LibGuides: Radiation Detection Technology Research and Management: Essentials

Journals

IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science focuses on all aspects of the theory and applications of nuclear science and engineering, including instrumentation for the detection and measurement of ionizing radiation; particle accelerators and their controls; nuclear medicine and its application; effects of radiation on materials, components, and systems; reactor instrumentation and controls; and measurement of radiation in space.
Journal of Environmental Radioactivity The Journal of Environmental Radioactivity provides a coherent international forum for publication of original research or review papers on any aspect of the occurrence of radioactivity in natural systems. Relevant subject areas range from applications of environmental radionuclides as mechanistic or timescale tracers of natural processes to assessments of the radioecological or radiological effects of ambient radioactivity.
Journal of Nuclear Engineering and Radiation Science The Journal of Nuclear Engineering and Radiation Science is ASME’s latest title within the energy sector. The publication is for specialists in the nuclear/power engineering areas of industry, academia, and government.
Journal of Radiation Research and Applied Science Journal of Radiation Research and Applied Sciences provides a high quality medium for the publication of substantial, original and scientific and technological papers on the development and applications of nuclear, radiation and isotopes in biology, medicine, drugs, biochemistry, microbiology, agriculture, entomology, food technology, chemistry, physics, solid states, engineering, environmental and applied sciences.
Journal of Radiological Protection Journal of Radiological Protection publishes articles on all aspects of radiological protection, including non-ionising as well as ionising radiations. Fields of interest range from research, development and theory to operational matters, education and training. The very wide spectrum of its topics includes: dosimetry, instrument development, specialized measuring techniques, epidemiology, biological effects (in vivo and in vitro) and risk and environmental impact assessments.
Journal of Sychrotron Radiation Synchrotron radiation plays a leading role in pure science and in emerging technologies. Journal of Synchrotron Radiation has been open access since 2022 and provides comprehensive coverage of the entire field of synchrotron radiation and X-ray free-electron laser (XFEL)
Journal of the ICRU (International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements) The Journal of the ICRU publishes reports on important and topical subjects within the field of radiation science and measurement. It is the successor to the series of reports published by or on behalf of the International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements (ICRU) since 1927. The Commission continually reviews radiation science with the aim of identifying areas where the development of guidance and recommendations can make an important contribution. The journal consists of commissioned reports, and no submitted articles are accepted for publication.
Radiation Measurements Radiation Measurements provides a forum for the presentation of the latest developments in the broad field of ionizing radiation detection and measurement. The journal publishes original papers on both fundamental and applied research.
Radiation Physics and Chemistry Radiation Physics and Chemistry is a multidisciplinary journal that provides a medium for publication of substantial and original papers, reviews, and short communications which focus on research and developments involving ionizing radiation in radiation physics, radiation chemistry and radiation processing.
Radiation Protection and Environment The journal covers various topics related with radiation protection such as: radiation dosimetry, radiation biology, biological dosimetry, operational radiation protection, environmental radioactivity and radon/thoron measurements, development of instrumentation for radiation protection, nuclear and radiological emergency preparedness, radiation protection standards, radiological safety aspects in the application of radiation /radioisotopes in industry, medicine and research.

Databases

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
IHS Engineering Workbench Engineering Workbench (formerly IHS Standards Expert) provides access, tracking and management of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Websites

National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements helps disseminate information and research about radiation exposure and protection guidelines in the public interest.
U.S. Department of Energy The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions
US Nuclear Regulatory Commission The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) was created as an independent agency by Congress in 1974 to ensure the safe use of radioactive materials for beneficial civilian purposes while protecting people and the environment. The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants and other uses of nuclear materials, such as in nuclear medicine, through licensing, inspection and enforcement of its requirements.
International Atomic Energy Agency The International Atomic Energy Agency is the world's central intergovernmental forum for scientific and technical co-operation in the nuclear field. It works for the safe, secure and peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, contributing to international peace and security and the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals.
Nuclear Energy Agency The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is a specialised agency within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an intergovernmental organisation of industrialised countries, based in Paris, France.
International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements The ICRU has as its principal objective the development of internationally accepted recommendations regarding quantities and units of radiation and radioactivity; procedures suitable for the measurement and application of these quantities in diagnostic radiology, radiation therapy, radiation biology, nuclear medicine, radiation protection, and industrial and environmental activities; physical data needed in the application of these procedures, the use of which assures uniformity in reporting.

Books

Advanced materials for radiation detection by Krzysztof Iniewski This book offers readers an overview of some of the most recent advances in the field of advanced materials used for gamma and X-ray imaging. Coverage includes both technology and applications, with an in-depth review of the research topics from leading specialists in the field. Emphasis is on high-Z materials like CdTe, CZT and GaAs, as well as perovskite crystals, since they offer the best implementation possibilities for direct conversion X-ray detectors. Authors discuss material challenges, detector operation physics and technology and readout integrated circuits required to detect signals processes by high-Z sensors. Provides coverage of a broad range of topics, from international experts in academia and industry; Includes in-depth analysis of how to optimize X-ray detection and electronics for X-ray detection; Covers both technology and applications in a number of different domains
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9783030764616
Publication Date: 2021-06-05
Detecting environmental radioactivity by M. García-León This textbook presents the principles and methods for the measurement of radioactivity in the environment. In this regard, specific low-level radiation counting and spectrometry or mass spectrometry techniques are discussed, including sources, distribution, levels and dynamics of radioactivity in nature. The author gives an accurate description of the fundamental concepts and laws of radioactivity as well as the different types of detectors and mass spectrometers needed for detection. Special attention is paid to scintillators, semiconductor detectors, and gas ionization detectors. In order to explain radiochemistry, some concepts about chemical separations are introduced as well. The book is meant for graduate and advanced undergraduate students in physics, chemistry or engineering oriented to environmental sciences, and to other disciplines where monitoring of the environment and its management is of great interest
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9783031099700
Publication Date: 2022-11-30

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Nuclear Society The American Nuclear Society (ANS) is a not-for-profit, international, scientific and educational organization. It was established by a group of individuals who recognized the need to unify the professional activities within the various fields of nuclear science and technology. December 11, 1954, marks the Society's historic beginning at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C. ANS has since developed a diverse membership composed of approximately 11,000 engineers, scientists, administrators, and educators representing 1,600 plus corporations, educational institutions, and government agencies. It is governed by four officers and a board of directors elected by the membership.
Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors The Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc. (CRCPD) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit non-governmental professional organization dedicated to radiation protection. CRCPD's mission is "to promote consistency in addressing and resolving radiation protection issues, to encourage high standards of quality in radiation protection programs, and to provide leadership in radiation safety and education."
IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society (NPSS) originated in 1949 as the Professional Group on Nuclear Science within the IRE. At about the same time, the AIEE formed two committees, one on nucleonics, the other on nucleonic and radiation instruments. In 1963, the IRE and AIEE merged to form the IEEE. This resulted in the creation of the Nuclear Science Group. In 1972, Plasma Science was added and the group was promoted to a society. The NPSS is composed of eight technical committees, and a Transnational Committee, with a common interest in advancing nuclear and plasma sciences.
Institute of Nuclear Materials Management The Institute of Nuclear Materials Management is dedicated to the safe, secure and effective stewardship of nuclear materials and related technologies through the advancement of scientific knowledge, technical skills, policy dialogue, professional capabilities, and best practices.
Nuclear Energy Institute NEI fosters the beneficial uses of nuclear technology and provides a unified industry voice before Congress, the executive branch, state and local legislatures, and federal regulators, as well as international organizations and venues, on key policy issues.
World Nuclear Association Promote nuclear energy as a sustainable electricity source and strategically represent the industry’s interests in important energy debates worldwide. We provide the latest and most important information about nuclear energy online and through publications.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>