The Battle over Patents by
Do patents facilitate or frustrate innovation? Lawyers, economists, and politicians who have staked out strong positions in this debate often attempt to validate their claims by invoking the historical record-but they typically get the history wrong. The purpose of this book is to get the history right by showing that patent systems are the product of contending interests at different points in production chains battling over economic surplus. The larger the potential surplus, the more extreme are the efforts of contending parties, now and in the past, to search out, generate, and exploit any and all sources of friction. Patent systems, as human creations, are therefore necessarily ridden with imperfections; nirvana is not on the menu. The most interesting intellectual issue is not how patent systems are imperfect, but why historically US-style patent systems have come to dominate all other methods of encouraging inventive activity. The answer offered by the essays in this volume is that they create a temporary property right that can be traded in a market, thereby facilitating a productive division of labor and making it possible for firms to transfer technological knowledge to one another by overcoming the free-rider problem. Precisely because the value of a patent does not inhere in the award itself but rather in the market value of the resulting property right, patent systems foster a decentralized ecology of inventors and firms that ceaselessly extends the frontiers of what is economically possible.
From Invention to Patent: A Scientist and Engineer's Guide by
Invention and patents continues to be an important issue in technology and our global economy. Invention and Patenting provides a clear picture of how to be a prolific inventor, to understand patents, and the patent process. It provides an illuminating insight into the writing of invention disclosures to patents from the submission process to final drafts. The book shows how to communicate effectively with patent lawyers and patent examiners, teaching the language of "legalese." This book is unique in covering both the early invention process to final patent drafting to provide high quality patents in technologies.
A Guide for Implementing a Patent Strategy by
This book is aimed at the innovators who drive the advances from which we all benefit. This includes scientists, engineers, technicians, managers, and entrepreneurs who want to financially benefit from their innovations. The book describes how to build patent portfolios that will properly protect your technology and be of financial benefit. The tools that innovators need to have to generate patents are presented in detail
How to Invent and Protect Your Invention: A Guide to Patents for Scientists and Engineers by
A straightforward guide to inventing, patenting, and technology commercialization for scientists and engineers Although chemists, physicists, biologists, polymer scientists, and engineers in industry are involved in potentially patentable work, they are often under-prepared for this all-important field.
How to Make Patent Drawings by
Lo and Pressman show you how to complete a crucial step in the patenting process: creating formal patent drawings that comply with the strict rules of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. They include insider information and practical advice to help you get your drawings done the right way.
Introduction to Intellectual Property by
The fourth edition of this popular and well-regarded book has been fully updated to take account of the drastic reforms that have occurred as a result of requirements to comply with E.C. directives. In addition, an increasing body of international guidelines has been issued. This new edition includes the extensive amendments to the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988, the European Patent Convention, the Patent Co-operation Treaty, the Madrid Agreement, the Agreement on Trade-related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, the W.I.P.O. Copyright Treaty and the Performances and Phonograms Treaty. Concentrating on topics of particular practical importance and interest in a stimulating and concise way, this book will be of great interest to both students and practitioners and is a valuable introduction to the subject.
Inventing Ideas by
This books shows how and why the ideas of creative individuals promote progress. The insights are based on original archival research regarding over one hundred thousand inventors, patented inventions, and innovation prizes in Europe and the United States during industrialization. This systematic empirical analysis across time and place and institutions provides an extensive microfoundation for understanding technological change and long-run macroeconomic growth. British and French policies favoured 'administered innovation systems,' in which elites, administrators or panels made key economic decisions about inducement prizes, rewards and the allocation of resources. European institutions generated returns that were misaligned with economic value and productivity, and perpetuated socioeconomic inequality. Europe fell behind when the negative consequences of such top-down administered systems accumulated and reduced comparative advantage. The modern knowledge economy emerged when, for the first time in world history, an intellectual property clause was included in a national Constitution, in the United States. This strong endorsement for open-access property rights and unfettered markets in ideas reflected a revolution in thinking about the sources of creativity and technical progress. U.S. global industrial ascendancy was a direct outcome of its decentralized market-oriented institutions, which fostered diversity in ideas and innovations, the diffusion of information and disruptive technologies, and sustained endogenous growth.
Nolo's Patents for Beginners by
Provides an introduction to the patenting process, with everything you need to know about patent law basics, including the latest implications of the America Invents Act, the most important change to American patent law in two centuries. Includes patent and invention resources and a glossary of patent terms.
Patent, Copyright and Trademark: An Intellectual Property Desk Reference by
Whether you are in the world of business or creative arts, understanding the laws that govern your work is critical to success. But given the often convoluted terminology that surrounds patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other intellectual property rights, this isn't easy. This book explains what legal rights apply to your work, the scope of copyright protection, includes an overview of trademark law, what the law protects and much more.
Patent Claim Drafting Practice by
As patent law's dramatic changes continue, this comprehensive resource is vital for today's patent practitioners. It is an important guide through the maze of current statutory law, court decisions, agency regulations, and technological and business considerations involved in drafting patent claims.
The Patent Game by
If you are trying to bring something new into this world, whether you are an entrepreneur or the CEO of a multi-national corporation, your ability to play the patent game could be the difference between success and failure. You need information, but you don't want to go to law school, read a dry textbook, or pay a patent attorney hundreds of dollars an hour to learn what you need to make smart decisions. The Patent Game will give you this critical information efficiently and effectively. The first half of the book covers the basics of patents, often with game-related analogies, to help you define winning for your company or innovation. The second half will help guide you to one of eighteen different patent strategies that might be the ideal approach for your innovation. Each strategy has an introduction, play-by-play with diagrams, and a practical real-world example.
The Patent Guide by
In The Patent Guide, Second Edition, experienced patent attorneys Carl W. Battle and Andrea D. Small deliver basic and comprehensive advice that is easy to understand and will allow you to protect, promote, and profit from your ideas.
Patent It Yourself by
For over 30 years, Patent It Yourself has guided hundreds of thousands of inventors through the process of getting a patent, from start to finish. Patent attorneys David Pressman and David E. Blau provide the latest information, forms, and clear instructions to help you: conduct a patent search the right way, evaluate your idea's commercial potential, prepare a patent application, market and license your invention, etc. The 19th edition covers the latest implications of the first-to-file rules created by the America Invents Act.
Patent Management by
This book provides an overview of the common concepts and building blocks of patent management. It addresses executives in the areas of innovation, R & D, patent and intellectual property management as well as academics and students. The authors give valuable information on the characteristics of patent and intellectual property management, based on the collaboration with companies and organizations from Europe, China, Japan, Argentina, Brazil, India, Canada and the US. A reference for managers who want to bring information technology innovation with a clear intellectual property strategy to the market. A very readable book. Thomas Landolt, Managing Director, IBM A really comprehensive, all-in book about Patents - strategy, value, management and commercialization. And not forgetting what they are for - foster innovation.
Patent Searching Made Easy by
This book explains how to assess the novelty of an idea and do patent searches at little or no cost under the recently-adopted first-to-file rules. Patent Searching Made easy provides information on how to quickly research any new idea to see whether anyone has already patented it; decide on the best keywords to describe an invention and target a search; classify an invention based on the U.S. Patent Classification System; figure out whether an idea is new enough to qualify for a patent; verify the patent status of ideas submitted to potential developers, and how to use the latest federal and international search-related resources.
Patents for Power by
In this book the authors examine how the frameworks of intellectual property law shape the ways states create, acquire, and transmit defense technology. They begin by detailing the unique interface of state security concerns with intellectual property rights, with particular focus on patents and trade secrets. A comparative historical analysis traces the differences between American and Soviet approaches to military intellectual property during the Cold War, studying the benefits and drawbacks of each, and illustrating the ways that ideologically informed property regimes cultivated innovation, and contributed to control and diffusion of military technology. They then look at more contemporary policies about military technology and disputes between the United States and South Korea as well as between the Chinese and Russians over allegations of 'stealing' military technology. They argue that the efforts of the Americans to protect technology through the intellectual property system might in fact assist other countries in obtaining critical technology.
Patent Wars by
In Patent Wars, Thomas Cotter, one of America's leading patent law scholars, offers an accessible, lively, and up-to-date examination of the current state of patent law, showing how patents affect everything from the food we eat to the cars we drive to the devices that entertain and inform us. Beginning with a general overview of patent law and litigation, the book addresses such issues as the patentability of genes, medical procedures, software, and business methods; the impact of drug patents and international treaties on the price of health care; trolls; and the smartphone wars. Taking into account both the benefits and costs that patents impose on society, Cotter highlights the key issues in current debates and explores what still remains unknown about the effect of patents on innovation.
Principles of Patent Law by
Principles of Patent Law provides analysis of the intricacies of the America Invents Act, in-depth discussion of nearly twenty recent Supreme Court decisions on patent law, and thorough treatment of all the leading federal circuit precedents. The volume also contains detailed materials on international issues, trade secret law, and specialized topics including plant patents, design patents and the Hatch-Waxman Act.
What Every Engineer Should Know about Patents by
This useful, authoritative volume focuses on all aspects of intellectual property law with particular emphasis on patent laws enabling the reader to avoid such pitfalls as a loss of rights, and establish valid rights in inventions, trademarks, and writings.