LibGuides: Undersea Maneuver Warfare: Essentials

Journals

Industrial Robot ISSN: 0143-991x *Articles Available By Request Industrial Robot (IR) publishes cutting-edge, peer-reviewed research articles, technology reviews and specially commissioned case studies that advance robotic science and engineering. The journal aims to disseminate high-impact research and strategic insights covering all aspects of robotics, automation and intelligent systems in all industries.
International Journal of Intelligent Unmanned Systems ISSN: 2049-6427 *Articles Available By Request The International Journal of Intelligent Unmanned Systems (IJIUS) is the official journal of the International Society of Intelligent Unmanned Systems. The journal is dedicated to the advancement of the applied science, technology and know-how of unmanned systems through the dissemination of original research work representing significant advances in the design, development, testing and operation of unmanned vehicles and systems for various applications
International Journal of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering ISSN: 2092-6782 | eISSN: 2092-6790 *Articles Available By Request International Journal of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering provides a forum for engineers and scientists from a wide range of disciplines to present and discuss various phenomena in the utilization and preservation of ocean environment. Without being limited by the traditional categorization, it is encouraged to present advanced technology development and scientific research, as long as they are aimed for more and better human engagement with ocean environment.
Journal of Electronic Defense ISSN: 2766-1024 Reports on industry news, technology trends and other developments in the global electronic warfare (EW) and signals intelligence (SIGINT) market. Coverage includes self-protection systems, improvised explosive device (IED) countermeasures, airborne electronic attack, command and control warfare (C2W), electronic intelligence (ELINT) and communications intelligence (COMINT) systems associated with submarines, surface vessels, ground vehicles, airborne reconnaissance platforms and space-based collection systems.
Journal of Information Warfare ISSN: 1445-3312 | eISSN: 1445-3347 *Articles Available By Request A forum for academics and practitioners in the broad discipline of information warfare and operations.
Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics ISSN: 1942-4302 | eISSN: 1942-4310 The Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics publishes research contributions to the fundamental theory, algorithms, and applications for mechanisms, machine systems, and robotics.
Marine Technology Society Journal ISSN: 0025-3324 The flagship publication of the Marine Technology Society. It publishes the highest caliber, peer-reviewed papers on subjects of interest to the society: marine technology, ocean science, marine policy and education.
Ocean Engineering ISSN: 0029-8018 | eISSN: 1873-5258 Ocean Engineering provides a medium for the publication of original research and development work in the field of ocean engineering. Ocean Engineering seeks papers in the following topics.
Seapower Seapower magazine and its Almanac issue are official publications of the Navy League of the United States, an international organization founded in 1902 to support the U.S. sea services. Seapower articles cover a wide range of topics, including national defense, foreign policy, naval affairs, maritime issues, homeland security, and defense research, development, and procurement.
SIGNAL AFCEA International created SIGNAL Media products, bringing to bear a combined century-plus of experience in presenting technical news in understandable and meaningful ways that matter to readers.
Unmanned Systems ISSN: 2301-3850 | eISSN: 2301-3869 Covers all subjects related to the development of automatic machine systems, which include advanced technologies in unmanned hardware platforms (aerial, ground, underwater and unconventional platforms), unmanned software systems, energy systems, modeling and control, communications systems, computer vision systems, sensing and information processing, navigation and path planning, computing, information fusion, multi-agent systems, mission management, machine intelligence, artificial intelligence, and innovative application case studies.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference proceedings
Janes For open-source defense intelligence, no one anywhere in the world is as trusted or as recommended as Janes. With the most complete foundational military data sets, compiled by 500,000+ analyst hours every year, we provide accurate, current data for any environment or system.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Websites

Applied Research Laboratory at Pennsylvania State University ARL at Penn State is an integral part of one of the leading research universities in the nation and serves as a University Center of Excellence in Defense science, systems, and technologies with a focus in naval missions and related areas. As a DoD-designated, U.S. Navy UARC (University Affiliated Research Center), ARL maintains a long-term strategic relationship with the U.S. Navy and provides support for the other services.
DARPA Research Portal Current list of DARPA projects and link to DARPA's Open Catalog of publicly-releasable results of DARPA research in the form of software, peer-reviewed publications, data and experimental details.
Defense Info The defense.info team is a group of globally based analysts and strategists who work closely together in thinking through the nature of the evolving strategic environment and provides regular interviews with key participants in evolving military capabilities based on global reporting.
Georgia Tech Research Institute: Defense and Security Projects Research center pursuing multiple science and technology projects related to defense and security problems.
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory Programs in APL’s Sea Control Mission Area support U.S. Navy and Joint missions, with the focus on the systems and technologies to defeat undersea threats and to project military power through effective undersea warfare operations.
MIT Center for Ocean Engineering The Design Laboratory of the MIT Department of Ocean Engineering was founded in 1972 by Prof. Chryssostomos Chryssostomidis. The laboratory's research has centered on Ship Design, Offshore Structure Design, Marine Robotics, Geometric and Solid Modeling, Advanced Manufacturing, Distributed Information Systems, Computational Geometry, Shipbuilding, Producibility, and Life Cycle issues. Since January 2005, the Design Laboratory has been under Department of Mechanical Engineering.
Naval Postgraduate School Provide defense-focused graduate education, including classified studies and interdisciplinary research, to advance the operational effectiveness, technological leadership and warfighting advantage of the Naval service.
Office of Naval Research Through global partnerships and scientific research with industry, academia and government, ONR delivers critical, cutting-edge capabilities to the Sailors and Marines we have the privilege to serve.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution: Underwater Vehicles WHOI maintains a diverse fleet of underwater vehicles and comprehensive storehouse of knowledge about designing and deploying new technology.
Maneuver Warfare Is Not Dead, But It Must Evolve - November 2023 Marine Corps Essay Contest—Second Prize Sponsored by U.S. Naval Institute. The attrition versus maneuver argument is an irrelevant distraction.

Books

Network-Based Control of Unmanned Marine Vehicles by Yu-Long Wang; Qing-Long Han; Chen Peng; Lang Ma This book presents a comprehensive analysis of stability, stabilization, and fault detection in networked control systems, with a focus on unmanned marine vehicles. It investigates the challenges of network-based control in areas like heading control, fault detection filter and controller design, dynamic positioning, and cooperative target tracking. Communication networks in control systems can induce delays and dropouts, so the book presents the importance of stability analysis, stabilize, and fault detection. To help readers gain a deeper understanding of these concepts, the book provides fundamental concepts and real-world examples. This book is a valuable resource for researchers and practitioners working in the field of network-based control for unmanned marine vehicles
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9783031286049
Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Unmanned and Autonomous Ships by R. Glenn Wright Automated shipping is explored in terms of economics, technology, safety and the environment under the broad themes of ship design and engineering, command and control, navigation, communications, security, regulatory issues, and training. This includes initiatives for autonomous shipping as well as civilian implications of military ship automation programs. This book is primarily for maritime professionals, regulatory authorities, insurers, and environmental groups.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781032336763
Publication Date: 2022-06-13

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession. Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.
Armed Forces Communications & Electronics Association (AFCEA) AFCEA is a professional association that connects people, ideas and solutions globally, by developing networking and educational opportunities and providing them worldwide in an ethical manner. This enables military, government, industry and academia to align technology to meet the needs of those who serve in critical areas, which include defense, security, cyber and intelligence.
Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems The Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International is the world's largest nonprofit organization devoted exclusively to advancing the unmanned systems and robotics community. Serving more than 7,500 members from government organizations, industry and academia, AUVSI is committed to fostering, developing, and promoting unmanned systems and robotics technologies. AUVSI members support defense, civil and commercial sectors.
Association of Old Crows The Association of Old Crows is an organization for individuals who have common interests in Electronic Warfare (EW), Electromagnetic Spectrum Management Operations (EMSO), Cyber Electromagnetic Activities (CEMA), Information Operations (IO), and other information related capabilities.
IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society Professional society dealing with total integrated electronic systems and the enabling technologies, including command, control and communication systems; energy conversion; intelligent systems; navigation and tracking systems; radar; robotics; simulations and instrumentation; sonar and undersea systems; space systems; automatic test systems; vehicular systems; and modular integrated electronics.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society is a professional association dedicated to advancing the theory and practice of electrotechnology, allied branches of engineering, and related arts and sciences, applied to all bodies of water. See the IEEE subscription for IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society publications.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers SNAME is an internationally recognized non-profit, professional society of individual members serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers. For many, SNAME has been absolutely essential to career development and success in the industry. With more than 6,000 members around the world in 85 countries, SNAME is THE International Community for Maritime and Ocean Professionals

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>