Advances in Computational Modeling and Simulation
by
The book presents select proceedings of Global meet on Computational Modelling and Simulation, Recent Innovations, Challenges and Perspectives, 2020. This book covers leading-edge technologies from different domains such as computation in optimization and control, multiscale and multiphysics modeling and computation analysis, environmental modeling, modeling approaches to enterprise systems and services, finite element analysis, dependability and security, high-performance computation/cloud computing applications, computational biology and chemistry and computational mechanics.
Applications of Mathematical Modeling, Machine Learning, and Intelligent Computing for Industrial Development
by
The text presents emerging real-life topics on mathematical models, machine learning, and intelligent computing in a single volume. It will serve as an ideal text for senior undergraduate, graduate students, and researchers in diverse fields domains including industrial and manufacturing engineering, computer engineering, and mathematics.
Bayesian Optimization: Theory and Practice Using Python
by
This book covers the essential theory and implementation of popular Bayesian optimization techniques in an intuitive and well-illustrated manner. The techniques covered in this book will enable you to better tune the hyperparemeters of your machine learning models and learn sample-efficient approaches to global optimization.
Body of Knowledge for Modeling and Simulation
by
Commissioned by the Society for Modeling and Simulation International (SCS), this needed, useful new 'Body of Knowledge' (BoK) collects and organizes the common understanding of a wide collection of professionals and professional associations. Modeling and simulation (M&S) is a ubiquitous discipline that lays the computational foundation for real and virtual experimentation, clearly stating boundaries--and interactions--of systems, data, and representations.
Computational and Experimental Simulations in Engineering
by
This book gathers the latest advances, innovations, and applications in the field of computational engineering, as presented by leading international researchers and engineers at the 29th International Conference on Computational & Experimental Engineering and Sciences (ICCES). ICCES covers all aspects of applied sciences and engineering: theoretical, analytical, computational, and experimental studies and solutions of problems in the physical, chemical, biological, mechanical, electrical, and mathematical sciences. As such, the book discusses highly diverse topics, including composites; bioengineering & biomechanics; geotechnical engineering; offshore & arctic engineering; multi-scale & multi-physics fluid engineering; structural integrity & longevity; materials design & simulation; and computer modeling methods in engineering.
Computer-Aided Design: Advances in Research and Applications
by
The book contains CAD related chapters from a variety of engineering areas. The aim was to create a collection of research projects that have the Computer Aided Design as a common basis. Virtual reality, cultural heritage, manufacturing and machining, human-robotic interaction, graphics and musical instrument design were managed to be under the same roof in a very well-established publication.
Computer Aided Design and Manufacturing
by
Most current textbooks were written some years ago and, as with many other areas of technology and manufacturing, CAD/CAM processes and solutions have developed rapidly in this period. This book addresses the need to a) provide up-to-date coverage of current CAD/CAM usage and implementation and b) provide a single source integrating the entire design-to-manufacture process, reflecting the industry trend to further integrate CAD and CAM into a single, unified, process.
Computer Models of Process Dynamics: From Newton to Energy Fields
by
The subject of computer modeling evolved from analog computing, which gained its majority in the mid twentieth century and was then superseded by digital simulation. In the next five years computer models will serve as the engine that simulates virtual reality within a user interface that exploits the products of the computer games industry. The future may include the increasing use of 3D displays with animation, and computer inputs that come from the user via 3D digital cameras.
Essential Logic for Computer Science
by
An introduction to applying predicate logic to testing and verification of software and digital circuits that focuses on applications rather than theory. Computer scientists use logic for testing and verification of software and digital circuits, but many computer science students study logic only in the context of traditional mathematics, encountering the subject in a few lectures and a handful of problem sets in a discrete math course. This book offers a more substantive and rigorous approach to logic that focuses on applications in computer science. Topics covered include predicate logic, equation-based software, automated testing and theorem proving, and large-scale computation.
A Handbook of Mathematical Models with Python
by
Master the art of mathematical modeling through practical examples, use cases, and machine learning techniques. This book is ideal for emerging data scientists looking to enhance their analytical skills, as well as seasoned professionals seeking to refine their expertise in mathematical modeling and machine learning integration.
Introduction to Modeling and Simulation
by
This new introductory-level textbook provides thirteen self-contained chapters, each covering an important topic in engineering systems modeling and simulation. The importance of such a topic cannot be overstated; modeling and simulation will only increase in importance in the future as computational resources improve and become more powerful and accessible, and as systems become more complex. This resource is a wonderful mix of practical examples, theoretical concepts, and experimental sessions that ensure a well-rounded education on the topic.
Linear and Nonlinear System Modeling
by
Mathematical modeling of control systems is, essentially, extracting the essence of practical problems into systematic mathematical language. In system modeling, mathematical expression deals with modeling and its applications. Written and edited by a team of experts in the field, this exciting new volume presents the cutting-edge techniques, latest trends, and state-of-the-art practical applications in linear and nonlinear system modeling.
Mathematical Modeling and Computation of Real-Time Problems: An Interdisciplinary Approach
by
The book covers a broad scope in the areas of statistical science, probability, stochastic processes, fluid dynamics, supply chain, optimization, and applications. It discusses advanced topics and the latest research findings, uses an interdisciplinary approach for real-time systems, offers a platform for integrated research, and identifies the gaps in the field for further research.
Mathematical Modeling and Simulation: Introduction for Scientists and Engineers
by
This completely revised and substantially extended second edition answers the most important questions in the field of modeling: What is a mathematical model? What types of models do exist? Which model is appropriate for a particular problem? What are simulation, parameter estimation, and validation? What kind of mathematical problems appear and how can these be efficiently solved using professional free of charge open source software?
Mathematical Modelling
by
This book investigates human-machine systems through the use of case studies such as crankshaft maintenance, liner piston maintenance, and biodiesel blend performance. Through mathematical modelling and using various case studies, the book provides an understanding of how a mathematical modelling approach can assist in working out problems in any industrial-oriented activity.
Modeling and Simulation of Complex Communication Networks
by
Modern network systems such as Internet of Things, Smart Grid, VoIP traffic, Peer-to-Peer protocol, and social networks, are inherently complex. They require powerful and realistic models and tools not only for analysis and simulation but also for prediction. This book covers important topics and approaches related to the modeling and simulation of complex communication networks from a complex adaptive systems perspective. The authors present different modeling paradigms and approaches as well as surveys and case studies.
New Paradigms in Computational Modeling and Its Applications
by
In general, every problem of science and engineering is governed by mathematical models. Models of practical application problems usually need to be handled by efficient computational models. New Paradigms in Computational Modeling and Its Applications deals with recent developments in mathematical methods, including theoretical models as well as applied science and engineering. The book focuses on subjects that can benefit from mathematical methods with concepts of simulation, waves, dynamics, uncertainty, machine intelligence, and applied mathematics.
Practical MATLAB Modeling with Simulink: Programming and Simulating Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations
by
Employ the essential and hands-on tools and functions of MATLAB's ordinary differential equation (ODE) and partial differential equation (PDE) packages, which are explained and demonstrated via interactive examples and case studies. This book contains dozens of simulations and solved problems via m-files/scripts and Simulink models which help you to learn programming and modeling of more difficult, complex problems that involve the use of ODEs and PDEs.
Programming in MATLAB: A Problem-Solving Approach by Pearson
by
MATLAB provides an interactive programming interface for numerical computation and data visualization making it the default framework used for analysis, design and research in many domains of science and industry. Programming in MATLAB is intended as an aid to engineers and scientists with no prior programming expertise. The book focuses on the systematic development of practical programming skills through MATLAB language constructs, backed by several well-designed examples and exercises. Designed to be as much a MATLAB reference tool for researchers in varied fields as it is a guide for undergraduate readers, the book builds on the concepts sequentially as it progresses through the chapters.
Simulating Science: Computer Simulations as Scientific Instruments
by
This book provides a philosophical framework to understand computer simulations as scientific instruments. This is in sharp contrast to existing philosophical approaches on the subject, which have historically understood computer simulations as either formal abstractions or as broadly construed empirical practices. In order to make its case, the volume contains a thorough examination of conventional philosophical approaches as well as their respective limitations.
Simulation and Wargaming
by
Based on the insights of experts in both domains, Simulation and Wargaming comprehensively explores the intersection between computer simulation and wargaming. This book shows how the practice of wargaming can be augmented and provide more detail-oriented insights using computer simulation, particularly as the complexity of military operations and the need for computational decision aids increases.