LibGuides: Fluid Mechanics and Hydrodynamics: Essentials

Journals

Annual Reviews of Fluid Mechanics ISSN: 0066-4189 | eISSN: 1545-4479 The Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics, in publication since 1969, covers the significant developments in the field of fluid mechanics, including history and foundations; non-newtonian fluids and rheology; incompressible and compressible fluids; plasma flow; stability of flow; multi-phase flows; mixing and transport of heat and species; control of fluid flow; combustion; turbulence; shock waves and explosions.
Computers & Fluids ISSN: 0045-7930 | eISSN: 1879-0747 Computers & Fluids is multidisciplinary. The term 'fluid' is interpreted in the broadest sense. Hydro- and aerodynamics, high-speed and physical gas dynamics, turbulence and flow stability, multiphase flow, rheology, tribology and fluid-structure interaction are all of interest, provided that computer technique plays a significant role in the associated studies or design methodology.
European Journal of Mechanics B/Fluids ISSN: 0997-7546 | eISSN: 1873-7390 *Available By Request The European Journal of Mechanics - B/Fluids publishes papers in all fields of fluid mechanics. Although investigations in well-established areas are within the scope of the journal, recent developments and innovative ideas are particularly welcome. Theoretical, computational and experimental papers are equally welcome. Mathematical methods, be they deterministic or stochastic, analytical or numerical, will be accepted, provided they serve to clarify some identifiable problems in fluid mechanics, and provided the significance of results is explained. Similarly, experimental papers must add physical insight in to the understanding of fluid mechanics.
Experiments in Fluids ISSN: 0723-4864 | eISSN: 1432-1114 Experiments in Fluids examines the advancement, extension, and improvement of new techniques of flow measurement. The journal also publishes contributions that employ existing experimental techniques to gain an understanding of the underlying flow physics in the areas of turbulence, aerodynamics, hydrodynamics, convective heat transfer, combustion, turbomachinery, multi-phase flows, and chemical, biological and geological flows.
Flow Measurement and Instrumentation ISSN: 0955-5986 | eISSN: 1873-6998 Flow Measurement and Instrumentation is dedicated to disseminating the latest research results on all aspects of flow measurement, in both closed conduits and open channels. The design of flow measurement systems involves a wide variety of multidisciplinary activities including modeling the flow sensor, the fluid flow and the sensor/fluid interactions through the use of computation techniques; the development of advanced transducer systems and their associated signal processing and the laboratory and field assessment of the overall system under ideal and disturbed conditions.
International Journal of Computational Fluid Dynamics ISSN: 1061-8562 | eISSN: 1029-0257 The aim of the International Journal of Computational Fluid Dynamics is the continuous and timely dissemination of innovative CFD research and developments, of a fundamental or applied nature, and their applications to a wide variety of fields . The Journal emphasizes accurate predictive tools for 3D flow analysis and design, and those promoting a deeper understanding of the physics of 3D fluid motion. Relevant and innovative practical and industrial 3D applications, as well as those of an interdisciplinary nature, are encouraged.
International Journal of Computational Methods ISSN: 0219-8762 | eISSN: 1793-6969 The purpose of this journal is to provide a unique forum for the fast publication and rapid dissemination of original research results and innovative ideas on the state-of-the-art on computational methods
Journal of Fluid Mechanics ISSN: 0022-1120 | eISSN: 1469-7645 Journal of Fluid Mechanics is the leading international journal in the field and is essential reading for all those concerned with developments in fluid mechanics. It publishes authoritative articles covering theoretical, computational and experimental investigations of all aspects of the mechanics of fluids.
Journal of Hydrodynamics ISSN: 1001-6058 | eISSN: 1878-0342 The Journal of Hydrodynamics reflects the research activities in various areas of hydrodynamics related to ocean and ship engineering, environmental engineering, water conservancy and hydropower engineering, energy exploration, ocean and environmental engineering, and chemical engineering. These cover ship hydrodynamics, wave load and fluid-solid interactions, turbulence and boundary layer, cavitating flow and cavitation mechanics, multi-phase flow, pipe flow and open ditch flow, convection and diffusion, heat and mass transfer, bio-fluid mechanics, permeation fluid mechanics and other frontier disciplines.
Journal of Rheology ISSN: 0148-6055 | eISSN: 1520-8516 The Journal of Rheology is a vital resource for researchers working in fields as diverse as polymer physics and fluid mechanics. It presents experimental results, phenomenological models, and microscopic theories dealing with the rheological behavior of complex materials, including macromolecular, colloidal and particulate solids, and fluids. Application areas include foods, paints, plastics, lubricants, ceramics, coatings, glaciers, and biological fluids.
Journal of Turbomachinery ISSN: 0889-504X | eISSN: 1528-8900 The Journal of Turbomachinery publishes archival-quality, peer-reviewed technical papers that advance the state-of-the-art of turbomachinery technology related to gas turbine engines. The broad scope of the subject matter includes the fluid dynamics, heat transfer and aeromechanics technology associated with the design, analysis, modeling, testing and performance of turbomachinery. Emphasis is placed on gas-path technologies associated with axial compressors, centrifugal compressors and turbines.
Physics of Fluids ISSN: 1070-6631 | eISSN: 1089-7666 Physics of Fluids features intriguing original theoretical, computational, and experimental publications to deepen our understanding of the dynamics of gases, liquids, or complex fluids.
Theoretical and Computational Fluid Dynamics ISSN: 0935-4964 | eISSN: 1432-2250 The purpose of this journal is to report original research of scholarly value in theoretical and computational fluid dynamics aimed at elucidating flow physics.

Databases

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Conrolled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) This DTIC service helps the DoD community access pertinent scientific and technical information. Including: DoD Technical Reports, Research Summaries (RS) database, Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information (CISTI) database, British Library Document Supply Centre's inside web database, and Interagency Gray Literature Working Group information.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference.
Janes For open-source defense intelligence, no one anywhere in the world is as trusted or as recommended as Janes. With the most complete foundational military data sets, compiled by 500,000+ analyst hours every year, we provide accurate, current data for any environment or system.
Marine Technology Abstracts The Marine Technology Abstracts database contains bibliographic information for more than 125,000 technical articles, reports, books, conference and transaction papers and other material on all aspects of maritime technology, dating as far back as 1940. Topics covered include: Ship and vessel descriptions; Design and construction; Ship powering, equipment, maintenance, repair, conversion; Cargo handling/port design and operation; Safety at sea/environmental protection; Coastal and ocean engineering/offshore technology; Fluid mechanics, hydrodynamics, hydraulics and aerodynamics; Ship resistance and propulsion, motions, seakeeping and manoeuvring; Structural response, material properties, corrosion and fouling; Naval vessels and defence technology.
Office of Science and Technology Information (OTSI) OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI’s home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Books

Computational Fluid Dynamics by Jiyuan Tu; Guan Heng Yeoh; Chaoqun Liu; Yao Tao A senior level undergraduate and graduate textbook for a wide audience of engineering students taking a first course in CFD or Computer Aided Engineering. Fully course matched, with the most extensive and rigorous pedagogy and features of any book in the field. The first book in the field aimed at CFD users rather than developers. The only course text available that is specifically designed to give an applications lead, software oriented approach to understanding and using CFD.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9780323939386
Publication Date: 2024-01-29
Handbook of Marine Craft Hydrodynamics and Motion Control by Thor I. Fossen Handbook of Marine Craft Hydrodynamics and Motion Control is an extensive study of the latest research in hydrodynamics, guidance, navigation, and control systems for marine craft. The text establishes how the implementation of mathematical models and modern control theory can be used for simulation and verification of control systems, decision-support systems, and situational awareness systems. Coverage includes hydrodynamic models for marine craft, models for wind, waves and ocean currents, dynamics and stability of marine craft, advanced guidance principles, sensor fusion, and inertial navigation. This important book includes the latest tools for analysis and design of advanced GNC systems and presents new material on unmanned underwater vehicles, surface craft, and autonomous vehicles.
Call Number: *Available By Request
ISBN: 9781119575054
Publication Date: 2021-04-19

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

American Society for Civil Engineers - Fluid Dynamics Committee To promote the progress of research and development in fluid mechanics and serve the engineering profession by solving technical problems of societal and economic impacts such as wind engineering, computational fluid dynamics, fluid-structure interaction, environmental fluid mechanics, sediment transport, soil erodibility, river mechanics, multiphase flow, air-water gas exchange, turbulent transport and mixing, jets and plumes, coastal and estuarine hydrodynamics, atmospheric sciences, etc.
American Society for Mechanical Engineers - Fluids Engineering Division he Fluids Engineering Division is involved in all areas of fluid mechanics, encompassing both fundamental as well as applications, to all types of devices, processes and machines involving fluid flow, including pumps, turbines, compressors, pipelines, fluidic systems, biological fluid elements and hydraulic structures.
International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research The International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR), founded in 1935, is a worldwide independent organisation of engineers and water specialists working in fields related to the hydro-environmental sciences and their practical application. Activities range from river and maritime hydraulics to water resources development and eco-hydraulics, through to ice engineering, hydro-informatics and continuing education and training. IAHR stimulates and promotes both research and it's application, and by so doing strives to contribute to sustainable development, the optimisation of world water resources management and industrial flow processes
The Von Karman Institute VKI is a non-profit international educational and scientific organisation, hosting three departments (aeronautics and aerospace, environmental and applied fluid dynamics, and turbomachinery & propulsion). It provides post-graduate education in fluid dynamics (research master in fluid dynamics, former "VKI Diploma Course", doctoral program, short training program and lecture series) and encourages "training in research through research."
American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers (ASTFE) The American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers (ASTFE) was established in July 2014 to promote the science and applications of thermal and fluids engineering and related disciplines.

Websites

35th Symposium on Naval Hydrodynamics The 35th Symposium on Naval Hydrodynamics (35th SNH) will be held in Nantes, France, from Sunday, July 07th through Friday, July 12th, 2024. The Symposium is co-sponsored by the U.S. Office of Naval Research (ONR) and Centrale Nantes. As a global forum for networking and sharing advancements in cutting edge science and technology since its inception in 1956, this biennial symposium has focused on research and development in fluid mechanics as they relate to naval hydrodynamics.
Center for Computational Fluid Dynamics CFD Online is an online center for Computational Fluid Dynamics. Services include several discussion forums, a jobs database, a free CFD reference in the form of a CFD-Wiki, a news and announcement forum, a books guide, an events calendar, and a comprehensive annotated link section with pointers to CFD resources around the world. CFD Online's goal is to offer high-quality web services to the CFD community.
eFluids eFluids is a specialty web portal designed to serve as a one-stop web information resource for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research, education and directly related topics. It is designed to become the first step on the path to solving problems in flow engineering and fluid mechanics research and development for the global fluid dynamics community by providing engineers, industry professionals, researchers, educators, and students with a consolidated, intelligently selected and organized database linking all aspects of the fluid flow specialization.
Laboratories for Computational Physics & Fluid Dynamics The Laboratories for Computational Physics & Fluid Dynamics (LCP&FD), located at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, are responsible for the research leading to and the application of advanced analytical and numerical capabilities that are relevant to Navy, DOD, and other programs of national interest. This research is pursued in the fields of compressible and incompressible fluid dynamics, reactive flows, fluid/structure interaction including submarine and aero-space applications, atmospheric and solar physics, and magnetoplasma dynamics for laboratory and space applications.
MIT OpeCourseware: Fluid Mechanics MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
MIT OpenCourseware: Hydrodynamics MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films In 1961, Ascher Shapiro founded the National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films (NCFMF) in cooperation with the Education Development Center and released a series of 39 videos and accompanying texts which revolutionized the teaching of fluid mechanics. MIT's iFluids program has made a number of the films from this series available on the web.
Surface Ship Hydrodynamics and Dynamics The goal of the surface ship hydrodynamics and dynamics research area is to develop increased understanding and predictive simulation capabilities of nonlinear interaction of surface ship and ocean environment, free surface turbulence, surface ship dynamics, and hydrodynamic loads in relevant operation environment
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute Environmental fluid mechanics focuses on ocean circulation and the physical processes driving waves and currents. Fluid and sediment transport, gas transfer, and wave dynamics are investigated to further our knowledge of ocean physics, erosion, and global climate.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>