Additive Manufacturing by
Special topic volume with invited peer-reviewed papers only
Advanced Materials Processing and Manufacturing : Research, Technology, and Applications by
This book describes the operations and industrial processes related to the production of advanced materials including ingot and powder metallurgy processing routes. It outlines the deformation processing mechanisms inducing failure at both ambient and high temperatures. Further, it embodies practical knowledge and engineering mechanisms of traditional and unorthodox material disposal approaches, concurrently with gear cutting/ manufacturing and computer numerically controlled machining. The surface fusion of metals in the production of coatings via the process of laser cladding is also covered. Features: Covers novel and multi-variety techniques of materials processing and manufacturing. Reports on the significant variables of the processes and basic operations of advanced materials. Discusses fundamental and engineering machining analysis. Includes novel fabrication of TiAl alloys using both powder and ingot metallurgy routes. Enables critical thinking through technical problem solving of local service manufacturers. This book is aimed at researchers and graduate students in materials and manufacturing engineering.
Composite Materials by
The book focuses on the triad of processing, structure, and properties, while providing a well-balanced treatment of the materials science and mechanics of composites. In this edition of Composite Materials, revised and updated throughout, increasing use of composites in industry (especially aerospace and energy) and new developments in the field are highlighted. New material on the advances in non-conventional composites (which covers polymer, metal and ceramic matrix nanocomposites), self-healing composites, self-reinforced composites, biocomposites and laminates made of metals and polymer matrix composites is included.
Design of Mechanical Elements by
Design of Mechanical Elements provides a basic introduction to mechanical design considerations and calculations without overwhelming students with extraneous information. Developed for readers who are encountering the topic for the first time, the book is divided into three parts: the first covers basic design techniques and concepts such as material selection, statistical considerations, tolerances, and safety factors; the second part covers the strength of materials in the context of the design of mechanical elements, including simple and dynamic loading problems; and the third part combines the techniques covered in previous chapters to explain the design of common mechanical elements like shafts, bolted joints, welded joints, bearings, and gears. Each chapter opens with an overview of key terminology followed by an explanation of the underlying physics involved with the mechanical design problems that will be covered in the chapter. Best procedures for solving each problem are discussed and illustrated with worked examples and end-of-chapter practice problems
Essentials of Materials Science and Engineering by 
Functional and Smart Materials by
his book presents a comprehensive and broad-spectrum picture of the state-of-the-art research, development, and commercial prospective of various discoveries conducted in the real-world of functional and smart materials. The book presents the various synthesis and fabrication route of functional and smart materials for universal applications such as material science, mechanical engineering, manufacturing, metrology, nanotechnology, physics, chemical, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, and food science.
An Integrated Approach to Materials Science and Engineering by
This book is a valuable compilation of topics, ranging from the basic to the most complex advancements in the field of materials science and engineering. Different approaches, evaluations, methodologies and advanced studies in this discipline have been included in it.
Introduction to Materials Science and Engineering by
Updated to reflect the many societal and technological changes in the field since publication of the first edition, Introduction to Materials Science and Engineering, Second Edition offers an interdisciplinary view, emphasizing the importance of materials to engineering applications, and builds the basis needed to select, modify, and create materials to meet specific criteria. Written for advanced undergraduate students and readers interested in introductory materials science and engineering concepts, this concise textbook provides a strong foundation in MSE and its applications. The textbook offers a solutions manual and PowerPoint lecture slides for adopting professors.
Light Weight Materials by
his book provides researchers and students with an overview of the recent advancements in light weight material processing, manufacturing and characterization. It contains chapters by eminent researchers on topics associated with light weight materials, including on the current buzzword "composite materials". First, this book describes the current status of light weight materials. Then, it studies applications of these materials, given that, as the densities vary, so do the applications, ranging from automobiles and aviation to bio-mechatronics. This book will therefore serve as an excellent guide to this field
Mechanical Design and Manufacturing of Electric Motors by
This Second Edition of Mechanical Design and Manufacturing of Electric Motors provides in-depth knowledge of design methods and developments of electric motors in the context of rapid increases in energy consumption, and emphasis on environmental protection, alongside new technology in 3D printing, robots, nanotechnology, and digital techniques, and the challenges these pose to the motor industry. From motor classification and design of motor components to model setup and material and bearing selections, this comprehensive text covers the fundamentals of practical design and design-related issues, modeling and simulation, engineering analysis, manufacturing processes, testing procedures, and performance characteristics of electric motors today.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by
This updated edition includes new material on tolerancing, alternative approaches to design, and robotics, as well as references to the latest ISO and US engineering regulations. Sections cover bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements. This practical handbook is an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries.
Polymer Nanocomposite-Based Smart Materials by
This book provides a broad, comprehensive review on all major categories of smart materials and their preparation routes. The main application fields and properties for these diverse types of smart polymer-based composite and nanocomposite materials are also discussed. Chapters on modeling methods and simulation look at the physical or chemical change response that is introduced by the effect of changing environmental conditions such as pH, temperature, mechanical force and light. Written by scholars and experts from around the globe, the book covers key aspects, such as synthesis, processing and applications of polymer and nanocomposite-based smart materials.
Polymers Coatings by
The explores the cutting-edge technology of polymer coatings. It discusses fundamentals, fabrication strategies, characterization techniques, and allied applications in fields such as corrosion, food, pharmaceutical, biomedical systems and electronics.
Principles of marine vessel design : concepts and design fundamentals of sea going vessels by
The aim and scope of this book primarily deals with conceptual design of sea-going marine vessels. While there are a few books on similar topics available to the reader, this book takes a different approach to address the developments of many different types of vessels. Of significant interest would be the estimation of principal parameters of such as vessels and the various coefficients required for design purposes. These parameters are obviously not readily available without carrying out an extensive search and background study. Hopefully, this textbook may be of relevance to designers and career naval architects who need a reference to initiate the design process.
Ship Construction and Welding by
This book addresses various aspects of ship construction, from ship types and construction materials, to welding technologies and accuracy control. Various fusion welding methods, MMAW, GMAW, SAW, Electroslag welding and Electrogas welding and single side welding are explained in detail.
Smart Coatings by
Smart Coatings: Fundamentals, Developments, and Applications focuses on fundamentals, technology, synthesis, and characterizations, applying techniques from a practical point of view of coatings. The first three chapters offers a rigorous review about the application of these coatings to corrosion protection of the material in various aerospace, oil and gas industries while following chapters presents the quick critical review and state of art protection techniques of these coatings to novel biomedical applications such as clinical translations and tissue engineered materials. Environmental, ergonomics, aesthetic aspects and future perspectives are also explained.
Steel Design by
Covers the fundamentals of structural steel design with an emphasis on the design of members and their connections, rather than the integrated design of buildings.
A treatise on corrosion science, engineering and technology by
This volume elaborates on various corrosion processes in different applications and their prevention strategies. It comprehensively covers the principles of corrosion, engineering issues, methods of corrosion protection and defines corrosion processes and control in select aggressive end industrial environments. The contents especially focus on corrosion issues in nuclear, aerospace, marine, high temperature, bioimplants, automobile, and addresses the application of advanced materials to mitigate them. A special section on corrosion prevention strategies with innovative solutions to resolve corrosion issues in various environments is the highlight of this book.