Adhesive bonding of aircraft composite structures : non-destructive testing and quality assurance concepts by
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. It presents the results of the ComBoNDT European project, which aimed at the development of more secure, time- and cost-saving extended non-destructive inspection tools for carbon fiber reinforced plastics, adhered surfaces and bonded joints. The book reports the optimal use of composite materials to allow weight savings, reduction in fuel consumptions, savings during production and higher cost efficiency for ground operations
ASM Handbook, Volume 8: Mechanical Testing and Evaluation by
This book is ASM's standard reference on the mechanical characteristics and testing of metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. Understand the basics of mechanical behavior with in-depth coverage on testing methods for those materials. Comparative mechanical properties and the mechanical characteristics of metals, plastics, and ceramics are included throughout for general reference.
ASM Handbook, Volume 11 by
It covers fatigue and fracture, distortion, corrosion, and wear as well as the practices of systematic failure analysis and the essential tools and techniques. It describes the phenomenological characteristics of many forms of failure, explaining how they are observed and what they reveal about the design, manufacturing, and service history of failed components and the materials from which they are made. It presents examples probing the underlying mechanisms of ductile and brittle fracture, fatigue, monotonic overload, creep and stress rupture, pitting, crevice corrosion, stress-corrosion cracking, high-temperature corrosion, liquid metal embrittlement, and hydrogen damage as well as abrasive and adhesive wear, fretting, erosive and corrosive wear, impact wear, rolling contact, and liquid impingement erosion. It explains how to measure or otherwise assess composition, microstructure, mechanical properties, fracture surfaces, and stress states, and how to interpret data and observations in the context of process, structure, property, performance relationships.
ASM Handbook, Volume 13A: Corrosion Fundamentals, Testing and Protection by
The first book in a two-volume revision of the 1987 Metals Handbook, 9th edition, addresses the needs of the global technical community for current information. Chapters on fundamentals cover the theory of aqueous and gaseous corrosion from thermodynamic and kinetic perspectives, while chapters on forms of corrosion tell how to recognize different types and the forces that influence them. Testing and evaluation methods are addressed as are methods of protection and topics related to redesigning for corrosion control and prevention. A section on tools for the corrosionist provides conventions and definitions, information sources and databases, and information on analytical instruments.
Cybersecurity Attacks ,Äì Red Team Strategies by
This book will guide you through the stages of building a red team program, including strategies and homefield advantage opportunities to boost security. The book starts by guiding you through establishing, managing, and measuring a red team program, including effective ways for sharing results and findings to raise awareness. Gradually, you'll learn about progressive operations such as cryptocurrency mining, focused privacy testing, targeting telemetry, and even blue team tooling. Later, you'll discover knowledge graphs and how to build them, then become well-versed with basic to advanced techniques related to hunting for credentials, and learn to automate Microsoft Office and browsers to your advantage. Finally, you'll get to grips with protecting assets using decoys, auditing, and alerting with examples for major operating systems.
Cybersecurity Test and Evaluation Guidebook, Version 2.0 by
This book provides guidelines for recognizing types of corrosion, as well as the fundamentals of testing. It provides the most recent technologies for making calculations, interpretations, and correlations, and serves as a source book for procedures, equipment, and standards used in testing.
Department of Defense Test & Evaluation Management Guide, 6th Edition by
The TEMG is intended primarily for use in courses at DAU and secondarily as a generic desk reference
for program and project management, and T&E personnel. It is written for current and potential
acquisition management personnel and assumes some familiarity with basic terms, definitions, and
processes as employed by the DoD acquisition process. The TEMG is designed to assist Government
and industry personnel in executing their management responsibilities relative to the T&E support of
defense systems and facilitate learning during DAU coursework.
Although the TEMG includes some references to DoD policies, it is not a policy document and should not
be viewed as such.
Motion-Induced Eddy Current Techniques for Non-Destructive Testing and Evaluation by
The book, consisting of 6 chapters, studies motion-induced eddy current techniques for non-destructive testing and evaluation by considering: forward simulation methods; sensors for MIECT; experiments and LET measurements; and Lorentz force evaluation and non-destructive applications.
Non-destructive materials characterization and evaluation by
This book is devoted to non-destructive materials characterization (NDMC) using different non-destructive evaluation techniques. It presents theoretical basis, physical understanding, and technological developments in the field of NDMC with suitable examples for engineering and materials science applications. It is written for engineers and researchers in R&D, design, production, quality assurance, and non-destructive testing and evaluation. The relevance of NDMC is to achieve higher reliability, safety, and productivity for monitoring production processes and also for in-service inspections for detection of degradations, which are often precursors of macro-defects and failure of components. Ultrasonic, magnetic, electromagnetic and X-rays based NDMC techniques are discussed in detail with brief discussions on electron and positron based techniques.
Non-Destructive Testing and Condition Monitoring Techniques for Renewable Energy Industrial Assets by
Non-Destructive Testing and Condition Monitoring Techniques for Renewable Energy Industrial Assets integrates state-of-the-art information and discusses future developments and their significance to the improvement of the renewable energy industry. Renewable energy assets are complex systems with several critical components that require inspection and adequate maintenance in order to ensure their high availability and uninterrupted operation. This is the first book to apply NDT and condition monitoring to these complex systems.
Nondestructive testing and evaluation of fiber-reinforced composite structures by
This book presents a detailed description of the most common nondestructive testing(NDT) techniques used for the testing and evaluation fiber-reinforced composite structures, during manufacturing and/or in service stages. In order to facilitate the understanding and the utility of the different NDT techniques presented, the book first provides some information regarding the defects and material degradation mechanisms observed in fiber-reinforced composite structures as well as their general description and most probable causes. It is written based on the extensive scientific research and engineering backgrounds of the authors in the NDT and structural health monitoring (SHM) of structural systems from various areas including electrical, mechanical, materials, civil and biomedical engineering.
Novel Approaches for Nondestructive Testing and Evaluation by
Nondestructive testing and evaluation (NDT&E) is one of the most important techniques for determining the quality and safety of materials, components, devices, and structures. NDT&E technologies include ultrasonic testing (UT), magnetic particle testing (MT), magnetic flux leakage testing (MFLT), eddy current testing (ECT), radiation testing (RT), penetrant testing (PT), and visual testing (VT), and these are widely used throughout the modern industry.
Reliability Growth by
A high percentage of defense systems fail to meet their reliability requirements. This is a serious problem for the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD), as well as the nation. Those systems are not only less likely to successfully carry out their intended missions, but they also could endanger the lives of the operators. Furthermore, reliability failures discovered after deployment can result in costly and strategic delays and the need for expensive redesign, which often limits the tactical situations in which the system can be used. Reliability Growth evaluates these recent changes and, more generally, assesses how current DOD principles and practices could be modified to increase the likelihood that defense systems will satisfy their reliability requirements.
Risk Modeling by
Providing up-to-date coverage of the practical application of current modelling techniques in risk management, this real-world guide also explores new opportunities and challenges associated with implementing machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI) into the risk management process. Authors Terisa Roberts and Stephen Tonna provide readers with a clear understanding about the strengths and weaknesses of machine learning and AI while explaining how they can be applied to both everyday risk management problems and to evaluate the financial impact of extreme events such as global pandemics and changes in climate. Throughout the text, the authors clarify misconceptions about the use of machine learning and AI techniques using clear explanations while offering step-by-step advice for implementing the technologies into an organization's risk management model governance framework
Security Controls Evaluation, Testing, and Assessment Handbook by
Security Controls Evaluation, Testing, and Assessment Handbook, Second Edition, provides a current and well-developed approach to evaluate and test IT security controls to prove they are functioning correctly. This handbook discusses the world of threats and potential breach actions surrounding all industries and systems. Sections cover how to take FISMA, NIST Guidance, and DOD actions, while also providing a detailed, hands-on guide to performing assessment events for information security professionals in US federal agencies. This handbook uses the DOD Knowledge Service and the NIST Families assessment guides as the basis for needs assessment, requirements and evaluation efforts.
Structural materials : behavior, testing and evaluation by
This book discusses the properties, characterization procedures, and analysis techniques of various structural materials. It presents the latest design considerations and uses of engineering materials as well as theories for fully understanding them through numerous worked mathematical examples. The book gradually builds the concept of materials and the principles of material classifications and their response to different physical disturbances, and finally, about the selection methods based upon the test results of the standard methods to choose appropriate materials for various engineering applications. The principles and related theories predicting the response of different structural materials are introduced in a concise and logical manner. A number of illustrations and examples are also given in all chapters for the help of potential readers. The book will be useful for practicing engineers, researchers, and students in the area of civil engineering, especially structural engineering and allied fields
Test and Evaluation Challenges in Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Systems for the Department of the Air Force by
The Department of the Air Force (DAF) is in the early stages of incorporating modern artificial intelligence (AI) technologies into its systems and operations. The integration of AI-enabled capabilities across the DAF will accelerate over the next few years. At the request of DAF Air and Space Forces, this report examines the Air Force Test Center technical capabilities and capacity to conduct rigorous and objective tests, evaluations, and assessments of AI-enabled systems under operational conditions and against realistic threats. This report explores both the opportunities and challenges inherent in integrating AI at speed and at scale across the DAF.