LibGuides: Structures and Materials: Essentials

Journals

Composite Structures Composite Structures, an international journal, disseminates knowledge between users, manufacturers, designers and researchers involved in structures or structural components manufactured using composite materials. It publishes papers which contribute to knowledge in the use of composite materials in engineering structures.
Engineering Structures Engineering Structures provides a forum for a broad blend of scientific and technical papers to reflect the evolving needs of the structural engineering and structural mechanics communities.
Frontiers in Materials eISSN: 2296-8016 Frontiers in Materials is a high visibility journal publishing rigorously peer-reviewed research across the entire breadth of materials science and engineering. This interdisciplinary open-access journal is at the forefront of disseminating and communicating scientific knowledge and impactful discoveries to researchers across academia and industry, and the public worldwide.
International Journal of Concrete Structures and Materials eISSN: 2234-1315 The International Journal of Concrete Structures and Materials (IJCSM) provides a forum targeted for engineers and scientists around the globe to present and discuss various topics related to concrete, concrete structures and other applied materials incorporating cement cementitious binder, and polymer or fiber in conjunction with concrete.
Journal of Fluids and Structures ISSN: 0889-9746 The Journal of Fluids and Structures serves as a focal point and a forum for the exchange of ideas, for the many kinds of specialists and practitioners concerned with fluid–structure interactions and the dynamics of systems related thereto, in any field. One of its aims is to foster the cross–fertilization of ideas, methods and techniques in the various disciplines involved.
Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids The main purpose of the Journal is to foster scientific understanding of the processes of deformation and mechanical failure of all solid materials, both technological and natural, and the connections between these processes and their underlying physical mechanisms.
Marine Structures ISSN: 0951-8339 This journal aims to provide a medium for presentation and discussion of the latest developments in research, design, fabrication and in-service experience relating to marine structures, i.e., all structures of steel, concrete, light alloy or composite construction having an interface with the sea, including ships, fixed and mobile offshore platforms, submarine and submersibles, pipelines, subsea systems for shallow and deep ocean operations and coastal structures such as piers.
Materials and Design ISSN: 0264-1275 Materials and Design publishes original research reports, review articles and express communications covering the studies of structure and properties of inorganic and organic materials, advances in synthesis, processing, characterisation and testing, design of materials and engineering systems, and applications in technology.
Materials and Structures ISSN: 1359-5997 | eISSN: 1871-6873 Materials and Structures, the flagship publication of the International Union of Laboratories and Experts in Construction Materials, Systems and Structures (RILEM), provides a unique international and interdisciplinary forum for new research findings on the performance of construction materials. A leader in cutting-edge research, the journal is dedicated to the publication of high quality papers examining the fundamental properties of building materials, their characterization and processing techniques, modeling, standardization of test methods, and the application of research results in building and civil engineering.
Materials Research Society (MRS) Bulletin ISSN: 0883-7694 | eISSN: 1938-1425 The MRS Bulletin provides a comprehensive overview of a specific materials theme, along with industry and policy developments, and MRS and materials-community news and events. Written by leading experts, the overview articles are useful references for specialists, but are also presented at a level understandable to a broad scientific audience.
Materials Science and Engineering: A Materials Science and Engineering A provides an international medium for the publication of theoretical and experimental studies related to the load-bearing capacity of materials as influenced by their basic properties, processing history, microstructure and operating environment. Appropriate submissions to Materials Science and Engineering A should include scientific and/or engineering factors which affect the microstructure - strength relationships of materials and report the changes to mechanical behavior.
Probabilistic Engineering Mechanics ISSN: 0266-8920 This journal provides a forum for scholarly work dealing primarily with probabilistic and statistical approaches to contemporary solid/structural and fluid mechanics problems encountered in diverse technical disciplines such as aerospace, civil, marine, mechanical, and nuclear engineering. The journal aims to maintain a healthy balance between general solution techniques and problem-specific results, encouraging a fruitful exchange of ideas among disparate engineering specialities.
Ships and Offshore Structures ISSN: 1744-5302 | eISSN: 1754-212X Ships and Offshore Structures is an international, peer-reviewed journal which provides an authoritative forum for publication and discussion of recent advances and future trends in all aspects of technology across the maritime industry. The Journal covers the entire range of issues and technologies related to both ships (including merchant ships, war ships, polar ships etc.) and offshore structures (floating and fixed offshore platforms, offshore infrastructures, underwater vehicles etc.) with a strong emphasis on practical design, construction and operation.
Smart Materials and Structures ISSN: 0964-1726 | eISSN: 1361-665X Smart Materials and Structures is a multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to technical advances in (and applications of) smart materials, systems and structures; including intelligent systems, sensing and actuation, adaptive structures, and active control.
Structural Dynamics Structural Dynamics focuses on the recent developments in experimental and theoretical methods and techniques that allow a visualization of the electronic and geometric structural changes in real time of chemical, biological, and condensed-matter systems. The community of scientists and engineers working on structural dynamics in such diverse systems often use similar instrumentation and methods.
Structures ISSN: 2352-0124 Structures seeks papers in areas relating to materials, structural mechanics, structural engineering, structural design, construction engineering, structural innovation, extreme events, sustainability, performance-based design, architectural topics that impact structural performance and other related areas. Structures actively encourages the use of electronic media to augment presentation.

Databases

ASME Digital Colleciton The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
IHS Engineering Workbench Engineering Workbench (formerly IHS Standards Expert) provides access, tracking and management of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference
IOPscience About IOPscience IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
ScienceDirect

Websites

American National Standards Institute The Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more. ANSI is also actively engaged in accreditation - assessing the competence of organizations determining conformance to standards.
American Society of Testing and Materials Organized in 1898, ASTM International is one of the world's largest international standards developing organizations. Defined and set by us, ASTM standards improve the lives of millions every day. Combined with our innovative business services, they enhance performance and help everyone have confidence in the things they buy and use - from the toy in a child's hand to the aircraft overhead. By understanding commercial needs and consumer priorities, we touch every part of everyday life - helping our world work better.
International Standards Organization (ISO) ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 163 national standards bodies. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges.
MatWeb MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials. MatWeb also has several Converters and Calculators that make common engineering tasks available at the click of a button.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
Structural Engineer TheStructuralEngineer.info is part of an interconnected network of centers, operated by ARGO-E LLC (based in USA) and its partner Elxis Group (based in Greece), with the mission to be a catalyst for innovation & excellence in practice, research and education of the construction industry.
University of Southern California Structures and Materials Research Lab SMRL is accredited as a testing laboratory by the International Accreditation Services (IAS) according to ISO/IEC 17025. This accreditation demonstrates technical competence for a defined scope and the operation of a laboratory quality management system (refer to the joint ISO-ILAC-IAF Communiqué dated January 2009).

Books

Callister's Materials Science and Engineering by William D. Callister; David G. Rethwisch
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781119453918
Publication Date: 2020-02-05
Fundamentals of port engineering by Koos Schoonees Port engineering primarily deals with the design, construction, operation, management, and maintenance of ports, overlapping with many other disciplines. This book provides an introductory text to prospective (graduate) port engineers and presents a wide variety of port subjects for practicing engineers. It covers all topics related to port engineering in a fundamental way including dredging, aids to navigation, marinas, environmental issues, and dry bulk, general cargo, multi-purpose, Ro-Ro and, ferry terminals. Discussions targeted at a conceptual design level are augmented by examples and case studies.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781003227878
Publication Date: 2023-08

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society of Mechanical Engineers ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods. Founded in 1880 by a small group of leading industrialists, ASME has grown through the decades to include more than 130,000 members in 151 countries. Thirty-two thousand of these members are students.
American Society of Naval Engineers ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems. ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession. Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army
American Society of the International Association for Testing and Materials (ASTM) ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
American Society of Civil Engineers ASCE is a leading provider of technical and professional conferences and continuing education, the world’s largest publisher of civil engineering content, and an authoritative source for codes and standards that protect the public.
International Union of Laboratories and Experts in Construction Materials, Systems and Structures The International Union of Laboratories and Experts in Construction Materials, Systems and Structures (RILEM, from the name in French) was founded in June 1947, with the aim to promote scientific cooperation in the area of construction materials and structures. The mission of the association is to advance scientific knowledge related to construction materials, systems and structures and to encourage transfer and application of this knowledge world-wide.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>