LibGuides: Autonomy and Machine Learning: Essentials

Journals

Autonomous Robots ISSN: 0929-5593 | eISSN: 1573-7527 The primary goal of Autonomous Robots is to report on the theory and applications of robotic systems capable of some degree of self-sufficiency. Thus, the journal is aimed at the growing trend in robotics toward mobility, intelligence and autonomy in an unstructured world.
IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence The IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence publishes articles on all traditional areas of computer vision and image understanding, all traditional areas of pattern analysis and recognition, and selected areas of machine intelligence, with a particular emphasis on machine learning for pattern analysis. Areas such as techniques for visual search, document and handwriting analysis, medical image analysis, video and image sequence analysis, content-based retrieval of image and video, face and gesture recognition and relevant specialized hardware and/or software architectures are also covered.
International Journal of Artificial Intelligence ISSN: 0974-0635 This is a broad-based journal covering all branches of Artificial Intelligence and its application in the following topics: Technology & Computing; Fuzzy Logic; Neural Networks; Reasoning and Evolution; Automatic Control; Mechatronics; Robotics; Parallel Processing; Programming Languages; Software & Hardware Architectures; CAD Design & Testing; Web Intelligence Applications; Computer Vision and Speech Understanding; Multimedia & Cognitive Informatics; Data Mining and Machine Learning Tools; Heuristic and AI Planning Strategies and Tools; Computational Theories of Learning; Signal, Image & Speech Processing; Intelligent System Architectures; Knowledge Representation; Bioinformatics; Natural Language Processing; Mathematics & Physics.
International Journal of Robotics Research ISSN: 0278-3649 | eISSN: 1741-3176 International Journal of Robotics Research (IJRR) was the first scholarly publication on robotics research; it continues to supply scientists and students in robot and related fields - artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, computer science, electrical and mechanical engineering - with timely, multidisciplinary material on topics from sensors and sensory interpretations to kinematics in motion planning. IJRR also publishes peer reviewed data papers and multimedia extensions alongside articles.
Journal of Machine Learning Research ISSN 1532-4435 | eISSN 1533-7928 The Journal of Machine Learning Research seeks previously unpublished papers on machine learning that contain: new algorithms with empirical, theoretical, psychological, or biological justification; experimental and/or theoretical studies yielding new insight into the design and behavior of learning in intelligent systems; accounts of applications of existing techniques that shed light on the strengths and weaknesses of the methods; formalization of new learning tasks (e.g., in the context of new applications) and of methods for assessing performance on those tasks; development of new analytical frameworks that advance theoretical studies of practical learning methods; extremely well-written surveys of existing work.
Machine Learning with Applications Machine Learning with Applications (MLWA) is a peer reviewed, open access journal focused on research related to machine learning. The journal encompasses all aspects of research and development in ML, including but not limited to data mining, computer vision, natural language processing (NLP), intelligent systems, neural networks, AI-based software engineering, bioinformatics and their applications in the areas of engineering, medicine, biology, education, business and social sciences. It covers a broad spectrum of applications in the community, from industry, government, and academia.
Nature Machine Intelligence ISSN 2522-5839 Nature Machine Intelligence publishes high-quality original research and reviews in a wide range of topics in machine learning, robotics and AI. Disciplines covered in the journal: AI, robotics, AI and cognitive science, human-robot interaction, machine learning, deep learning, reinforcement learning, robot learning, artificial neural networks, symbolic reasoning, computer vision, natural language processing, genetic and evolutionary computing, neuro-inspired computing, humanoid robots, swarm robotics, bio-inspired robotics, soft robotics, multi-agent systems and so on.
Neurocomputing ISSN: 0925-2312 Neurocomputing publishes articles describing recent fundamental contributions in the field of neurocomputing. Neurocomputing theory, practice and applications are the essential topics being covered.
Robotics and Autonomous Systems ISSN: 0921-8890 Robotics and Autonomous Systems publishes articles describing fundamental developments in the field of robotics, with special emphasis on autonomous systems.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
SpringerLink As part of Springer Nature, SpringerLink delivers fast access to the depth and breadth of our online collection of journals, eBooks, reference works and protocols across a vast range of subject disciplines.

Websites

Assured Autonomy Tools Portal The Assured Autonomy portal hosts Design Studios and Toolchains for experimenting with Learning-enabled Cyber Physical Systems. The capabilities of the design studios include training AI algorithms, data generation for training, developing scenarios for evaluation of AI algorithms, generating test-cases, formally verifying, and generating assurance arguments and cases for safety assurance. The design studios and portal is community accessible, provides capabilities for developers of AI-based systems, as well as provides open interfaces for researchers and developers of AI V&V tools to integrate tools into the design studios.
The Autonomy Research Center for STEAHM (ARCS) California State University, Northridge’s (CSUN) Autonomy Research Center for STEAHM (ARCS) is a NASA-sponsored, chartered, Center of Excellence. Our mission is to combine transdisciplinary, university-wide knowledge and talent from faculty, students, and NASA scientists to conduct convergence research and collaboration using increasingly autonomous systems (IA).
Defense Acquisition University Media The Defense Acquisition University (DAU) is the primary training organization for the Defense Acquisition Workforce. We are committed to providing the training—both formal and informal—to improve the professionalism of the acquisition workforce by engaging our students both in the classroom and on the job. Our products and services enhance workplace performance, promote mission effectiveness, and help reshape the workforce to meet future challenges—ultimately developing fully qualified acquisition professionals who provide cost-effective systems, equipment, and services to meet warfighter requirements. In addition to the content included on YouTube we suggest that you familiarize yourself with the additional resources available via the links below.
DoD Autonomy Communities of Interest The Autonomy CoIs will closely examine the DoD’s S&T investments in the enabling of autonomous systems, to include the strategic assessment of the challenges, gaps, and opportunities to the development and advancement of autonomous systems, and identification of potential investments to advance or initiate critical enabling technology development.
The Institute for Human and Machine Cognition The Institute for Human & Machine Cognition (IHMC) pioneers technologies aimed at leveraging and extending human capabilities.
The Institute for Language, Cognition, and Computation The Institute for Language, Cognition and Computation (ILCC) is dedicated to the pursuit of basic and applied research on computational approaches to language, communication, and cognition.
The Machine Intelligence Research Institute The Machine Intelligence Research Institute's mission is to ensure that the creation of smarter-than-human intelligence has a positive impact. We aim to make advanced intelligent machines behave as we intend, even in the absence of immediate human supervision.
NASA Intelligent Systems Division Develops advanced software technology for robotics, aerospace systems, and mission operations and reliability. Deploys intelligent and collaborative software systems to ensure safe and effective operations within complex constraints for autonomous, piloted, and remotely managed operations in space and Earth.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. OSTI provides access to DOE STI through a suite of web-based, searchable discovery tools and through other commonly used search engines, offering ever-expanding sources of R&D information to DOE, the research community, and the science-attentive public.
Reliable Autonomous Systems Lab (REALM) at MIT Welcome to the Reliable Autonomous Systems Lab at MIT (REALM)! We design, analyze and verify safe control systems. Our work lies at the intersection of control theory, machine learning, and formal methods, with a focus on safety in systems with nonlinear, high-dimensional and difficult-to-model dynamics.
Science.gov Science.gov is an official website of the U.S. government providing ready access to the massive stores of federally funded scientific research results, without needing to know which agency funded the research. Research results include scientific and technical reports, peer-reviewed scholarly publications, digital data, software, conference presentations and proceedings, and other scientific and technical information that federal agencies publish resulting from their research investments.

Keep Up With The Latest Information

AI/ML Talent Pipeline The AI/ML Talent Pipeline is part of the Warfare Centers Knowledge Forum, which shares learning and professional development opportunities across the enterprise. Choose from a category of resources from the graphic above ('What are you looking for?'), navigate through these tabs, or simply scroll down the page.
Follow #Autonomy on Fusion
Follow #machinelearning on Fusion

Books

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Designing Autonomous AI by Kence Anderson Early rules-based artificial intelligence demonstrated intriguing decision-making capabilities but lacked perception and didn't learn. AI today, primed with machine learning perception and deep reinforcement learning capabilities, can perform superhuman decision-making for specific tasks. This book shows you how to combine the practicality of early AI with deep learning capabilities and industrial control technologies to make robust decisions in the real world.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available from O'Reilly Learning (formerly Safari)
ISBN: 9781098110703
Publication Date: 2022-06-14
Self-Powered Cyber Physical Systems by Rathishchandra R. Gatti (Editor); Chandra Singh (Editor); Rajeev Agrawal (Editor); Felcy Jyothi Serrao (Editor) This book is an attempt to aim at a very futuristic vision of achieving self-powered cyber-physical systems by applying a multitude of current technologies such as ULP electronics, thin film electronics, ULP transducers, autonomous wireless sensor networks using energy harvesters at the component level and energy efficient clean energy for powering data centers and machines at the system level. This is the need of the hour for cyber-physical systems since data requires energy when it is stored, transmitted, or converted to other forms. Cyber-physical systems will become energy hungry since the industry trend is towards ubiquitous computing with massive deployment of sensors and actuators. This is evident in using blockchain technologies such as Bitcoin or running epochs for artificial intelligence (AI) applications. Hence, there is a need for research to understand energy patterns and distribution in cyber-physical systems and adopt new technologies to transcend to self-powered cyber-physical systems. This book explores the recent trends in energy management, self-powered devices, and methods in the cyber-physical world.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available
ISBN: 9781119841883
Publication Date: 2023-10-17

Professional Associations

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life‐long learning, career development, and professional networking.
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence Founded in 1979, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) (formerly the American Association for Artificial Intelligence) is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines. AAAI aims to promote research in, and responsible use of, artificial intelligence.
Association of Data Scientists (ADaSci) The Association of Data Scientists is the premier global professional body of data science & machine learning professionals.
IEEE Computational Intelligence Society The Field of Interest of the Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) shall be the theory, design, application, and development of biologically and linguistically motivated computational paradigms emphasizing neural networks, connectionist systems, genetic algorithms, evolutionary programming, fuzzy systems, and hybrid intelligent systems in which these paradigms are contained.
International Institute for Artificial Intelligence and Law The International Institute of Artificial Intelligence and Law (IAAIL) is a nonprofit association devoted to promoting research and development in the field of AI and law, with members throughout the world. IAAIL organizes a biennial conference (ICAIL), which provides a forum for the presentation and discussion of the latest research results and practical applications and stimulates interdisciplinary and international collaboration.
International Machine Learning Society (ILMS) The IMLS is a nonprofit organisation that promotes research and education in machine learning, a subfield of AI that focuses on developing algorithms that can learn from data.
International Neural Network Society The International Neural Network Society (INNS) is the premiere organization for individuals interested in a theoretical and computational understanding of the brain and applying that knowledge to develop new and more effective forms of machine intelligence.
Research Group on Issues of Autonomy and AI for Defense Systems A group of experts, the Research Group on Issues of Autonomy and AI in Defense Systems (the Research Group), has been convened by IEEE SA. Their role is to discuss and document challenges as an initial step to help bridge the gap between general principles and practical insights in this sensitive and vital domain. The focus of this group is to create a knowledge base of best practices regarding the development, use, and governance of autonomous weapons systems. These practices are initially based on the guidelines first established by AWS-related principles and later updated to reflect evolving technological advancements and international norms and regulations.

Related Guides

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>