LibGuides: Undersea Precision Navigation and Timing: Essentials

Journals

GPS Solutions *Articles available By Request ISSN: 1080-5370 | eISSN: 1521-1886 A quarterly scientific journal covering system design issues and a full range of current and emerging applications of global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) such as GPS, GLONASS, Galileo and various augmentations. Prime interest is devoted to novel, innovative, or highly demanding uses.
Gyroscopy and Navigation *Available By Request ISSN: 2075-1087 | eISSN: 2075-1109 The latest research on inertial sensors, gyros and accelerometers.
IET Radar, Sonar and Navigation ISSN 1751-8784 | eISSN: 1751-8792 IET Radar, Sonar and Navigation (formerly IEEE Proceedings - Radar, Sonar and Navigation) covers the theory and practice of systems involving the processing of signals for radar, radio location, radio navigation and surveillance purposes. Examples of the fields of application include radar, sonar, electronic warfare, avionic and navigation systems. Processing directed towards the above application areas includes advances in matched filters and wideband signal correlation for radar and sonar systems; algorithms and processor designs for adaptive array; bearing estimation; range/Doppler radar and acoustic image processing operations for SAR, sonar, target identification functions, etc.
Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics eISSN: 1533-3884 The journal publishes qualified papers on dynamics, stability, guidance, control, navigation, optimization, electronics, avionics, and information processing related to aeronautical, astronautical, and marine systems.
Journal of Navigation ISSN: 0373-4633 | eISSN:1469-7785 The Journal of Navigation contains original papers on the science of navigation.
Measurement Science & Technology Covers all aspects of the theory, practice and application of measurement and sensor technology across the sciences.
Metrology and Measurement Systems *Articles available By Request ISSN: 0860-8229 | eISSN 2300-1941 International, peer-reviewed journal that covers: theory and general principles of measurement; measurement of physical, chemical and biological quantities; medical measurements; sensors and transducers; measurement data acquisition; measurement signal transmission; processing and data analysis; measurement systems and embedded systems; design, manufacture and evaluation of instruments.
Naval Engineers Journal The peer-reviewed journal of the American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE). ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.
Ocean Engineering ISSN: 0029-8018 Ocean Engineering provides a medium for the publication of original research and development work in this field.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Marine Geoscience Data System The Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) provides a suite of tools and services for free public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins. The system evolved from projects initiated from 2003-2004 with funding from the National Science Foundation to provide data management services for the U.S. Antarctic Program (USAP), the Ridge 2000 and MARGINS programs, and for active source seismic data. In 2005, the system was expanded to include dedicated data management services for global bathymetry data. Since 2010, MGDS has been part of IEDA, an NSF-funded data facility for solid earth geoscience data
NOAA Marine Geology and Geophysics Datasets Datasets made available by the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration.
Research Gate
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) Data & Repositories Includes information and datasets based at WHOI.

Websites

DARPA Research Portal Current list of DARPA projects and link to DARPA's Open Catalog of publicly-releasable results of DARPA research in the form of software, peer-reviewed publications, data and experimental details.
GPS.gov Official U.S. Government information about the Global Positioning System (GPS) and related topics.
Inside GNSS Offers news and articles related to engineering, policy, and design of global navigation satellite systems.
Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory Programs in APL’s Sea Control Mission Area support U.S. Navy and Joint missions, with the focus on the systems and technologies to defeat undersea threats and to project military power through effective undersea warfare operations. Technical Digest: http://www.jhuapl.edu/techdigest/
MIT Laboratory for Undersea Remote Sensing Ocean exploration, undersea remote sensing of marine life and geophysical phenomena, wave propagation and scattering theory in remote sensing through random media and waveguides, statistical estimation and information theory in sensing, linear and nonlinear acoustics and seismics, Europa exploration.
MIT Ocean Acoustics Group Propagation of sound and seismic waves in the ocean environment is of crucial importance to marine science and engineering. Since electromagnetic waves propagate very poorly in sea water, acoustic and seismic technology provides the most important means of communication, navigation and imaging below the sea surface. For example, seismic sub-bottom profiling is an important component of off-shore oil exploration.
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency The National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) delivers world-class geospatial intelligence that provides a decisive advantage to policymakers, warfighters, intelligence professionals and first responders.
NOAA Ocean Explorer NOAA Ocean Exploration is dedicated to exploring the unknown ocean, unlocking its potential through scientific discovery, technological advancements, and data delivery. By working closely with partners across public, private, and academic sectors, we are filling gaps in our basic understanding of the marine environment. This allows us, collectively, to protect ocean health, sustainably manage our marine resources, accelerate our national economy, better understand our changing environment, and enhance appreciation of the importance of the ocean in our everyday lives.
Office of Naval Research (ONR)
Resilient Navigation and Timing Foundation RNT Foundation is a nonprofit, public benefit corporation that helps protect critical infrastructure by promoting resilient navigation and timing worldwide. Site includes a digital library of research, news, and information about current projects.
Time and Frequency Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology The Time and Frequency Division maintains the standard for frequency and time interval for the United States, provides official time to the United States, and carries out a broad program of research and service activities in time and frequency metrology.
University of New Hampshire Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping/ Joint Hydrographic Center The Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping/Joint Hydrographic Center is a formal cooperative partnership between the University of New Hampshire and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) whose aim is to create a national center for expertise in ocean mapping and hydrographic sciences.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution The Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is dedicated to advancing knowledge of the ocean and its connection with the Earth system through a sustained commitment to excellence in science, engineering, and education, and to the application of this knowledge to problems facing society.

Books

Development and Testing of Navigation Algorithms for Autonomous Underwater Vehicles by Francesco Fanelli In addition to proposing novel algorithms for estimating the attitudes and positions of AUVs using low-cost sensors and taking into account magnetic disturbances and ocean currents, the book provides readers with extensive information and a source of inspiration for the further development and testing of navigation algorithms for AUVs.
Call Number: Available by Request
ISBN: 9783030155957
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Sparse Arrays for Radar, Sonar, and Communications by Moeness G. Amin (Editor) The book discusses various design approaches of sparse arrays including those seeking to increase the corresponding one-dimensional and two-dimensional virtual array apertures and others that configure the arrays based on solutions of constrained minimization problems. The latter incudes statistical bounds and signal-to-interference and noise ratio. In this respect, the book utilizes the recent strides made in convex optimizations and machine learning for sparse array design in both fixed and dynamic environments. Similar ideas are presented for sparse waveform design and combined sparse array-waveform design. The book also considers the Perception-Action Cycle in cognitive sensing incorporating antenna switching and sparse arrays to achieve both direction finding and optimum beamforming
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781394191048
Publication Date: 2023-12-13

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

Acoustical Society of America The purpose of the Society is to generate, disseminate, and promote the knowledge and practical applications of acoustics.
American Automatic Control Council The American Automatic Control Council (AACC) is an association of the control systems divisions of eight member societies to represent the United States (U.S.) to the world control community and to support the mission of the individual member societies in enhancing the role and contributions of automation to the benefit of humankind. It hosts the annual, 3-day, interdisciplinary American Control Conference (ACC).
American Society of Naval Engineers
IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society Professional society dealing with total integrated electronic systems and the enabling technologies, including command, control and communication systems; energy conversion; intelligent systems; navigation and tracking systems; radar; robotics; simulations and instrumentation; sonar and undersea systems; space systems; automatic test systems; vehicular systems; and modular integrated electronics.
IEEE Control Systems Society The Society is dedicated to the advancement of research, development, and practice in automation and control systems. It has broad technical interests in dynamical systems and control that include modeling, adaptation, estimation, optimization, feedback and software/hardware tools. Application areas include aerospace, automotive, biosystems, communication networks, finance and markets, homes and buildings, manufacturing and process industries, and micro/nano-systems.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society
Institute for Marine Remote Sensing The Institute for Marine Remote Sensing (IMaRS) of the College of Marine Science is located in the Knight Oceanographic Research Center (KORC) building at the University of South Florida St. Petersburg, Florida campus. Our research activities focus on the analysis of digital data – satellite sensor data in particular – and on the development of applications of these data at local, regional, and global scales. On this website you can find links to our hosted data, a highlighted publications list, researcher pages. Below are some highlighted projects led by IMaRS.
Institute of Navigation The Institute of Navigation (ION) is the world's premier non-profit professional society dedicated to the advancement of the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing (PNT). Founded in 1945, it serves a diverse community including those interested in air, space, marine, land navigation, and position determination. Its membership is worldwide, and it is affiliated with the International Association of Institutes of Navigation.
Scripps Institute of Oceanography Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego is one of the most important centers for global earth science research and education in the world. Scripps scientists work to understand and protect the planet by investigating our oceans, Earth, and atmosphere to find solutions to our greatest environmental challenges. Scripps leads research in climate change impacts and adaptation, resilience to hazards, conservation and biodiversity, oceans and human health, national security, and innovative technology to observe the planet.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>