Charged Particle Optics Theory by
Charged Particle Optics Theory: An Introduction identifies the most important concepts of charged particle optics theory, and derives each mathematically from the first principles of physics. Assuming an advanced undergraduate-level understanding of calculus, this book follows a logical progression, with each concept building upon the preceding one.
Fundamentals of Infrared and Visible Detector Operation and Testing by
Presents a comprehensive introduction to the selection, operation, and testing of infrared devices, including a description of modern detector assemblies and their operation This book discusses how to use and test infrared and visible detectors.
Guided Wave Optics and Photonic Devices by
Guided Wave Optics and Photonic Devices introduces readers to a broad cross-section of topics in this area, from the basics of guided wave optics and nonlinear optics to biophotonics. The book is inspired by and expands on lectures delivered by distinguished speakers at a three-week school on guided wave optics and devices organized at the CSIR-Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute in Kolkata in 2011.
Handbook of Optical Sensors by 
Introduction to Nonimaging Optics by 
Military Laser Technology and Systems by
This new resource provides an insight into the physical principles of the device technology that underpins many laser-based military systems in one form or another.
Optical Design Using Excel by 
Optical Fiber Sensors by
Optical Fiber Sensors: Advanced Techniques and Applications draws upon the extensive academic and industrial experience of its contributing authors to deliver a comprehensive introduction to optical fiber sensors with a strong practical focus suitable for undergraduate and graduate students as well as scientists and engineers working in the field.
Optical Fibre Sensors by
The book acts as a guide and a reference for a wide audience, ranging from graduate students to researchers and engineers in the world of fiber optic sensors. It provides fundamentals as well as some examples to aid understanding of both the working principles of fiber optic sensors and their possible applications. Some first sections are devoted to the explanation of how light propagates through the basic elements of the sensor setup: the optical source, the detector, light coupling, splices, etc. In addition to this, different detection techniques area detailed, including intensity modulation, polarimetric detection, phase modulation and wavelength modulation. Also, distributed sensing with Rayleigh, Raman and Brillouin scattering methods are presented. Finally the book provides some chapters on optimized applications such as biomechanical sensing, gas and volatile organic compound sensors, health care and clinical diagnosis.
Optical Measurements for Scientists and Engineers by
With this accessible, introductory guide, you will quickly learn how to use and apply optical spectroscopy and optical microscopy techniques. Focusing on day-to-day implementation and offering practical lab tips throughout, it provides step-by-step instructions on how to select the best technique for a particular application, how to set up and customize new optical systems, and how to analyze optical data. You will gain an intuitive understanding of the full range of standard optical techniques, from fluorescence and Raman spectroscopy to super resolution microscopy. Understand how to navigate around an optics lab with clear descriptions of the most common optical components and tools. Including explanations of basic optics and photonics, and easy-to-understand mathematics, this is an invaluable resource for graduate students, instructors, researchers and professionals who use or teach optical measurements in laboratories.
Optics Using MATLAB by
Optics using MATLAB provides a functional overview of developing code using MATLAB that can be used to enhance and increase understanding optics topics though the use of visualization tools. The book ties a number of optical topics to programming activities with MATLAB and can act as a supplement to other textbooks or stand alone. It is divided into three sections. Part I focuses on a wide range of basic programing fundamentals using MATLAB and includes topics such as curve fitting, image processing, and file storage. Part II provides a review of a number of selected topics in optics and demonstrates how these can be explored using MATLAB scripts. Part III discusses how to use MATLAB to improve the usability of custom programs through graphical user interfaces and incorporating other programming languages. Optical engineers needing flexibility and special calculations will find the books explanations and examples of user-programmable software to be of value.
Opto-Mechanical Fiber Optic Sensors by
Opto-mechanical Fiber Optic Sensors: Research, Technology, and Applications in Mechanical Sensing offers comprehensive coverage of the theoretical aspects of fiber optic sensors (FOS), along with current and emerging applications in the mechanical, petroleum, biomedical, biomechanical, aerospace and automotive industries. Special attention is given to FOS applications in harsh environments. Due to recent technology advances, optical fibers have found uses in many industrial applications. Various sectors are major targets for FOS's capable of measuring mechanical parameters, such as pressure, stress, strain and temperature. Opto-mechanical FOS's offer unique advantages, including immunity to electromagnetic interference, high fidelity and signal-to-noise ratio, low-loss remote sensing and small size.
Optomechanical Systems Engineering by
Covers the fundamental principles behind optomechanical design This book emphasizes a practical, systems-level overview of optomechanical engineering, showing throughout how the requirements on the optical system flow down to those on the optomechanical design
Photonics Rules of Thumb by
Updated and expanded, the third edition of Photonics Rules of Thumb represents an evolving, idiosyncratic, and eclectic toolbox intended to allow any engineer, scientist, manager, marketeer, or technician (regardless of specialty) to make rapid and accurate guesses at solutions in a wide range of topics during system design, modeling, or fabrication. This book will help any electro-optics team to make quick assessments, generally requiring no more than a calculator, so that they can quickly find the right solution for a design problem.
Principles of Nano-Optics by
First published in 2006, this book has become the standard reference on nano-optics. Now in its second edition, the text has been thoroughly updated to take into account new developments and research directions. While the overall structure and pedagogical style of the book remain unchanged, all existing chapters have been expanded and a new chapter has been added. Adopting a broad perspective, the authors provide a detailed overview of the theoretical and experimental concepts that are needed to understand and work in nano-optics, across subfields ranging from quantum optics to biophysics. New topics of discussion include: optical antennas; new imaging techniques; Fano interference and strong coupling; reciprocity; metamaterials; and cavity optomechanics. With numerous end-of-chapter problem sets and illustrative material to expand on ideas discussed in the main text, this is an ideal textbook for graduate students entering the field. It is also a valuable reference for researchers and course teachers.
Quantum Optomechanics by 
Semiconductor Laser Theory by 
Statistical Optics by 
Theory and Design of Acoustic Metamaterials by
This book presents the most recent theoretical developments and numerical/experimental validations of new metamaterials and phononic crystals for the broadband absorption of elastic waves and vibrations in structures. These nine chapters explore many aspects of phononic crystals and acoustic/elastic metamaterials, including sound attenuation/absorption, extraordinary transmission, wave broadband mitigation, wave steering, cloaking via the transformation method, optimization of phononic crystals, and active acoustic metamaterials.
Tunable Micro-Optics by
Presenting state-of-the-art tunable micro-optics research, this is the first book to provide a comprehensive survey of the field, covering novel materials, actuation concepts and new imaging systems. An essential resource for engineers in academia and industry, and advanced students working on optical systems design.
Undersea Fiber Communication Systems by
Since publication of the 1st edition in 2002, there has been a deep evolution of the global communication network with the entry of submarine cables in the Terabit era. Thanks to optical technologies, the transmission on a single fiber can achieve 1 billion simultaneous phone calls across the ocean!
Modern submarine optical cables are fueling the global internet backbone, surpassing by far all alternative techniques. This new edition of Undersea Fiber Communication Systems provides a detailed explanation of all technical aspects of undersea communications systems, with an emphasis on the most recent breakthroughs of optical submarine cable technologies. This fully updated new edition is the best resource for demystifying enabling optical technologies, equipment, operations, up to marine installations, and is an essential reference for those in contact with this field.