LibGuides: Underwater Acoustics: Essentials

Journals

Acoustical Physics ISSN: 1063-7710 | eISSN: 1562-6865 Acoustical Physics is a peer-reviewed journal. It covers theoretical and experimental aspects of basic and applied acoustics: classical problems of linear acoustics and wave theory; nonlinear acoustics; physical acoustics; ocean acoustics and hydroacoustics; atmospheric and aeroacoustics; acoustics of structurally inhomogeneous solids; geological acoustics; acoustical ecology, noise and vibration; chamber acoustics; musical acoustics; acoustic signals processing and computer simulations; acoustics of living systems; biomedical acoustics; and physical principles of engineering acoustics.
Acoustical Science and Technology ISSN: 1346-3969 | eISSN: 1347-5177 Published by the Acoustical Society of Japan, this journal covers a broad number of areas across science and technology, including mathematics, physics, engineering, medicine, biology, information sciences, and more.
Acoustics Today ISSN: 1557-0215 Acoustics Today is a quarterly publication from the Acoustical Society of America and combines the importance and value of technical analysis with real-world applications and the community's need for books, standards and instrumentation. Coverage extends from basic research to practical applications and incorporates tutorials on topics such as signal processing, structural acoustics, and sound system design, among others.
Acta Acustica eISSN: 2681-4617 Acta Acustica (formerly "Acta Acustica" then "Acta Acustica united with Acustica") is an open access journal which reports on original scientific research in all subjects in the field of acoustics and on engineering applications. The journal includes scientific papers, technical and applied papers, book reviews, short communications, doctoral thesis abstracts, etc. In irregular intervals special issues and review articles are published.
Applied Acoustics ISSN: 0003-682X | eISSN: 1872-910X Applied Acoustics is a leading international journal that publishes full-length original research articles and solicited reviews in acoustics with broad impact in engineering applications. Applied Acoustics spans a wide range of fields including architectural and building acoustics, underwater acoustics, engineering noise control, acoustic signal processing, and more.
Journal of Sound and Vibration ISSN: 0022-460X | eISSN: 1095-8568 The Journal of Sound and Vibration (JSV) is an independent journal devoted to the prompt publication of original papers, both theoretical and experimental, that communicates new knowledge or reviews on important aspects of sound or vibration. There is an emphasis on fundamental work that has potential for practical application within a wider context than the specific situation reported.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA) ISSN: 0001-4966 | eISSN: 1520-8524 The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America is the leading source of theoretical and experimental research results in the broad interdisciplinary subject of sound. The journal serves physical scientists, life scientists, engineers, psychologists, physiologists, architects, musicians, and speech communication specialists.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA) Express Letters eISSN: 2691-1191 JASA Express Letters (JASA-EL) is an open access journal devoted to providing rapid and open dissemination of important new research results and technical discussion in all fields of acoustics. It serves physical scientists, life scientists, engineers, psychologists, physiologists, architects, musicians, and speech and hearing scientists.
Journal of Theoretical and Computational Acoustics ISSN: 2591-7285 | eISSN: 2591-7811 The aims of this journal are to provide an international forum for disseminating state-of-the-art information in the fields of Theoretical and Computational Acoustics. The journal invites research and tutorial contributions in theoretical analyses and computational methods related to application areas such as physical acoustics, underwater acoustics, seismo-acoustics, atmospheric acoustics, aeroacoustics, structural acoustics, and elastic/seismic waves, among others.
Journal of Vibration and Acoustics ISSN: 1048-9002 | eISSN: 1528-8927 The premier international venue for original research concerning mechanical vibration and sound. Serves researchers and practitioners who seek cutting-edge theories and computational and experimental methods that advance these fields. Our published studies reveal how mechanical vibration and sound impact the design and performance of engineered devices and structures and how to control their negative influences.
Noise Mapping ISSN: 2084-879X The journal aims to promote and disseminate knowledge on noise mapping through the publication of high quality peer-reviewed papers focusing on the following aspects: noise mapping and noise action plans: case studies; models and algorithms for source characterization and outdoor sound propagation: proposals, applications, comparisons, round robin tests; and more.
Ultrasonics ISSN: 1874-9968 | eISSN: 0041-624X Ultrasonics is the only internationally established journal which covers the entire spectrum of ultrasound research, technology and applications. Ultrasonics contains a variety of sections to keep its readers abreast of the state of the art in both fundamental investigation and real-world development related to ultrasonics.

Databases

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; and the IEEE Standards Dictionary.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 75 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
Research Gate "We dream of a world where scientists can focus on their intellectual curiosities, secure in the knowledge that their work will be highly valued and funded appropriately. We strive to offer researchers access to one another and the resources they need to thrive. We strive to make science faster, fairer, and easier to discover and access. We offer a home for you—a place to share your work and connect with peers around the globe, traversing the borders and silos of science."
Science.gov Science.gov provides access to millions of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies. Research results include scientific and technical reports, peer-reviewed scholarly publications, digital data, software, conference presentations and proceedings, and other scientific and technical information that federal agencies publish resulting from their research investments.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Underwater Acoustics Research Centers

Acoustic Research Center Acoustic Research Center is a hub for everything related to acoustics and the acoustics industry. We are a small team based in Irvine, California, with the goal of making resources around acoustics freely accessible to all, including the most relevant research and findings, product research and innovations, industry news, events, and other information.
Applied Research Laboratory at Pennsylvania State University Founded in 1945 at the request of the U.S. Navy, ARL is a Department of Defense (DoD) designated University Affiliated Research Center (UARC) that leverages cutting-edge research and innovation to pursue our mission. Though we are primarily sponsored by the U.S. Navy, we proudly support all of the U.S. Armed Forces and other government agencies. As a UARC, ARL maintains core technology capabilities of critical importance to our Navy sponsors. We strive to embody a culture of scientific discovery and consistently leverage our agility to adapt to evolving mission needs.
National Physical Laboratory UK: Acoustics NPL provides world-class standards for measurement and calibration, and key expertise in measurement related research and development, in the fields of medical ultrasound and underwater acoustics. Our experts develop new and improved acoustic measurement methods that impact on UK services and products, assure safety of medical systems and underpin environmental protection.
NOAA Ocean Explorer NOAA Ocean Exploration is dedicated to exploring the unknown ocean, unlocking its potential through scientific discovery, technological advancements, and data delivery. By working closely with partners across public, private, and academic sectors, we are filling gaps in our basic understanding of the marine environment. This allows us, collectively, to protect ocean health, sustainably manage our marine resources, accelerate our national economy, better understand our changing environment, and enhance appreciation of the importance of the ocean in our everyday lives.
Scripps Institution of Oceanography Marine Bioacoustics Lab Our mission is to advance the study of marine animal population abundance, seasonality and behavior using acoustic techniques. We develop new acoustic instrumentation and analytical approaches to improve our understanding of the ecology of marine animals and the impact of anthropogenic sounds on them.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) is the world's premier independent organization dedicated exclusively to ocean research, technology, and education. We combine state-of-the-art science, engineering, and ship operations to unravel the mysteries of the deep and devise science-based solutions to planet-wide problems.

Books

Physiology of Marine Mammals: Adaptations to the Ocean by Michael Angelo Castellini (Editor), Jo-Ann Mellish (Editor) This unique undergraduate textbook considers what makes a marine mammal different from terrestrial mammals, focusing on the physiological and biochemical characteristics that have allowed this group of mammals to effectively exploit the hostile marine environment.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781000873108
Publication Date: 2024
Sing Like Fish by Amorina Kingdon In Sing Like Fish, award-winning science journalist Amorina Kingdon synthesizes historical discoveries with the latest scientific research in a clear and compelling portrait of this sonic undersea world. From plainfin midshipman fish, whose swim-bladder drumming is loud enough to keep houseboat-dwellers awake, to the syntax of whale song; from the deafening crackle of snapping shrimp, to the seismic resonance of underwater earthquakes and volcanoes; sound plays a vital role in feeding, mating, parenting, navigating, and warning-even in animals that we never suspected of acoustic ability.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9780593442777
Publication Date: 2024-06-04

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

Acoustical Society of America The purpose of the Society is to generate, disseminate, and promote the knowledge and practical applications of acoustics. They allow access to publications, meetings, standards, and more. All members automatically receive the Journal of the Acoustical Society of America online which is included with membership.
American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists, and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate, and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession.
Australian Acoustical Society The Australian Acoustical Society provides a source of expertise in acoustics to the public, private corporations, small business, the legal system, standards organisations, regulatory bodies and government. The AAS aims to promote and advance the science and practice of acoustics in all its branches to the wider community and provide support to acousticians. The AAS hosts a variety of activities including annual conferences, divisional meetings, technical meetings, on-site visits, seminars, equipment demonstrations and social functions.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society The Society’s mission is to be the professional home of people passionate about ocean science, engineering, and technology. The Field of Interest of the Society includes all aspects of science, engineering, and technology that address research, development, and operations pertaining to all bodies of water.
Institute of Acoustics The Institute of Acoustics is the UK's professional body for those working in acoustics, noise and vibration. As one of the smaller professional institutions, the Institute of Acoustics has particular strengths in its learned society programmes and its cohesive role for the subject. There is a club atmosphere in its activities and it is possible for members to maintain personal contacts with colleagues engaged in other related areas of acoustics. The Institute publishes a bi-monthly Acoustics Bulletin, containing articles of professional, academic and technical interest and the Institute's Proceedings record the two hundred or more papers presented at our formal meetings each year.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers SNAME is an internationally recognized non-profit, professional society of individual members serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers. The mission of the Society is to advance the art, science, and practice of naval architecture, marine engineering, ocean engineering, and other marine-related professions through the global exchange of knowledge and ideas, being a provider of and catalyst for professional education across the maritime industry, and encouraging and sponsoring research and development.

Websites

Acoustical Society of America (ASA) The Underwater Acoustics TC is focused on sound-wave phenomena in the ocean and seabed.
Discovery of Sound in the Sea (DOSITS) The Discovery of Sound in the Sea website will introduce you to the science and uses of Sound in the Sea. There are several major sections on the site such as The Science of Sound in the Sea, People and Sound in the Sea, and Animals and Sound in the Sea. You will find the site’s Audio Gallery a fascinating place to visit where you can listen to underwater sounds created by marine animals, human activities, and natural phenomena such as lightning, earthquakes, and rain. Check out the Technology Gallery and discover a variety of equipment that uses sound to investigate the ocean. Watch video interviews with scientists that study how marine animals produce and hear sounds. Investigate how scientists use underwater acoustics to track ocean currents, identify potential obstacles, and quantify fish distributions. There are also resources for many specialized audiences, including teachers, students, the media, and decision makers.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
NOAA Fisheries: Understanding Sound in the Ocean Levels of underwater noise from human activities—including from ships, sonar, and drilling—have increased dramatically. Those growing levels of ocean noise affect marine animals and habitats in complex ways. This resource page from NOAA Fisheries reviews important topics in underwater noise and details noise-based regulations.
Ocean Acoustics Library The Ocean Acoustics library contains acoustic modeling software and data. It is supported by the U.S. Office of Naval Research (Ocean Acoustics Program) as a means of publishing software of general use to and in support of the international ocean acoustics community.
Ocean Networks Canada Ocean Networks Canada's world-leading ocean observatories bring data to the surface, accelerating scientific discovery and delivering solutions that support ocean-and-planet sustainability for future generations. They deliver ocean observatories, community-based monitoring, data dashboards, scientific discovery, and education.
Office of Naval Research (ONR) Through global partnerships and scientific research with industry, academia and government, ONR delivers critical, cutting-edge capabilities to the Sailors and Marines we have the privilege to serve.
Underwater Acoustics Conferences The Underwater Acoustics Conference and Exhibition is a well established scientific forum for exchange of recent research results, for discussion of future challenges in implementation and application of underwater acoustic technologies, and for the presentation of the latest advances in relevant instrumentation.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>