LibGuides: Quantum Information Science: Essentials

Journals

IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Quantum Electronics ISSN: 1077-260X | eISSN: 1558-4542 The Journal is dedicated toward publishing research results that advance the state of the art or add to the understanding of the generation, amplification, modulation, detection, waveguiding, or propagation characteristics of coherent electromagnetic radiation having sub-millimeter and shorter wavelengths. In order to be suitable for publication in this Journal, the content of manuscripts concerned with subject-related research must have a potential impact on advancing the technological base of quantum electronic devices, systems, and/or applications. Potential authors of subject-related research have the responsibility of pointing out this potential impact. System-oriented manuscripts must be concerned with systems that perform a function previously unavailable or that outperform previously established systems that did not use quantum electronic components or concepts.
International Journal of Quantum Information ISSN: 0219-7499 | eISSN: 1793-6918 | International Journal of Quantum Information (IJQI) provides a forum for the interdisciplinary field of Quantum Information. In particular, we welcome contributions in these areas of experimental and theoretical research: Quantum Cryptography, Quantum Computation, Quantum Communication, Quantum Simulation, and the Fundamentals of Quantum Mechanics.
Journal of Quantum Information Science ISSN: 2162-5751 | eISSN: 2162-576X | The field of Quantum Information Science is the most challenging and hot topic among all branches of science. JQIS aims to publish research papers in the following areas: Dynamical Maps; Experimental Implementation; Geometric Quantum Computation; Quantum Computation; Quantum Cryptography; Quantum Entanglement; Quantum Information Processing Protocols; Quantum Information Theory; and Relativistic Quantum Information Theory.
Materials for Quantum Technology ISSN: 2633-4356 | Materials for Quantum Technology™ is a multidisciplinary journal devoted to publishing cutting-edge experimental and theoretical research on the development and application of materials for all quantum-enabled technologies and devices.
Materials for Quantum Technology ISSN: 2633-4356 Materials for Quantum Technology is a multidisciplinary, open access journal devoted to publishing cutting-edge research on the development and application of materials for all quantum-enabled technologies and devices.
PRX Quantum eISSN: 2691-3399 | PRX Quantum showcases research in core areas of quantum information science and technology that are milestone achievements in techniques, experiment, and theory, or that represents an important leap in understanding.
Quantum eISSN: 2521-327X | Quantum is an open-access peer-reviewed journal for quantum science and related fields. Quantum is non-profit and community-run: an effort by researchers and for researchers to make science more open and publishing more transparent and efficient.
Quantum Frontiers eISSN: 2731-6106 | Quantum Frontiers is a peer-reviewed and open access journal that publishes the finest research on quantum science; publishing in quantum materials, quantum devices and quantum information science.
Quantum Information Processing eISSN: 1573-1332 | Quantum Information Processing disseminates state-of-the-art experimental and theoretical research across the entire spectrum of Quantum Information Science. It covers all aspects of experimental platforms for quantum information, quantum cryptography, entanglement, quantum error correction, and quantum algorithms; and focuses on papers that elaborate on and illustrate quantum information protocols applicable to cryptography, communication, computation, and sensing.
Quantum Science and Technology ISSN: 2058-9565 A multidisciplinary, high impact journal devoted to publishing both theoretical and experimental research of the highest quality and significance covering the science and application of all quantum-enabled technologies.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore is the flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore contains more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.
IOPscience IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
Proquest ProQuest includes the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; 20 million pages and three centuries of global, national, regional and specialty newspapers; more than 450,000 ebooks; rich aggregated collections of the world’s most important scholarly journals and periodicals; and unique vaults of digitized historical collections from great libraries and museums.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 470,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.

Websites

DoE - Quantum Information Science The DOE Office of Science (SC) efforts in QIS, informed by community input, target DOE-mission-focused applications by leveraging SC’s unique strengths. Major contributions to QIS focus on the following areas: (1) Supporting fundamental science that underpins quantum computing, simulation, communication, and sensing; (2) Creating tools, equipment, and instrumentation that go beyond what was previously imaginable; and (3) Establishing DOE community resources that enable the entire QIS ecosystem to innovate.
Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science (QuICS) The Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science (QuICS) is a partnership between the University of Maryland (UMD) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Located at the University of Maryland just outside of Washington, D.C., the center advances research and education in quantum computer science and quantum information theory.
National Institute of Science and Technology An emerging research focus at NIST is understanding the potential for quantum-based technology to transform security, computing and communications, and to develop the measurement and standards infrastructure necessary to exploit this potential. Breakthroughs at NIST enabled the first forays into real-world quantum computing and tested the limits of quantum information and security. NIST is also developing the technology to harness the power of quantum computing in the everyday world through nanotechnology.
National Institutes of Health: Quantum Information Science The National Institutes of Health aims to catalyze new capabilities in biomedical data science by providing trans-NIH leadership and coordination for modernization of the NIH data resource ecosystem, development of a diverse and talented data science workforce, and building strategic partnerships to develop and disseminate advanced technologies and methods.
Quantum Information: Nature Portfolio This subject collection from Nature contains new and featured news, articles, and reviews on all things quantum information, and is regularly being updated.
Quantum Information Science: IBM This topic guide from IBM contains an overview of quantum information science, showcases their current work related to it, and offers recent publications and related topics for further reading and research.
Quantum Information Science Pacific Northwest National Laboratory PNNL is also a founding partner in the regional Northwest Quantum Nexus (NQN), a coalition of research and industrial organizations in the Pacific Northwest and neighboring regions with the goal of advancing Quantum Information Science (QIS) research and developing a QIS-trained workforce. Microsoft and the University of Washington are its co-founders. Washington State University and IonQ have recently been accepted membership in the NQN, and other universities and commercial entities are expected to follow. The relationships between the University of Washington and Microsoft have found connections in the National Quantum Initiative via the DOE and National Science Foundation programs. The NQN has hosted scientific seminars to engage with the state of Washington on economic and workforce development matters.
Quantum Navy (NRL Youtube) The U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) launches a three-part series highlighting the importance of quantum research for the 21st century U.S. Navy. The series features NRL leadership describing researchers’ quest for dividends in these areas. Possibilities include solving computer problems in minutes that otherwise could take a lifetime, saving the lives of Sailors with more precise locations, or more secure, virtually unhackable communications for our naval forces.
Quantum Research at the Naval Research Laboratory The United States has made American leadership in QIS a critical priority for ensuring our Nation’s long-term economic prosperity and national security. Harnessing the novel properties of quantum physics has the potential to yield transformative new technologies, such as quantum computers, quantum sensors, and quantum networks.
U.S. National Science Foundation: Quantum Information Science The U.S. National Science Foundation is an independent federal agency that supports science and engineering in all 50 states and U.S. territories.

Books

Quantum Information Science by Riccardo Manenti; Mario Motta This book provides an introduction to quantum information science, the science at the basis of the new quantum revolution of this century. It teaches the reader to build and program a quantum computer and leverage its potential. Aimed at quantum physicists and computer scientists, the book covers several topics, including quantum algorithms, quantum chemistry, and quantum engineering of superconducting qubits.
Call Number: *Available by Request

ISBN: 9780198787488

Publication Date: 2023-11-25
Quantum Computation and Quantum Information by J. M. Landsberg This book presents the basics of quantum computing and quantum information theory. It emphasizes the mathematical aspects and the historical continuity of both algorithms and information theory when passing from classical to quantum settings.The book begins with several classical algorithms relevant for quantum computing and of interest in their own right.
Call Number: *Available by Request

ISBN: 9781470475574

Publication Date: 2024-09-30

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Physical Society The American Physical Society (APS) is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents more than 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.
Chicago Quantum Exchange The Chicago Quantum Exchange convenes leading academic researchers, top scientific facilities, and innovative industry partners to advance the science and engineering of quantum information, train the next generation of quantum scientists and engineers, and drive the quantum economy. The CQE facilitates interactions between member institutions and partners and provides an avenue for collaborations, joint projects, and information exchange.
The Institute for Quantum Computing The Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) is a world-leading quantum institute at the University of Waterloo. IQC is advancing the field of quantum information at the highest international level to discover and develop powerful new quantum technologies that will drive future economies. IQC attracts world-class researchers, postdoctoral fellows and students in science, mathematics and engineering to Canada. We train the quantum workforce and support industry through shared-infrastructure and expertise.
The Open Quantum Institute The Open Quantum Institute (OQI) seeks to inclusively unleash the powers of quantum computing to ensure that the whole world contributes to and benefits from quantum computing.
U.S. National Science Foundation For decades, the U.S. National Science Foundation has invested in the foundational research and development driving the quantum revolution. Whether it's GPS systems, MRI technology or the lasers that enable today's internet, technologies that leverage quantum effects have their roots in NSF investments. The future of quantum information science and engineering promises to be even more impactful — like computers with unprecedented power, inherently secure communications, new industrial materials, and sophisticated sensors and imaging tools.
Northwest Quantum Nexus The Northwest Quantum Nexus (NQN) is a coalition of research and industrial organizations in the Pacific Northwest and neighboring regions with the goal of advancing Quantum Information Sciences (QIS) research and developing a QIS-trained workforce. A core focus of NQN is scalable quantum computing for clean energy, with principal research directions in applications for quantum computing, quantum algorithms, and materials for QIS.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science: Events National Quantum Information Science Research Centers constitute the first large-scale QIS effort that crosses the technical breadth of the Department of Energy Office of Science. The centers' aim, coupled with DOE’s core research portfolio, is to create and steward the ecosystem needed to foster and facilitate the advancement of QIS, to enhance national security, economic competitiveness, and America's continued leadership in science.

National Quantum Information Science Research Centers

C2QA: Co-design Center for Quantum Advantage National Quantum Information Science (QIS) Research Centers funded by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science are accelerating transformational advances in basic science and quantum-based technologies needed to assure continued U.S. leadership in QIS. Led by Brookhaven National Laboratory, the Co-design Center for Quantum Advantage is building the tools necessary to create scalable, distributed, and fault-tolerant quantum computer systems.
National Quantum Information Science Research Centers The five U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Quantum Information Science (QIS) Research Centers develop cutting-edge research and technologies for science’s most complex problems. The centers are pushing the frontier of what’s possible in quantum computing, communication, sensing, and materials in ways that will have impacts in science, energy, security, communication, medicine, finance, and logistics.
Q-NEXT Q-NEXT brings together the world’s leading minds from the national laboratories, universities and technology companies to solve cutting-edge challenges in quantum information science. Led by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory, Q-NEXT focuses on how to reliably control, store and transmit quantum information at distances that could be as small as the width of a computer chip or as large as the distance between Chicago and San Francisco.
Quantum Science Center By linking the unique capabilities of the national labs with leading university investigators, the Quantum Science Center (QSC) is advancing the science of quantum materials, sensors, and algorithms in ways impossible through other means. In order to accelerate innovation, researchers need new technologies to accurately predict, detect, and model complex phenomena such as energy generation and efficiency, national security, new materials discovery, and fundamental physics. This opportunity now exists by developing a new generation of technologies that exploits quantum mechanics to deliver much-needed advances in computation and sensing. The QSC located at ORNL is dedicated to overcoming key roadblocks in quantum state resilience, controllability, and ultimately the scalability of quantum technologies to realize the quantum future.
Quantum Systems Accelerator QSA’s multidisciplinary expertise and network of world-class research facilities will enable the team to co-design the solutions needed to build working quantum systems that outperform today’s computers. The center is dedicated to a mission of pairing advanced quantum prototypes—based on neutral atoms, trapped ions, and superconducting circuits—with algorithms specifically constructed for imperfect hardware to demonstrate optimal applications for each platform in scientific computing, materials science, and fundamental physics.
Superconducting Quantum Materials and Systems Center SQMS brings together more than 500 experts from 30 partner institutions—national laboratories, academia and industry—in a mission-driven, multidisciplinary collaboration that integrates deep expertise in quantum information science, material science, applied and theoretical superconductivity, computational science, particle and condensed matter physics, cryogenics, microwave devices and controls engineering, industry applications and more.
U.S. Department of Energy National Quantum Information Science Research Centers celebrate 4-year milestone, look toward future; Argonne National Laboratory; December 12, 2024 Since their establishment in 2020, the five U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Quantum Information Science Research Centers (NQISRCs) have been expanding the frontier of what’s possible in quantum computing, communication, sensing and materials in ways that will advance basic science for energy, security, communication and logistics. The centers have strengthened the national quantum information science (QIS) ecosystem, achieving scientific and technological breakthroughs as well as training the next-generation quantum workforce.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>