LibGuides: Surface, Undersea and Weapon Vehicle Materials and Manufacturing Technology: Essentials

Journals

Naval Engineers Journal The peer-reviewed journal of the American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE). ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.
Ocean Engineering Ocean Engineering provides a medium for the publication of original research and development work in this field.
Mechanics of Advanced Materials and Structures ISSN: 1537-6494 | eISSN: 1537-6532 The central aim of Mechanics of Advanced Materials and Structures ( MAMS) is to promote the dissemination of significant developments and publish state-of-the-art reviews and technical discussions of previously published papers dealing with mechanics aspects of advanced materials and structures. Refereed contributions describing analytical, numerical, and experimental methods and hybrid approaches that combine theoretical and experimental techniques in the study of advanced materials and structures are published, along with critical surveys of the literature and discussions of papers in the field.
SAE International Journal of Materials and Manufacturing ISSN: 1946-3979 | eISSN: 1946-3987 The SAE International Journal of Materials and Manufacturing publishes peer-reviewed, authoritative, and in-depth research in the areas of materials, design, and manufacturing. In addition to analytical findings, the Journal addresses integration and implementation of scientific and engineering practices that advance the state of the art and benefit society
Journal of Manufacturing and Materials Processing eISSN: 2504-4494 Journal of Manufacturing and Materials Processing is an international peer-reviewed open access journal on the scientific fundamentals and engineering methodologies of manufacturing and materials processing published quarterly online by MDPI.
Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology ISSN: 0094-4289 | eISSN: 1528-8889 The Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology covers a broad spectrum of issues regarding experimental, computational, and theoretical studies of mechanical properties of materials, as well as mechanics of materials issues in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, biomaterials, and nanostructured materials.
CIRP Journal of Manufacturing Science and Technology ISSN: 1755-5817 The CIRP Journal of Manufacturing Science and Technology (CIRP-JMST) publishes fundamental papers on manufacturing processes, production equipment and automation, product design, manufacturing systems and production organisations up to the level of the production networks, including all the related technical, human and economic factors.
IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics ISSN: 1083-4435 | eISSN: 1941-014X IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics publishes high quality technical papers on technological advances in mechatronics. A primary purpose of the IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics is to have an archival publication which encompasses both theory and practice. Papers published in the IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics disclose significant new knowledge needed to implement intelligent mechatronics systems, from analysis and design through simulation and hardware and software implementation. The Transactions also contains a letters section dedicated to rapid publication of short correspondence items concerning new research results

Databases

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Jane's Resource Portal This portal provides access to the following Jane's resources: Jane's Fighting Ships Jane's Unmanned Maritime Vehicles C4ISR & Mission Systems: Maritime Jane's Defense Weekly Jane's Weapons: Naval Jane's High-Speed Marine Transportation Jane's Marine Propulsion
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.
Worldwide Science A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals, WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

Websites

American Bureau of Shipping Founded in 1862, ABS is a global leader in providing classification services for marine and offshore assets. Our mission is to serve the public interest as well as the needs of our members and clients by promoting the security of life and property and preserving the natural environment. ABS’ commitment to safety, reliability and efficiency is ever-present. ABS continues to lead in industry safety metrics – including a record three-year achievement for zero lost time work-related incidents for 2017 - 2019.
Maritime: Shipbuilding + Repair Given its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean, and vast network of smaller waterways, the Hampton Roads region has a long and reputable history in shipbuilding. It is home to several world-renowned shipyards, including Norfolk Naval Shipyard and Huntington Ingalls - Newport News Shipyard, the largest shipbuilder in the United States and only manufacturer of nuclear aircraft carriers in the world.
MARSTRUCT Virtual Institute The MARSTRUCT Virtual Institute has been founded by the partners of MARSTRUCT - Network of Excellence in Marine Structures and it is constituted by European Universities, Classification Societies and other Institutions dealing with Marine Structures. The overall objective of the Virtual Institute is to improve the safety, effectiveness, reliability, environmental behavior and comfort of ship structures through the application of advanced structural and reliability assessment within design, fabrication and operation, leading to increased public and commercial confidence in the competitiveness and use of waterborne transportation.
MIT Center for Ocean Engineering The Design Laboratory of the MIT Department of Ocean Engineering was founded in 1972 by Prof. Chryssostomos Chryssostomidis. The laboratory's research has centered on Ship Design, Offshore Structure Design, Marine Robotics, Geometric and Solid Modeling, Advanced Manufacturing, Distributed Information Systems, Computational Geometry, Shipbuilding, Producibility, and Life Cycle issues. Since January 2005, the Design Laboratory has been under Department of Mechanical Engineering.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. OSTI provides access to DOE STI through a suite of web-based, searchable discovery tools and through other commonly used search engines, offering ever-expanding sources of R&D information to DOE, the research community, and the science-attentive public.
Shipbuilding and Advanced Manufacturing Institute The Shipbuilding and Advanced Manufacturing Institute (SAMI) was established by New England Institute of Technology (NEIT) to train workers hired by regional manufacturers

Books

Advanced Materials Processing and Manufacturing : Research, Technology, and Applications by Amogelang Sylvester Bolokang, Maria Ntsoaki Mathabathe This book describes the operations and industrial processes related to the production of advanced materials including ingot and powder metallurgy processing routes. It outlines the deformation processing mechanisms inducing failure at both ambient and high temperatures. Further, it embodies practical knowledge and engineering mechanisms of traditional and unorthodox material disposal approaches, concurrently with gear cutting/ manufacturing and computer numerically controlled machining. The surface fusion of metals in the production of coatings via the process of laser cladding is also covered. Features: Covers novel and multi-variety techniques of materials processing and manufacturing. Reports on the significant variables of the processes and basic operations of advanced materials. Discusses fundamental and engineering machining analysis. Includes novel fabrication of TiAl alloys using both powder and ingot metallurgy routes. Enables critical thinking through technical problem solving of local service manufacturers. This book is aimed at researchers and graduate students in materials and manufacturing engineering.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781003356714
Publication Date: 2023-10-02
Principles of marine vessel design : concepts and design fundamentals of sea going vessels by Prasanta Sahoo The aim and scope of this book primarily deals with conceptual design of sea-going marine vessels. While there are a few books on similar topics available to the reader, this book takes a different approach to address the developments of many different types of vessels. Of significant interest would be the estimation of principal parameters of such as vessels and the various coefficients required for design purposes. These parameters are obviously not readily available without carrying out an extensive search and background study. Hopefully, this textbook may be of relevance to designers and career naval architects who need a reference to initiate the design process.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9789811229947
Publication Date: 2021-04-01

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society of Civil Engineers ASCE is a leading provider of technical and professional conferences and continuing education, the world’s largest publisher of civil engineering content, and an authoritative source for codes and standards that protect the public.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods. Founded in 1880 by a small group of leading industrialists, ASME has grown through the decades to include more than 130,000 members in 151 countries. Thirty-two thousand of these members are students.
American Society of Naval Engineers
American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) Organized in 1898, ASTM International is one of the world's largest international standards developing organizations. Defined and set by us, ASTM standards improve the lives of millions every day. Combined with our innovative business services, they enhance performance and help everyone have confidence in the things they buy and use - from the toy in a child's hand to the aircraft overhead. By understanding commercial needs and consumer priorities, we touch every part of everyday life - helping our world work better.
ASM International ASM International is the preeminent association for engaging and connecting materials professionals and their organizations to the resources necessary to solve problems, improve outcomes, and advance society.
Marine Technology Society MTS is the leading international community of ocean engineers, technologists, policy makers, and educators. We promote awareness, understanding, advancement and application of marine technology. Let us show you how an MTS membership can support your work and connect you with other leaders in the field.
Materials Research Society The Materials Research Society (MRS) is an organization of materials researchers worldwide that promotes communication for the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research and technology to improve the quality of life.
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>