Autonomous Underwater Vehicles by
Gravity-gradient and magnetic-gradient inversion equations are combined to estimate the orientation and distance of an underwater object. The CKF algorithm based on EMMAF algorithm and Spherical-Radial is proposed and is applied to the fault diagnosis of slaver AUV in multi AUV collaborative positioning system. Simulation results are used to analyze the advantages and disadvantages of the three algorithms. This book looks at how a Service-Oriented Agent Architecture (SOAA) for marine robots is endowed with resilient capabilities in order to build a robust (fault-tolerant) vehicle control approach. Particular attention is paid to cognitive RCAs based on agent technologies and any other smart solution already applied or potentially applicable to UMVs. The book also presents current and future trends of RCAs for UMVs.
Autonomous Underwater Vehicles by
Autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs) are emerging as a promising solution to help us explore and understand the ocean.
Autonomous Underwater Vehicles: Design and Practice by
The recent development of advanced processing capabilities and higher yield power supplies means that Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUVs) are finding novel and increasingly advanced applications in research, military and commercial settings. This timely book provides a state-of-the-art overview of AUV design and practice. Focusing on the interplay between design and practice, it comprehensively covers control and navigation, communication and cooperation, and methodologies and applications where AUVs are used for education, research, biological and oceanographic studies, surveillance purposes, and military, security, and industrial tasks. The book covers key concepts for maritime engineers and navigation researchers and professionals, and is a useful reference for control and robotics researchers working on AUVs.
Autonomous Underwater Vehicles: Technology and Applications by 
Autonomous Vehicles in Support of Naval Operations by AUV Application in Massachusetts Bay: An Assessment of Current and Potential Opportunities by 
Development and Testing of Navigation Algorithms for Autonomous Underwater Vehicles by
In addition to proposing novel algorithms for estimating the attitudes and positions of AUVs using low-cost sensors and taking into account magnetic disturbances and ocean currents, the book provides readers with extensive information and a source of inspiration for the further development and testing of navigation algorithms for AUVs.
Further Advances in Unmanned Marine Vehicles by
The following topics are dealt with: unmanned marine vehicles; ROV LATIS; next generation smart underwater vehicle; neural network-based switching adaptive control; dynamic positioning system; dynamic tracking system; port-Hamiltonian control; sonar-based simultaneous localization and mapping; vehicle-following; fault-tolerant multi-sensor navigation system design; multiple autonomous marine vehicles; hybrid glider; biomimetic underwater vehicle design concept; and robotic fish
Intelligent Autonomy for Unmanned Marine Vehicles: Robotic Control Architecture Based on Service-Oriented Agents by
This book presents an Intelligent Control Architecture (ICA) to enable multiple collaborating marine vehicles to autonomously carry out underwater intervention missions. The presented ICA is generic in nature but aimed at a case study where a marine surface craft and an underwater vehicle are required to work cooperatively.
Mobile Robots: Navigation, Control and Sensing, Surface Robots and AUVs by
Presents the normal kinematic and dynamic equations for robots, including mobile robots, with coordinate transformations and various control strategies
This fully updated edition examines the use of mobile robots for sensing objects of interest, and focus primarily on control, navigation, and remote sensing. It also includes an entirely new section on modeling and control of autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs), which exhibits unique complex three-dimensional dynamics.
Motion Control and Path Planning of Marine Vehicles by
With the continuous improvement of artificial intelligence and sensing technologies, the marine field is ushering in unprecedented change. In this wave of change, the design and application of marine transportation have become significant tools for promoting the marine economy and environmental protection. Motion control and path planning have become key technologies to ensure that marine transportation vehicles operate efficiently and intelligently in complex marine environments. Therefore, this Special Issue focuses on motion control and path planning for marine vehicles and explores how autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs), surface unmanned vehicles (USVs), and deep-sea landers (DSLVs) can play a key role in the oceans through optimization strategies and new approaches.
Navigation and Control of Autonomous Marine Vehicles by
This book covers the current state of research in navigation, modelling and control of marine autonomous vehicles, and deals with various related topics, including collision avoidance, communication, and a range of applications
The ROV Manual by
Written by two well-known experts in the field with input from a broad network of industry specialists, The ROV Manual, Second Edition provides a complete training and reference guide to the use of observation class ROVs for surveying, inspection, and research purposes. Intended for marine and offshore engineers and technicians using ROVs, The ROV Manual, Second Edition is also suitable for use by ROV designers and project managers in client companies making use of ROV technology.
Small, High Performance Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (report) by 
A Survey of Missions for Unmanned Undersea Vehicles by
Which military missions for unmanned undersea vehicles (UUVs) appear most promising to pursue in terms of military need, operational and technical risks, alternatives, and cost? To answer this question, the authors assess risks associated with using UUVs for advocated missions, identify non-UUV alternatives that may be more appropriate for such missions, and analyze potential costs associated with UUV development and use. They conclude that seven missions: mine countermeasures, deployment of leave-behind surveillance sensors or sensor arrays, near-land and harbor monitoring, oceanography, monitoring undersea infrastructure, anti-submarine warfare tracking, and inspection/identification - appear most promising. Among other recommendations, the authors suggest that the U.S. Navy consolidate its unmanned system master plans and establish relevant priorities in coordination with the Office of the Secretary of Defense. Increased emphasis on the use of surface platforms rather than submarines as host platforms is recommended.
Symposium on Autonomous Underwater Vehicle Technology (AUV) by
Conference location: Singapore, in-person and virtual
Technology and Applications of Autonomous Underwater Vehicles by
Documenting the transition of AUVs from dream to reality, this book explores their diverse usage in modern marine environments including scientific research, defence, surveying, and industry.
Underwater Biomimetic Vehicle-Manipulator System by
This book is about the design and control of biomimetic underwater robots. It explains the six aspects of the underwater biomimetic vehicle- manipulator system in detail and provides practical examples. This book is the authors’ long-term exploration of the theoretical and technical issues in the development of the underwater biomimetic vehicle-manipulator system and is written based on more than 15 years of scientific research and practical experience. This book is a helpful reference for the researchers, engineers, master and Ph.D. students in the field of biomimetic underwater robots.
Underwater Robotics: Science, Design & Fabrication by 
Underwater Vehicle Control and Communication Systems Based on Machine Learning Techniques by
The development of intelligent transportation systems, especially autonomous underwater vehicles, has become significant in marine engineering, with an aim to enhance energy efficiency management and communication systems. This book covers different aspects of optimization of autonomous underwater vehicles and their propulsion systems via machine learning techniques. It further analyses hydrodynamic characteristics including the study of experimental investigation combined with hydrodynamic characteristics backed by MATLAB® codes and simulation study results.The development of intelligent transportation systems, especially autonomous underwater vehicles, has become significant in marine engineering, with an aim to enhance energy efficiency management and communication systems. This book covers different aspects of optimization of autonomous underwater vehicles and their propulsion systems via machine learning techniques. It further analyses hydrodynamic characteristics including the study of experimental investigation combined with hydrodynamic characteristics backed by MATLAB® codes and simulation study results.
Unmanned/Unattended Sensors and Sensor Networks X by
Proceedings of SPIE offer access to the latest innovations in research and technology and are among the most cited references in patent literature.