LibGuides: Science Robotics: Essentials

Journals

Advanced Robotics Advanced Robotics (AR) is the international journal of the Robotics Society of Japan and has a history of more than thirty three years. It is an interdisciplinary journal which integrates publication of all aspects of research on robotics science and technology. Advanced Robotics publishes original research papers and survey papers from all over the world. Issues contain papers on analysis, theory, design, development, implementation and use of robots and robot technology. The journal covers both fundamental robotics and robotics related to applied fields such as service robotics, field robotics, medical robotics, rescue robotics, space robotics, underwater robotics, agriculture robotics, industrial robotics, and robots in emerging fields. It also covers aspects of social and managerial analysis and policy regarding robots.
Frontiers in Robotics and AI A multidisciplinary journal focusing on the theory of robotics, technology, and artificial intelligence, and their applications - from biomedical to space robotics.
International Journal of Robotics Research (IJRR) A leading peer-reviewed journal in its field for more than two decades, The International Journal of Robotics Research (IJRR) was the first scholarly publication on robotics research.
Journal of Intelligent & Robotic Systems Journal of Intelligent & Robotic Systems is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to the theory and practice of intelligent systems and robotics.
Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics The ASME Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics publishes research contributions to the fundamental theory, algorithms, and applications for mechanisms, machine systems, and robotics. The monthly archival publication showcases the most cutting-edge advancements in the form of research articles, technical-briefs, design innovation articles and topical reviews, after a rigorous blind peer-review process.
Journal of Robotics Journal of Robotics is an open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles on all aspects of automated mechanical devices, from their design and fabrication, to testing and practical implementation.
Robotics Robotics is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal on robotics published monthly online by MDPI.
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
Science Science is a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Through its print and online incarnations, Science reaches an estimated worldwide readership of more than one million. Science’s authorship is global too, and its articles consistently rank among the world's most cited research.
Science Advances Science Advances is the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s (AAAS) open access multidisciplinary journal, publishing impactful research papers and reviews in any area of science, in both disciplinary-specific and broad, interdisciplinary areas.
Science Robotics Science Robotics provides a much-needed forum for the latest technological advances and for the critical social, ethical and policy issues surrounding robotics. Bearing the quality hallmark of the Science family of journals, Science Robotics caters to both researchers and general stakeholders. It is multidisciplinary, covering the traditional disciplines of robotics, as well as emerging trends such as advanced materials and bio-inspired designs; it covers all scales, from very large systems to micro/nano robots; its scope is broad, addressing both theoretical advances and practical applications; and it promotes reproducibility, facilitated by online supplementary materials and design/code repositories. We welcome the community—both established researchers and new talent—to join Science Robotics as we strive to transform the future of robotics for the benefit of all.

Databases

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journal, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechnical Engineers
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals, IET conference proceedings, IEEE published standards, and the IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is among the largest publishers of Open Access journals. Currently, it publishes over 200 peer-reviewed open access journals online, covering a diverse range of academic disciplines. By offering its publications in Open Access, SCIRP caters to the global academic community and facilitates the advancement and application of science.

Websites

Boston Dynamics - YouTube Channel
MIT Biometrics Lab The Biomimetic Robotics Laboratory at MIT focuses on designing and controlling robots using insights taken from the natural world. Many animals can display incredible feats of speed and agility that are sources of inspiration for the robots designed by the group.
National Robotics Engineering Center (NREC) Located at the heart of Pittsburgh's Robotics Row, our network of expertise brings innovation to applied robotics in the real world.
Robohub Robohub is a non-profit online communication platform that brings together experts in robotics research, start-ups, business, and education from across the globe. Our mission at Robohub is to connect the robotics community to the rest of the world. Content-area specialists curate all incoming articles to make sure that reporting is truthful, fair and balanced, and in-house editors ensure that all content meets the highest editorial standards for language and clarity.
Robotics and Autonomous Systems Laboratory The Robotics and Autonomous Systems Laboratory (RASL) supports research activities into the design and operation of unmanned and automated systems.
Robotics Institute - Carnegie Mellon University the Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University continues to be the preeminent collaborative hub for the world’s visionaries in robotics. As the pioneers of computer science-based robotics, our approach to research, development and implementation is rooted in interdisciplinarity and is guided by computational thinking, so that we may build premiere real-world solutions that serve the breadth of humanity.

Books

Robotics, AI, and humanity : science, ethics, and policy by Joachim von Braun, Margaret S. Archer, Gregory M. Reichberg, Marcelo Sánchez Sorondo examines recent advances in how artificial intelligence (AI) and robotics have elicited widespread debate over their benefits and drawbacks for humanity. The emergent technologies have for instance implications within medicine and health care, employment, transport, manufacturing, agriculture, and armed conflict. While there has been considerable attention devoted to robotics/AI applications in each of these domains, a fuller picture of their connections and the possible consequences for our shared humanity seems needed.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9783030541736
Publication Date: 2021
Foundations of robotics : a multidisciplinary approach with Python and ROS by Damith Herath (Editor), David St Onge (Editor) This open access book introduces key concepts in robotics in an easy to understand language using an engaging project-based approach. It covers contemporary topics in robotics, providing an accessible entry point to fundamentals in all the major domains. A section is dedicated to introducing programming concepts using Python, which has become a language of choice in robotics and AI. The book also introduces the reader to the Robot Operating System (ROS), the ubiquitous software and algorithmic framework used by researchers and the industry.
Call Number: *Available via Open Access
ISBN: 9789811919831
Publication Date: 2022
Robotics by Matt Chandler Amazing photography accompanies engaging information about military robotics. The combination of high-interest subject matter and light text is intended for students in grades 3 through 7.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781644876305
Publication Date: 2022-01-01

Professional Associations

Association for Advancing Automation RIA has transformed into the Association for Advancing Automation, the leading global automation trade association of the robotics, machine vision, motion control, and industrial AI industries. AUTOMATE.ORG is your new hub for all things robotics. Learn how to get started.
Association for the Advancement of Artifical Intelligence About the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) Member Organization The Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) is the premier scientific society dedicated to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines.
Association for Uncrewed Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) The Association for Uncrewed Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI), the world's largest nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of uncrewed systems and robotics, represents corporations and professionals from more than 60 countries involved in industry, government and academia. AUVSI members work in the defense, civil and commercial markets.
IEEE Robtoics and Automation Society The IEEE Robotics and Automation Society's objectives are scientific, literary and educational in character. The Society strives for the advancement of the theory and practice of robotics and automation engineering and science and of the allied arts and sciences, and for the maintenance of high professional standards among its members, all in consonance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the IEEE and with special attention to such aims within the Field of Interest of the Society.
International Federation of Robotics The International Federation of Robotics connects the world of robotics around the globe. The IFR was established as a non-profit organization in 1987. Our institutional members come from the robotics industry, national or international industry associations and research & development institutes. Our federation directly represents over 90 members from more than 20 countries.
MassRobotics MassRobotics is the largest independent robotics hub dedicated to accelerating innovation and adoption in the field of robotics.
Robotics Alliance Project Mission: "To create a human, technical, and programmatic resource of robotics capabilities to enable the implementation of future robotic space exploration missions."
SAE International SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development.

Podcasts

Automate It Each week, the co-founders of Polymath Robotics sit down to give you the inside scoop on the robotics industry. They'll share war stories, weird facts, and little-known approaches to working with robots (with a special focus on autonomous vehicles).
Human Robot Interaction This podcast series focuses on how humans and robots interact with each other. We explore this relationship with philosophers, engineers, psychologists and artists. We are looking into the ethical implications of this new technology and how we can make it work for humans. We shine a light on the technologies that make robots intelligent and useful.
The Robotics Report New episodes of The Robot Report Podcast drop each week with conversations with leading roboticists, innovative robotics companies, and other key members of the robotics community.
Soft Robotics Podcast This podcast is dedicated to the soft robotics community and audience who are interested in soft robotics technology. Guests interviewed are from both academia and industry where we discuss their latest research, highlighting the challenges that face soft robotics in the academic and industrial worlds. Since technology should interact with not only scientists, we also interview philosophers, students and laypeople to learn how they feel and think about robotics.
This Is Robotics: Radio News Radio News is a compilation of the best in robotics news, views and interviews gathered worldwide and presented as a 30-minute podcast. The global best in robotics! Now you can consume the best in global robotics news while driving to work, waiting to board a plane, or at the breakfast table. Miss something? Stream it again. Want to go deeper? Go online to the This Is Robotics news page for the very same articles, as text, a bit longer, with links and references.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me