LibGuides: Environmental Science: Essentials

Journals

Aquatic Toxicology ISSN: 0166-445X | eISSN: 1879-1514 Aquatic Toxicology publishes original scientific papers dealing with the mechanisms of toxicity and the responses to toxic agents in aquatic environments at the community, species, tissue, cellular, subcellular and molecular levels, including aspects of uptake, metabolism and excretion of toxicants.
Ecological Engineering ISSN: 0925-8574 | eISSN: 1872-6992 Ecological Engineering has been defined as the design of ecosystems for the mutual benefit of humans and nature. The journal is meant for ecologists who, because of their research interests or occupation, are involved in designing, monitoring, or restoring ecosystems, and can serve as a bridge between ecologists and engineers.
Ecological Processes eISSN: 2192-1709 Ecological Processes is an international journal devoted to the publication of high-quality peer-reviewed research, with coverage spanning all aspects of biological, chemical, physical, and hydrological processes of ecosystem and landscape dynamics across spatial and temporal scales. Ecological Processes is designed to provide better understanding of the ecosystem processes and landscape processes, and therefore, better management of ecosystems and environments.
Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety ISSN: 0147-6513 | eISSN: 1090-2414 Ecotoxicology and Environmental Safety is a multi-disciplinary journal that focuses on understanding the exposure and effects of environmental contamination on organisms including human health. The scope of the journal covers the following main themes: ecotoxicology, environmental chemistry, and environmental safety.
Energy & Environmental Science eISSN: 1754-5706 Energy & Environmental Science is an international journal dedicated to publishing exceptionally important and high quality, agenda-setting research tackling the key global and societal challenges of ensuring the provision of energy and protecting our environment for the future. The scope is intentionally broad and the journal recognises the complexity of issues and challenges relating to energy conversion and storage, alternative fuel technologies and environmental science.
Environmental Health Perspectives ISSN: 0091-6765 | eISSN: 1552-9924 Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news published by the U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services. EHP's mission is to serve as a forum for the discussion of the interrelationships between the environment and human health by publishing in a balanced and objective manner the best peer-reviewed research and most current and credible news of the field.
Environmental Pollution ISSN: 0269-7491 eISSN: 1873-6424 Environmental Pollution is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes high quality research papers and review articles about all aspects of environmental pollution and its effects on ecosystems and human health. The journal welcomes high-quality process-oriented and hypothesis-based submissions that report results from original and novel research and contribute new knowledge to help address problems related to environmental pollution at a regional or global scale.
Environmental Science & Technology ISSN: 0013-936X Environmental Science & Technology (ES&T) is an authoritative source of information for professionals in a wide range of environmental disciplines, including biotechnology, data science, ecotoxicology and public health, energy and climate, sustainable systems, and more.
Environment International ISSN: 0160-4120 | eISSN: 1873-6750 Environment International is a multi-disciplinary, Open Access journal publishing high quality and novel information within the broad field of 'Public and Environmental Health Sciences'. Coverage includes, but is not limited to, the following research topics: public health and health impact assessment, environmental health and risk assessment, environmental toxicology and biodiversity, and environmental technology for environmental health protection.
Journal of Environmental Management ISSN: 0301-4797 | eISSN: 1095-8630 The Journal of Environmental Management is a journal for the publication of peer reviewed, original research for all aspects of management and the managed use of the environment, both natural and man-made, including environmental systems and improving environmental quality.
Marine Pollution Bulletin ISSN: 0025-326X | eISSN: 1879-3363 Marine Pollution Bulletin is concerned with the rational use of maritime and marine resources in estuaries, the seas, and oceans, as well as with documenting marine pollution and introducing new forms of measurement and analysis. A wide range of topics are discussed as news, comment, reviews and research reports, not only on effluent disposal and pollution control, but also on the management, economic aspects and protection of the marine environment in general.
Nature Climate Change ISSN: 1758-678X | eISSN: 1758-6798 Nature Climate Change is a monthly journal dedicated to publishing the most significant and cutting-edge research on the nature, underlying causes, or impacts of global climate change and its implications for the economy, policy, and the world at large.
Science of the Total Environment ISSN: 0048-9697 | eISSN: 1879-1026 Science of the Total Environment is an international multi-disciplinary natural science journal for publication of novel, hypothesis-driven, and high-impact research on the total environment, which interfaces the atmosphere, lithosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere, and anthroposphere.

Databases

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
ECOLEX ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN, and UNEP. Its purpose is to build capacity worldwide by providing the most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law. The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international soft-law, and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
Gale Academic OneFile Academic OneFile has 9,000 full-text journals, new sources, magazines, and other authoritative resources. It includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. Subscription available through MWR DOD Libraries.
GreenFILE GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government, and general interest sources.
National Agriculture Library The National Agricultural Library (NAL) facilitates the creation of agricultural knowledge through the acquisition, curation, and dissemination of the information needed to solve agricultural challenges today and in the future.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications Through this publication search engine, you can search, retrieve, and download EPA (United States Environmental Protection Agency) technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge.
The Online Library System of the Environmental Protection Agency The most comprehensive searchable index to EPA published documents, both paper and electronic. Includes EPA publications, government reports, books, journals, videos, CD-ROMs and DVDs. Sources include the EPA National Library Network, National Technical Information Service (NTIS) reports, Air Pollution Technical Information Center documents (pre-1978), Ground Water Ecosystems Restoration and the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NCSEP).
PLANTS Database The USDA PLANTS (Plant List of Attributes, Names, Taxonomy, and Symbols) Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
PubChem PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Websites

Environmental Data and Governance Initiative The Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is a research collaborative and network of diverse professionals promoting evidence-based policy-making and public interest science that advances the Environmental Right to Know (ERTK). We document, contextualize, and analyze current changes to environmental data and governance practices through multidisciplinary and cross-professional collaborative work; foster the stewardship and expansion of public knowledge through building participatory civic technologies and infrastructures; create new communities of practice to enable government and industry accountability; and promote models and tools that emphasize community participation at all scales, both within EDGI and in our public-facing tools.
Environmental Law: A Beginner's Guide This guide, from the Law Library of Congress, provides resources on environmental law, including general resources, federal legislative and regulatory information, and information about state environmental legal research.
Environmental Protection Agency The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment. EPA works to ensure that Americans have clean air, land and water, national efforts to reduce environmental risks are based on the best available scientific information, federal laws protecting human health and the environment are administered and enforced fairly, effectively, and as Congress intended, among other similar goals.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep the public informed of the changing environment around them. NOAA’s mission to better understand our natural world and help protect its precious resources extends beyond national borders to monitor global weather and climate, and work with partners around the world.
NAVSEA Environmental Responsibilities The Navy is committed to operating in a manner compatible with the environment and meeting all federal requirements. The purpose of the Chief of Naval Operations (CNO) Environmental Readiness Program is to ensure the ability of United States Navy forces to effectively operate world-wide in an environmentally responsible manner, both ashore and afloat.
States and Local Jurisdictions with NEPA-like Environmental Planning Requirements The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ), in collaboration with States and local jurisdictions that have environmental review processes, is preparing memoranda which compare and contrast State and local environmental review requirements with NEPA requirements. The memoranda are designed to familiarize Federal NEPA practitioners with State or local environmental review requirements and procedures, and to help them find opportunities to realize efficiencies through collaboration with State and local governments by aligning and, where appropriate, combining the environmental review requirements.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Research and Science The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management. The challenges facing agriculture, natural resources, and conservation are immense and can be addressed through robust research enterprise and educational programs. USDA intramural and extramural science helps to protect, secure, and improve our food, agricultural and natural resources systems.
U.S. Geological Survey The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) provides science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change. Our scientists develop new methods and tools to supply timely, relevant, and useful information about the Earth and its processes.
U.S. Navy Environmental Planning The U.S. Navy conducts training and testing (military readiness) activities in many areas around the world. U.S. Fleet Forces Command, in coordination with other Navy commands, prepares environmental studies for the military readiness activities it conducts. These studies are important because they allow the Navy to identify and consider the potential environmental effects its readiness activities may have on environmental resources while maintaining required levels of military readiness. The analysis in these studies are also used to request authorizations and permits, and to conduct consultations that are required under the Endangered Species Act and the Marine Mammal Protection Act as well as other federal laws.

Books

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Environmental Management Systems by B. Marguglio This book discusses the features of the environmental policies and procedures that should exist at the plant level and thus helps utility, petrochemical, chemical, pharmaceutical, and other manufacturing industries benefit technically and economically by implementing these feature.
Call Number: 235573

ISBN: 0824785231

Publication Date: 1991-04-29
Marine Ecology - A Comprehensive, Integrated Treatise on Life in Oceans and Coastal Waters: Volume 1, Environmental Factors Part 1 by Kinne, Otto A comprehensive, integrated treatise on life in oceans and coastal waters.
Call Number: 234180

ISBN: 0471480010

Publication Date: 1970

Professional Associations

American Association for the Advancement of Science The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people." The world's largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of cutting-edge research through its Science family of journals, AAAS has individual members in more than 91 countries around the globe.
Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences (AESS) serves the faculty, students and staff of the 1000+ interdisciplinary environmental programs in North America and around the world. We seek to strengthen teaching, research and service in environmental studies and sciences, and to improve communication across boundaries that too often divide the traditional academic disciplines. The Association facilitates the professional development of Association members not just as individuals but also to advance Environmental Studies and Sciences as a whole.
British Ecological Society The British Ecological Society was established in 1913 and has been fostering the science of ecology ever since. They have 6,000 members around the world and bring people together across regional, national and global scales to advance ecological science.
Ecological Society of America The Ecological Society of America is a community of 9,000 scientists, researchers, decision makers, policy managers, and educators who are dedicated to understanding life on earth. We are an advocate for ecology and a voice for ecologists. ESA strengthens connections within and outside our community to support your work and promotes ecological science.
National Association of Environmental Professionals National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP) is an interdisciplinary organization dedicated to developing the highest standards of ethics and proficiency in the environmental professions. Their members are public and private sector professionals who promote excellence in decision-making in light of environmental, social, and economic impacts of those decisions.
Society for Ecological Restoration For more than three decades, the Society for Ecological Restoration (SER) has given voice to the field of ecological restoration and provided leadership in all aspects of its development. In addition to communicating leading-edge tools, technologies and scientific findings, SER actively promotes best practices and effective restoration policy around the world. We are working to ensure that ecological restoration is recognized and utilized as a fundamental component of global conservation.
Society for Human Ecology The Society for Human Ecology (SHE) is an international interdisciplinary professional society that promotes the use of an ecological perspective in research, education, and application. SHE's goals are to provide a forum through which scientists, scholars, educators, and practitioners may exchange ideas and information, promote the advancement of an ecological perspective in interdisciplinary studies and practice, build cooperative arrangements among human ecology programs and organizations throughout the world, and more.
Soil and Water Conservation Society Soil and Water Conservation Society (SWCS) is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization that serves as an advocate for conservation professionals and for science-based conservation practice, programs, and policy.
The Wildlife Society Founded in 1937, The Wildlife Society's (TWS) mission is “To inspire, empower, and enable wildlife professionals to sustain wildlife populations and habitats through science-based management and conservation.” TWS enhances our members’ networking and learning opportunities, professional and career development, and provides numerous ways for them to get more involved in creating a better future for wildlife and their habitats.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>