2020 Department of Defense Electromagnetic Spectrum Superiority Strategy
by
The purpose of the 2020 Department of Defense EMS Superiority Strategy is to align DoD EMS
activities with the objectives of the 2017 National Security Strategy (NSS), the 2018 National Defense
Strategy (NDS), and national economic and technology policy goals. This Strategy embraces the enterprise
approach required to ensure EMS superiority by integrating efforts to enhance near-term and long-term
EMS capabilities, activities, and operations. The Strategy informs the Department’s domestic EMS access
policies and reinforces the need to develop cooperative frameworks with other EMS stakeholders in order to advance shared national policy goals.
Characterizing the Risks of North Korean Chemical and Biological Weapons, Electromagnetic Pulse, and Cyber Threats
by
To secure the survival of its regime, dominate the Republic of Korea (ROK), and impose unification of the Korean Peninsula, North Korea has amassed a variety of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) — nuclear, chemical, and biological — to include nuclear and likely conventional capabilities that produce highly destructive or even lethal electromagnetic pulse. It also has diverse offensive cyber capabilities that it uses for covert and illegal purposes. The authors of this report focus on how the North could use, and does use, these weapons and capabilities to affect peacetime relations on the peninsula and to prepare for a major war with the ROK, as well as the possible effects of their employment on the military, on civilians, and on critical infrastructure.
CYBER1: The Cyberspace Operations and Electronic Warfare SMARTbook
by
United States armed forces operate in an increasingly network-based world. The proliferation of information technologies is changing the way humans interact with each other and their environment, including interactions during military operations. This broad and rapidly changing operational environment requires that today's armed forces must operate in cyberspace and leverage an electromagnetic spectrum that is increasingly competitive, congested, and contested.
Cyber Security and Digital Forensics
by
Current cyber threats are getting more complicated and advanced with the rapid evolution of adversarial techniques. Networked computing and portable electronic devices have broadened the role of digital forensics beyond traditional investigations into computer crime. The overall increase in the use of computers as a way of storing and retrieving high-security information requires appropriate security measures to protect the entire computing and communication scenario worldwide. Further, with the introduction of the internet and its underlying technology, facets of information security are becoming a primary concern to protect networks and cyber infrastructures from various threats.
Cyberspace Operations and Electromagnetic Warfare
by
FM 3-12 provides tactics and procedures for coordinating, integrating, and synchronizing Army cyberspace operations and electromagnetic warfare to support unified land operations and joint operations. FM 3-12 explains Army cyberspace operations and electromagnetic warfare fundamentals, terms, and definitions.
Cyber Warfare - Truth, Tactics, and Strategies
by
The era of cyber warfare is now upon us. What we do now and how we determine what we will do in the future is the difference between whether our businesses live or die and whether our digital self survives the digital battlefield. Cyber Warfare – Truth, Tactics, and Strategies takes you on a journey through the myriad of cyber attacks and threats that are present in a world powered by AI, big data, autonomous vehicles, drones video, and social media.
Department of Defense Electromagnetic Spectrum Operations: Challenges and Opportunities in the Invisible Battlespace
by
Hearing before the Subcommittee on Cyber, Innovative Technologies, and Information Systems of the Committee on Armed Services, House of Representatives, One Hundred Seventeenth Congress, First Session, Hearing held March 19, 2021
Designing Digital RF Memories for Electronic Warfare
by
This book provides a comprehensive resource and thorough treatment in the latest development of Digital RF Memory (DRFM) technology and their key role in maintaining dominance over the electromagnetic spectrum. Part I discusses the use of advanced technology to design transceivers for spectrum sensing using unmanned systems to dominate the electromagnetic spectrum. Part II uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to enable modern spectrum sensing and detection signal processing for electronic support and electronic attack.
Disruptive and Game Changing Technologies in Modern Warfare
by
This book explores and analyzes emerging innovations within today's most cutting-edge science and technology (S & T) areas, which are cited as carrying the potential to revolutionize governmental structures, economies, and international security. Chapters within the book look at the changing strategic environment in which security operations are planned and conducted; how these impact science and technology policy choices made today; and predictions of how science and technology may play a beneficial or deleterious role in the future.
Electromagnetic Fields
by
This textbook on electromagnetic fields covers all the generic and unconventional topics including electrostatic boundary value problems involving two- and three-dimensional Laplacian fields and one- and two- dimensional Poissonion fields, magnetostatic boundary value problems, eddy currents, and electromagnetic compatibility.
Electromagnetic Interference and Electromagnetic Compatibility
by
Electromagnetic compatibility is concerned with the generation, transmission, and reception of electromagnetic energy. The book discusses about the basic principles of electromagnetic interference (EMI) and electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) including causes, events, and mitigation of issues. This book addresses the gap between theory and practice using case studies with design, experiments, and supporting analysis.
Electromagnetic Warfare Techniques
by
ATP 3-12.3 complements the electromagnetic warfare tactics presented in FM 3-12. ATP 3-12.3 provides doctrinal guidance and direction to the Army for conducting electromagnec warfare during Army operations. This publication provides a description of electromagnetic warfare roles, relationships, responsibilities, and capabilities to support Army and joint operations.
Engineering Artificially Intelligent Systems
by
Many current AI and machine learning algorithms and data and information fusion processes attempt in software to estimate situations in our complex world of nested feedback loops. To realize effective and efficient designs of computational systems, a Systems Engineering perspective may provide a framework for identifying the interrelationships and patterns of change between components rather than static snapshots. This book offers an emphasis on pragmatic aspects and address topics in systems engineering; AI, machine learning, and reasoning; data and information fusion; intelligent systems; autonomous systems; interdependence and teamwork; human-computer interaction; trust; and resilience.
Fighting in the Electromagnetic Spectrum
by
Naval warfare was confined for centuries to surface combat or undersea clashes. In the twentieth century aerial warfare became the third domain and shortly thereafter, the electromagnetic spectrum also appeared. In Fighting in the Electromagnetic Spectrum, author Thomas Wildenberg provides the first book covering these aircraft, their missions, and the methodology of conducting combat in all its forms along this fourth domain, the electromagnetic spectrum.
IEEE Guide for the Electromagnetic Characterization of Conductive Gaskets in the Frequency Range of DC to 40 GHz
by
Information to assist users of gaskets in evaluating gasket measurement techniques to determine which exhibit the properties critical to the intended application, to highlight limitations and sources of error of the competing measurement techniques, and to provide a basis for comparing the techniques is provided in this guide. Emphasis is placed on those measurement techniques that have been adopted through incorporation into standards, both commercial and military, or that have been used extensively.
Inside Cyber Warfare: Mapping the Cyber Underworld
by
Get a fascinating and disturbing look into how state and nonstate actors throughout the world use cyber attacks to gain military, political, and economic advantages. In the third edition of this book, cyber warfare researcher Jeffrey Caruso explores the latest advances in cyber espionage and warfare that have emerged on the battlefields of Ukraine and the Middle East, including cyber attacks that result in the physical destruction of the target and the pairing of cognitive with maneuver warfare.
Introduction to Electronic Defense Systems
by
Over the past decade, new technologies have drastically changed the way radar and electronic warfare systems are implemented. Packed with illustrations of key assets like aircraft, ships and radars, this book delivers the most up-to-date overview of electronic defence systems and describes new methods of implementing them.
IoT for Defense and National Security
by
IoT for Defense and National Security covers topics on IoT (Internet of Things) security, architecture, robotics, sensing, policy, operations, and more, including the latest results from the premier IoT research initiative of the U.S. Defense Department, the Internet of Battle Things. The text also discusses challenges in converting defense industrial operations to IoT and summarizes policy recommendations for regulating government use of IoT in free societies.
Joint Electromagnetic Spectrum Operations
by
The procedures in this manual are intended to enable joint force commanders (JFCs) to achieve EMS superiority in the electromagnetic operation environment (EMOE) through EMS management and EW, and to enable JFCs to perform electromagnetic battle management (EMBM), which includes command and control (C2), of Joint Electromagnetic Spectrum Operations (JEMSO) in a congested, contested, and constrained EMOE.
Outsmarting Agile Adversaries in the Electromagnetic Spectrum
by
The U.S. Air Force's electronic warfare integrated reprogramming (EWIR) enterprise examines intelligence on adversary threats that emit in the electromagnetic spectrum (EMS) (in particular, radars and jammers) and configures electronic warfare software and hardware to enable aircraft or other resources to react to and/or respond to adverse changes in the EMS environment. The research team conducted four interrelated technology case studies that together comprise the fundamental elements necessary for creating a near-real-time, autonomous, inflight software reprogramming capability and, more specifically, artificial intelligence–enabled cognitive electronic warfare capabilities—the use of machine learning algorithms that enable platforms to learn, reprogram, adapt, and effectively counter threats in flight.
The Spectrum Handbook 2018
by
This Handbook has three objectives: 1) to serve as a primer for explaining the complex issues around the use of electromagnetic spectrum; 2) to analyze, from both an economic and a legal perspective, the regulatory processes being considered or underway to reallocate or change the use of spectrum bands; and 3) to be a reference source for industry professionals.
Strategic A2/AD in Cyberspace
by
Strategic A2/AD in Cyberspace focuses on exclusion from cyberspace, or the ability of a state to be cut off entirely from cyberspace. Strategic anti-access and area denial (A2/AD) operations are common in other domains, but, before now, they have not been examined for their relevance to cyberspace. This book examines how strategic A2/AD operations can cut off states from cyberspace through attacks at either the physical or logic layers of cyberspace.
Techniques and System Design of Radar Active Jamming
by
This book serves as a handbook for radar active jamming system designers, in which design principles and methods are introduced in detail. The book starts from the basic concept and then discusses requirements analysis, type selection, key indicators description, and design methods of radar active jamming system and each subsystem step by step. The content is expressed in an intelligible way, and hence, it is easy to follow even for beginners in this area. Since the authors of this book are all experts and have designed plenty of real systems, their book certainly helps new engineers deal with different kinds of problems encountered while designing a radar active jamming system.
War at the Speed of Light
by
War at the Speed of Light explores the ever-increasing and revolutionary role of directed-energy weapons in warfare, including laser, microwave, electromagnetic pulse (EMP), and cyberspace weapons. In addition, this book delineates the threat that directed-energy weapons pose to disrupting the doctrine of MAD (Mutually Assured Destruction), which has kept the major powers of the world from engaging in nuclear war.