LibGuides: Amphibious Expeditionary Maneuver Warfare Systems: Essentials

Journals

(mt) Magazine An additional benefit for SNAME members, (mt) is full of cutting edge technical articles on topics of interest across all marine disciplines. Each issue of (mt) includes: vessel reports, in-depth features, historical notes, public policy briefings, profiles of SNAME founders and leaders, abstracts of highlighted technical papers, and reviews of maritime books and media.
Engineering Science & Technology eISSN: 2215-0986 Engineering Science and Technology is a peer-reviewed quarterly engineering journal that publishes original research papers in the field of engineering and applied science. The journal aims to promote the theory and practice of technology and engineering.
IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology ISSN: 1063-6536 | eISSN: 1558-0865 The IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology publishes high quality technical papers on technological advances in control engineering. Control Systems Technology includes all aspects of control engineering needed to implement practical control systems, from analysis and design, through simulation and hardware.
Jane's Defence Weekly Jane's Defence Weekly is a weekly magazine reporting on military and corporate affairs. Janes partners with global government agencies and leading military manufacturers across the world and is at the forefront of analysis in the open-source intelligence domain.
Journal of Information Warfare eISSN: 1445-3347 The Journal of Information Warfare was created to provide a forum for academics and practitioners in the broad discipline of information warfare and operations. The journal's audience includes academic researchers, defense and military professionals, government officials, and industry professionals. Topics covered in the journal range from the physical destruction of systems to the psychological aspects of information use and protection.
Journal of Maritime Engineering & Technology ISSN: 2046-4177 | eISSN: 2056-8487 The Journal of Marine Engineering and Technology publishes papers that explore developments in marine engineering and marine technology for industrial practitioners and researchers, considering topical issues from environmental impacts, energy transition and performance through to autonomy and artificial intelligence.
Journal of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering ISSN 1813-8535 | eISSN 2070-8998 An international research journal, the Journal of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering covers wide areas of naval architecture, marine offshore and ocean engineering and related fields.
Marine Technology Society Journal ISSN: 0025-3324 The flagship publication of the Marine Technology Society. It publishes the highest caliber, peer-reviewed papers on subjects of interest to the society: marine technology, ocean science, marine policy, and education.
Naval Engineers Journal ISSN 0028-1425 | eISSN 1559-3584 The peer-reviewed journal of the American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE). The NEJ is a medium for technical papers in the field of naval engineering. It also contains schedules of meetings, symposia, and other events, news, notes, and membership information.
Ocean Engineering ISSN: 0029-8018 | eISSN: 1873-5258 Ocean Engineering provides a medium for the publication of original research and development work in this field. Ocean Engineering seeks papers in the following topics: ocean engineering, naval architecture, polar and arctic engineering, automatic control of marine systems, underwater technology, and more.

Databases

ASME Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Jane's Resource Portal This portal provides access to the following Jane's resources: Jane's Fighting Ships Jane's Unmanned Maritime Vehicles C4ISR & Mission Systems: Maritime Jane's Defense Weekly Jane's Weapons: Naval Jane's High-Speed Marine Transportation Jane's Marine Propulsion
National Technical Reports An archive of the largest collection of US government-sponsored technical reports.
Naval Vessel Register Information on ships and service craft that comprise the official inventory of the US Navy from the time of vessel authorization through its life cycle and disposal. It also includes ships that have been stricken but not disposed. Ships and service craft disposed of prior to 1987 are currently not included, however the data is gradually being added along with other updates.

Websites

2024 Navy Force Structure and Shipbuilding Plans This document was presented to congress to describe the Navy's goals of growing their fleet of ships, including details on what is best required and why.
Amphibious Assault Ships - LHD/LHA(R) Amphibious warships are designed to support the Marine Corps tenets of Operational Maneuver From the Sea (OMFTS) and Ship to Objective Maneuver (STOM). The United States maintains the largest and most capable amphibious force in the world.
Applied Research Laboratory at Pennsylvania State University ARL at Penn State is an integral part of one of the leading research universities in the nation and serves as a University Center of Excellence in Defense science, systems, and technologies with a focus in naval missions and related areas. As a DoD-designated, U.S. Navy UARC (University Affiliated Research Center), ARL maintains a long-term strategic relationship with the U.S. Navy and provides support for the other services.
National Defense Industrial Association Expeditionary Warfare The National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) is a 501(c)(3) educational nonprofit that engages thoughtful and innovative leaders to promote the best policies, practices, products and technology for warfighters and others who ensure the safety and security of our nation.
Naval Amphibious Operations from WWII Of all the fighting forces of the Navy, one of the least understood are the Amphibious Forces. In a general way, of course, the public is aware that special craft, large and small, are designed to hit enemy beaches, disgorge their cargoes of men and material and then back off under their own power. This collection of art from the Navy History and Heritage Command documents amphibious forces through the ages from multiple perspectives.
US Naval Academy: Surface Warfare - Amphibious Ships This page from the US Naval Academy reviews the main types of amphibious ships used by the US Navy.

Books

A Photographic History of Amphibious Warfare 1939-1945 by Simon Forty; Jonathan Forty Heavily illustrated history of Second World War amphibious operations.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781399082662
Publication Date: 2023-04-06
Leaders for Tomorrow: Challenges for Military Leadership in the Age of Asymmetric Warfare by M. Nuciari (Editor), Eraldo Olivetta (Editor) Since the end of bipolarism, the concept of asymmetric warfare, and of asymmetric conflict in general, has been increasingly applied with regard to armed forces activities and tasks. This book presents the findings of comparative empirical research conducted in selected military units by a group of distinguished experts on military organization, who hail from the eight participating countries: Bulgaria, Cameroon, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Lithuania, the Philippines and Spain.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9783030717148
Publication Date: 2021

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession. Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.
Expeditionary Warfare Training Group, Atlantic The mission of this group is to conduct training and instruction in the technique of naval expeditionary warfare with a focus on amphibious operations.
Marine Technology Society MTS is the leading international community of ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers, and educators. We promote awareness, understanding, advancement and application of marine technology. Let us show you how an MTS membership can support your work and connect you with other leaders in the field.
National Defense Industrial Association The National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) is a 501(c)(3) educational nonprofit that engages thoughtful and innovative leaders to promote the best policies, practices, products and technology for warfighters and others who ensure the safety and security of our nation.
Surface Navy Association Surface Navy Association (SNA) was incorporated in 1985 to promote greater coordination and communication among those in the military, business, and academic communities who share a common interest in Surface Warfare while supporting the activities of Surface Naval Forces.
World Hovercraft Organization The World Hovercraft Organization is a not-for-profit organization whose principle aim is to represent, and serve as an information resource for, the international hovercraft/air cushion vehicle world.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>