LibGuides: Ship and Submarine Acquisition Engineering: Essentials

Journals

Defense & Security Analysis ISSN: 1475-1798 | eISSN: 1475-1801 Publishes research on defense theory and analysis, covering comparative defense policies, defense intelligence, defense management, defense economics and more.
Defense Acquisition Magazine ISSN 2637-5052 Defense Acquisition is a bimonthly magazine published by DAU Press, Defense Acquisition University, for senior military personnel, civilians, defense contractors and defense industry professionals in program management and the acquisition, technology and logistics workforce.
Defense Acquisition Research Journal ISSN 2156-8405 The Defense Acquisition Research Journal (ARJ) is a scholarly peer-reviewed journal published by the Defense Acquisition University (DAU). All submissions receive a blind review to ensure impartial evaluation.
Journal of DoD Research & Engineering The Journal of DoD Research & Engineering (JDR&E) publishes scientific innovations, commentary, and cutting-edge research from the R&E Communities of Interest (CoI). The JDR&E provides a venue for researchers, scientists, and engineers working in our labs on limited and classified projects the opportunity to gain peer-reviewed status for their work. Through its print and online versions, the JDR&E publishes those papers that are most influential in their fields, or across fields, that will significantly advance scientific understanding. Selected papers should present novel and broadly important data, syntheses, or concepts that merit recognition by the wider DoD S&T CoI and address the need to collaborate and share information, recognizing valued contributions from our research community, while reducing the information made available to the public.
Journal of Marine Science and Engineering eISSN: 2077-1312 Journal of Marine Science and Engineering is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal which provides an advanced forum for studies related to marine science and engineering. It publishes reviews, research papers, and communications. Their aim is to encourage scientists to publish their experimental and theoretical results in as much detail as possible.
National Defense Magazine National Defense Magazine offers news and analysis on subjects such as trends in weapons technology, market developments, defense policy and legislation, military budgets, and issues affecting the industrial base. It is a business and technology magazine of the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA), and a source of breaking news and full-length features on topics of importance to the defense industrial base.
Naval Engineers Journal The peer-reviewed journal of the American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE) contains technical papers in the field of naval engineering and ASNE membership information. ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate, and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines, and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.

Databases

ASME Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Jane's Resource Portal This portal provides access to the following Jane's resources: Jane's Fighting Ships, Jane's Unmanned Maritime Vehicles, C4ISR & Mission Systems: Maritime, Jane's Defense Weekly, Jane's Weapons: Naval, Jane's High-Speed Marine Transportation, and Jane's Marine Propulsion.
Marine Technology Abstracts The Marine Technology Abstracts database contains bibliographic information for more than 125,000 technical articles, reports, books, conference and transaction papers and other material on all aspects of maritime technology, dating as far back as 1940. Topics covered include: Ship and vessel descriptions; Design and construction; Ship powering, equipment, maintenance, repair, conversion; Cargo handling/port design and operation; Safety at sea/environmental protection; Coastal and ocean engineering/offshore technology; Fluid mechanics, hydrodynamics, hydraulics and aerodynamics; Ship resistance and propulsion, motions, seakeeping and manoeuvring; Structural response, material properties, corrosion and fouling; Naval vessels and defence technology; and others.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers online, free and open access to these authenticated government technical reports. Technical reports and documents in its repository may be available online for free either from the issuing federal agency, the U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Federal Digital System website, or through search engines.
Naval Vessel Register Information on ships and service craft that comprise the official inventory of the US Navy from the time of vessel authorization through its life cycle and disposal. It also includes ships that have been stricken but not disposed. Ships and service craft disposed of prior to 1987 are currently not included, however the data is gradually being added along with other updates.

Websites

DAU Glossary of Defense Acquisition Acronyms and Terms The DAU Glossary, also referred to as the Glossary of Defense Acquisition Acronyms and Terms, reflects most acronyms, abbreviations, and terms commonly used in the systems acquisition process within the Department of Defense (DoD) and defense industries. It focuses on terms with generic DoD application but also includes some Service-unique terms. While the glossary identifies and highlights many terms, it is not all-inclusive, particularly regarding the military Services, defense agencies and other organizationally unique terms.
Defense Acquisition University "Welcome to DAU, modern learning platform delivering continuous learning and support tailored to the needs of the Defense Acquisition Workforce. Everything we do at DAU is for you, the acquisition professional — including formal courses in-person and online, events and workshops, job support tools, consulting and more. As your learning partner, we will be with you in the classroom, online, and in your workplace — whenever and wherever you need us. All of our learning assets are meant to help you develop and manage acquisition programs, projects, and systems that continue to make our nation's warfighters the best-equipped armed forces in the world."
DTIC's Acquisition Information Repository (AIR)
Federal Acquisition Regulation Site The FAR is the primary regulation for use by all executive agencies in their acquisition of supplies and services with appropriated funds. The FAR precludes agency acquisition regulations that unnecessarily repeat, paraphrase, or otherwise restate the FAR, limits agency acquisition regulations to those necessary to implement FAR policies and procedures within an agency, and provides for coordination, simplicity, and uniformity in the Federal acquisition process. It also provides for agency and public participation in developing the FAR and agency acquisition regulation.
Marine Insight: Naval Architecture Marine Insight is a global leader in providing maritime news and training maritime professionals with an expert panel of writers, news reporters, and consultants. The Naval Architecture section contains constantly-updating articles on various aspects of the topic.
"Benchmarking Data Use and Analytics in Large, Complex Private Sector Organizations: Implications for Department of Defense Acquisition"; June 2020 Public and private organizations are increasingly aware of the potential value of data and analytics to improving organizational performance and outcomes. The U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) is one of those organizations. Its size, complexity, security needs, and culture have created a challenging environment for successful use of data in decision-making. DoD's acquisition data lay an important part of the foundation for decisions about weapon systems.

Books

Empowering the Defense Acquisition Workforce to Improve Mission Outcomes Using Data Science by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Board on Mathematical Sciences and Analytics The effective use of data science (the science and technology of extracting value from data) improves, enhances, and strengthens acquisition decision-making and outcomes. Using data science to support decision making is not new to the defense acquisition community; its use by the acquisition workforce has enabled acquisition and thus defense successes for decades. This report identifies opportunities where data science can improve acquisition processes, the relevant data science skills and capabilities necessary for the acquisition workforce, and relevant models of data science training and education.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9780309684941
Publication Date: 2021-08-31
Strong Supply Chains Through Resilient Operations by Tiffany Hickerson; Sherri He; Suketu Gandhi; Michael F. Strohmer; Marc Lakner In Strong Supply Chains Through Resilient Operations: Five Principles for Leaders to Win in a Volatile World, a team of dedicated, veteran operations strategists delivers a practical and hands-on discussion of how to future-proof your company’s supply chains through a relentless focus on resilience.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available from O'Reilly Learning (formerly Safari)
ISBN: 9781394201587
Publication Date: 2023-11-07

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession. Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.
Association for the Advancement of Cost Engineering (AACE International) With 7,000 members in 100 countries, AACE International has been serving the total cost management community since 1956. We are committed to the constructive exchange of ideas between members, development of technical guidance and quality education and recognition of subject matter experts.
Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP) Since 1963, the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP) has been providing networking, career development, and educational opportunities to the logistics and supply chain management community.
National Contract Management Association (NCMA) The National Contract Management Association (NCMA), founded in 1959, is the world’s leading professional resource for those in the field of contract management. The organization, which has over 20,000 members, is dedicated to the professional growth and educational advancement of procurement and acquisition personnel worldwide. NCMA strives to serve and inform the profession it represents and to offer opportunities for the open exchange of ideas in neutral forums.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers SNAME is an internationally recognized non-profit, professional society of individual members serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers. For many, SNAME has been absolutely essential to career development and success in the industry. With more than 6,000 members around the world in 85 countries, SNAME is THE International Community for Maritime and Ocean Professionals!

DoD Directives

DoD Directive 2010.09: Acquisition and Cross-Servicing Agreements This Directive reissues reference (a) and implements reference (b) by updating policy for the acquisition from and transfer to authorized foreign governments of logistics support, supplies, and services
DoD Directive 4275.5: Acquisition and Management of Industrial Resources This Directive reissues reference (a) to update uniform policy governing the acquisition and management of facilities, special tooling, and special test equipment, whether these industrial resources are acquired by and used solely within the Department of Defense or operated and used by a contractor. It also updates assigned responsibilities for reviewing the use, maintenance, expansion, modernization, replacement, and disposal of industrial resources, with their related programming, budgeting, and financing guidance.
DoD Directive 5000.01: The Defense Acquisition System The objective of the Defense Acquisition System (DAS) is to support the National Defense Strategy, through the development of a more lethal force based on U.S. technological innovation and a culture of performance that yields a decisive and sustained U.S. military advantage. The acquisition system will be designed to acquire products and services that satisfy user needs with measurable and timely improvements to mission capability, material readiness, and operational support, at a fair and reasonable price.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>