Advanced Marine Structures by
Due in part to a growing demand for offshore oil and gas exploration, the development of marine structures that initially started onshore is now moving into deeper offshore areas. Designers are discovering a need to revisit basic concepts as they anticipate the response behavior of marine structures to increased water depths. Providing a simplified approach to the subject, Advanced Marine Structures explains the fundamentals and advanced concepts of marine architecture introduces various types of offshore platforms, and outlines the different stages of marine structure analysis and design.
Advanced Mechanics of Materials and Applied Elasticity by
The revised edition balances discussions of advanced solid mechanics, elasticity theory, classical analysis, and computer-oriented approaches that facilitate solutions when problems resist conventional analysis. It illustrates applications with case studies, worked examples, and problems drawn from modern applications, preparing readers for both advanced study and practice.
Readers will find updated coverage of analysis and design principles, fatigue criteria, fracture mechanics, compound cylinders, rotating disks, 3-D Mohr's circles, energy and variational methods, buckling of various columns, common shell types, inelastic materials behavior, and more. The text addresses the use of new materials in bridges, buildings, automobiles, submarines, ships, aircraft, and spacecraft. It offers significantly expanded coverage of stress concentration factors and contact stress developments.
Analysis and Design of Marine Structures by 
Callister's Materials Science and Engineering by 
Design and Analysis of Composite Structures by
Design and Analysis of Composite Structures: With Applications to Aerospace Structures, 2nd Edition builds on the first edition and includes two new chapters on composite fittings and the design of a composite panel, as well additional exercises. The book enables graduate students and engineers to generate meaningful and robust designs of complex composite structures. A compilation of analysis and design methods for structural components made of advanced composites, it begins with simple parts such as skins and stiffeners and progresses through to applications such as entire components of fuselages and wings. It provides a link between theory and day-to-day design practice, using theory to derive solutions that are applicable to specific structures and structural details used in industry.
Durability of Composites in a Marine Environment 2 by 
Dynamics of Structures: Theory and Applications to Earthquake Engineering by
Structural dynamics and earthquake engineering for both students and professional engineers An expert on structural dynamics and earthquake engineering, Anil K. Chopra fills an important niche, explaining the material in a manner suitable for both students and professional engineers with his fifth edition, in SI units of Dynamics of Structures: Theory and Applications to Earthquake Engineering. No prior knowledge of structural dynamics is assumed, and the presentation is detailed and integrated enough to make the text suitable for self-study.
Engineering Materials by 
Fatigue Design of Marine Structures by
Fatigue Design of Marine Structures provides students and designers with a theoretical and practical background for fatigue design of marine structures including sailing ships, offshore structures for oil and gas production, and other welded structures subject to dynamic loading such as wind turbine structures.
Foundations of Materials Science and Engineering by Frontiers in Aerospace Science, Vol. 1: Aerospace Structures and Materials by
This comprehensive volume presents a wide spectrum of information about the design, analysis and manufacturing of aerospace structures and materials. Readers will find an interesting compilation of reviews covering several topics such as structural dynamics and impact simulation, acoustic and vibration testing and analysis, fatigue analysis and life optimization, reversing design methodology, non-destructive evaluation, remotely piloted helicopters, surface enhancement of aerospace alloys, manufacturing of metal matrix composites, applications of carbon nanotubes in aircraft material design, carbon fiber reinforcements, variable stiffness composites, aircraft material selection, and much more. This volume is a key reference for graduates undertaking advanced courses in materials science and aeronautical engineering as well as researchers and professional engineers seeking to increase their understanding of aircraft material selection and design
Introduction to Aerospace Materials by
The structural materials used in airframe and propulsion systems influence the cost, performance and safety of aircraft, and an understanding of the wide range of materials used and the issues surrounding them is essential for the student of aerospace engineering.Introduction to aerospace materials reviews the main structural and engine materials used in aircraft, helicopters and spacecraft in terms of their production, properties, performance and applications.
The Mechanics of Engineering Structures by
Engineering structures considered include bars, columns, struts, tubes, vessels, beams, springs and frames. The loadings imposed upon them are, typically, tension, compression and shear, bending, torsion and pressure, separately and in combination. The mechanics of such structures examine the manner in which they each bear their respective loading in a safe predictable way. This aids design considerations upon choice of material and its physical shape when seeking, say, a safe design with low weight. The presentation of chapters is intended to guide the reader from a basic to more advanced understanding of common engineering structures. Thus, the consideration of stress and strain under elastic and plastic conditions is required for a full understanding of a structure that may bend, twist and buckle as it is deflected by its loading. The approach adopted is to intersperse theory with examples and exercises that emphasise practical application. Standard analytical techniques including stress transformation, energy methods and yield criteria precede a final chapter on finite element analysis.
Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures by
Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures, ASCE/SEI 7-10, provides requirements for general structural design and includes means for determining dead, live, soil, flood, snow, rain, atmospheric ice, earthquake, and wind loads, as well as their combinations, which are suitable for inclusion in building codes and other documents.
Morphing Aerospace Vehicles and Structures by
Morphing Aerospace Vehicles and Structures provides a highly timely presentation of the state-of-the-art, future directions and technical requirements of morphing aircraft. Divided into three sections it addresses morphing aircraft, bio-inspiration, and smart structures with specific focus on the flight control, aerodynamics, bio-mechanics, materials, and structures of these vehicles as well as power requirements and the use of advanced piezo materials and smart actuators. The tutorial approach adopted by the contributors, including underlying concepts and mathematical formulations, unifies the methodologies and tools required to provide practicing engineers and applied researchers with the insight to synthesize morphing air vehicles and morphing structures, as well as offering direction for future research.
Polymer Composites in the Aerospace Industry by
Polymer composites are increasingly used in aerospace applications due to properties such as strength and durability compared to weight. Edited by two leading authorities in the field, this book summarises key recent research on design, manufacture and performance of composite components for aerospace structures. Part one reviews the design and manufacture of different types of composite component. Part two discusses aspects of performance such as stiffness, strength, fatigue, impact and blast behaviour, response to temperature and humidity as well as non-destructive testing and monitoring techniques.
Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain by
This title is designed for engineers and analysts working with calculations of loads and stress. It includes information on joints, bearing and shear stress, experimental stress analysis, and stress concentrations.
The Science and Engineering of Materials by
Filled with built-in learning tools, including chapter introductions and end-of-chapter summaries, glossaries, and design problems, this book can help you develop an understanding of the relationship between structure, processing, and properties of materials
Smart Composite Coatings and Membranes by 
Wave Mechanics and Wave Loads on Marine Structures by
Wave Mechanics and Wave Loads on Marine Structures provides a new perspective on the calculation of wave forces on ocean structures, unifying the deterministic and probabilistic approaches to wave theory and combining the methods used in field and experimental measurement. Presenting his quasi-determinism (QD) theory and approach of using small-scale field experiments (SSFEs), author Paolo Boccotti simplifies the findings and techniques honed in his ground-breaking work to provide engineers and researchers with practical new methods of analysis.