LibGuides: Human Factors: Essentials

Journals

Aerospace Medicine and Human Performance Peer-reviewed monthly journal devoted to serving and supporting all who explore, travel, work, or live in hazardous environments ranging from beneath the sea to the outermost reaches of space. The original scientific articles in this journal provide the latest available information on investigations into such areas as changes in ambient pressure, motion sickness, increased or decreased gravitational forces, thermal stresses, vision, fatigue, circadian rhythms, psychological stress, artificial environments, predictors of success, health maintenance, human factors engineering, clinical care, and others.
Applied Cognitive Psychology Seeks to publish the best papers dealing with psychological analyses of memory, learning, thinking, problem solving, language, and consciousness as they occur in real world contexts. Applied Cognitive Psychology focuses on studies of human performance and basic cognitive skills in everyday environments.
Applied Ergonomics Applied Ergonomics is aimed at ergonomists and all those interested in applying ergonomics/human factors in the design, planning and management of technical and social systems at work or leisure. Areas covered include applications in the office, industry, consumer products, information technology and military design.
Behaviour and Information Technology Information technology is more than just traditional computers: it includes telecommunications, office systems, industrial automation, robotics and even consumer products. Behaviour and Information Technology (BIT) deals with the human aspects of this technology and reports original research and development on the design, use and impact of information technology in all its forms.
Ergonomics in Design: The Quarterly of Human Factors Applications *Available By Request Journal intended to serve the needs of practicing human factors/ergonomics professionals who are concerned with the usability of products, systems, tools, and environments.
Foundations and Trends in Human Computer Interaction *Available By Request Publishes monographs of surveys and tutorials on the foundations of human-computer interaction.
Humans Factors: The Journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society *Available By Request The flagship journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society.
IIE Transactions on Occupational Ergonomics and Human Factors *Available By Request IIE TOEHF is devoted to compiling and disseminating knowledge on occupational ergonomics and human factors theory, technology, application, and practice, across diverse areas and using a variety of approaches. Papers cover a wide range of topics including, but not limited to the major domains of physical, cognitive, and organizational ergonomics and human factors.
International Journal of Human-Cognitive Interaction *Available By Request Journal addressing the cognitive, creative, social, health, and ergonomic aspects of interactive computing
International Journal of Industrial Ergonomics The journal typically covers the following areas: industrial and occupational ergonomics, design of systems, tools and equipment, human performance measurement and modeling, human productivity, humans in technologically complex systems, and safety. The focus of the articles includes basic theoretical advances, applications, case studies, new methodologies and procedures; and empirical studies.
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance *Available By Request Empirical studies, theoretical notes, commentary and criticism on perception, formulation and control of action and related cognitive processes, including all sensory modalities and motor systems.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
O'Reilly In particular, this is a great resource to find books on specific software applications and other aspects of information technology. To access the service, users must first register for an account on the DoD MWR O'Reilly home page
Worldwide Science A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals, WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

Books

Cognition and decision making in complex adaptive systems : the human factor in organizational performance by Meghan Carmody-Bubb This book explains the role of human behavior research, from both a historical and modern perspective, in improving objective, measurable performance outcomes to include safety, strategic decision making, and organizational performance. The book builds upon empirically supported foundations of human cognition, but with a focus on applying this knowledge in a manner that can improve human decision-making to enhance safety and performance. It includes explanations of how the human mind processes information, including differences in novice versus expert information processing, and tools to combat various cognitive biases. Explained within the framework of complex adaptive systems, this book builds upon resources developed through the authors years of combined applied research and graduate teaching and includes chapters on the roles of uncertainty and complexity within scientific research. Finally, the book offers tools that are rooted in empirical research and demonstrated within the context of contemporary, real-world scenarios, with a focus on improving organizational effectiveness through improved strategic decision making and the development of learning cultures within organizations.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9783031319297
Publication Date: 2023-06-23
Human Factors in Simulation and Training by Dennis A. Vincenzi (Editor); Mustapha Mouloua (Editor); Peter Hancock (Editor); James A. Pharmer (Editor); James C. Ferraro (Editor) Human Factors in Simulation and Training: Application and Practice covers the latest applications and practical implementations of advanced technologies in the field of simulation and training. The text focuses on descriptions and discussions of current applications and the use of the latest technological advances in simulation and training. It covers topics including space adaptation syndrome and perceptual training, simulation for battle-ready command and control, healthcare simulation and training, human factors aspects of cybersecurity training and testing, design and development of algorithms for gesture-based control of semi-autonomous vehicles, and advances in the after-action review process for defence training. The text is an ideal read for professionals and graduate students in the fields of ergonomics, human factors, computer engineering, aerospace engineering, occupational health, and safety.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781000909234
Publication Date: 2023-08-30

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society The Society's mission is to promote the discovery and exchange of knowledge concerning the characteristics of human beings that are applicable to the design of systems and devices of all kinds.
IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society The mission of the Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society is to serve the interests of its members and the community at large by promoting the theory, practice, and interdisciplinary aspects of systems science and engineering, human-machine systems, and cybernetics. It is accomplished through conferences, publications, and other activities that contribute to the professional needs of its members.
The Institute of Ergonomics and Human Factors A British organization whose mission is to develop and share an understanding of ergonomics and human factors, demonstrate its benefits for human wellbeing and organizational success, and bring about its adoption in everyday life
International Ergonomics Association The mission of the IEA is to elaborate and advance ergonomics science and practice, and to expand its scope of application and contribution to society to improve the quality of life, working closely with its constituent societies and related international organizations.

Websites

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>