Computer-Aided Vaccine Design by
Computational pre-screening of antigens is now routinely applied to the discovery of vaccine candidates. Computer-aided vaccine design is a comprehensive introduction to this exciting field of study. The book is intended to be a textbook for researchers and for courses in bioinformatics, as well as a laboratory reference guide. It is written mainly for biologists who want to understand the current methods of computer-aided vaccine design. The contents are designed to help biologists appreciate the underlying concepts and algorithms used, as well as limitations of the methods and strategies for their use. Chapters include: MHC and T cell responses; Immunoglobulins and B cell responses; Scientific publications and databases; Database design; Computational T cell vaccine design; Computational B cell vaccine design; infectious disease informatics; Vaccine safety and quality assessments; and Vaccine adjuvant informatics.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of recent novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) infection, their biology and associated challenges for their treatment and prevention of novel Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Discussing various aspects of COVID-19 infection, including global epidemiology, genome organization, immunopathogenesis, transmission cycle, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and control strategies, it highlights host-pathogen interactions, host immune response, and pathogen immune invasion strategies toward developing an immune intervention or preventive vaccine for COVID-19.
Diagnostic Strategies for Coronavirus (COVID-19) and Other Coronaviruses Infections by
This book provides fundamental information on various techniques for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 including reverse transcriptase (RT) PCR, loop-mediated isothermal amplification, immunodiagnostic tests, and CRISPR-Cas. It reviews various testing kits and detection methodologies that are currently being used for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 and examines strategies for the post-treatment detection and monitoring of SARS-CoV-2. Further, it assesses the diagnostic potential of several SARS-CoV-2 proteins; and analyzes their structural determinants and immunogenicity.
History of Vaccine Development by
The chapters in this book recount the hard work and detours that are intimately associated with vaccine development and give some sense of the perseverance that gave public health the tools of modern preventive medicine.
Novel Technologies for Vaccine Development by
This book presents a detailed overview of the development of new viral vector-based vaccines before discussing two major applications: preventive vaccines for infectious diseases and therapeutic cancer vaccines.
Practical Aspects of Vaccine Development by
Practical Aspects of Vaccine Development provides an academic and industry perspective on vaccine development and manufacturing. With the increasing complexity of vaccine products in development, there is a need for a comprehensive review of the current state of the industry and challenges being encountered. While formulation scientists working in biotherapeutic development may be familiar with proteins, vaccines present unique challenges. Vaccines include a wide range of components including proteins, polysaccharides, protein-polysaccharide conjugates, adjuvants, and more. The container closure system may also be unique, and the product may require freezing storage or lyophilization based on the stability of the vaccine components. Based on the route of delivery, novel technologies and devices may be required.
Covering formulation development, manufacture, and delivery considerations of vaccine production, this book is essential to formulation scientists, researchers in vaccine development throughout medical and life sciences, and advanced students.
The Vaccine Book by
The Vaccine Book provides comprehensive information on the current and future world of vaccines. It reveals the scientific opportunities and potential impact of vaccines, including economic and ethical challenges, problems encountered when producing vaccines, how clinical vaccine trials are designed, and how to introduce vaccines into widespread use.
Vaccine design. Volume 1, Vaccines for human diseases : methods and protocols by
This volume provides a practical guide providing step-by-step protocol to design and develop vaccines for human diseases. Divided into three volumes, Volume 1: Vaccines for Human Diseases guides readers through an introductory section on future challenges for vaccinologists and the immunological mechanism of vaccines. Chapters focus on design of human vaccines for viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases as well as tumor vaccines. Written in the format of the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, lists necessary materials and reagents, includes tips on troubleshooting and known pitfalls, and step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols. Authoritative and practical, Vaccine Design: Methods and Protocols, Second Edition, Volume 1: Vaccines for Human Diseases aims to be a useful practical guide to researchers to help further their study in this field.
Vaccine design. Volume 2, Vaccines for veterinary diseases : methods and protocols by
This volume provides a practical guide providing step-by-step protocol to explore vaccines for farm and companion animals, as well as for fish and insects. Divided into three volumes, Volume 2: Vaccines for Veterinary Diseases guides readers through veterinary vaccines, vaccines for poultry, vaccines for farm animals, and vaccines for veterinary parasites. Written in the format of the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, lists necessary materials and reagents, includes tips on troubleshooting and known pitfalls, and step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols. Authoritative and practical, Vaccine Design: Methods and Protocols, Second Edition, Volume 2: Vaccines for Veterinary Diseases aims to be a useful practical guide to researchers to help further their study in this field.
Vaccine design. Volume 3, Resources for vaccine development : methods and protocols by
This volume provides a practical guide providing step-by-step methods and protocols on vaccine development and production. Divided into three volumes, Volume 3: Resources for Vaccine Development guides readers through chapters on vaccine adjuvants, vaccine vectors, production, vaccine delivery systems, vaccine bioinformatics, vaccine regulation, and intellectual property. Written in the format of the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, lists necessary materials and reagents, includes tips on troubleshooting and known pitfalls, and step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols. Authoritative and practical, Vaccine Design: Methods and Protocols, Second Edition, Volume 3: Resources for Vaccine Development aims to be a useful practical guide to researchers to help further their study in this field.
Vaccine Development and Manufacturing by
Vaccine Manufacturing and Production is an invaluable reference on how to produce a vaccine - from beginning to end - addressing all classes of vaccines from a processing, production, and regulatory viewpoint. It will provide comprehensive information on the various fields involved in the production of vaccines, from fermentation, purification, formulation, to regulatory filing and facility designs. In recent years, there have been tremendous advances in all aspects of vaccine manufacturing. Improved technology and growth media have been developed for the production of cell culture with high cell density or fermentation. Vaccine Manufacturing and Production will serve as a reference on all aspects of vaccine production by providing an in-depth description of the available technologies for making different types of vaccines and the current thinking in facility designs and supply issues. This book will provide insight to the issues scientists face when producing a vaccine, the steps that are involved, and will serve as a reference tool regarding state-of-the-art vaccine manufacturing technologies and facility set-up.
Viral Vectors in Veterinary Vaccine Development by
This highly accessible textbook introduces readers to the development of viral vectors and discusses their application in veterinary vaccinology. It offers comprehensive information on the latest advances in this emerging research field, together with a broad overview of the history of veterinary vaccines and viral vectors. The book also addresses issues concerning funding, translational research and ethics that will impact the future development, manufacture and global use of viral vector-based veterinary vaccines.
