LibGuides: Propulsion: Essentials

Journals

Combustion Science and Technology ISSN: 0010-2202 | eISSN: 1563-521X Combustion Science and Technology is an international journal which provides for open discussion and prompt publication of new results, discoveries and developments in the various disciplines which constitute the field of combustion. The editors invite original contributions dealing with flame and fire research, flame radiation, chemical fuels and propellants, reacting flows, thermochemistry, material synthesis, atmospheric chemistry and combustion phenomena related to aircraft gas turbines, chemical rockets, ramjets, automotive engines, furnaces and environmental studies.
International Journal of Energetic Materials and Chemical Propulsion *Available By Request This journal promotes scientific investigation, technical advancements, and information exchange in the two closely related areas of energetic materials (EM) and chemical propulsion (CP).
International Journal of Engine Research The International Journal of Engine Research publishes only the highest quality fully refereed original papers on experimental and analytical studies of engine technology.
International Journal of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering *Available By Request International Journal of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering provides a forum for engineers and scientists from a wide range of disciplines to present and discuss various phenomena in the utilization and preservation of ocean environment. Without being limited by the traditional categorization, it is encouraged to present advanced technology development and scientific research, as long as they are aimed for more and better human engagement with ocean environment.
International Journal of Turbomachinery, Propulsion and Power The International Journal of Turbomachinery, Propulsion and Power focuses on the current and future science and technology development of turbomachinery in the related fields of turbomachinery based propulsion and power systems. Of primary interest are the thermodynamics, the fluid mechanics, the heat transfer and the applied combustion of aerospace, marine and industrial energy devices and systems, both from a component and system perspective.
Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines and Power The Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines and Power publishes archival-quality papers in the broad technical areas of gas and steam turbines, internal combustion engines, and power generation.
Journal of Marine Engineering and Technology The Journal of Marine Engineering and Technology publishes papers concerned with scientific and theoretical research applied to all aspects of marine engineering and technology in addition to issues associated with the application of technology in the marine environment.
Journal of Propulsion and Power eISSN: 1533-3876 A journal devoted to the advancement of the science and technology of aerospace propulsion and power through the dissemination of original archival papers contributing to advancements in airbreathing, electric, and advanced propulsion; solid and liquid rockets; fuels and propellants; power generation and conversion for aerospace vehicles; and the application of aerospace science and technology to terrestrial energy devices and systems.
Journal of Turbomachinery The Journal of Turbomachinery publishes archival-quality, peer-reviewed technical papers that advance the state-of-the-art of turbomachinery technology related to gas turbine engines. The broad scope of the subject matter includes the fluid dynamics, heat transfer, and aeromechanics technology associated with the design, analysis, modeling, testing, and performance of turbomachinery. Emphasis is placed on gas-path technologies associated with axial compressors, centrifugal compressors, and turbines.
Marine Power and Propulsion Annual supplement published by the Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA) which provides quality technical information on all aspects related to marine power, engine room design, propulsion and propeller systems, green technologies, regulation and ancillary equipment.
Marine Technology Society Journal The flagship publication of the Marine Technology Society. It publishes the highest caliber, peer-reviewed papers on subjects of interest to the society: marine technology, ocean science, marine policy and education.
Naval Engineers Journal The peer-reviewed journal of the American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE). ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.
Propulsion and Power Research The journal typically covThe journal publishes high quality original research articles and general reviews in fundamental research aspects of aeronautics/astronautics propulsion and power engineering, including, but not limited to, system, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, combustion, vibration and acoustics, solid mechanics and dynamics, control and so on.ers the following areas: industrial and occupational ergonomics, design of systems, tools and equipment, human performance measurement and modeling, human productivity, humans in technologically complex systems, and safety. The focus of the articles includes basic theoretical advances, applications, case studies, new methodologies and procedures; and empirical studies.

Databases

Calhoun: Naval Postgraduate School Institutional Archive Calhoun is the Naval Postgraduate School's digital repository for research materials and institutional publications created by the NPS community. Materials in Calhoun are openly accessible to anyone on the web, and will be preserved for future generations.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore contains more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.
Jane's Resource Portal This portal provides access to the following Jane's resources: Jane's Fighting Ships Jane's Unmanned Maritime Vehicles C4ISR & Mission Systems: Maritime Jane's Defense Weekly Jane's Weapons: Naval Jane's High-Speed Marine Transportation Jane's Marine Propulsion
Marine Technology Abstracts The Marine Technology Abstracts database contains bibliographic information for more than 125,000 technical articles, reports, books, conference and transaction papers and other material on all aspects of maritime technology, dating as far back as 1940. Topics covered include: Ship and vessel descriptions; Design and construction; Ship powering, equipment, maintenance, repair, conversion; Cargo handling/port design and operation; Safety at sea/environmental protection; Coastal and ocean engineering/offshore technology; Fluid mechanics, hydrodynamics, hydraulics and aerodynamics; Ship resistance and propulsion, motions, seakeeping and manoeuvring; Structural response, material properties, corrosion and fouling; Naval vessels and defence technology.
Office of Science and Technology Information OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI’s home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.

Websites

Caltech Center for Bioinspired Engineering: Propulsion The Center's program in bio-inspired propulsion consists of a combination of field research on the mechanics of animal swimming and flying and laboratory experiments on self-propelled vehicles.
International Symposiums on Marine Propulsors Permanent homepage of the series of Symposiums on Marine Propulsors.
International Turbomachinery Online magazine offering news and information for managers, engineers and technicians who design, operate, maintain, service and repair turbomachinery.
Marine Propulsion and Auxiliary Machinery Marine Propulsion keeps the shipping community informed about the latest international developments, technical innovations, implementation case studies and news of compliance and legal cases concerning all types of ships' engineering systems.
Maritime Propulsion Online magazine offering news and information about the marine propulsion industry.
MIT Marine Hydrodynamics Laboratory This lab is dedicated to the study of all aspects of marine hydrodynamics. The main facility is a variable pressure recirculating water tunnel that is capable of speeds up to 10 m/s. Experiments with conventional and novel propulsion devices, drag reduction using MHD (magneto-hydrodynamics), flow control by unsteady swimming motion and flapping foils, offshore cylinder testing and vortex-induced-vibrations are performed using state of the art measurement techniques and instrumentation. The facility is supervised by Professors Professor Michael S. Triantafyllou and Alexandra H. Techet.
NPS Turbopropulsion Laboratory and Gas Dynamics Laboratory The Turbopropulsion Laboratory (TPL) and Gas Dynamics Laboratory (GDL) possess a unique set of facilities which are used in teaching and research related to air-breathing propulsion, space propulsion and turbomachinery. The research activities are supported by the U.S. Navy, NASA and industry.
Power, Propulsion and Thermal Management: ONR Naval aviation creates several unique demands on aircraft power and propulsion systems. The operation from carriers and other ships requires higher thrust to both weight and airflow engines in highly integrated inlet and exhaust systems, along with greater variability in throttle settings and the need for more rapid throttle excursions for landing, wave-off and bolter events.
The Von Karman Institute VKI is a non-profit international educational and scientific organisation, hosting three departments (aeronautics and aerospace, environmental and applied fluid dynamics, and turbomachinery & propulsion). It provides post-graduate education in fluid dynamics (research master in fluid dynamics, former "VKI Diploma Course," doctoral program, short training program and lecture series) and encourages "training in research through research". The von Karman Institute undertakes and promotes research in the field of fluid dynamics. Extensive research on experimental, computational and theoretical aspects of gas and liquid flows is carried out at the VKI under the direction of the faculty and research engineers, sponsored mainly by governmental and international agencies as well as industries.

Books

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Aircraft Propulsion: Toward Net-Zero Aviation by Saeed Farokhi Updated edition of the successful textbook exploring cutting-edge developments in the field and Net-Zero aviation goals of 2050 Maintaining the successful foundation of previous editions, the fourth edition of Aircraft Propulsion is a forward-looking textbook on propulsion, from the basic principles to more advanced treatments in engine components and system integration, that focuses on the Net-Zero Aviation goals of 2050.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781394263110
Publication Date: 2025-07-14
Design of Shipboard Power System Grounding / Earthing by Norbert Doerry; Mohammed M. Islam; John Prousalidis This book delves into the diverse prerequisites for grounding and earthing in contemporary ship power systems, addressing the evolving landscape of ship design influenced by power electronics The introduction of transformative technologies such as variable frequency drives and electric propulsion systems has heightened the complexity of shipboard grounding systems. This complexity necessitates accommodation for robust electronic systems, extending the focus beyond traditional grounding aspects to include common mode grounding and its profound design implications. Engineers now require a comprehensive guide to navigate the intricacies of shipboard electric power systems.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781119933106
Publication Date: 2024-12-24

Professional Associations

AIAA - Propulsion and Energy Group Technical group of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) focusing on propulsion and energy technology.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods. Founded in 1880 by a small group of leading industrialists, ASME has grown through the decades to include more than 130,000 members in 151 countries.
American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession. Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army
Institute of Marine Engineering, Science & Technology IMarEST is The Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology; the international professional body and learned society for all marine professionals. IMarEST is the first Institute to bring together marine engineers, scientists and technologists into one international multi-disciplinary professional body. IMarEST is the largest marine organisation of its kind with a worldwide membership based in over 120 countries, it is a registered charity and provides grades of membership for everyone, from those seeking to become Chartered or gain other Professional Recognition, to those just starting out in their careers or studying in education.
The Marine Technology Society MTS is the leading international community of ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers, and educators. We promote awareness, understanding, advancement and application of marine technology. Let us show you how an MTS membership can support your work and connect you with other leaders in the field.
Royal Institution of Naval Archtects The Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA), is an internationally renowned professional institution whose members are involved at all levels in the design, construction, maintenance and operation of marine vessels and structures. Members of RINA are widely represented in industry, universities and colleges, and maritime organisations in over ninety countries.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers SNAME is an internationally recognized non-profit, professional society of individual members serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers. For many, SNAME has been absolutely essential to career development and success in the industry. With more than 6,000 members around the world in 85 countries, SNAME is THE International Community for Maritime and Ocean Professionals.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>