LibGuides: Chemistry: Essentials

Journals

Accounts of Chemical Research ISSN: 0001-4842 | eISSN: 1520-4894 Accounts of Chemical Research presents short, concise and critical articles offering easy-to-read overviews of basic research and applications in all areas of chemistry and biochemistry. These short reviews focus on research from the author’s own laboratory and are designed to teach the reader about a research project. In addition, Accounts of Chemical Research publishes commentaries that give an informed opinion on a current research problem. Special Issues online are devoted to a single topic of unusual activity and significance.
ACS Nano ISSN: 1936-0851 | eISSN: 1936-086X Published monthly, ACS Nano is an international forum for the communication of comprehensive articles on nanoscience and nanotechnology research at the interfaces of chemistry, biology, materials science, physics, and engineering.
Analytical Chemistry ISSN: 0003-2700 | eISSN: 1520-6882 Analytical Chemistry is a peer-reviewed research journal that is devoted to the dissemination of new and original knowledge in all branches of analytical chemistry. Fundamental articles may address the general principles of chemical measurement science without directly studying existing analytical methodology as long as what is discussed relates to an important chemical parameter. Articles may be theoretical or they may report experimental results. They may contribute to any phase of analytical operations including sampling, measurements, and data analysis; the articles should target fields including, but not limited to, bioanalytical chemistry, bioengineering, chemical analysis, environmental sciences, forensics and medical sciences.
Chemical Reviews ISSN: 0009-2665 | eISSN: 1520-6890 Chemical Reviews is one of the most highly regarded and highest-ranked journals covering the general topic of chemistry. The mission of Chemical Reviews is to provide comprehensive, authoritative, critical, and readable reviews of important recent research in organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, theoretical, and biological chemistry.
Chemistry of Materials ISSN: 0897-4756 | eISSN: 1520-5002 Chemistry of Materials is devoted to the publication of original contributions on forefront, fundamental research at the interface of chemistry, chemical engineering, and materials science. Both theoretical and experimental studies which focus on the preparation or understanding of materials with unusual or useful properties are relevant.
ChemistryOpen ISSN: 2191-1363 ChemistryOpen is a multidisciplinary, gold-road open-access, international forum for the publication of outstanding Reviews, Full Papers, and Communications from all areas of chemistry and related fields. It is co-owned by 16 continental European Chemical Societies, who have banded together in the alliance called ChemPubSoc Europe for the purpose of publishing high-quality journals in the field of chemistry and its border disciplines.
Energy & Fuels ISSN: 0887-0624 | eISSN: 1520-5029 Energy & Fuels publishes reports of research in the technical area defined by the intersection of the disciplines of chemistry and chemical engineering and the application domain of non-nuclear energy and fuels. It intends to serve the vital and growing community of scientists, engineers, and policy experts involved in energy-related fields by publishing fully vetted, reliable, and high-quality research results.
Journal of Organic Chemistry ISSN: 0022-3263 | eISSN: 1520-6904 The Journal of Organic Chemistry welcomes original contributions of fundamental research in all branches of the theory and practice of organic chemistry. They publish articles on a broad range of topics under the branch of organic chemistry, including biological study, materials science, functional molecules, and more.
Journal of the American Chemical Society ISSN: 0002-7863 | eISSN: 1520-5126 The Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS) is the flagship journal of the American Chemical Society and the world's preeminent journal in all of chemistry and interfacing areas of science. This periodical is devoted to the publication of fundamental research papers and publishes approximately 19,000 pages of Articles, Communications, and Perspectives a year.
Macedonian Journal of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering ISSN: 1857-5552 | eISSN: 1857-5625 The journal publishes original scientific papers, short communications, reviews, and educational papers from all fields of chemistry, chemical engineering, food technology, biotechnology and material sciences, metallurgy, and related fields.
Organic Process Research & Development ISSN: 1083-6160 | eISSN: 1520-586X Organic Process Research & Development serves as a communication tool between industrial chemists and chemists working in universities and research institutes. As such, OPR&D reports original work from the broad field of industrial process chemistry and chemical engineering but also presents academic results that are relevant, or potentially relevant, to scale up and industrial applications.

Databases

ACS Publications Online Journals from the American Chemical Society. Includes over 55 peer-reviewed journals and magazines. With the ACS Journal Archives, searchable access is provided to 3 million pages of original chemistry work dating back to 1879. Also includes access to the ACS Style Guide, 3rd edition.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
O'Reilly O'Reilly is a great resource to find ebooks and audiobooks on specific software applications and other aspects of information technology. To access the service, users must first register for an account on the DoD MWR Libraries site.
Research Gate Research Gate shares open access and otherwise allowed research, making it accessible and findable all in one spot. It allows for connection between researchers, their publications, and others in their field.
Scientific Research Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Springer Springer is a leading global scientific, technical and medical portfolio, providing researchers in academia, scientific institutions and corporate R&D departments with quality content through innovative information, products and services. It has one of the strongest STM and HSS eBook collections and archives, as well as a comprehensive range of hybrid and open access journals and books under the SpringerOpen imprint.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format.

Websites

ChemSpider ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. It builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information, and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider offers text and structure searching to find compounds of interest and provides unique services to improve this data by curation and annotation, and to integrate it with users’ applications.
NIST Standard Reference Data For over 50 years, NIST has developed and distributed Standard Reference Data in Chemistry, Engineering, Fluids and Condensed Phases, Material Sciences, Mathematical and Computer Sciences and Physics. These data are assessed by experts and are trustworthy such that people can use the data with confidence and base significant decisions on the data. NIST provides 49 free SRD databases and 41 fee-based SRD databases.
Office of Naval Research (ONR) Through partnerships with academia, industry and government, ONR coordinates and sponsors scientific research and technology development for the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps. ONR was established in 1946 “…to plan, foster, and encourage scientific research in recognition of its paramount importance as related to the maintenance of future naval power, and the preservation of national security.”
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) Indexes Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports. It provides access to all the information previously available in SciTech Connect, DOE Information Bridge, and Energy Citations Database. It fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.
PubChem PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results. It works to raise technical and scientific literacy, serve as a foundation for future discoveries, and foster greater understanding of, access to, and use of the results of public investment in the U.S. government’s science and technology efforts.
University of Cambridge Chemistry Library A list of chemistry-based databases from the University of Cambridge, including brief descriptions of each, their access level, and links to their websites.
Woods Hole Institute The Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is dedicated to advancing knowledge of the ocean and its connection with the Earth system through a sustained commitment to excellence in science, engineering, and education, and to the application of this knowledge to problems facing society. This resource page contains information about Ocean Chemistry and various aspects of it.

Books

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by Bryan M. Ham; Aihui MaHam A comprehensive study of analytical chemistry as it pertains to the laboratory analyst and chemist, Analytical Chemistry begins with an introduction to the laboratory environment, including safety, glassware, common apparatuses, and lab basics, and continues on to guide readers through the fundamentals of analytical techniques, such as spectroscopy and chromatography, and introduce examples of laboratory programs, such as Laboratory Information Management Systems (LIMS). This newly updated and revised Second Edition of Analytical Chemistry offers expanded chapters with new figures and the latest developments in the field.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781119894490
Publication Date: 2023-12-05
Marine Analytical Chemistry by Julián Blasco (Editor), Antonio Tovar-Sánchez (Editor) This textbook offers a comprehensive and authoritative introduction to the latest analytical methods, tools and techniques used in the marine environment, bringing together the two fields of chemical oceanography and analytical chemistry. Divided into 11 chapters, the book starts with an overview of the main parameters of the marine carbon system, and it covers different sampling strategies used by the marine scientific community, and the different chemical analyses to measure trace metals, radionuclides and organic matter in the marine environment. Particular attention is given to the identification and quantification of marine persistent organic pollutants, emerging organic contaminants and microplastics. Readers will also find accessible explanations and real life examples of the application of remote sensing and in-situ sensing technologies to monitor the marine environment.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9783031144868
Publication Date: 2023

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Chemical Society Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, ACS is one of the world’s largest scientific organizations with a membership of over 151,000 in 140 countries. Their mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Their vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is an international nonprofit scientific and educational organization. With over 11,000 members made up of students, researchers, educators and industry professionals, the ASBMB is one of the largest molecular life science societies in the world.
Federation of American Scientists The Federation of American Scientists is a nonprofit policy research and advocacy organization founded in 1945 to meet national security challenges with evidence-based, scientifically-driven, and nonpartisan policy, analysis, and research. FAS is working to minimize the risks of significant global threats, arising from nuclear weapons, biological and chemical agents, and climate change. The organization also works to advance progress on a broad suite of contemporary issues where science, technology, and innovation policy can deliver dramatic progress, and seeks to ensure that scientific and technical expertise have a seat at the policymaking table.
Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) Founded in 1922, the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) is the UK based and internationally recognised qualifying body and learned society for chemical, biochemical and process engineers. They exist to advance chemical engineering’s contribution for the benefit of society.
National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) The mission of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) is to build an eminent cadre of successful diverse global leaders in STEM and advance their professional endeavors by adding value to their academic, development, leadership, and philanthropic endeavors throughout the life-cycle of their careers.
Royal Society of Chemistry Whether studying the chemistry of life, or developing the advanced science behind modern technology, chemical scientists use their expertise to improve our health, our environment, and our daily lives. Collaboration is essential. We connect scientists with each other and society as a whole, so they can do their best work and make discoveries and innovation happen. We publish new research. We develop, recognise and celebrate professional capabilities. We bring people together to spark new ideas and new partnerships. We support teachers to inspire future generations of scientists. And we speak up to influence the people making decisions that affect us all.
Society of Chemical Industry SCI® (Society of Chemical Industry) is a global network of innovators formed in 1881 by prominent scientists, inventors, and entrepreneurs, who went on to form the products, processes, and companies that propelled society forward. SCI is the place where science meets business. It holds four main missions: to accelerate innovation through networking and distributing knowledge, to facilitate collaborations between experts across Climate Change, Sustainability and Health & Wellbeing, to support scientists, inventors and entrepreneurs through training, development and employment opportunities, and to contribute to the public understanding of science.
Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry SETAC is a not-for-profit, worldwide professional organization dedicated to the study, analysis, and solution to environmental problems, the management and regulation of natural resources, research and development, and environmental education. They hold commitment to their main principles of multidisciplinary approaches to solving environmental problems, multi-stakeholder engagement, and science-based objectivity.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>