Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of recent novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) infection, their biology and associated challenges for their treatment and prevention of novel Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Discussing various aspects of COVID-19 infection, including global epidemiology, genome organization, immunopathogenesis, transmission cycle, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and control strategies, it highlights host-pathogen interactions, host immune response, and pathogen immune invasion strategies toward developing an immune intervention or preventive vaccine for COVID-19.
Diagnostic Strategies for Coronavirus (COVID-19) and Other Coronaviruses Infections by
This book provides fundamental information on various techniques for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 including reverse transcriptase (RT) PCR, loop-mediated isothermal amplification, immunodiagnostic tests, and CRISPR-Cas. It reviews various testing kits and detection methodologies that are currently being used for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 and examines strategies for the post-treatment detection and monitoring of SARS-CoV-2. Further, it assesses the diagnostic potential of several SARS-CoV-2 proteins; and analyzes their structural determinants and immunogenicity.
Eradication: Ridding the World of Diseases Forever? by
How shall we improve human health? One answer is: by eradication. The Gates Foundation announced in 2007 that their goal is malaria eradication; another of their priorities is polio eradication. Eradication means the complete elimination of a disease through deliberate human intervention. It stands for an absolute in public health.
This book by the award-winning historian of medicine Nancy Leys Stepan is an accessible, beautifully written, and deeply researched examination of one of the most controversial issues in public health today. The eradication of disease might seem like an absolute good. But critics of eradication argue that the huge resources needed to achieve eradication could be better allocated toward developing primary health services and general improvement in health.
Essentials of Health Policy and Law by
Essentials of Health Policy and Law, Third Edition provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with answers to and analytic frameworks for these complex questions, including in-depth discussions of the essential policy and legal issues impacting and flowing out of the healthcare and public health systems and the way health policies and laws are formulated. Concise and straightforward, this textbook is an introduction to the seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, with a particular focus on national health reform under the Affordable Care Act (ACA).
The Great Influenza: The Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague in History by
Magisterial in its breadth of perspective and depth of research, The Great Influenza provides us with a precise and sobering model as we confront the epidemics looming on our own horizon. As Barry concludes, "The final lesson of 1918, a simple one yet one most difficult to execute, is that...those in authority must retain the public's trust. The way to do that is to distort nothing, to put the best face on nothing, to try to manipulate no one. Lincoln said that first, and best. A leader must make whatever horror exists concrete. Only then will people be able to break it apart."
Health Care Reform Simplified by
Health Care Reform Simplified, Second Edition, outlines the financial impact of the law and how it affects businesses, insurers, hospitals and doctors, and state and local governments. Most important, this book gives consumers and employers critical information for making informed choices about new options for private and public health insurance coverage. It also describes how the law interacts with Medicare and Medicaid. Finally, it looks at the potential roadblocks—political, judicial, and economic—that may yet derail some of the provisions. But with more than half of the Act's provisions in force already, and the Supreme Court's landmark decision upholding the law, there is no time to lose in understanding how the legislation affects you whether you are a consumer or deliverer of health care in the U.S.
Health Promotion Programs by
This book combines theory and practice to deliver a comprehensive introduction to the planning, implementation, and evaluation of health promotion programs. Presenting an overview of best practices from schools, health care organizations, workplaces, and communities, this book offers clear, practical guidance with an emphasis on hands-on learning. This new second edition has been updated to include discussion on today's important issues, including health equity, the Affordable Care Act, big data, E-health, funding, legislation, financing, and more.
Mental Health and Social Issues Following a Nuclear Accident by
This book focuses on mental health issues arising in the wake of the Fukushima nuclear disaster. Three years after the 11 March 2011 Great East Japan Earthquake, tsunamis, and Fukushima Daiichi nuclear accident, roughly 130,000 individuals continue to face enormous burdens as a result of mandatory evacuation. Many evacuees still live in temporary housing, and returning home remains a distant dream as they wait for the decontamination of the danger zone to be completed. However, the plant recovery process is still evolving, and the complete cleanup will take decades. Beyond all of these hardships, many evacuees are also mourning the loss of their loved ones. The compound disaster with its many uncertainties poses and will continue to pose serious emotional and social challenges. People affected by the nuclear disaster have been facing serious psychological challenges from ongoing fear of radiation exposure. Furthermore, there is continuing debate between various stakeholders on the options for disaster responses. This situation in turn produces adverse public responses, such as discrimination and stigmatization of the evacuees and scapegoating of the authorities and nuclear plant workers. Mental Health and Social Issues Following a Nuclear Accident addresses these issues and their impacts, pursuing both evidence-based and narrative-based approaches. It also contrasts the Fukushima findings with those of other nuclear disasters, namely, Three Mile Island and Chernobyl.
Nuclear, Chemical, and Biological Terrorism: Emergency Response and Public Protection by
Focusing on nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons, this book provides guidance on measures that should be taken to protect human lives from terrorist activities. It contains a historical summary of the development and use of these weapons and a discussion of the types of radiation and warfare agents that are available.
Pale Rider: The Spanish Flu of 1918 and How It Changed the World by
The Spanish flu of 1918-1920 was one of the greatest human disasters of all time. It infected a third of the people on Earth--from the poorest immigrants of New York City to the king of Spain, Franz Kafka, Mahatma Gandhi and Woodrow Wilson. But despite a death toll of between 50 and 100 million people, it exists in our memory as an afterthought to World War I.
In this gripping narrative history, Laura Spinney traces the overlooked pandemic to reveal how the virus travelled across the globe, exposing mankind's vulnerability and putting our ingenuity to the test. As socially significant as both world wars, the Spanish flu dramatically disrupted--and often permanently altered--global politics, race relations and family structures, while spurring innovation in medicine, religion and the arts.
Physical and Biological Hazards of the Workplace by
This classic reference covers both physical hazards and biological agents. It provides updated information on protecting workers from proven and possible health risks from manual material handling, extremes of temperature and pressure, ionizing and non-ionizing (magnetic fields) radiation, shiftwork, and more; Details major changes in our understanding of biological hazards including Ebola, Chikungunya, Zika, HIV, Hepatitis C, Lyme disease, MERS-CoV, TB, and much more
All infectious diseases have been updated from an occupational health perspective; and includes practical guidance on to how to set up medical surveillance for hazards and suggests preventive measures that can be used to reduce occupational diseases.
Public Health Risk Assessment for Human Exposure to Chemicals by
This book provides a concise, yet comprehensive overview of the many facets relating to human health risk assessments in relation to chemical exposure problems. It presents some very important tools and methodologies that can be used to address chemical exposure and public health risk management problems in a consistent, efficient, and cost-effective manner.
