LibGuides: Systems Engineering: Essentials

Journals

IEEE/SICE International Symposium on System Integration ISSN: 2474-2325 IEEE SICE Symposium on System Integration (SII) is the premier symposium series presenting the state of the art and future perspectives of System integration, where industry experts, researchers, and academics share ideas and experiences surrounding frontier technologies, breakthrough and innovative solutions and applications.
IEEE Open Journal of Systems Engineering ISSN: 2771-9987 The IEEE Open Journal of Systems Engineering provides a forum for practitioners, scientists, academics, and researchers engaged in the discipline of Systems Engineering. Multidisciplinary aspects of systems engineering is a focus of this journal. Methodologies, tools, principles, and applied engineering aspects of the process of systems engineering for complex systems are of interest. The methodologies, tools, and principles include such elements as model-based systems engineering; digital thread; requirements generation, flowdown, tracking, needs analysis, validation/verification; integration and test; and full life cycle of the target system.
IEEE Systems Journal ISSN: 1932-8184 This journal is created to provide a systems-level focused forum for application-oriented manuscripts that address complex systems and system-of-systems of national and global significance. It is intended to encourage and facilitate cooperation and interaction among IEEE societies, and other professional societies, with systems-level and systems engineering interest.
Insight ISSN: 2156-485X Insight magazine publishes four times per year, featuring informative articles dedicated to advancing the state of practice in systems engineering and to close the gap with the state of the art.
International Journal of Industrial and Systems Engineering ISSN: 1748-5037 IJISE addresses the development of ISE principles, tools, systems and methods with special emphasis on the applications of ISE techniques and tools in improving organizational productivity and competitiveness in global markets.
International Journal of Intelligent Unmanned Systems ISSN: 2049-6427 Internation Journal of Intelligent Unmanned Systems (IJIUS) is dedicated to the advancement of the applied science, technology and know-how of autonomous systems through the dissemination of original research work representing significant advances in the design, development, testing and operation of autonomous vehicles and systems for various applications.
Journal of Systems Engineering and Electronics ISSN: 1004-4132 The scope of the journal includes systems engineering, military systems, electronic technology, defense, electronic technology, control theory and practice, software algorithm and simulation, reliability, computer development and application and other topics in all related fields.
Reliability Engineering and Systems Safety ISSN: 1879-0836 Reliability Engineering and System Safety is an international journal devoted to the development and application of methods for the enhancement of the safety and reliability of complex technological systems, like nuclear power plants, chemical plants, hazardous waste facilities, space systems, offshore and maritime systems, transportation systems, constructed infrastructure and manufacturing plants. The journal normally publishes only articles that involve the analysis of substantive problems related to the reliability of complex systems or present techniques and/or theoretical results that have a discernable relationship to the solution of such problems. An important aim is to achieve a balance between academic material and practical applications
Systems Engineering ISSN: 1098-1241 The journal Systems Engineering aims to publish manuscripts on topics related to the discipline of Systems Engineering. The journal welcomes original submissions on the conceptualization, design, implementation, operation, sustainment, and recycling, reuse, and retirement of technologically enabled systems that satisfy stakeholder needs throughout the lifecycle. This includes products and services in the private sector, as well as defense and public infrastructures and socio-technical systems whose precise boundaries are often challenging to define.
Systems Science and Control Engineering ISSN: 2164-2583 Systems Science & Control Engineering is a world-leading fully open access journal covering all areas of theoretical and applied systems science and control engineering. The journal encourages the submission of original articles, reviews and short communications in areas including, but not limited to: artificial intelligence, complex systems, complex networks, control theory, control applications, cybernetics, dynamical systems theory, operations research, systems biology, systems dynamics, systems ecology, systems engineering, systems psychology, and systems theory.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference proceedings
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) This DTIC service helps the DoD community access pertinent scientific and technical information. Including: DoD Technical Reports, the Research Summaries (RS) database, the Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (CISTI) database, British Library Document Supply Centre's inside web database, and Interagency Gray Literature Working Group information.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Websites

Access to Space for All Systems Engineering United Nations and Office for Outer Space Affiars in partnership with NASA present this webinar series. NASA helped pioneer Systems Engineering, which is a ” robust approach to the design, creation, and operation of systems.
Engineering.com ENGINEERING.com is a digital media publisher that brings the most influential voices in engineering to a worldwide audience of designers and engineers. These stories highlight the latest advances in technology for product innovation and manufacturing. The ENGINEERING.com web sites, social media presence and mobile apps provide a platform for industrial brands to reach millions of engineers every month.
INCOSE About Systems Engineering The International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) is a not-for-profit membership organization founded to develop and disseminate the transdisciplinary principles and practices that enable the realization of successful systems. INCOSE is designed to connect systems engineering professionals with educational, networking, and career-advancement opportunities in the interest of developing the global community of systems engineers and systems approaches to problems. We are also focused on producing state-of-the-art work products that support and enhance this discipline’s visibility in the world.
Range Systems Engieering Department The Range Systems Engineering Department builds, instruments and supports DoD test and training ranges worldwide. The department provides systems engineering and technical guidance to range commanders and managers across the Navy and Marine Corps and serves as the technical agent for operation, maintenance and engineering of Navy and Marine Corps Tactical Training Range (TTR) systems.
System Safety Engineering System safety engineering involves planning, identifying, documenting, and mitigating hazards that contribute to mishaps involving defense systems, platforms, or personnel (military and the public). The system safety practice aids in optimizing the safety of a system. Department of Defense (DoD) engineers use the systems engineering process to influence system designs during all stages of the defense acquisition life cycle to mitigate identified hazards. The system safety engineering process applies to both hardware and software within the system or its associated system of systems (SoS).
Systems of Engineering and Acquisition Logistics Systems Engineering & Acquisition Logistics provides centralized guidance and program advocacy for portfolio and program engineering and logistics matters in order to enable successful portfolio planning and execution.
Training Center Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers The IISE Training Center is unsurpassed in meeting the educational goals of professionals in myriad industries. IISE is an IACET Authorized Provider and “has complied with the ANSI/IACET Standard, which is recognized internationally as a standard of excellence in instructional practices and is authorized to issue the IACET CEU.” Our instructors are experts in essential topics including Lean and Six Sigma, concepts based on long-standing industrial engineering principles. We ensure that our students attain in-depth levels of understanding and practical knowledge of how to apply strategies to achieve business and professional excellence. Students earn digital badges and certificates to share on social media, email signatures, certificates, wherever employers are looking. The world is online - that's where your credentials should reside.

Books

Generic systems engineering : a methodical approach to complexity management by Nadine Schlüter The work gives a historical outline of the development trends in systems engineering (SE) up to the present. This includes a systematic examination of the various models and process concepts of SE. Based on this, the Generic Systems Engineering (GSE) is developed, consisting of a new meta-model, which can be combined with a project management-integrated process concept in a problem-solving-oriented manner and can be permanently updated or supplemented. Eight test examples show possible fields of application of the GSE, which range from virtual product development to field data feedback into it.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9783662679944
Publication Date: 2023-12-29
Systems Engineering for the Digital Age by Dinesh Verma (Editor) Systems Engineering for the Digital Age: Practitioner Perspectives covers methods and tools that are made possible by the latest developments in computational modeling, descriptive modeling languages, semantic web technologies, and describes how they can be integrated into existing systems engineering practice, how best to manage their use, and how to help train and educate systems engineers of today and the future. This book explains how digital models can be leveraged for enhancing engineering trades, systems risk and maturity, and the design of safe, secure, and resilient systems, providing an update on the methods, processes, and tools to synthesize, analyze, and make decisions in management, mission engineering, and system of systems.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available from O'Reilly Learning
ISBN: 9781394203284
Publication Date: 2023-10-24

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society for Engineering Management The American Society for Engineering Management (ASEM) is a global professional society dedicated to the promotion and advancement of the engineering and technical management profession. ASEM provides a foundation for anyone wanting to engage with or become knowledgeable about the field of Engineering Management.
IEEE Systems Council The Systems Council integrates IEEE activities regarding aspects of multiple disciplines and specialty areas of systems engineering, and covers, but is not limited to: systems engineering; systems modeling; robust design; product transition; program/project management; quality assurance; mission assurance; requirements development and management; risk management; systems architecture, and systems-of-systems.
The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) is the global association of productivity and efficiency professionals specializing in industrial engineering, healthcare, ergonomics and other related professions. IISE is where these varied fields come together to advance the engineering profession through networking, training, and knowledge sharing.
International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) The International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) is a not-for-profit membership organization founded to develop and disseminate the interdisciplinary principles and practices that enable the realization of successful systems.
Society of Women Engineers Society of Women Engineers (SWE) has given women engineers a unique place and voice within the engineering industry. Our organization is centered around a passion for our members’ success and continues to evolve with the challenges and opportunities reflected in today’s exciting engineering and technology specialties. We invite you to explore the values, principles, and priorities that guide our initiatives and learn how together, WE can continue to make a lasting impact on the future.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>