The Architecture of Computer Hardware, Systems Software, and Networking by
The subject of this book is the architecture of computer systems. Computer architecture is about the structure and operation of digital computers and computer-based devices. Computer architecture is concerned with the operational methods of the hardware; with the services provided by operating system software; with the acquisition, processing, storage, and output of data; and with the interaction between computer-based devices
CompTIA A+ Guide to Hardware: Managing, Maintaining, and Troubleshooting by
Each chapter covers both core concepts and advanced topics, organizing material to facilitate practical application and encourage students to learn by doing. The new edition features more coverage of updated hardware, security, and increased emphasis on mobile devices. Supported by a wide range of supplemental resources to enhance learning with Lab Manuals, CourseNotes, online labs and the optional MindTap that includes labs, certification test prep and interactive exercises and activities, this proven text offers students an ideal way to prepare for success as a professional IT support technician
Computer architecture and organization : fundamentals and architecture security by
This book addresses not only how to secure computer components (CPU, Memory, I/O, and network) but also how to secure data and the computer system as a whole. It also incorporates experiences from the authors recent award-winning teaching and research. The book also introduces the latest technologies, such as trusted computing, RISC-V, QEMU, cache security, virtualization, cloud computing, IoT, and quantum computing, as well as other advanced computing topics into the classroom in order to close the gap in workforce development. The book is chiefly intended for undergraduate and graduate students in computer architecture and computer organization, as well as engineers, researchers, cybersecurity professionals, and middleware designers
Data Analytics by
This book presents a variety of methods and techniques, as well as case studies, to enrich the knowledge of data analytics for project managers, systems engineers, and cybersecurity professionals. It separates the case studies so that each profession can practice some straightforward data analytics specific to their fields. The main purpose of this text is to refresh the statistical knowledge necessary to build models for data analytics.
Engineering Intelligent Systems by
While most recent research on the topic has focused on adapting and improving algorithms and devices, this book puts forth the innovative idea of transforming the systems in our lives, our societies, and our businesses into intelligent systems. At its heart, this book is about how to combine systems engineering and systems thinking with the newest technologies to design increasingly intelligent systems.
Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture by
The Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture is comprehensive enough to address all necessary organization and architecture topics, but concise enough to be appropriate for a single-term course. Its focus on real-world examples and practical applications encourages students to develop a “big-picture” understanding of how essential organization and architecture concepts are applied in the computing world. In addition to direct correlation with the ACM/IEEE guidelines for computer organization and architecture, the text exposes readers to the inner workings of a modern digital computer through an integrated presentation of fundamental concepts and principles.
Exploring Computer Hardware by
Bits, bytes, logic, RAM, CPUs, hard drives and SSD drives. Master the geeky acronyms and simplify computer hardware & terminology with ease.
Hardware Architectures for Deep Learning by
This book discusses innovative ideas in the design, modelling, implementation, and optimization of hardware platforms for neural networks. The book provides an overview of this emerging field, from principles to applications, for researchers, postgraduate students and engineers who work on learning-based services and hardware platforms
Integrating Program Management and Systems Engineering by
Integrating Program Management and Systems Engineering shows how organizations can become more effective, more efficient, and more responsive, and enjoy better performance outcomes. The discussion begins with an overview of key concepts, and details the challenges faced by System Engineering and Program Management practitioners every day. The practical framework that follows describes how the roles can be integrated successfully to streamline project workflow, with a catalog of tools for assessing and deploying best practices. Case studies detail how real-world companies have successfully implemented the framework to improve cost, schedule, and technical performance, and coverage of risk management throughout helps you ensure the success of your organization's own integration strategy.
Modern computer architecture and organization : learn x86, ARM, and RISC-V architectures and the design of smartphones, PCs, and cloud servers by
You will learn details of modern processor architectures and instruction sets including x86, x64, ARM, and RISC-V. You will see how to implement a RISC-V processor in a low-cost FPGA board and write a quantum computing program and run it on an actual quantum computer. This edition has been updated to cover the architecture and design principles underlying the important domains of cybersecurity, blockchain and bitcoin mining, and self-driving vehicles. By the end of this book, you will have a thorough understanding of modern processors and computer architecture and the future directions these technologies are likely to take.
Parallel algorithms in computational science and engineering by
This contributed volume highlights two areas of fundamental interest in high-performance computing: core algorithms for important kernels and computationally demanding applications. The first few chapters explore algorithms, numerical techniques, and their parallel formulations for a variety of kernels that arise in applications. The rest of the volume focuses on state-of-the-art applications from diverse domains. By structuring the volume around these two areas, it presents a comprehensive view of the application landscape for high-performance computing, while also enabling readers to develop new applications using the kernels. Readers will learn how to choose the most suitable parallel algorithms for any given application, ensuring that theory and practicality are clearly connected
Recent trends and advances in model based systems engineering by
This volume comprises papers from the 18th Conference on Systems Engineering Research (CSER). The theme of this volume, Recent Trends and Advances in Model-Based Systems Engineering, reflects the fact that systems engineering is undergoing a transformation motivated by mission and system complexity and enabled by technological advances such as model-based systems engineering, digital engineering, and the convergence of systems engineering with other disciplines.
Systems engineering and artificial intelligence by
This book provides a broad overview of the benefits from a Systems Engineering design philosophy in architecting complex systems composed of artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning (ML) and humans situated in chaotic environments. The major topics include emergence, verification and validation of systems using AI/ML and human systems integration to develop robust and effective human-machine teams' here the machines may have varying degrees of autonomy due to the sophistication of their embedded AI/ML. The chapters not only describe what has been learned, but also raise questions that must be answered to further advance the general Science of Autonomy.
Systems Engineering Demystified A Practitioner's Handbook for Developing Complex Systems Using a Model-Based Approach by
Systems Engineering Demystified helps you to adopt a model-based approach to systems engineering in a concise, clear, and consistent way. This easy-to-follow guide covers a range of concepts and techniques for modern systems engineering that will enable a significant transformation within your organization by realizing complex systems
Systems Engineering for the Digital Age by
Systems Engineering in the Digital Age: Practitioner Perspectives covers methods and tools that are made possible by the latest developments in computational modeling, descriptive modeling languages, and semantic web technologies and describes how they can be integrated into existing systems engineering practice, how best to manage their use, and how to help train and educate systems engineers of today and the future. This book explains how digital models can be leveraged for enhancing engineering trades, systems risk and maturity, and the design of safe, secure, and resilient systems, providing an update on the methods, processes, and tools to synthesize, analyze, and make decisions in management, mission engineering, and system of systems.
Systems Engineering in the Fourth Industrial Revolution by
This book addresses the changes in systems engineering (SE) prompted by the current industrial environment. Elements of importance in this environment are the shift towards data collection, availability and use in the design and development of systems and also in the later life-cycle stages of use and retirement. In addition, the book addresses the issues in a system in which the system involves data in its operation, contrasting with earlier approaches in which data and algorithm implementation were less involved in the function of the system. These issues are a significant contrast with typical applications of SE to date, in which systems have been conceived as relatively static and long time lines have been acceptable
Systems Engineering Principles and Practice by
Systems Engineering Principles and Practice continues to be a national standard textbook for the study of traditional systems engineering for advanced undergraduate and graduate students. It addresses the need for an introductory overview, first-text for the development and acquisition of complex technical systems. The material is organized in a way that teaches the reader how to think like a systems engineer and carry out best practices in the field.