international academic researchers, clinicians, regulatory authorities and industry, providing a platform for exchanges across research areas and between those at the forefront of toxicological research.
Journal of Applied Toxicology eISSN:1099-1263 Journal of Applied Toxicology publishes peer-reviewed original reviews and hypothesis-driven research articles on mechanistic, fundamental and applied research relating to the toxicity of drugs and chemicals at the molecular, cellular, tissue, target organ and whole body level in vivo (by all relevant routes of exposure) and in vitro / ex vivo. All aspects of toxicology are covered (including but not limited to nanotoxicology, genomics and proteomics, teratogenesis, carcinogenesis, mutagenesis, reproductive and endocrine toxicology, toxicopathology, target organ toxicity, systems toxicity (eg immunotoxicity), neurobehavioral toxicology, mechanistic studies, biochemical and molecular toxicology, novel biomarkers, pharmacokinetics/PBPK, risk assessment and environmental health studies) and emphasis is given to papers of clear application to human health, and/or advance mechanistic understanding and/or provide significant contributions and impact to their field.
Journal of Pharmacological and Toxicological Methods ISSN: 1056-8719 Journal of Pharmacological and Toxicological Methods publishes original articles on current methods of investigation used in pharmacology and toxicology. Pharmacology and toxicology are defined in the broadest sense, referring to actions of drugs and chemicals on all living systems. With its international editorial board and noted contributors, Journal of Pharmacological and Toxicological Methods is the leading journal devoted exclusively to experimental procedures used by pharmacologists and toxicologists.
Nature Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), the official journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. The journal is global in scope and submission is open to all researchers worldwide.
Toxicological Sciences ISSN 1096-6080 | eISSN: 1096-0929 The scope of Toxicological Sciences is focused on a broad spectrum of impactful toxicological research that will advance the multidisciplinary field of toxicology ranging from basic research to model development and application, and decision making. Submissions will include diverse technologies and approaches including, but not limited to: bioinformatics and computational biology, biochemistry, exposure science, histopathology, mass spectrometry, molecular biology, population-based sciences, tissue and cell-based systems, and whole-animal studies.
Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology ISSN: 0041-008X Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology publishes original scientific research of relevance to animals or humans pertaining to the action of chemicals, drugs, or chemically-defined natural products. Regular articles address mechanistic approaches to physiological, pharmacologic, biochemical, cellular, or molecular understanding of toxicologic/pathologic lesions and to methods used to describe these responses.
Toxicology Letters ISSN: 0378-4274 Toxicology Letters serves as a multidisciplinary forum for research in toxicology. The prime aim is the rapid publication of research studies that are both novel and advance our understanding of a particular area. In addition to research reports, mini-reviews in various areas of toxicology will be published. Clinical, occupational and safety evaluation, legal, risk and hazard assessment, impact on man and environment studies of sufficient novelty to warrant rapid publication will be considered.

Databases

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR): Toxic Substances Portal Serves as a portal for toxicological resources and additional resources.
PubMed PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.
PubMed - TOXLINE Content Formerly its own database, TOXLINE from the National Library of Medicine has now been migrated into PubMed. Updated TOXLINE content is available in PubMed by searching using the search string: tox [su]
ScienceDirect From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Websites

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences: Toxicology Overview An overview of Toxicology provided by National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
National Library of Medicine The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates an 8,000+ member Network of the National Library of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
ToxTutor ToxTutor is a self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology and was adopted from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) chemical and toxicology databases. While a knowledge of anatomy and physiology is not required for viewing ToxTutor, the Introduction to the Human Body from the National Cancer Institute provides a good introduction to the topic.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: National Air Toxics Assessment On August 22, 2018, EPA released an update to the National Air Toxics Assessment (NATA). This national screening assessment used emissions and weather data from 2014 to estimate health risks from toxic air pollutants.
U.S Department of Health and Human Services: CHEMM - Industrial Hygienists and Toxicologists Content consists of: Roles of the Industrial Hygienist and Toxicologist Links to Other CHEMM content Key References and Web Sites
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Chemical Hazards Medical Emergency Management (CHEMM) The goals of CHEMM are to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals, and to provide a comprehensive, user-friendly, web-based resource that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an event if the internet is not accessible.

Books

Environmental Toxicology by Cornelis A.M. (Kees) van Gestel (Ed.) This open online textbook on Environmental Toxicology aims at covering the field in its full width, including aspects of environmental chemistry, ecotoxicology, toxicology and risk assessment. With that, it will contribute to improving the quality, continuity and transparency of the education in environmental toxicology. We also want to make sure that fundamental insights on fate and effects of chemicals gained in the past are combined with recent approaches of effect assessment and molecular analysis of mechanisms causing toxicity.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available Online
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook on the Toxicology of Metals: Volume I: General Considerations by Gunnar F. Nordberg (Editor); Max Costa (Editor) Handbook on the Toxicology of Metals, Fifth Edition, Volume I: General Considerations is the first volume of a two-volume work that gives an overview and covers topics of general importance including reviews of various health effects of trace metals. The book emphasizes toxic effects in humans, along with discussions on the toxic effects of animals and biological systems in vitro when relevant. The book has been systematically updated with the latest studies and advances in technology and contains several new chapters. As a multidisciplinary resource that integrates both human and environmental toxicology, the book is a comprehensive and valuable reference for toxicologists, physicians, pharmacologists, and environmental scientists in the fields of environmental, occupational and public health.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9780128232927
Publication Date: 2021-12-02

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations & Conferences

Pathogens and Natural Toxins e-Conference 2022 Hosted virtually by MDPI on July 1 - August 31, 2022, this conference included presentations on the latest scientific discoveries concerning all aspects of pathogens and natural toxins, whether affecting humans, livestock, pets, or wildlife. Topics will span all things toxinological, from viruses and pathogenic bacteria to poisonous and venomous plants and animals.
Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) SETAC is a not-for-profit, worldwide professional organization composed of about 5,000 individuals and institution in more than 90 countries dedicated to the study, analysis and solution of environmental problems, the management and regulation of natural resources, research and development and environmental education. In addition, the society has more than 20,000 followers worldwide.
SETAC Events SETAC holds meetings and workshops in person and virtually around the globe. Our events provide a forum for environmental professionals for the exchange of information and ideas, collaboration and networking.
Society of Toxicology Founded in 1961, the Society of Toxicology (SOT) is a professional and scholarly organization of scientists from academic institutions, government, and industry representing the great variety of scientists who practice toxicology in the US and abroad. The Society’s mission is to create a safer and healthier world by advancing the science and increasing the impact of toxicology.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>