LibGuides: Additive Manufacturing: Essentials

Journals

3D Printing and Additive Manufacturing This journal provides a comprehensive coverage of academic research and industrial and commercial developments. It also explores emerging challenges and opportunities ranging from new developments of processes and materials, to new simulation and design tools, and informative applications and case studies.
Additive Manufacturing Additive Manufacturing is a peer-reviewed journal that provides academia and world-leading industry with high quality research papers and reviews in additive manufacturing. The journal covers a wide scope, comprising new technologies, processes, methods, materials, systems, and applications in the field of additive manufacturing.
Computer-Aided Design Computer-Aided Design is an international journal that provides academia and industry with key papers on research and developments in the application of computers to design.
International Journal of Additive and Subtractive Materials Manufacturing IJASMM covers the fundamentals of science/engineering of additive and subtractive manufacturing processes/techniques and aspects such as heat transfer, mass transfer, fluid flow, microstructure and phase evolution and development of physical/mechanical/chemical/functional properties.
The International Journal of Advanced Manufacturing Technology This journal bridges the gap between pure research journals and the more practical publications on advanced manufacturing and systems. It is a forum for papers covering applications-based research topics relevant to manufacturing processes, machines and process integration.
Journal of Manufacturing Processes The aim of the Journal of Manufacturing Processes (JMP) is to exchange current and future directions of manufacturing processes research, development and implementation, and to publish archival scholarly literature with a view to advancing state-of-the-art manufacturing processes and encouraging innovation for developing new and efficient processes. The journal will also publish from other research communities for rapid communication of innovative new concepts. Special-topic issues on emerging technologies and invited papers will also be published.
Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance Journal topics include state-of-the-art improvements in materials properties through alloying and the processes of casting, forming, heat treating, surface modification, coating, fabrication, and various new and emerging methods and technologies.
Journal of Materials Processing Technology This journal covers the processing techniques used in manufacturing components from metals and other materials.
Journal of Vinyl and Additive Technology A peer-reviewed technical publication for new work in the fields of polymer modifiers and additives, vinyl polymers and selected review papers.
Materials Materials is an international peer-reviewed, open access journal on materials science and engineering published semimonthly online by MDPI.
Materials & Design This journal includes original research reports, review articles and express communications covering the studies of structure and properties of inorganic and organic materials, advances in synthesis, processing, characterization and testing, design of materials and engineering systems, and applications in technology.
Materials Characterization This journal focuses on characterization techniques, including all forms of microscopy (light, electron, acoustic, etc.) and analysis, especially microanalysis and surface analytical techniques.
Materials Science and Engineering: A This journal provides an international medium for the publication of theoretical and experimental studies related to the load-bearing capacity of materials as influenced by their basic properties, processing history, microstructure and operating environment.
Progress in Additive Manufacturing The journal promotes highly scored scientific investigations and publishes the advances in the processing of different kinds of materials by well-established and new additive manufacturing (AM) technologies.
Progress in Materials Science This journal places emphasis on the fundamental aspects of the subject, particularly those concerning microstructure and nanostructure and their relationship to properties (mechanical, chemical, electrical, magnetic, optical or biomedical) including the atomistic and electronic nature of condensed phases.
Rapid Prototyping Journal Rapid Prototyping Journal is an international journal for research on additive manufacturing and 3D printing.
Smart and Sustainable Manufacturing Systems, ASTM This journal fosters transdisciplinary research that crosses the boundaries of information science, systems engineering and engineering design, manufacturing, and product life cycle with a focus on how to make manufacturing systems smarter and sustainable.
Virtual and Physical Prototyping Virtual and Physical Prototyping provides an international forum for professionals and academics to exchange novel ideas and disseminate knowledge covering the full range of activities related to the multi-disciplinary area of virtual and rapid prototyping.

Object Repositories & Communities

3D Warehouse 3D Warehouse is Google Sketchup's searchable design library.
NASA 3D Resources NASA 3D Reources is a collection of 3D models, textures, and images from inside NASA.
NIH 3D Print Exchange NIH 3D Print exchange is an open, comprehensive, and interactive website for searching, browsing, downloading, and sharing biomedical 3D print files, modeling tutorials, and educational material.
Pinshape Pinshape is an online 3D community and marketplace that allows designers to share their 3D printable designs.
Repables Repables is a 3D printable file repository.
Sketchfab Sketchfab has more than 500,000 free 3D models to discover and download.
Smithsonian X3D At Smithsonian X3D, you can download and print 3D models digitized from the Smithsonian's collection.
Thingiverse Thingiverse is a design community for discovering, making and sharing 3D printable objects. Users can download files of objects that others have made. Several of the objects can be customized and modified.
YouMagine YouMagine is a 3D model repository created by Ultimaker, growing daily and contains some unique 3D models.

Websites

3DPrint.com 3DPrint.com shares latest news from the 3D printing and additive manufacturing industries through investigative reporting, interviews, conferences, and site visits.
3DPrinting.com 3DPrinting provides news coverage, in-depth reporting, product information, and community content about 3D printers and additive manufacturing companies.
3D Printing Industry 3D Printing Industry provides the latest developments in 3D printing and 3D scanning, including technology breakthroughs, latest applications and opinions of industry insiders.
3D Printing Today 3D Printing Today posts the latest trends and technology innovations in the area of military 3D printing.
Additive Manufacturing Additive Manufacturing is a magazine devoted to industrial applications of 3D printing technology.
Metal AM This resource provides metal additive manufacturing and 3D printing industry news, articles and newsletters.
Shapeways Shapeways is a creative community of makers, designers, technologist and entrepreneurs using digital manufacturing and 3D Printing, to bring their ideas to the physical world.

Books

Additive Manufacturing Technology by Kun Zhou (Editor) Provides comprehensive and in-depth knowledge of the latest advances in various additive manufacturing technologies for polymeric materials, metals, multi-materials, functionally graded materials, and cell-laden bio-inks. It also details the application of numerical modeling in facilitating the design and optimization of materials, processes, and printed parts in additive manufacturing
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9783527833917
Publication Date: 2022-12-20
Advances in Metal Additive Manufacturing by Sachin Salunkhe (Editor); Sergio T. Amancio-Filho (Editor); J. Paulo Davim (Editor) Advances in Metal Additive Manufacturing explains fundamental information and the latest research on new technologies, including powder bed fusion, direct energy deposition using high energy beams, and hybrid additive and subtractive methods. This book introduces readers to the technology, provides everything needed to understand how the different stages work together, and inspires to think beyond traditional metal processing to capture new ideas in metal. Chapters offer an introduction on metal additive manufacturing, processes, and properties and standards and then present surveys on the most significant international advances in metal additive manufacturing. Throughout, the book presents a focus on the effect of important process parameters on the microstructure, mechanical properties and wear behavior of additively manufactured parts
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9780323912303
Publication Date: 2022-10-13

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

Additive Manufacturers Green Trade Association The AMGTA seeks to educate the public and industry about positive environmental benefits, promote the adoption of AM as an alternative to traditional manufacturing, and develop best practices for additive manufacturing.
Additive Manufacturing Consortium The AMC brings together a diverse group of additive manufacturing (AM) end users, suppliers, researchers, and stakeholders from across the nation to positively impact the AM landscape through organized and focused activities.
American Society of the International Association for Testing and Materials (ASTM) ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. Today, over 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.
ASM International ASM International is the preeminent association for engaging and connecting materials professionals and their organizations to the resources necessary to solve problems, improve outcomes, and advance society.
Association for Metal Additive Manufacturing AMAM's main mission is to increase the visibility and stature of metal AM within the industrial community, and to enhance the industry's opportunities for continued growth. Its objectives include establishing best practices to provide safe metal AM environments, organizing educational programs, supporting research and development, developing and expediting standards, collecting useful industry statistics, and establishing an industry wide approach to marketing the technology.
National Additive Manufacturing Association NAMA's mission is advocacy to protect the industry on issues like tax, trade, IP protection, R&D tax credit, accelerated depreciation, support for DOD expenditures and funding for manufacturing hubs.

3D Modeling Software

3D Slash 3D Slash is praised as the easiest 3D modeling tool on the market. Its unique interface offers an intuitive and captivating experience: using a set of tools, users create models by "slashing a cube". In the context of fast-developing 3D technologies, 3D Slash is on a mission: to make 3D creation accessible to all.
Blender A free, open source 3D creation suite that supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, video editing and 2D animation pipeline.
Meshlab An open source system for processing and editing 3D triangular meshes. It offers features for processing raw data produced by 3D digitization tools/devices and for preparing models for 3D printing.
Meshmixer Meshmixer is a free prototype design tool.
Netfabb Netfabb® software includes efficient build preparation capabilities alongside tools for optimizing designs for additive manufacturing, simulating metal additive processes, and planning for CNC post-processing.
OpenSCAD OpenSCAD is software for creating solid 3D CAD models. It is free software and available for Linux/UNIX, Windows and Mac OS X. Unlike most free software for creating 3D models (such as Blender) it does not focus on the artistic aspects of 3D modelling but instead on the CAD aspects.
SketchUp SketchUp is a 3D modeling computer program for a wide range of drawing applications such as architectural, civil and mechanical engineering, film and video game design, and more.
Tinkercad A browser-based 3D design platform, now part of Autodesk, Tinkercad is a free collection of software tools that help people all over the world think, create and make.

3D Models and Copyright Information

3D Printing: Digital Infringement & Digital Regulation By Tabrez Y. Ebrahim. This paper analyzes how the growing field of 3D printing blurs the line between the digital and physical world.
As 3-D Printing Becomes More Accessible, Copyright Questions Arise By Steve Henn, NPR Morning Edition transcript, 2013-02-19
Intellectual Property and Additive Manufacturing / 3D Printing: Strategies and Challenges of Applying Traditional IP Laws to a Transformative Technology By Bryan J. Vogel. This article reviews the advantages and limitations of legal strategies used to create, protect, attack, and defend stakeholders' intellectual property in the fields of additive manufacturing/3D printing.
Regulation of the Interface Compatibility of the 3D-Printing Interpenetration Networks Toward Reduced Structure Anisotropy and Enhanced Performances By Yingfan Zhang,, Zhengyong Huang*, Haohuan Wang, and Jian Li, ACS Publications, 2023.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>