LibGuides: Computer Hardware and Systems Engineering: Essentials

Journals

Computer Physics Communications ISSN: 0010-4655 | eISSN: 1879-2944 Computer Physics Communications publishes research papers and application software in the broad field of computational physics; current areas of particular interest are reflected by the research interests and expertise of the CPC Editorial Board. The focus is on contemporary computational methods and techniques and their implementation, the effectiveness of which will normally be demonstrated by the author(s) in the context of a substantive problem in physics.
Future Generation Computer Systems ISSN: 0167-739X | eISSN: 1872-7115 FGCS aims to lead the way in advances in distributed systems, collaborative environments, high performance and high-performance computing, Big Data on such infrastructures as grids, clouds and the Internet of Things (IoT). The aims and cope of FGCS cover new developments in applications and application support, methods and tools, and theory.
IEEE Internet of Things Journal eISSN: 2327-4662 IEEE Internet of Things (IoT) Journal publishes articles on the latest advances, as well as review articles, on the various aspects of IoT. Topics include IoT system architecture, IoT enabling technologies, IoT communication and networking protocols such as network coding, and IoT services and applications.
IEEE Network ISSN: 0890-8044 | eISSN: 1558-156X IEEE Network covers the following areas: network protocols and architectures, protocol design and validation, communication software, network control and signaling, network management, practical network implementations, switching and processing in integrated networks and components, and micro-to-host communication.
IEEE Open Journal of Systems Engineering eISSN: 2771-9987 IEEE Open Journal of Systems Engineering (OJSE) is a new open-access technical journal devoted to the multidisciplinary aspects of systems engineering. Systems engineering involves elements of model-based systems engineering; digital thread; requirements generation, flow down, tracking, needs analysis, and validation/verification; integration and test; and full life cycle support of the target system. OJSE deals primarily with the science, methodology, and tools of systems engineering, rather than the results of the application of systems engineering that is the focus of other IEEE journals.
IEEE Transactions on Computers ISSN: 0018-9340 | eISSN: 1557-9956 IEEE Transactions on Computers is a monthly publication with a wide distribution to researchers, developers, technical managers, and educators in the computer field. Areas of focus include computer organizations and architectures, operating systems, software systems, and communication protocols, real-time systems, new applications and trends, and more.
IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems ISSN: 1045-9129 | eISSN: 1558-2183 IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems (TPDS) is published monthly. It publishes a range of papers, comments on previously published papers, and survey articles that deal with the parallel and distributed systems research areas of current importance to our readers, including parallel and distributed algorithms, applications of parallel and distributed computing, parallel and distributed architectures and software, and more.
IEEE Transactions on Services Computing eISSN: 1939-1374 The scope covers all computing and software aspects of the science and technology of services innovation research and development. IEEE Transactions on Services Computing emphasizes the algorithmic, mathematical, statistical and computational methods that are central in services computing, the emerging field of Service Oriented Architecture, Web Services, Business Process Integration, Solution Performance Management, Services Operations and Management.
Information Fusion ISSN: 1566-2535 | eISSN: 1872-6305 The journal is intended to present within a single forum all of the developments in the field of multi-sensor, multi-source, multi-process information fusion and thereby promote the synergism among the many disciplines that are contributing to its growth. The journal is the premier vehicle for disseminating information on all aspects of research and development in the field of information fusion.
Information Systems ISSN: 0306-4379 | eISSN: 1873-6076 The journal Information Systems publishes articles concerning the design and implementation of languages, data models, process models, algorithms, software and hardware for information systems. Subject areas include data management issues as presented in the principal international database conferences as well as data-related issues from the fields of data mining/machine learning, information retrieval coordinated with structured data, internet and cloud data management, business process management, web semantics, visual and audio information systems, scientific computing, and data science.
International Journal of Computer Vision ISSN: 0920-5691 | eISSN: 1573-1405 The International Journal of Computer Vision (IJCV) provides a forum for the dissemination of new research results in the rapidly growing field of computer vision. Coverage includes mathematical, physical, and computational aspects of computer vision, applications, connections with human perception, and more.
Journal of Information Systems Engineering and Management eISSN: 2468-4376 Journal of Information Systems Engineering and Management (JISEM) is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes scientific articles on implementation and management of information systems by enterprises, citizens and society for the improvement of the socio-economic environment. Research published in the Journal focuses on relevant problems in the planning, analysis, design, implementation, exploration and management of information systems.
Journal of Manufacturing Systems ISSN: 0278-6125 | eISSN: 1878-6642 The aim of the Journal of Manufacturing Systems is to publish archival scholarly literature with the goal of advancing the state of the art in manufacturing systems and encouraging innovation in developing efficient, robust and sustainable manufacturing systems. Pertinent to the Journal is research that will impact emerging manufacturing systems from the equipment level to the extended enterprise.
Journal of Network and Computer Applications ISSN: 1084-8045 | eISSN: 1095-8592 The Journal of Network and Computer Applications welcomes research contributions, surveys and notes in all areas relating to computer networks and applications thereof. Topics of interest include new design techniques, computer networks and tools, standards for internet protocols, mobile computing, applications of networked systems, and more.
Journal of Systems Science and Systems Engineering ISSN: 1004-3756 | eISSN: 1861-9576 Journal of Systems Science and Systems Engineering is an international journal published bimonthly. It aims to foster new thinking and research, to help decision makers to understand the mechanism and complexity of economic, engineering, management, social and technological systems, and learn new developments in theory and practice that could help to improve the performance of systems.
Journal of the ACM ISSN: 0004-5411 | eISSN: 1557-735X The Journal of the ACM (JACM) provides coverage of the most significant work on principles of computer science, broadly construed. The scope of research we cover encompasses contributions of lasting value to any area of computer science. JACM is interested in work in core computer science and at the boundaries, both the boundaries of subdisciplines of computer science and the boundaries between computer science and other fields.
Networks ISSN: 0028-3045 | eISSN: 1097-0037 Networks journal is dedicated to solving the network problems that disrupt modern technological society. We publish new research on network design, network optimization and the mathematical modelling and analysis of networks. Highly interdisciplinary, our papers span applied mathematics, operations management, computer science, discrete mathematics, and economics.
Systems Engineering ISSN: 1098-1241 | eISSN: 1520-6858 The journal Systems Engineering aims to publish manuscripts on topics related to the discipline of Systems Engineering. The journal welcomes original submissions on the conceptualization, design, implementation, operation, sustainment, and recycling, reuse, and retirement of technologically enabled systems that satisfy stakeholder needs throughout the lifecycle.

Databases

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Computing Research Repository The Computer Science section of arXiv was established in 1998 through a partnership of the Association for Computing Machinery, the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library, and arXiv. You can view the subject category descriptions and browse papers from the main CS archive page. New readers and authors to arXiv should see our help pages for registration, submission and subscription.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Site The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online. Also includes access to AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from VDE VERLAG conference proceedings
ScienceDirect From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
SPIE Digital Library Search the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. The SPIE Digital Library includes conference proceedings, presentations, journals, eBooks, and more.

Websites

60 Best Computer Hardware Blogs & Webites in 2025 FeedSpot ranks the best Computer Hardware blogs from thousands of blogs on the web and ranked by relevancy, authority, social media followers & freshness.
AnandTech: Hardware News & Tech Reviews One of the most well-known computer hardware information sites, AnandTech serves the needs of readers looking for reviews on PC components, smartphones, tablets, pre-built desktops, notebooks, Macs, and enterprise/cloud computing technologies.
Guide to the Systems Engineering Body of Knowledge (SEBoK) The SEBoK provides a guide to the key knowledge sources and references of systems engineering organized and explained to assist a wide variety of individuals. It is a living product, accepting community input continuously, with regular refreshes and updates.
O'Reilly Radar The O'Reilly radar blog contains commentaries, deep dives, research, and more, all looking at need-to-know trends at the intersection of business and technology.
School of Systems Engineering Blog This blog contains brief articles and videos about systems engineering and its varying aspects, such as integrated product support, system safety, and frequently asked questions about systems engineering.
SEH 2.0 Fundamentals of Systems Engineering This reference document from NASA's Encyclopedia defines systems engineering, how it is used at NASA, and more. The document is updated as more information becomes available.

Books

Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture by Linda Null; Julia Lobur Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture focuses on the function and design of the various components necessary to process information digitally. This title presents computing systems as a series of layers, taking a bottom–up approach by starting with low-level hardware and progressing to higher-level software. Its focus on real-world examples and practical applications encourages students to develop a “big-picture” understanding of how essential organization and architecture concepts are applied in the computing world.
Call Number: Digital Copy Available from O'Reilly Learning (formerly Safari)

ISBN: 9781284259438

Publication Date: 2023-04-27
Exploring Computer Hardware by Kevin Wilson This course takes you on a journey through the intricate world of computer hardware, beginning with a solid foundation in the fundamentals of computing. Starting with an overview of computers and microcomputers, you’ll explore the core components that make up these machines, including embedded systems, software, and peripherals. Each chapter is designed to build your understanding of how these elements work together to create the technology we rely on daily.
Call Number: *Available By Request

ISBN: 9781738452590

Publication Date: 2024-06-10
Systems Engineering Demystified, 2nd Edition by Jon Holt; Tim Weilkiens (Foreword by) This book is for aspiring systems engineers, engineering managers, or anyone looking to apply systems engineering practices to their systems and projects. While a well-structured, model-based approach to systems engineering is an essential skill for engineers of all disciplines, many companies are finding that new graduates have little understanding of MBSE. This book helps you acquire this skill with the help of a simple and practical approach to developing successful systems. No prior knowledge of systems engineering or modeling is required to get started with this book.
Call Number: *Available By Request

ISBN: 9781804610688

Publication Date: 2023-07-27

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

Association for Computing Machinery ACM brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. As the world’s largest computing society, ACM strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life‐long learning, career development, and professional networking.
Computing Research Association The mission of the Computing Research Association is to catalyze computing research by joining with industry, government, and academia. CRA executes this mission by leading the computing research community; informing policymakers and the public; and championing a diverse, welcoming, equitable, and socially responsible computing research community.
IEEE Computer Science Society (IEEE-CS) Engaging computer engineers, scientists, academia, and industry professionals from all areas of computing, the IEEE Computer Society (CS) sets the standard for the education and engagement that fuels continued global technological advancement. Through conferences, publications, and programs, and by bringing together computer science and engineering leaders at every phase of their career for dialogue, debate, and collaboration, IEEE CS empowers, shapes, and guides the future of not only its members, but the greater industry, enabling new opportunities to better serve our world.
IEEE Systems Council The Systems Council integrates IEEE activities regarding aspects of multiple disciplines and specialty areas of systems engineering, and covers, but is not limited to: systems engineering; systems modeling; robust design; product transition; program/project management; quality assurance; mission assurance; requirements development and management; risk management; systems architecture, and systems-of-systems.
The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) is the global association of productivity and efficiency professionals specializing in industrial engineering, healthcare, ergonomics and other related professions. IISE is where these varied fields come together to advance the engineering profession through networking, training, and knowledge sharing.
International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) The International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE) is a not-for-profit membership organization founded to develop and disseminate the interdisciplinary principles and practices that enable the realization of successful systems. INCOSE is designed to connect systems engineering professionals with educational, networking, and career-advancement opportunities in the interest of developing the global community of systems engineers and systems approaches to problems.
International Society for the Systems Sciences The International Society for the Systems Sciences (ISSS) is among the first and oldest organizations devoted to interdisciplinary inquiry into the nature of complex systems and remains perhaps the most broadly inclusive. The initial purpose of the society was "to encourage the development of theoretical systems which are applicable to more than one of the traditional departments of knowledge," but in the intervening years, the ISSS has expanded its scope beyond purely theoretical and technical considerations to include the practical application of systems methodologies to problem solving.
National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA), Systems Engineering Division NDIA’s Systems Engineering Division advocates the widespread use of systems engineering in the Defense Department acquisition process to achieve affordable, supportable and interoperable weapon systems that meet the needs of military users; supports the open exchange of ideas and concepts between government and industry; and works for a new understanding of a streamlined systems engineering process.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>