Newport Manual on Arctic Security by
The product of a three-year project by twenty Arctic scholars and practitioners, the Newport Manual sets out thirty international principles of security applicable to the Arctic region. It addresses topics related to awareness, confidence-building measures, and capabilities. An extensive commentary accompanies each principle, which sets for each principle's basis during peacetime, explains practical barriers and solutions for their implementation, and outlines disagreements within the group as to each principle's application.
Defending NATO's northern flank : power projection and military operations by
This book investigates several aspects of military power and security in the North Atlantic and Arctic region. NATO's northern flank is a large maritime and littoral theatre, where NATO directly borders Russia's Northern Fleet Military Administrative Territory, which is the location of some of Russia's most potent air, sea, and land power capabilities. While military tensions on the northern flank had been relatively low for years, the Ukraine war and increased great-power rivalry have altered that dynamic, with heightened geopolitical tensions. This has increased the focus on military-strategic competition in this northernmost region of the alliance. This book presents new assessments of several aspects of military power and security in the North Atlantic and Arctic region. With an analysis of the security and political climate in the High North, and of developments in Western military strategies, capabilities, doctrines, and operational concepts, the volume seeks to bring together an holistic understanding of the strategic challenges and opportunities facing the North Atlantic states and NATO in this dynamic area of responsibility for the alliance.
Arctic Hydrology, Permafrost and Ecosystem by
This book provides a comprehensive, up-to-date assessment of the key terrestrial components of the Arctic system, i.e., its hydrology, permafrost, and ecology, drawing on the latest research results from across the circumpolar regions. The Arctic is an integrated system, the elements of which are closely linked by the atmosphere, ocean, and land. Using an integrated system approach, the books 30 chapters, written by a diverse team of leading scholars, carefully examine Arctic climate variability/change, large river hydrology, akes and wetlands, snow cover and ice processes, permafrost characteristics, vegetation/landscape changes, and the future trajectory of Arctic system evolution. The discussions cover the fundamental features ofand processes in the Arctic system, witha special focus on critical knowledge gaps, i.e., thè interactions and feedbacks between water, permafrost, and ecosystem, such as snow pack and permafrost changes and their impacts on basin hydrology and ecology, river flow, geochemistry, and energy fluxes to the Arctic Ocean, and the structure and function of the Arctic-ecosystem in response to past/future changes in climate, hydrology, and permafrost conditions. Given its scope, the book offers a valuable resource for researchers, graduate students, enyironmentalists, managers, and administrators who are concerned with the northern environment and resources.
Frozen in Time: Permafrost and Engineering problems by
"Frozen in Time: Permafrost and Engineering Problems is a previously unpublished work by Siemon W. Muller (1900-1970), author of the first English-language book about perennially frozen ground."
Thawing Permafrost: Permafrost Carbon in a Warming Arctic by
This book provides a cross-disciplinary overview of permafrost and the carbon cycle by providing an introduction into the geographical distribution of permafrost, with a focus on the distribution of permafrost and its soil carbon reservoirs.
Advances in Remote Sensing Technology and the Three Poles by
Advances in Remote Sensing Technology and the Three Poles is a multidisciplinary approach studying the lithosphere, hydrosphere (encompassing both limnosphere and oceanosphere), atmosphere, biosphere, and anthroposphere, of the Arctic, the Antarctic, and the Himalayas. The drastic effects of climate change on polar environments bring to the fore the often-subtle links between climate change and processes in the hydrosphere, biosphere, and lithosphere, while unanswered questions of the polar regions will help plan and formulate future research projects.
The Handbook of the Arctic by
This book offers a broad and holistic overview of issues in the Arctic today, a region which is transforming due to changing world order and climate agenda. While new economic opportunities - and with China, as well as other geopolitical players in the region - are emerging, new security challenges are arising as well. In this comprehensive scholarly resource, contributors from around the world and from a broad variety of disciplines share their thoughts on the future of the Arctic, in a manuscript that will be of interest to researchers, economists, and policymakers.
Handbook on Geopolitics and Security in the Arctic by
Against the backdrop of climate change and tectonic political shifts in world politics, this handbook provides an overview of the most crucial geopolitical and security related issues in the Arctic. It discusses established shareholder's policies in the Arctic - those of Russia, Canada, the USA, Denmark, and Norway - as well as the politics and interests of other significant or future stakeholders, including China and India. Furthermore, it explains the economic situation and the legal framework that governs the Arctic, and the claims that Arctic states have made in order to expand their territories and exclusive economic zones. While illustrating the collaborative approach, represented by institutions such as the Arctic council, which has often been described as an exceptional institution in this region, the contributing authors examine potential resource and power conflicts between Arctic nations, due to competing interests.
Routledge Handbook of Arctic Security by
The Routledge Handbook of Arctic Security offers a comprehensive examination of security in the region, encompassing both state-based and militarized notions of security, as well as broader security perspectives reflecting debates about changes in climate, environment, economies, and societies.
Sea Ice in the Arctic by
This book provides in-depth information about the sea ice in the Arctic at scales from paleoenvironmental variability to more contemporary changes during the past and present centuries. The book is based on several decades of research related to sea ice in the Arctic and its variability, sea ice process studies as well as implications of the sea ice variability on human activities. The chapters provide an extensive overview of the research results related to sea ice in the Arctic at paleo-scales to more resent scales of variations as well as projections for changes during the 21st century.
The U. S. Naval Institute on Arctic Naval Operations by
The volume is an edited book of 24 articles that have appeared in Proceedings of the U.S. Naval Institute. The material looks at operational challenges of working in the Arctic as well as emerging economic and security trends in the region. The array of articles shows that there is significant activity and interest by Arctic nations, especially Russia, as well as non-Arctic nations such as China. It also addresses the status of U.S. naval capabilities for Arctic operations. Several articles address the history of U.S. naval operations in the Arctic.
Understanding Present and Past Arctic Environments by
Understanding Present and Past Arctic Environments: An Integrated Approach from Climate Change Perspectives provides a fully comprehensive overview of the past, present and future outlook for this incredibly diverse and important region. Through a series of contributed chapters, the book explores changes to this environment that are attributed to the effects of climate change. The book explores the current effects climate change has had on Arctic environments and ecosystems, our current understanding of the effects climate change is having, and the effects climate change is having on the atmospheric and ocean processes in this region.
Arctic Maritime Logistics: the potentials and challenges of the Northern Sea Route by
The modern shipping industry has reached maturity; market demand and landscape shifts force industry agents to find new pathways to successful development. The Northern Sea Route (NSR) as a new pathway between Europe and Asia brings both opportunities and challenges to global logistics systems. These circumstances make commercial exploitation of the route a subject of intense focus in many countries actively involved in sea transportation. This book identifies specific problems and provides possible solutions to them by calling on the accumulated knowledge of researchers and practitioners with competencies from diverse areas, including transport and logistics, Arctic studies, IT and digital technologies, socio-economic systems analysis, hydrocarbon production, transport, business modeling, design of information systems and applications, and engineering requirements for IT services. It represents the integrated experience and expertise of researchers from Canada, Germany, Russia, and the Netherlands, including experts from oil and gas enterprises, shipping lines, logistics companies, and IT companies.
Digital Technologies in Logistics and Infrastructure by
This book is a collection of best selected research papers from the 'Digital Technologies in Logistics and Infrastructure' conference (ICDT-2021). The topics of the presented papers are related to various aspects, problems, and solutions in maritime, transport, warehouse logistics, digital transformation, and information technologies in logistics, as well as digital transformation of infrastructure industries from theoretical and practical points of view. The authors of the conference are representatives of major companies, researchers, and scientists from Russia, Hungary, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Thailand, the Netherlands, and Finland. The conference proceedings are of interest to researchers and practitioners in the field of logistics and infrastructure in various sectors of digitalization.
POLAR NIGHT Marine Ecology by
Until recently, the prevailing view of marine life at high latitudes has been that organisms enter a general resting state during the dark Polar Night and that the system only awakens with the return of the sun. Recent research, however, with coordinated, multidisciplinary field campaigns based on the high Arctic Archipelago of Svalbard, have provided a radical new perspective. Instead of a system in dormancy, a new perspective of a system in full operation and with high levels of activity across all major phyla is emerging.
Cybersecurity and Resilience in the Arctic by
This book presents papers from the NATO Advanced Research Workshop (ARW) Governance for Cyber Security and Resilience in the Arctic. Held in Rovaniemi, Finland, from 27-30 January 2019, the workshop brought together top scholars in cybersecurity risk assessment, governance, and resilience to discuss potential analytical and governing strategies and offer perspectives on how to improve critical Arctic infrastructure against various human and natural threats. The book is organized in three sections according to topical group and plenary discussions at the meeting on: cybersecurity infrastructure and threats, analytical strategies for infrastructure threat absorption and resilience, and legal frameworks and governance options to promote cyber resilience. Summaries and detailed analysis are included within each section as summary chapters in the book.
Crisis and Emergency Management in the Arctic by
This book sheds light on the management challenges of crisis and emergency response in an arctic environment.
It explores how the complexity of the operational environment impacts on the risk of operations and addresses a need for tailor-made emergency response mechanisms. Through case studies of the arctic environment, the book illustrates how factors such as nature, geography, demographics and infrastructure increase the complexity of crises in the Arctic and present a significant danger to life and health, the environment and values in challenging Arctic waters.
Physics and Chemistry of Arctic Atmosphere by
This book presents current knowledge on chemistry and physics of Arctic atmosphere. Special attention is given to studies of the Arctic haze phenomenon, Arctic tropospheric clouds, Arctic fog, polar stratospheric and mesospheric clouds, atmospheric dynamics, thermodynamics and radiative transfer as related to the polar environment. The atmosphere-cryosphere feedbacks and atmospheric remote sensing techniques are presented in detail. The problems of climate change in the Arctic are also addressed.
Living and Working with Snow, Ice and Seasons in the Modern Arctic by
This book describes everyday practices of life in changing Arctic winter conditions. The authors explore the contemporary and situated outdoor practices in different work settings in Finnish Lapland and investigate how, for example, tourism, reindeer herding, cattle breeding and urban snow management adapt to the physically limiting or enabling features of cold temperatures, snow and ice. The book also highlights individual and societal adjustments to such harsh conditions and their seasonal changes in mobility, including winter cycling, use of snow mobiles and walking with studded shoes. The impact of a warming climate is a great concern for those utilising the enabling qualities of winter weather. The need, then, for continuous adaptation in everyday practices of work and mobility will increase in the future.